We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”
Review of Barcelo Santiago

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Barcelo Santiago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 21, 2014

We were looking for a quiet trip where the sun shone in January and found this hotel on the First Choice brochure (which by the way is TUI and was the exact holiday but £40 cheaper on this website than the Thomson one).
When we arrived we were notified of the 'big storm' which had happened three days earlier which at first we didn't pay much attention to but eventually saw the photos/videos etc that people were posting and realised that the hotel wasn't shabby when compared to the brochure pics but damaged. The staff worked tirelessly to fix the hotel (pool area on level 6 so took the brunt of the storm) and as the week progressed it was clear to see why this hotel has a great rating.
Rooms: we were on the ground floor, next to the boules, got a sea view yet in the winter got no sun at all through the day so we could have had a moan yet spent a lot of time at the top level by the pool.
Food, there was a different theme every night and the food was fresh, varied and tasty, some of the restaurant staff could maybe be accused of favouring the people who they consider to be more likely to tip (not the all inclusive wrist band wearers) but that may be a cynical perspective.

This was my first time as an all inclusive customer and I did get the impression that service was affected by this, especially at the pool bar when I ordered food on day and was told 'why don't you go into the restaurant as I'm not going to serve you until they close at 2pm'. This is a shame particularly as at the end of the holiday my partner and I tipped the manager with the departments that we wanted to be recognised as we were conscious of not being able to tip at the time.

Entertainment: We went to this resort in January and were looking for quiet yet this was a particularly quiet resort. If you want solitude and an average age group between 67 - 92 then you are in the right place. We took the bus along to Las Americas and Los Christianos which are traditionally livelier resorts in the summer yet perfect for what we were looking for at this time of year

Resort: We went here for a quiet holiday. The resort gave just that.. realistically the nearest walk is Los Gigantes which is a see-saw uphill walk or you can walk East bit but not too far. Local bus services are really regular and handy so it's easy to get about yet this resort was a bit to quiet for us. On the evenings there wasn't much choice apart from the hotel's entertainment which at first was a bit hopeless to be honest yet the El Groucho show had me creased though I can't specify why, I can only say to see this show if you get the chance. Also if you see the man from the musical show in the capital keep an eye on his teeth as they kept falling out!

Room Tip: Not ground floor next too the boules court.. you will get no sun in the winter months
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ripcurl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,889)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,593 - 2,599 of 5,890 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2014

We arrived here on 14th march 2014 and were pleasantly surprised with the hotel, especially after reading all the negative reviews on here.
The rooms are a little tired and could do with some modernisation but our room 905 had beautiful views over the sea and was quiet. The beds were as comfortable as we have ever slept on and the cleaning of the room and the rest of the hotel was to a very high standard.
The food here is all buffet style and on the whole very good with a wide choice and very attentive staff who cleared your plates immediately and topped up drinks as soon as you asked. This is not haute cuisine but very good indeed even if the bacon does get a bit crispy sometimes.
The pool area is lovely with stunning views and we never had a problem gett a sunbed. It is a real sun trap and the sunbed were in good condition
You could see all around the effects of the devastating storm that must have taken place and all the work that was going on to repair it. Contrary to other reviewers most ofthe work around the pool bar had been completed when we arrived and the main work was replacing boarding above the restaurant whic, if you go on the edges has stunning views. Our only real moan is that they should ban smoking on the terrace part of the restaurant. It spoiled a couple of breakfasts for us as we eat with chain smokers around us. management may want to consider this.
We are giving this hotel 4 stars it is good, has the potential to be excellent and it's location is great .we will probably return in the future.

Room Tip: High rooms over the sea are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2cavalierssofar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Stayed for the third time on 10th to 17th march. Firstly the staff are helpful and lovely. There was ongoing maintenance so part of the pool bar area was unusable. The rule about not reserving sun beds is not enforced consequently for the first time we could not find any available. They try hard with the food but sometimes it is not very hot and being all inclusive could get a bit boring and lacked taste. There is plenty of variety but a lot of it is over cooked and the meat is very often tough unless you stick to slow cooked food. The rooms are clean but the fridge furniture door did not close properly because the fridge appeared too big. The wardrobe space was lacking and considering we had a superior room it was very small. In fact the standard room we had last time appeared bigger. The extras you get for a superior room were poor, bathrobe and slippers, water daily, tea and coffee making equipment and hair conditioner. Wifi is charged for and I feel that is rather a bad selling point. The only way you can get it free is to pay for gold all inclusive which is very much more expensive. The coffee in all of the bars and restaurant is foul. I do not know where they source it from but I have never tasted anything so awful. The bar across the street " Bar 66" serves great coffee and the band " Old dogs New tricks" are very good and has a lovely friendly atmosphere. I unfortunately will not be returning for our sunny warmth in winter and feel sad because it is a lovely setting in a small quiet village with a couple of good restaurants. The "El Barco" a canarian restaurant and the San Remo Italian are worth a visit.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We arrived home 16th March having had high expectations of the Barcelo Chain due to previous experience .We have to agree with previous reviews it needs closing down for a month for a serious refurb+repair.
We actually arrived back to our room on 5th floor one afternoon to find the painters on our balcony we had not been informed about this.We challenged the Manager who apologised and said by way of compensation we could have a spa day or romantic dinner and that he would get back to us. However we did not here from him again but the main issue here is that it was unacceptable to allow contractors in our room(527) without our permission. In all very disappointing for a lovely location . Thomson need to down grade this hotel to a 3 star until it steps up to the mark.

Stayed: March 2014
3  Thank ESPANA20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Can only concur with previous reviewers in that this Hotel is desperately in need of some tender-loving-care. Although in a superior room with excellent views, nonetheless was shabby with broken tiles in the bathroom, a very chipped bath (no plug), peeling paint on both walls and ceiling and generally a run-down feel to it. Food OK (nothing outstanding), but being a buffet was on occasions, cold and greasy, and not very appealing. Also a tendency to become "samey" after a week. Building works being undertaken whilst we were there so became very noisy during the day (sections of the pool bar were closed whilst repairs being carried out) with other parts of the complex resembling a building site (piles of rubbish/rubble throughout the grounds)
which is the reason for this "poor" review". Such a shame really, as this does have the potential to be a lovely hotel. Guess it was just unfortunate that these building works were being carried out during our stay.

Room Tip: The higher up the better the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MiloLingfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Not a lot more can be said about this hotel, plenty of people have already outlined its many failings, its good points and its wonderful location. I would like to address the Tour Operators who are selling this hotel as a 4star which it clearly is not. I spent 11 days here with a friend end of February 2014, not only was I unable to have the superior room for single occupancy I had booked and paid for. I was advised at Reception that this Hotel grades its rooms, and as I was a Thomson traveller only floor1 to 3 was likely to be available.I spent 2 days living out of my suitcase, waiting for a move either to another Hotel or a better room away from the peeling paint and dripping water on floor 3.The Rep did her best to listen to complaints, but lacked understanding. I had to wait over an hour for a fixed appointment to see her, and its supposed to be my relaxing holiday ?
My conclusion is that if the Operators stopped over booking this Hotel and paid a higher price per reservation, maybe just maybe this hotel could return to the splendour of 20 yrs ago.
For now they must stop the leaks, refurb the beds / baths or call it a 3 star.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 319janet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We have been coming to this Hotel for a number of years and I quite agree that the rooms have become very shabby. The walls were totally grubby from various stains on the walls? The bathroom was grubby and not cleaned properly. We never had this problem before as the bathrooms were always spotless The views were excellent and the rooms quiet. We were very disappointed that the Hotel had not advised us that they have a lot of building works going on as a result of the recent storms. They certainly should have closed the Hotel for the drilling. Yes the loose tiles on the balcony were not good but as a result of the recent storms> On the first few days was very noisey but toned down towards the weekend as a result of lots of complaints. A Hotel that needs to be closed for a Month to catch up on all the much necessary work. We were most disappointed on this holiday. Not sure if we would go back after going there for 14 years?

Room Tip: If you are travelling solo and not through a travel agent. Make sure you have a good Room before yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AFG555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto de Santiago
1.1 mi away
Allegro Isora
Allegro Isora
#1 of 1 in Playa de la Arena
1,951 reviews
2.5 mi away
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes
Be Live Family Costa los Gigante...
#3 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
5,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa
IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa
#14 of 60 in Costa Adeje
3,750 reviews
11.8 mi away
Melia Jardines del Teide
Melia Jardines del Teide
#15 of 60 in Costa Adeje
2,457 reviews
2.4 mi away
RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Santiago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Santiago

Address: La Hondura, 8, 38683 Puerto de Santiago, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de Santiago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Puerto de Santiago
#1 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de Santiago
#4 Family Hotel in Puerto de Santiago
Price Range: $104 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Santiago 4*
Number of rooms: 406
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Barcelo, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barcelo Santiago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Santiago Hotel Puerto De Santiago
Barcelo Hotel Santiago
Barcelo Puerto De Santiago
Barcelo Santiago Tenerife/Puerto De Santiago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing