We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6,855)
Filter reviews
6,855 results
Traveler rating
2,924
2,523
921
313
174
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,924
2,523
921
313
174
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool barhalf boardsuperior roomsea viewla gomeraair confantastic viewslos gigantes cliffsold dogs new tricksplenty of sunbedsreception staffanimation teamrelaxing holidaythomson repplenty of choiceevening entertainmentlunch and dinner
Filter
Updating list...
4,142 - 4,147 of 6,855 reviews
Reviewed June 2, 2009

We stayed for a fortnight at the Barcelo on a half Board basis which was just right for us as we had hire car and tended to be out for most of the day so all inclusive would not have been very cost effective. Dinner can be changed for lunch and they can prepare take away lunches also but be warned the lunch packs are not that satisfying!!

We arrived late night to hotel and were allocated a room on the ground floor. The room was very humid and appeared not to have been used for a while. The view was obtructed by a fence and was next to a public path. We requested to move and they moved us to the 5th floor the next day. the views from this room were magnificent and overlloked the cliffs of los gigantes and offered a degree of privacy. Much better on a higher floor as you can leave the doors open at night as it can get very warm in the rooms. The pool complex is beautiful and set high up so you can take in the wonderful views of the ocean.

The spa is worth a visit although the information in the leaflet can be misleading about the facilties and a couple of the rooms did not work but it was worth the 10 euros. There is a rocky beach via a stair case near the hotel (take some waterproof shoes!). Nearby there is a natural pool which is popular with locals. Worth a swim but is quite uncomfortable to sit around as is rocky and there is no shade. There is a nice sandy beach in Puerto santiago (Playa Arena) which has black volcanic sand and is very clean. (check the lifeguards flag as the currents are strong in that area). (5 minute drive, 20 minute walk)

If you are planning a long stay ,then hire a car as there are so many beautiful places to explore in the island. (The hotel charge 5 euros per night for parking but you can park on the streets outside the hotel for free and we never had a problem finding a space).There are normally quite a few excursions offered by the tour operator and through the hotel. Teide national park is amazing and you can pick up a walking guide from the information centre. be warned of the price of drinks and sandwiches in the restaurant though. I believe a can of coke was 3euros and a sandwich was 5 euros. Siam Park is definately worth a vist if you like water parks. Puerto de la Cruz and Santa Cruz are worth a visit also for a bigger town and some more choice of shops and restaurants.

There are a few bars and restaurants in the vicinity. This is not the place if you want a raving nightlife and clubs but if you fancy a few drinks and some music then it should suffice. there is entertainment offered most nights at the hotel and there are a variety of activities run by the hotel entertainment team.

Overall a very enjoyable stay and holiday. The location and view from the hotel are unbeatable . We were not disappointed and would recommend this hotel (the surrounding area is very hilly so may not be suitable to all).

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Natly81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2009

This was our first time at this hotel. We had chosen the Barcelo for its views and location and we definitely weren't disappointed. Our room was on Floor 5 (546) with fantastic views of the sea and the Los Gigantes cliffs. The best view, in our opinion. Our room was a reasonable size and always clean. We did think about paying extra for a Superior room but were glad we didn't. We probably wouldn't have got the tremendous view as most of the superior rooms seem to be in the centre of the hotel, overlooking the pool or the road. The pool areas are great, especially the deeper pool (1.6m). There was usually plenty of room to swim as the young children tended to use the other pools. We were all-inclusive. There was plenty of choice, with no need to have the same thing twice - not in a week anyway. The pool bar served food during the day, outside of restaurant hours. There was a limited selection but still plenty on the all inclusive menu. Two small criticisms: the pool bar closed at 7 pm and it would have been nice to sit there after the evening meal (I believe it opens later in July/August); the second criticism being the 'reserving' of sunbeds early in the morning. Although the hotel has a policy they don't seem to keep to it. Having said that we always managed to get beds because we weren't bothered about laying round the pool. In our opinion the best beds were in the quieter areas overlooking the cliffs. The highlight of our holiday - seeing dolphins swimming in the bay. Amazing!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruthie78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2009

Brilliant hotel, Clean, Modern, beautifully located with gorgeous views. No major downsides but a couple of things did grate away at me on the holiday, kind of like a tiny splinter that just took the edge off it been brilliant all round.
The resturant closes at 10pm on the evening, but at 9:45 you were rushed and one night at about 5 to ten we were just asked to leave. The staff just always seemed to want to get out of there at the end of the day, which is reasonable but not professional if it shows. Also the staf in the resturant looked so rushed there just werent enough of them, and obvious cost saver but i dont want to have to wait 20 mins for a corkscrew for my wine. Also the all inclusive side wasnt brilliant as you still had to pay half the list price on most things such as pizzas and cocktails and some bevergaes. I understand if it was a bottle of champagne but not on a hawiian pizza. Very glad we went half board as all inclusive just wouldnt of been worth it. i think we saved about 150quid in reality going half board but didnt have any less. I might just be been picky but it did make it all slightly rushed and a little penny pinching for my liking!
All said and done i'd go again!!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RussNi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2009

We booked to stay at the Barcelo in Santiago for 1 week at the end of April/early May on an all inclusive basis. Our flight from Newcastle was on time, 9.30 am out, luggage swiftly received, onto coach and sent up the coast to the lovely cliffs of Los Gigantes. We have stayed in this area 5 times previous but this was our 1st stay at the Barcelo.

On arrival we were checked within minutes, hardly time to drink the glass of champayne given to us whilst we waited. Our room was on floor 5 which is the same level as the reception so no lifts or stairs to negotiate with luggage. Our room was 533 and great veiws of the sea and cliffs.

We dumped the bags in our room and headed for the pool bar (it was 4.45pm) and had our first drink. The all inclusive option is a must (in my opinion) espescially now with the decline of the £ against the euro. The hotel food was very good with cooked breakfast, fruit, cerial yogarts and all sorts for breakfast. Luch and dinner choices were also excellent.

The hotel pool areas are superb and the pool was very warm even early in the season. The resort of santiago has at least 6/7 bars with live music on ina least 2 of them. Los Gigantes is only a short walk (20 mins ) or 5 mins in a taxi. There is a bit more nightlife here and lots of bars.

The weather was fantastic also with temps ranging from 23 - 30c through the day and probably about high teens on a night. In fact we slept most nights with the balcony door open as we love the sound of the sea crashing against the rocks, it sends you to sleep very relaxed, (the drink helps as well).

We enjoyed it so much we have already booked again to stay in the Barcelo over Christmas and New year.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Etherlycc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2009

We went all inclusive which was fantastic value. The food, the service, cleanliness, the location was excellent.
On arrival we were allocated a room on the second floor, which was adjacent to a footpath.
We were not happy with this room and asked to be moved, to a room on a higher floor, as we were concerned about security and privacy. (we had to keep curtains closed as passers by could peer into room)
Although unable to move rooms untill two days later, we were eventually moved to a 5th floor room with fantastic views of La Gomera.
I am sorry to say I have to voice some criticism of the beds, and bathroom. I had terrible back pain for 14nights due to the hardness of the bed.
Also felt unsafe whilst showering, as the bath was slippery. (put towel in bath to stand on)
These criticisms are far outweighed by the positives.
There were several elderly people w ho had stayed at this hotel several times before,
and because of age etc felt they had to have certain sun loungers, and made sure of these beds by reserving them with towels long before breakfast each day.
Overall it was an excellent two week holiday, in a fantastic hotel, that left a lasting impression on my back

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank neetrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews