We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful relaxing winter sunshine”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Globales Tamaimo Tropical
Reviewed January 16, 2014

The staff and service were excellent. The apartment was spacious and cleaned everyday by a very pleasant lady. From our balcony we had a beautiful view along the cliffs of Los Gigantes and overlooked one of the quieter pools, the sun did not reach our balcony at this time of the year, but as we were out and about most of the time so this was not a problem.

We stayed all inclusive and found the food offered more than adequate. Although a special mention must be made about the hotel’s fantastic Christmas Gala Dinner. Obviously there was traditional turkey among the wide choice of main courses, there was also suckling pig, swordfish and steaks plus interesting vegetarian options. There were so many chef’s specials and deserts on offer it would be unfair not to give praise for the work it must have taken to produce and serve this excellent buffet.

The location of the hotel makes travelling to see some other areas easy with a good bus service running from the top of the steps across from the hotel.
I would without reservation say this area is the most scenic (( next to Masca ) among the resorts we saw and certainly the most relaxing with many good restaurants on both sides of Santiago.

A lovely stroll along the coastal path to Los Gigantes only takes about 10 minutes. There is a nice marina there and one day we chartered the wonderful sailing yacht – Mojo Picon – an experience and a lunch to die for.

We also hired a boat for 3 hours fishing on another day – what a rip off - not fishing as we know it – the skipper trawled up and down the same stretch of water with the hooks on the surface– hardly surprising we didn’t catch a thing and we weren’t even allowed to touch the rods and that cost 100e per person!!

All in all, we can't fault Puerto Santiago or the hotel, (apart from the price of a safe and wifi) and it has to be noted that the hotel staff were some of the most helpful and friendliest we have come across.
Thank you.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Voyager W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Globales Tamaimo Tropical, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Dear Client,

First of all, we wish to thank you for your loyalty to the Hotel Globales Tamaimo Tropical. We feel proud and honoured to have loyal clients like you.

We truly pride ourselves on trying to create memorable experiences for our guests, so thank you for your comments and for posting a review of your experience on TripAdvisor.

It is our hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,475)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,680 - 1,686 of 3,475 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2014

We arrived on Friday 3rd of jan for one week and after reading some negative reviews we were pleasantly surprised with our first impression
I would like to point out though that we booked self catering with the sole intention of eating out every night so the quality of the food/drink and the facilities in the apartment did,nt really matter to us and by listening to other guests on the all inclusive option we made the right choice
The complex is idealy located with a good range of shops,bars resturants within a couple of minutes walk
The hotel was clean it had everything you could possibly want and the staff were very helpfull and friendly our apartment was cleaned every day and we received clean towels every day as well
We knew when we booked that this hotel was only 3 star and for what we paid we were very happy
I know everybody is different but some of the reviews of this hotel are from people who are obviously not happy unless they,re complaing it's quite simple really if you want 4 star then pay 4 star prices you do have a choice

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kev-callaghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Globales Tamaimo Tropical, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay with us.

Our principal aim is to give you our best service, make your stay unforgettable and reach your expectations. Your positive comments will help us with our continuing effort to improve the service quality.

We sincerely hope we can exceed your expectations even more on your next visit to the Hotel Globales Tamaimo Tropical

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

This place has so much potential but they get the basics wrong. I had a great holdiay as per the title but the holiday is what you make it and I wasn't going to allow the venue to spoil mine.
we had a room on the 4th floor, 2 adults and 2 children. there was lifts to our part of the hotel but they are not the best so we got our fare share of exercise especially with the regular trips to reception.

Bad Points
The room is basic at best 1 double bed 2 singles and a pull out, I ended up spending 2 nights on the pull out as the double bed was so bad you could very easily feel the springs through the cover.
2 of the lights in the room had blown and despite reporting this it was never fixed.
The telephone was broken, never fixed.
The toliet was intermitant at best and after 3 visits to reception the internals were changed.
Every other day the key lock would require a maintenance engineer to gain access.
No TV remote 10 Euros from reception
No Tea/Coffee facilities in the room. that maybe a British thinkg but as the majority there were british I would expect this.
No guide to buidling was present or the process for evening meal.
Room WIFI is only for 1 user, had I purchased it for all that would have been 32 Euros for 1 night!
No toiletries after day one. Again not really an issue if you know about it.
No Maid service on a Sunday.
Italian Restaurant REALLY! It is another buffet that contains Pizza
Plastic cups are used throughout. Not a problem at pool side but do I really want to drink wine from a plastic cup with my evening meal?
One of my holiday requirements was a beach within close walking distance because of the 2 teenagers we had with us. There is no usuable beach that we could walk to and we walked quite a lot. The first encave you come to isroped off as it is to dnagerous to use. The shore line contained that many rocks that you would be hard pressed to find an area to place your towel. If tis is a requirement of your holiday, do not stay in this part of the island. I will be going back to the holiday provider on this one.

Good Points
The food is buffet style and once we got used to it, this wasn't an issue. The food was plentiful and a very wide variety and an excellent salad bar.
Wine & beer are available on tap, but see above for the glasses
The pools or which there were 3 are an excellent size but extremely cold so keep moving. Upto 1.5 metres deep.
Scenary is fantastic, with excelelnt views of the surrounding islands.the hotel has a back drop of Mount Tarogo which is smaller than Tiede further along the isand.
A few nice shops but not enough to occupy you for 7 days.
The staff were all polite and friendly even when you were complaining, I guess they are used to it.

I love the climate on Tenerife so I will return but i don't think I will come to this part of the island and I will not use this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IAN J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Globales Tamaimo Tropical, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Dear Customer, The Hotel Globales Tamaimo Tropical would like to thank you for spending some of your time commenting in trip advisor about your recent vacation with us.

We are all working hard to give our customers the best possible holiday. We do apologise if your stay with us didn’t reach your spectations.

Your comments will encourage us to keep working hard to improve both our product and the quality of our service day by day.

Please be sure that we will do our upmost to ensure all details are improved.

We kindly invite you to come back to our hotel or any other of Hoteles Globales in a near future.
In case of any further assistance please do not hesitate to contact us again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We spent a week at these apartments over christmas. We were self catering. The one bedroom apartment was big and clean, if a little dated. The room was cleaned everyday and the towels and bedding changed once during our stay. We went because we got a cheap deal. After seeing the size of the complex, I was worried that it would be very crowded, but it wasn't too bad. The pool was too cold to use and you had to be up early if you wanted a subed. I can't comment on the food or drink because we ate out every night. Bad points; too big, did get a little noisy from other people and the road which goes round the complex. Charge for the safe is ridiculous 18.50euro for one week. Other than that no complaints. Not somewhere I would reccomend during busy periods.

Room Tip: Anything above first floor and overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Familygbolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Globales Tamaimo Tropical, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Dear Guest,

We are glad to know that you spent a pleasant stay at our hotel Globales Tamaimo Tropical enjoying our products, services and facilities.

Thank you very much for bringing us your insights and comments which are always well received and treated with the greatest interest .

We hope to see you again in any of the hotels of the Globales Group sometime in the near future. We would be delighted to welcome you back.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

A month before we travelled we contacted the hotel for a quiet room away from the entertainment, accessible by lift with a cot as we have a young baby. We were given a room directly on top of the nightclub, which you could only get to by three flights of stairs. The cot arrived after two phone calls and a visit to reception (see the pictures filthy and dangerous).
We went to bed and were woken by the windows vibrating and the furniture shaking, we felt like we were in the nightclub. The next morning we explained that this was not suitable for a baby, the receptionist said there were no alternative rooms big enough for a cot and we could change after the forth night - we had no choice!
We then moved to a different room which smelt strongly of cigarettes, even the pillows stunk. They was no hot water after 5pm but even this was better than having no sleep. Whilst in the bath I noticed a tampon stuck between the tiles and the toilet top (is this a new plumbing technique)? When the bath or basin water was released a strong smell of drains filled the bathroom and insects (small ants) ran all over both the bathroom and kitchen.
I went to the beauty salon at the hotel to try and chill out, I had a manicure and pedicure which I would not recommend came out with three bleeding fingers and two coats of paint on one hand and only one on the other!! Over charged by two euros for the privilege just glad to get out!!
This is the first time we have ever needed a holiday to recover sleep deprivation, we have both lost weight on an all inclusive holiday - so not all bad! If you have booked make the most of it but say no to room 180.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nursegladys2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Globales Tamaimo Tropical, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for your time spent on write such a kind comment on TripAdvisor describing the sensation obtained during your stay in Globales Tamaimo Tropical.

About the items that you are not agree, we will take note of them, because all the points are always checked by our staff in order to improve our service and make our hotel a better choice for guests.

We hope to see you again in any of the hotels of the Globales Group, we would be delighted to welcome you back.

Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

At this time of the year most of the guests are like us well passed retirement and the hotel is not geared for older people during the winter months. For example,

It's raining in the evening and you want to have a drink indoors, well the only open bar is outside by one of the pools and to get to it you have to navigate from reception down one floor along one side of the building through a short gap in the building and then back along the same building to the bar. Once there you get your drink and guess what, you sit outside. Unless you retrace your route to reception where there is some seating. Want second drink then repeat the above.

If you like a coffee with your lunch or dinner, forget it! You are not allowed to get a coffee from the machines in the dining room nor from the bar, the same bar as above but from the other side of a locked door, you would have to take the same route as above to get your coffee, in a plastic cup. However, this is not problem at breakfast so why the problem at other meals?

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We stayed here last October half-term (2013). We arrived a couple of days before the school holidays when things weren't so bad... but then place became busy... I would never stay here again. The food really is awful, and we are not fussy. Breakfast was acceptable, but coffee and toast had long queues so we never bothered - the coffee is from a machine. The bacon was just slices of fat that had been grilled... All other meals are very miss-able with little choice and strange meal combinations; and the service is miserable - not the staff's fault - it is just stupidly busy. They are not there to wait on table, just to scrape plates and lay up. It is difficult to find a nice seat without being next to a plate clearing station, which I find very off-putting when I'm trying to eat. When the dining room is not full, you are herded into small corners to save on staff so they can set up for the next meal, so you are crowded together even when the dining room is not busy. You are not encouraged to dawdle over you meal in a relxed manner - nor would you want to - the dining room is just like a big barn with few windows. You can't sit where you want. They run out of glasses at meals...also plates too...which are often stained. Weird meal choices e.g. - chicken, chips and sprouts?? Don't choose foods from the front of trays, as small children are allowed by their parents to handle stuff and put it back - and often do... Deserts all taste the same - sloppy, creamy stuff in different colours. The fruit is lovely though, and the Canarian dinner was the only half-decent meal of the week. There is room around the pool after 8am, but only if you don't mind being in the shade all day - otherwise all spaces gone and all decent bed chairs have gone. We were woken 5 mornings out of 7 with builders working and cleaners shuting at just after 7am. The building wasn't just a bit of DIY - it was a major refurbishment of the whole block at the back of our appartment across the open walkway.Cleaners shout to each other across the walkways. Cases trundle up and down past the bedrooms at all hours. Everyone smokes here - even our balcony was too smokey to sit out most evenings ... and smoke even seeped into the bathroom through air conditioning system. House wine and beer is acceptable. The bar is noisy every night, and kids screaming and running around until late - some were even playing 'hide and seek' in other people's ground level balconies. The kids run around the walkways and play 'knock doors' too sometimes. The rooms are nicely decorated, and seemed well cleaned - plenty of nice towels ok equipment etc...but how clean can a place be with so many cockroaches? Small plastic glasses in the bar - they run out of propper glasses early. Ok choices of drinks, but long queues in a tiny bar area... why don't they open up the propper bar and have more staff on duty? We didn't get to try the Italian restaurant - you have to book 3 days in advance, which is not acceptable when you are only there for a week anyway... and it wasn't even open until the wednseday (we went home on the Friday). We spent most of our time at the 'Oasis' in Los Gigantes - a lovely, sunny, grassy spot with a good pool and playground and a fabulous view of the sea and the cliffs at Los Gigantes... and it has a great restaurant and clifftop cafe/bar. Worth paying for decent food and bed chairs - we went there every day...it saved our holiday! Tenerife is lovely, Puerto Santaigo beach not amazing. Los Gigantesbeach ok, but sometimes shut because of rock falls. Also, the sea was very rough in October, and not safe for swimming especially for little ones ; warning flags were flying most days ...not sure how this makes it a family beach holiday? Whale and dolphin watching was excellent - but go on the shorter trips - the ones without meals - they go to exactly the same places and are cheaper and less crowded. The rep vanished after the second day, we suspect she was avoiding everyone, so we didn't get round to booking any trips through her. Lovely coffee shop in Los Gigantes - 'Bamboo' and fab pastries and good coffee etc. (We never did find the 'afternoon cakes' at the Tamaimo!). Some rooms we saw were below street level you could look down through the wire fencing into their balconies from the street - at least we were on the first floor! The Tamaimo makes the TV show Benidorm look good. If you like boozy, smokey, noisy holidays and aren't too fussy about what you eat, this is ok. We hated it, and were exhausted from lack of sleep. We have never been glad to get home from a holiday before! The staff are pleasant when you talk to them, but frankly they are too busy to give you any time. Think of it as a 'Tourist Farm' rather than a hotel, and you wouldn't be far wrong.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Magicratgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Globales Tamaimo Tropical, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Dear Customer, The Hotel Tamaimo Tropical would like to thank you for spending some of your time commenting in trip advisor about your recent vacation with us.

We are all working hard to give our customers the best possible holiday. We do apologise if your stay with us didn’t reach your spectations. Your comments will encourage us to keep working hard to improve day by day.

We will pass all your comments regarding maid service and food quality to the Hotel manager & our staff which will be investigating the subjects.

Please be sure that we will do our upmost to ensure all details are improved.

We kindly invite you to come back to our hotel or any other of Hoteles Globales in a near future.
In case of any further assistance please do not hesitate to contact us again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto de Santiago
1.0 mi away
Allegro Isora
Allegro Isora
#1 of 1 in Playa de la Arena
1,951 reviews
0.5 mi away
Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes
Be Live Family Costa los Gigante...
#3 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
5,312 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dragos Del Sur
Dragos Del Sur
#5 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
El Marques Palace by Intercorp Hotel Group
El Marques Palace by Intercorp H...
#6 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
199 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blue Sea Lagos de Cesar
Blue Sea Lagos de Cesar
#10 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
740 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barcelo Santiago
Barcelo Santiago
#1 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
5,889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Globales Tamaimo Tropical? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Globales Tamaimo Tropical

Address: Calle La Hondura S/N | Los Gigantes, 38683 Puerto de Santiago, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de Santiago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto de Santiago
Price Range: $64 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Globales Tamaimo Tropical 3*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel description The Globales Tamaimo Tropical Hotel is made up of 372 comfortable apartments and is located in Puerto Santiago in Tenerife between Los Gigantes and the lovely beach known of Playa de la Arena. At the Globales Tamaimo Tropical Hotel there is a variety of accommodation to choose from such as comfortable studio apartments, large one-bedroom apartments or two-bedroom apartments - ideal for family holidays. Within the holiday complex there are spacious and peaceful solariums with free sun-lounger service for you to relax in or you can take a refreshing dip in one of the 5 swimming pools (2 adult, 2 kids and 1 heated). For an unforgettable holiday in the sun, entertainment is available for both adults and children from 11:00am to 11:00pm when the disco bar comes to life with with professional night shows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Globales Tamaimo Tropical reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Globales Aparthotel Tamaimo Tropical Hotel Puerto De Santiago
Aparthotel Tamaimo Tropical Hotel
Tamaimo Tropical Tenerife
Aparthotel Tenerife Tropical
Tamaimo Tenerife
Globales Tamaimo Tropical Tenerife/Puerto De Santiago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing