We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel good - resort below par”
Review of Barcelo Santiago

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Barcelo Santiago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
wakefield
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“hotel good - resort below par”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Just returned from a weeks break and feel refreshed & stress free. We stayed half board although it would appear the majority of residents were all inclusive. The food was good & plentiful. The restaurant never had any queues or shortage of seating. The food was never in short supply and was of a good quality & varied. The only queue we saw was to dine in the Al Fresco area outside the restaurant. In the hotels website the photos of the restaurant with the view appear too good to be believed. The view of the Los Gigantes cliffs from the restaurant is truly stunning.
The pool was a good standard. Never a shortage of sunbeds and plenty of fixed & portable sunshade. Pool towels provided for a 12 euro deposit, changing for a clean towel cost 2 euro per change. Quite often a guitar player entertained subtly in the background. Less subtly were the announcements by the entertainment staff of the daytime events. The view from the pool down to the sea was excellent.
Although we didn't use the gym it was free for residents & looked in good order with varied exercise stations.
We only used the ground floor bar which was pleasant & ventured only once in to the cabaret area to see a show, preferring to vacate the hotel of an evening.
The resort of Puerto de Santiago was somewhat limited although Los Gigantes & Playa La Arena were only 15 mins walk in either direction for some variation. Los Gigantes being our favourite of the three.
Booked last minute via Thomsons half board 2 days before departure. On arrival the Hotel had no knowledge of our booking. Luckily a room was available on the 7th floor on the side of the hotel without sea view. We spent two nights in this room before a sea view room became available on the 5th floor. The Hotel adequately compensated us with two free visits for us to the Hotel Spa & free use of the room safe for the week. The floor number is relevant in that the 6th floor & above are premium rooms & the 5th & below are ordinary rooms. The difference is marked in that the ordinary room we had was well worn decoratively & the beds sagged slightly in the centre. That said the room was cleaned to a good standard daily and the sea view far outweighs the poorer room quality. Our first two nights in the premium room was spoilt by the overbearing noise from the Route 66 bar on the road opposite. This is obviously not at the Hotels control. The bar itself is good for a visit with quality live music but when in your room with the windows all closed it was still loud until it finished at midnight. Consequently the room was stifling and the Air Con was not an option as it was too noisy. The only evident noise in our sea view room was the sea. The sea view rooms had balconies with an electrically powered sun shade, well nearly all, ours was missing. The reception didn't help in saying that a replacement was not their responsibility but was an outside contractors.
Overall a good holiday let down by the resort quality. The hotel was good with a prime position with outstanding views.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are a must for the view & away from the noise of the Route 66 bar on the road opp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dttjmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,261
    2,036
    738
    247
    131
See reviews for
1,319
3,223
96
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,062)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Horncastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Our forth visit to the Barcelo Santiago so it can't be that bad! Stayed at the beginning of March and the weather was the worst we have known in 10 years of visits to TF!! Not that that was the fault of the hotel but there is rather limited public indoor area to sit, relax or read.

However, matters improved and Tenerife slowly returned to its relaxing sunny self and hit 27C on one day! On my last review of this hotel, I referred to the lack of anywhere to put soap, shampoo etc in the shower. This has been addressed ;-) But, the water flow in the shower during peak times would cease. Not trickle, or go cold, just stop! We brought this to the attention of the hotel and they confirmed that there was a problem in our room, 905 and the rooms immediately below. Despite that, they sent their technical man to investigate and following a lengthy period of him looking at the taps, turning them on and off and finally talking to himself he confirmed, in English, "you change rooms"... In fact we couldn't change rooms as there were no 'superior' rooms available but they did give us the key to another 'inferior' room so that we could use the shower in there. In the end we just avoided peak time.

Another little bit of entertainment was the electrically operated sun blind on the balcony. This would take it upon itself to suddenly open and then shortly afterwards, close. Fortunately not during darkness. The sun blind is normally operated with a remote control and this would arrest all movement, sometimes. Another technician was summoned, who declared, in Spanish, that we needed a new battery in the remote control. This all happened on day two of our stay, we never saw the remote control again!

I must say that the hotel were very understanding with our problems and waived the cost of all the extras we had incurred in the bar and restaurant. We will of course return again, one day.

Room Tip: Ninth floor if possible with sea view but not room 905!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LincolnshireNed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

My wife and I had a wonderful 10 day winter sunshine break (19th to 28th Feb 2013) at this marvellous hotel/resort. It is a good venue for couples of all ages, and for civilized families, seeking a peaceful holiday in the sun. We loved the whole package of hotel, resort, staff, scenery, and climate.

The northern part of Puerto Santiago area (where Barcelo Santiago is situated) and the Los Gigantes area are effectively one quiet and refined resort, with very little wind, probably the best microclimate in the Canaries. There are plenty of pleasant local town walks and there are many nice restaurants/cafes, but some may find it a bit too hilly.

This is not a beach resort hotel as the two usable beaches are some 1.5 km away and have black sharp sand. However, the hotel has an extensive sun terrace with around 440 sun beds to cater for the 406 rooms. In fact the suites and superior rooms have larger balconies with their own sun beds, so the 440 beds on the sun terrace really cater for less than 350 rooms. We never experienced any difficulty procuring a pair of sun beds at around 11:30 hrs, but if you want rest all day shaded by a parasol then you would need to claim a bed before 10:00 hrs, as the hogs are only interested in sitting in the shade.

There was a good mix of nationalities amongst the guests, with Spanish, German, and English seeming to be the most numerous. The atmosphere was very civilised and very relaxing.

The accommodation is rather unique as there are two blocks, in two distinct areas. The posher rooms are at Levels 6 - 9 and are situated above the restaurant (Level P, and reception Level 0). The suites and superior rooms in this block have very generous dimensions and large balconies with sun beds installed. However, these higher level rooms are exposed to noise from the animation teams during the day, and bars across the road at night which often close in the early hours. The lower levels (Levels 1 - 5, with Levels 4 & 5 the best), are away from the noise sources, closer to the sea and have amazing views (except 502 - 524 and 500 - 511 which form a corner and have the sea view occluded by other balconies). We stayed in a junior suite at Level 5 and were very pleased with both the room and the views. Our room was at the Los Gigantes end and as far away from reception as possible, but still only 250 metres or so, and was a lovely walk with a cliffgarden right adjacent to the corridor - lovely. We prefer the north facing rooms which have good sea views and good views of the giant cliffs of Los Gigantes. Also, as a returning customer, and booking directly with the hotel, I was able to get the exact room that we wanted and with a 20% discount!

The food was OK, and had the usual self service buffet format. The only problems were the burnt bacon at breakfast and that the coffee machine (suites have a coffee machine installed) didn’t work. The breakfast coffee in the hotel was disgusting, but we tend to find that in many of the hotels we have used. We like good coffee and being adaptable we always pack a travel kettle and coffee press, so as to enjoy good coffee in our room, both before breakfast and after. We went half board which was only 16 Euros per day more than B&B, so dinner actually cost us 8 Euros per person, which is very good value for such a spread and choice. I was interested that a previous reviewer complained about the dinner and preferred to eat at good restaurants, but they would have to pay considerably more than 8 Euros per person! What would you get for 8 Euros in a good restaurant, a tinned sardine and half a tomato? I am retired and live on limited means; hence I really appreciate the good value that Barcelo Santiago provides!

The staff are very professional, yet friendly and helpful – the best we have met. The front desk/reception staff do get a bit stressed sometimes, like when a coach load of new guests arrive, but generally they are polite and helpful when the pressure is off. Perhaps they could benefit form some more training so as to remain calm and polite even under stress. Overall though the staff were excellent and help make it such a pleasant hotel. OK the maintenance is not up to the best N European standards but that is usual with the Mediterranean cultures.

Room Tip: Levels 6-9 are the poshest rooms but can suffer from noise. It is safer to have a room at Level 5 (e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Pete2345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I have thought long and hard about this review and so it is a bit longer than I would normally write. We stayed bed and breakfast for a week and given the number of other eating places around then I think this is the way to go.
The plus points first. This is a good place to stay to explore the island although certainly the bus transfer there was a bit of a nightmare. Wish we had picked up car from the airport. The room we finally got (see below) was really nice and the views were fantastic out to La Gomera and to the cliffs. There is plenty of space around the pools to sit in the sun and the pool bar is a really nice place to sit and have a light lunch if you are staying in the hotel.
However there are a lot of down sides and warnings as well. We arrived quite late (2 hours on the bus which took 45 minutes on the way back) and the superior room we had booked was simply not available. So were put in a lower room which was small and was not particularly clean. It also smelt strongly of bleach which we subsequently discovered was to cover up the smell of sewerage! We were promised at reception that we would be moved to an amazing room in the morning and to go to reception immediately after breakfast. This we did and were told that an upgrade was not possible even though we had paid for a superior room. It was not until I made a real fuss that a room which we had paid for was found and that was not available until about 1.00 so we lost the best part of a day before we got into our room and were able to unpack. The only compensation we were given was entrance to the Spa which was of no interest to us.
However as I said the room we got was good and I would recommend that you ensure you get a room on a higher level. However this means that it will be noisy until quite late and one couple we talked to had asked to move to a lower room to escape it. So don't think you will get to bed early.
This is the next warning. Do not expect peace and quiet. There is a lot of 'animation' in several different languages starting mid morning and not ending until after 11 at night. This included the aqua aerobics, children's clubs and then in the evening Karaoke and other song and dance acts in the downstairs bar which you can hear in any room overlooking the pool. In addition the upstairs bar (was a Spanish restaurant although it wasn't open) is also used for entertainment in the evening. So there is nowhere quiet in the communal areas to sit in in the evening until after about 10.00.
There are clearly issues with the building as well. As well as plumbing problems the roof leaks and there were several areas where there were towels on the floor and with barriers around them.
Minor issues as well - they provide tea and coffee in the room but only powdered coffee whitener so tea in the morning is tough. And there are no jugs for milk at breakfast so if you want tea you pour milk into a glass in order to take it to your table. That having been said the breakfast is good and there is lots of choice and the coffee is good.
So a mixed bag I am afraid and if you go, then need to go with your eyes open and be realistic about what you will get.

Room Tip: The superior rooms are much bigger and brighter but if you want to see the sea a lot noisier. If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SimonSJO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

this hotel is beautifull !!! very clean ..rooms lovely too with spectacular views.
food in restaurant was really fresh and always a great selection.
staff in the hotel were excellent too nothing was a problem for them.
evening entertainment was loads of variety every night also during the day there were many activities. also this was the best organised kids club i had seen in a very long time in any hotel .. and the girl Aida who worked there at the time was amazing with the kids she could speak all languages too very impressive.. like a 5 star hotel atmosphere was always relaxed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Zoe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Our Superior room was on the 9th level looking towards Los Giantes cliffs. Our balcony was protected from the wind but the sun only came towards the end of the day. Rooms 2 - 8 have sunnier balconies. Large pool and deck area providing plenty of sunchairs. I like coffee first and last thing a day, unfortunately, Housekeeping staff did not replenish. All other staff were efficient and obliging. There is an entertainment team (whose activities we did not choose to join) but I was impressed that on a stormy day their programme was changed and utilised all inside public areas so that guests did not feel crowded. Hotel in a good position with good walks and local bus service. We were half board and Buffet breakfast and dinner provides an excellent choice of dishes.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HelenT33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gtr Manchester
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

I must admit never considering Los Gigantes as a holiday resort - it seemed at a glance to be very hilly (which it is) and difficult to negotiate (which it isn't). I must admit that the location is not ideal for those with walking problems, but the hotel is fantastic - friendly, welcoming, comfortable and it has every amenity that you would want. The food is very good, being buffet style, there is a wide range of foods to choose from. Wish our stay could have been longer than one week. We would definitely go back!

Room Tip: Suggest 3rd floor, but not room 301 which is in a corner and doesn't get much benefit from the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susie_QGtrManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto de Santiago
1.1 mi away
Allegro Isora
Allegro Isora
#1 of 1 in Playa de la Arena
1,452 reviews
2.5 mi away
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes
Be Live Family Costa los Gigante...
#2 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
5,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Royal Sun Resort
Royal Sun Resort
#1 of 3 in Los Gigantes
1,177 reviews
0.1 mi away
Globales Tamaimo Tropical
Globales Tamaimo Tropical
#8 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
3,250 reviews
11.8 mi away
Melia Jardines del Teide
Melia Jardines del Teide
#20 of 57 in Costa Adeje
3,896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Santiago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Santiago

Property: Barcelo Santiago
Address: La Hondura, 8, 38683 Puerto de Santiago, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de Santiago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Puerto de Santiago
#1 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de Santiago
#4 Family Hotel in Puerto de Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Santiago 4*
Number of rooms: 406
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Barcelo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Barcelo Santiago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Santiago Hotel Puerto De Santiago
Barcelo Hotel Santiago
Barcelo Puerto De Santiago
Barcelo Santiago Tenerife/Puerto De Santiago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing