We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday, average hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lagos de Cesar by Blue Sea
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Puerto de Santiago
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great holiday, average hotel.”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Fantastic holiday with loads to do, great base for exploring the island, lovely scenery roundabout. Quiet location but nearby buses were regular and easy to use so it wasn't difficult to get into busier areas if required. Harbour for whale and dolphin boat trip is within easy walking distance so explore in advance and you'll save yourself a bus/taxi fare. Getting a sunbed was never a problem if you queued at 10am to get into the pool area, otherwise no chance but this seems fairer than when people reserve beds with towels at all hours of the night. Pool area is in shade until midday.

Maid service wasn't great, our room was only visited every other day and on a couple of occasions we weren't provided with clean towels or only got 1 clean towel between us. Very disappointing, never had a maid service like this before. Cups for drinks were tiny, prepare to have trips back and forth every five seconds. Food in buffet rarely labelled so you might end up surprised and eating squid rings instead of onion rings. Food also repeated itself after a few nights - I would have been demented if I'd had to eat it for a fortnight. Pasta with sauces available every night were disgusting. Sauces tasted like water and pasta was chewy and stuck together.

However, the majority of the food was actually really nice and well cooked. Had the nicest fish dish I've ever tasted although because of the lack of labeling I couldn't tell you what kind of fish it was or the sauce it was in. I'm a very fussy eater but found that the best bet was just to be brave and try things because the options I'd normally go for such as chips or the pasta were the only bad things! I think a person that likes most foods and isn't afraid to eat things even when they don't know what they are would really enjoy the food as it was actually of a pretty good standard if you man up and eat it!

The food from the snack bar was lovely (although unhealthy if that kinda stuff floats your boat) and I much preferred to grab something here than from the buffet at lunch... although this means you have to eat the same 2 things every day. Very tasty though and piping hot.

I absolutely loved the location of this hotel, the area feels like a private and rustic slice of heaven. Great views and lovely walks all around.

The entertainment was a bit hit or miss. Mostly miss, although one night in particular was fantastic - people with balls that they clicked off the floor. At first I was like omg what the heck is this kill me now but then it turned out to be a hilarious comedy evening, the clicky balls weren't actually the main event (thank goodness). The mini disco for children was cute and entertaining and kids in general seemed to love the entertainment, so for families the hotel is probably ideal.

The room was huge with a huge balcony which looked onto a park. Not the best view as we were pretty sure that a homeless person lived in the park but it was definitely not the worst - I've had balconies in other hotels which faced onto a wall. Air conditioning was included and seemed efficient. We tended to put it on for a while in the evening as I was blow drying my hair and the room stayed cool all night!

Definitely not for Club 18-30 folk but for a relaxing holiday in the sun the area is perfect and the hotel is fine. To be honest, every hotel/appartment I've been to abroad has been on a par so if you're not used to paying through the roof for top-of-the-range 5 star you won't be disappointed.

Hope this is helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    237
    198
    86
    82
See reviews for
217
316
20
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

My partner and i stayed from the 24/09/12 to the 01/10/12 and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. A great place to relax and unwind,we found the staff friendly and helpful at all times.The choice of food was extensive and cooked to a high standard,you could eat to a 3 course or 5 if you had a big enough appetite !. The rooms were clean and tidy and huge !.the maids were in twice during the week. The entertainment during the week was hilarious with Bert the compare and bingo caller mixy mixy shakey shakey !..always had a problem with his balls ! lol.the evenings were made much more enjoyable with the fantastic people we met a big thank you to you all !.
One negative thats the pool area !, far too small !, your elbow to elbow like sardines , but the beach is only 5 mins away and is a great alternative to the pool .
We would recommend this hotel and resort to anyone and we hope to repay a visit again sometime soon.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kenny p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Me and my Husband stayed there for a week 22nd - 29th Sept we had a great week , sun shining , the food was good always something to eat , rooms were great really big and air conditioning was great as it was so hot. Did nt have to queue for sun beds maybe cause it was nt school holiday time , can sea the pool area being very busy at peak season and all the staff were very nice an d helpful. Check in and out was with no problems at all and our transfer time was just 1 hour . Will definately return to tenerife will be trying different areas as this was our first holiday to tenerife but will go back to puerto de santiago again some time as its a lovely area and i think quieter than the main parts . Lovely relaxing holiday for the to of us .

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Susan196905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connah's Quay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

i stayed at this hotel from 12th of september to the 22nd with my husband , sister and brother in law and had a great time, although i came back 10lbs heavier due to the drink and food. We payed an average of £500 each for 10 days and found it value for money. Although we had a veiw of the 'garden' we found it interesting watching the poor homeless person go about his daily business (and to whom i donated some of my husbands clothes!) and the lady who drove every morning to feed the cats ,made us put things into perspective, we work hard all year and felt grateful that we had the privelidges of lovely clean rooms with fresh bedding and towels every other day, with air conditioning that wasn,t noisy in both rooms. I don't know what kind of food people expect when they go to a all inclusive hotel but we found the food to be delicious well cooked and a good variety considering that they have to cater for all nationalitys not just the brits! The staff were all amazing especially pedro, abdel and bless him bert they kept us entertained! although i find that the people who complain on here didn't take part in the french bowls etc, some people just like to sit back and moan. We went away for the first time without our children and just wanted a relaxing break which is what we got the area is spotless and los gigantes is beautiful and just a walk away, with fantastic restaurants which were very cheap and the chinese around the corner from the hotel is fantastic a holiday is what you make of it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lyndandvinnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldershot, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We have just returned from a nine day stay in the Lagos de Cesar, our first holiday abroad for six years. We found the whole stay totally relaxing.

The food in the hotel was good - we found plenty to eat every day. The food always looked good and on the whole was pretty tasty and a good range of choices. They are catering for all tastes, many guests from all corners of Europe and also Spain. There seemed to be something for everyone - not a mean feat.

The pool area is on the small side, however its kept very clean and the pool is never overcrowded. When we stayed in September we were always able to find a couple of sunbeds free. The poolside drinks and ice-creams and snacks are good and the staff, we found, always pleasant and helpful right throughout the hotel.

The bar area is a little tired, but the entertainment is ok, pretty standard holiday fare I guess.

The area is quiet in the evenings - although in September I guess it would be, but there are bars and restaurants to visit. Its easy to travel around the island if you like to get about - the Titsa bus service is pretty easy to use. Plenty of car hire places around too.

The dolphin trip - which we found out about on other reviews was great - we went on the 90 minute trip for 15 euros each and saw plenty of dolphins. Even a mother and baby. Lovely.

Mount Teide trip - We went on a half day coach trip and enjoyed the amazing sights from the top of the mountain. We weren't brave enough to go up the cable car but it looked amazing.

To sum up, we found the hotel to be well run, clean and efficient. For what you pay for all inclusive its pretty good. We had no complaints at all.

Room Tip: Sea view room with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Not being the type to listen to what other people write about hotels, I must say I will definitely be taking an interest in future! I booked this hotel based on the pictures and description supplied in the travel agents only to find that the gym they described was mainly equipment from 1970's and the rest didn't work, The sunbeds were cramped together so you had to climb on the bed from the bottom, the sun terrace was no where near as described and only had 2 sun loungers up there and the view was of buildings and cranes! The food was average at best and the entertainment consisted of a man playing a organ in the corner of a dingy/dark cabaret room and a parrot show. The rooms were the hotels best feature but the view from my balcony was looking directly on to what I can only describe as a park area with 2 homeless people sleeping there at night! We only stayed in this hotel for 3 nights before moving to another hotel which was the same star rating, we felt that if we'd have stayed for the full 2 weeks our holiday would have been ruined!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ceejai1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Puerto de Santiago hotels

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed at this hotel from the 17th to the 23rd September 2012.

Arrived Sunday evening and found the receptionist extremely helpful and check in was completed with a minimum of fuss. As there were six in our group we were asked whether we would consider a two bedroom suite (room 101), having checked out this room we decided to accept this and my wife and I had one room and my daughter and mother in law the other. The other couple in our party were allocated room 123 which is a corner room with a small balcony. Our room was spacious, very clean with air conditioning units in both bedrooms and the lounge area, it enjoyed two baconies, one overlooking the pool area and the second looking down the street to the sea and La Gomera. Our room was cleaned daily and the towels changed daily.

We, like many of the other guests, stayed on an All Inclusive basis. The food was of an acceptable standard, with a variety of fish, meat and salad dishes plus the usual potatoes (chips plus one other), pasta/rice, bread, vegetables, fruit and desserts.

My only slight moan would be that the only glasses in the restaurant were either wine glasses or very small tumblers, neither were particularly good if you wanted beer or soft drinks. Maybe the hotel management believe people will drink/waste less if they give you small glasses, I for one, don't think this is the case.

Other than the bar at the pool there is only one bar, The Piano Bar, which is open from 8pm til midnight, All Inclusive ends at 11pm, and is the venue for the nightly entertainment. This was generally of a reasonable standard and added to the holiday experience. Again drinks are served in undersized glasses which leads to longer queues at the bar and busier bar staff, that said, our wait was never to bad. The bar staff were all friendly and pleasant and enjoyed a little banter with the guests.

In conclusion a good stay and would certainly consider staying again

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool are the best and enjoy pool and sea views, the view from the back of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Creditmantsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto de Santiago
22.4 mi away
Interpalace by Blue Sea
Interpalace by Blue Sea
#69 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,072 reviews
8.1 mi away
Blue Sea Callao Garden
Blue Sea Callao Garden
#4 of 4 in Callao Salvaje
879 reviews
22.4 mi away
Puerto Resort by Blue Sea
Puerto Resort by Blue Sea
#66 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Alborada Beach Club
Alborada Beach Club
#2 of 2 in Las Galletas
2,026 reviews
0.6 mi away
Allegro Isora
Allegro Isora
#1 of 1 in Playa de la Arena
1,438 reviews
21.1 mi away
Gran Hotel Turquesa Playa
Gran Hotel Turquesa Playa
#20 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lagos de Cesar by Blue Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lagos de Cesar by Blue Sea

Property: Lagos de Cesar by Blue Sea
Address: C/Jose Gonzalez Gonzalez, 38683 Puerto de Santiago, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de Santiago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lagos de Cesar by Blue Sea 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting views of Tenerife's stunning landscape, the 4-star Blue Sea Hotel Lagos de Cesar is perfectly located a short transfer ride away from Tenerife South Airport and is close to the sands of Playa la Arena. Its peaceful setting is ideal for those in search of a relaxing family-friendly holiday. The 116 modern, spacious rooms include junior suites, which make the perfect accommodation for families in need of extra space. Suites are equipped with an en-suite bathroom, private terrace and a host of amenities, allowing residents to unwind in complete comfort. With its location just a 400m stroll from the beach, guests can enjoy views of the glistening sea, as well as the surrounding mountains. The tranquil setting makes it hard to believe Hotel Lagos de Cesar is situated in the heart of the bustling resort of Puerto de Santiago, where there is plenty of shopping, dining, sports activities and nightlife to be enjoyed. Featuring a large outdoor swimming pool that serves as its social hub, a separate children's pool, sun terrace and rooftop lounge area, the residence also offers a gym and mini club for active visitors seeking a little action. A buffet restaurant and two bars offering entertainment and music mean the needs of every guest are catered for. Hotel Lagos de Cesar even counts a hair salon among its facilities, making the hotel ideal for visitors in need of some serious R&R. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Lagos de Cesar by Blue Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Sea Lagos De Cesar Hotel Puerto De Santiago
Lagos De Cesar Tenerife
Hotasa Lagos De Cesar Hotel
Hotel Lagos De Cesar
Lagos Cesar
Lagos De Cesar By Blue Sea Tenerife/Puerto De Santiago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing