We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class Hotel & Destination”
Review of Barcelo Santiago

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Barcelo Santiago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Falkirk
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“First Class Hotel & Destination”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Just back from a 7 night holiday and this lovely hotel, first of all it has to be said that the location of this hotel is stunning, wherever you go your view is beautiful! Sitting at the pool bar with stunning scenery sipping a gin and tonic served by the fabulous guys on the bar.............bliss!! We went for the All Inclusive option in the end because to be honest for the extra it cost it was just to good to pass on! Nothing is too much trouble for these guys and I had no complaints about any of the service! Rooms were bright and clean with great views. Entertainment from the animation team started at 10.30am and was great fun if you wanted to join in and not too in your face if it wasnt your thing, different show/quiz/band every night, on our last night there was a pool party.........what an atmosphere, a Dominican band played live, we loved it!!! More pool party's Barcelo please :)! Food was brilliant and even though only one buffet restaraunt you could sit up next the window with the panoramic view of the mountain or sit outside, also really liked the fact that you could have all inc snacks at the pool bar and not just burgers etc but lovely chicken salad, spaghetti bolognese etc! I would have no trouble in recommending this hotel and area to anyone and we will definately be back!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EddiesFalkirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,331
    2,079
    752
    250
    134
See reviews for
1,362
3,296
98
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,072)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marlborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

If it aint broke then dont try to fix it.I have had the absolute pleasure to have just spent my 60th birthday here.Yes i have been here before,but so have many clients of this hotel and i will return here again.I dont get special treatment or privleges,but what i do get is a sense of being welcomed back like an old friend.Yes some waiters are more friendly than others and seem to give you their attention quicker than others may do,but goodness me, havent you got all the time in the world for however brief a time you may spend at this fabulous location?I am staggered to have read someones report that their bedsheets had not been changed,and my experience was that they were changed every 3rd day without fail which is more than twice the average for the vast majority of people in the UK!Unless of course they are royalty or have some skivvy to do it for them.The rooms are cleaned every day as are the bathrooms and depending which lady does the room,you may even find the sheets turned back in an artistic sort of way or a flower on the pillow.Like i say.just depends.The dining room staff are superb.All of them.And the food,well,if you couldnt find something that you like then i think that you ought to look to yourself!The excellent bars mostly offer a good service and the light hearted banter between the staff is often entertaining.The daytime and nightime entertainments are generally of a good standard and daytime especially is a good place to meet new friends as the same people generally turn up every day and before you know it you end up enjoying "the crack" which leads on to maybe having the same "crack" on an evening etc.New friends made perhaps.Across the road from the hotel if you want to watch football or the X factor or a pleasant break from the hotel at a not expensive very pleasant bar The Torrrean is well worth a visit.Spotless loos!To sum up everything,if you go to this hotel with the intention of having a great holiday.you will!Enough said.





acroo

Room Tip: Seaview a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

This was our 3rd stay at the hotel - all our visits were in October and all-inclusive. As before it was very relaxing and we barely left the hotel. Previously we stayed on the 6th floor but this time we were on the 4th and couldn't see the cliffs from our room but had a spectacular sea view.
The rooms were clean but looked a little tired especially the bathroom. The majority of staff were very friendly and helpful but as we had noticed on previous visits the pool bar staff were less so. We often felt ignored and they could be quite offhand.We would have had lunch there more often if the reception had been friendlier. A pity that the help yourself drinks station by the pool was closed! Food choices in the restaurant were good but it could have been hotter which I appreciate is difficult for buffets. I've learned to take teabags and pay extra for a kettle in the room as tea in the restaurant was awful (but I think that's the same most places in Europe). We spent most evenings across the road at the Route 66 bar enjoying the British group 'Old Dogs New Tricks' - really good entertainment.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

As seasoned travellers, who are open minded, this is definitely not a four start hotel. This is the first time we have stayed in a Barcelo Hotel and it will be the last. The receiption staff were most unhelpful, including the manager. There were not enough facilities for the number of people staying there, bar areas, lounges etc. The pool bar was the only one open during the day, with the main bar next to receiption not opening until five o'clock. The main areas including the dining room did not appear to have air conditioning, especially the dining room where the smell of cooking was overpowering. The food was of poor quality, repetitive, poorly presented and badly cooked with crisps being a standard commodity at some meals. The food also veered towards "european tastes" as did the entertainment which was atrocious. The rooms and the hotel badly need updating and whilst there we had storms. Because of the open planning of the hotel with the corridors of the rooms exposed to the outside elements they were flooded with rain water making it difficult to get to the main part of the hotel. The main entertainment room and the min bar ceilings were leaking, with recepticals and towels placed down to catch the water. Our bathroom ceiling started to leak badly making it unusable and we had great difficulty in obtaining another room, been turned away repeatedly by receiption staff; even the manager. I think Thomson should seriously reconsider their decision to make it a "exclusive to Thomson only Summer 2013".

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Having read many reviews before travelling we contacted hotel before travelling to request sea view & high floor. Upon arrival were given a room on Level 2 (Ground floor) with a view out to the side of Hotel. It could of been worse but also a lot better. Would agree with most reviews about the state of the rooms. Ours was quite dated and in need of redecoration. Shower also leaked leaving water seemed to spill over bathroom floor. Hot water also seemed to take an age to filter through! Food was good but i`m sure we have had better in cheaper Hotels. I thought the security box was a also quite expensive at 21 Euros per week!

With my moans out of the way, overall this is a good Hotel in a tremendous location with the Sunbed & swimming pool area on the 5th floor with a great view if the sea. Many British people we spoke to had been to this Hotel many times. Bar, Dining Staff & were always courteous & Helpful.

Entertainment was a little disappointing, on one night it was only a quiz. So most nights we drifted across the road a bar called Route 66! The group called "Old Dogs New Tricks" were performing who were great. Now this was more like it. (Shame they didn't play any Blur!)

The Location & views from this hotel are great & staff very helpful, but we probably wont visit this Hotel again for a few years until its re-decorated.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dylan_Chelsea2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed in hotel in end of october 2012.

Positives first: Views from hotel were amazing! Lots of activities organised for kids and family. Breakfast was very good. Majority of staff were very friendly and helpful with the exception of Violeta in reception. Location was great for all the restaurants, bars and shops.

Negatives: Hotel rooms and interior is very dated. For example mirrors in the lift are held together with a tape, there are crack in paint and paint missing in many places! Definitely not a 4 star, but thats a case for most Spanish hotels. We were charged for all conveniences that normally are free in hotels of this rating. Wifi was 25 euro per week, safe was 25 euro per week, parking was extra so we parked on street, beech towel was 2 eur per day unless you wanted to keep same one for duration of the stay. There was small fridge but nothin in the mini bar. We stayed in suite so i can only imagine what standard other rooms were like.

During our stay it starting raining and roof of our room leaked so bad that it ruined our bed and clothes. We were so disappointed with hotel that we decided to check out and find new accommodation. Credit to assistance manager all of this went smoothly. We were refunded our money without problem and they did not charge for day that we could not sleep as roof was leaking.

Violeta in reception was not pleasant and helpful like the rest of the reception staff. She was either looking at the computer while we asked for information or she was walking away while answering our questions. It appeared that all the guests were an annoyance to her.

For all of these reasons we will not stay again although most of the staff and views are amazing.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank TennisHolidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ware, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Just returned to the UK on 30th october after another fantastic holiday at the Barcelo Santiago. This was our 4th Holiday here and as usual everything was up to the normal standard. Special praise goes to all Bar staff and Dining room Staff,,,,Nothing ever seems to be to much for them. If you want a slow pace holiday where you can relax,get a tan,,Have a Spa,,then we would recommend the Barcelo Santiago. Take time to visit the sights of Los Gigantes or even get the local Bus service down to Los Cristianos or Playa De Americas,,Bus fare is only 8 Euros 40 for a couple each way.

Room Tip: High rooms with a sea veiw or of the Cliffs of Los Gigantes
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pikerpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto de Santiago
1.1 mi away
Allegro Isora
Allegro Isora
#1 of 1 in Playa de la Arena
1,573 reviews
2.5 mi away
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes
Be Live Family Costa los Gigante...
#2 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
5,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Royal Sun Resort
Royal Sun Resort
#1 of 3 in Los Gigantes
1,192 reviews
11.8 mi away
Melia Jardines del Teide
Melia Jardines del Teide
#20 of 58 in Costa Adeje
4,037 reviews
0.6 mi away
Be Live Experience Playa La Arena
Be Live Experience Playa La Aren...
#4 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
4,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Santiago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Santiago

Property: Barcelo Santiago
Address: La Hondura, 8, 38683 Puerto de Santiago, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de Santiago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Puerto de Santiago
#1 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de Santiago
#4 Family Hotel in Puerto de Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Santiago 4*
Number of rooms: 406
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Barcelo, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barcelo Santiago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Santiago Hotel Puerto De Santiago
Barcelo Hotel Santiago
Barcelo Puerto De Santiago
Barcelo Santiago Tenerife/Puerto De Santiago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing