We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't ignore the bad reviews!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Globales Tamaimo Tropical
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Don't ignore the bad reviews!”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We stayed here last October half-term (2013). We arrived a couple of days before the school holidays when things weren't so bad... but then place became busy... I would never stay here again. The food really is awful, and we are not fussy. Breakfast was acceptable, but coffee and toast had long queues so we never bothered - the coffee is from a machine. The bacon was just slices of fat that had been grilled... All other meals are very miss-able with little choice and strange meal combinations; and the service is miserable - not the staff's fault - it is just stupidly busy. They are not there to wait on table, just to scrape plates and lay up. It is difficult to find a nice seat without being next to a plate clearing station, which I find very off-putting when I'm trying to eat. When the dining room is not full, you are herded into small corners to save on staff so they can set up for the next meal, so you are crowded together even when the dining room is not busy. You are not encouraged to dawdle over you meal in a relxed manner - nor would you want to - the dining room is just like a big barn with few windows. You can't sit where you want. They run out of glasses at meals...also plates too...which are often stained. Weird meal choices e.g. - chicken, chips and sprouts?? Don't choose foods from the front of trays, as small children are allowed by their parents to handle stuff and put it back - and often do... Deserts all taste the same - sloppy, creamy stuff in different colours. The fruit is lovely though, and the Canarian dinner was the only half-decent meal of the week. There is room around the pool after 8am, but only if you don't mind being in the shade all day - otherwise all spaces gone and all decent bed chairs have gone. We were woken 5 mornings out of 7 with builders working and cleaners shuting at just after 7am. The building wasn't just a bit of DIY - it was a major refurbishment of the whole block at the back of our appartment across the open walkway.Cleaners shout to each other across the walkways. Cases trundle up and down past the bedrooms at all hours. Everyone smokes here - even our balcony was too smokey to sit out most evenings ... and smoke even seeped into the bathroom through air conditioning system. House wine and beer is acceptable. The bar is noisy every night, and kids screaming and running around until late - some were even playing 'hide and seek' in other people's ground level balconies. The kids run around the walkways and play 'knock doors' too sometimes. The rooms are nicely decorated, and seemed well cleaned - plenty of nice towels ok equipment etc...but how clean can a place be with so many cockroaches? Small plastic glasses in the bar - they run out of propper glasses early. Ok choices of drinks, but long queues in a tiny bar area... why don't they open up the propper bar and have more staff on duty? We didn't get to try the Italian restaurant - you have to book 3 days in advance, which is not acceptable when you are only there for a week anyway... and it wasn't even open until the wednseday (we went home on the Friday). We spent most of our time at the 'Oasis' in Los Gigantes - a lovely, sunny, grassy spot with a good pool and playground and a fabulous view of the sea and the cliffs at Los Gigantes... and it has a great restaurant and clifftop cafe/bar. Worth paying for decent food and bed chairs - we went there every day...it saved our holiday! Tenerife is lovely, Puerto Santaigo beach not amazing. Los Gigantesbeach ok, but sometimes shut because of rock falls. Also, the sea was very rough in October, and not safe for swimming especially for little ones ; warning flags were flying most days ...not sure how this makes it a family beach holiday? Whale and dolphin watching was excellent - but go on the shorter trips - the ones without meals - they go to exactly the same places and are cheaper and less crowded. The rep vanished after the second day, we suspect she was avoiding everyone, so we didn't get round to booking any trips through her. Lovely coffee shop in Los Gigantes - 'Bamboo' and fab pastries and good coffee etc. (We never did find the 'afternoon cakes' at the Tamaimo!). Some rooms we saw were below street level you could look down through the wire fencing into their balconies from the street - at least we were on the first floor! The Tamaimo makes the TV show Benidorm look good. If you like boozy, smokey, noisy holidays and aren't too fussy about what you eat, this is ok. We hated it, and were exhausted from lack of sleep. We have never been glad to get home from a holiday before! The staff are pleasant when you talk to them, but frankly they are too busy to give you any time. Think of it as a 'Tourist Farm' rather than a hotel, and you wouldn't be far wrong.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Magicratgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Globales Tamaimo Tropical, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Customer, The Hotel Tamaimo Tropical would like to thank you for spending some of your time commenting in trip advisor about your recent vacation with us.

We are all working hard to give our customers the best possible holiday. We do apologise if your stay with us didn’t reach your spectations. Your comments will encourage us to keep working hard to improve day by day.

We will pass all your comments regarding maid service and food quality to the Hotel manager & our staff which will be investigating the subjects.

Please be sure that we will do our upmost to ensure all details are improved.

We kindly invite you to come back to our hotel or any other of Hoteles Globales in a near future.
In case of any further assistance please do not hesitate to contact us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    581
    1,101
    821
    350
    349
See reviews for
1,205
1,278
52
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (838)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
bradford
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 30 Dec til 10 jan, first impressions was good, we were given room 513 with no balcony. I asked to be moved and day after was given room 240. Loved this lovely pool view very spacious and spotless, just the tv channels let it down. Cleaned eveyday, but cleaner did try coming in too early. Food was good and aways a choice but without sounding fussy maybe little more choice would've been better. Staff are really hard working, and polite, our favourites were Jennifer and Stephnos the animation team. They work their butts off keeping people entertained and happy. They was great in the evening, Stephnos always had my fella laughing without knowing he was. OOOLAALAAH. The cleaners never stop. We went away for a relaxing holiday and thats what we had. Just one little complain, please serve gravy in the restaurant.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bettybooBradford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Globales Tamaimo Tropical, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Client,

First of all, we wish to thank you for your loyalty to the Hotel Globales Tamaimo Tropical. We feel proud and honored to have loyal clients like you.

We truly pride ourselves on trying to create memorable experiences for our guests, so thank you for your comments and for posting a review of your experience on TripAdvisor.

It is our hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

This is the fifth time my wife and I have stayed here and the complex is definitely improving each time. On arrival we were "upgraded" to an apartment instead of a studio as we we're repeat visitors. However the room we were given was one on the ground floor at the front which meant it was actually below ground level = no view. Plus the hot water didn't work and all we got was tepid water at best. I spoke to reception and they offered us a move to one of the top floor apartments but it was a bit shabby and ready for a refurb. I again spoke to reception and the clear Juan was more than a little unhelpful telling us to come back each morning to check on room availability I'm pretty sure their booking system will tell them which rooms will be free and when so I emailed the Thomson 24/7 line. They responded within the hour and the next morning our rep Sian had it sorted and we were moved to a very nice room on the third floor. The hot water was fine too. The hotel did offer us a dinner in the restaurant which I declined as we aren't serial complainers just for free stuff! We were self catering so I can't comment on the hotel food. It's spotless with gernerally friendly staff. There are loads of local restaurants within 2 mins walk, nearly all of them are excellent and good value. Thanks again to Sian for sorting our problems so quickly.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dancin_homer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Globales Tamaimo Tropical, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for your time spent on write such a kind comment on TripAdvisor describing the sensation obtained during your stay in Globales Tamaimo Tropical.

We work hard everyday in order to satisfy our guest's expectations and we feel very happy when we achieve it.

We hope to see you again in any of the hotels of the Globales Group, we would be delighted to welcome you back.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowestoft, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Me and my partner went there for 10 nights all inclusive in september 2013!
Before we went there we read them all horrible reviews and we were quiet scared its going to be really bad, but was excellent!
We arrived late to the hotel so was no food left for us but the reception directed us to close by pizza place ( 5 euros).
We had a lovely large room, cleaned every day apart from Sundays. Our staff haven' been touched and rubbish gone from the room. Clean towels in the bathroom and clean bedding.
We both love sunbathing so we like to be by the pool so you can call us 'crazy' as we are getting up before the breakfast (7am) to get the spot by the pool.
We sat by the big pool every day and its amazing, no kids go on the left hand side of the pool (coming out from canteen) so even when we jumped in like a crazy bunch noone was complaining.
The only thing which I was saying loud and complaining are the other guests who are getting spot by the pool and then open a massive parasol next to you!!! How annoying, honestly I am not going on hot holidays to stay under the umbrella.

Food was good, its not mummy cooking but everything was always fresh, plenty of choices, meat, fish, pasta, rice, soups.
Italian restaurat which you need to book in very good - I love my pizza :)
Barbecue bar by the pool - quick tasty snacks during the day, specially chicken kebabs and chips

Drinks during the day served very quickly, during the evening a massive cue in the entertaiment room but if you want a drink you need to wait. I suggest getting a sit outside as it gets really really hot there.

Alot of birtish people who we met there we want to remain friends, amazing bunch of idividualities with the great sense of humour.

The only complaint is wheater. Wasn't too good as hotel is close to mountains the sun was appearing about 12- 1pm but me and my boyfriend are fanatics so we like to sunbathing for 8 hours.

Overall highly recommended hotel - I would deffo go back.:)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Monika W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Globales Tamaimo Tropical, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
We would like to thank you for taking time to write a review about your stay at Globales Tamaimo Tropical and for choosing our hotel for your vacation.

In the name of all staff and management we want to express our satisfaction to acknowledge your positive valuation about the service provided by our staff at the different areas of the hotel.

In Hoteles Globales we are commited to provide to our guest the best experience during their holidays and we feel very happy when we achieve it!.

We will be glad to welcome you back. We remain at your disposition for further assistance before your next visit.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

My partner and I stayed here for a week in December and had a great value for money holiday. We were in room 259 which over looked the quiet pool and was a nice quiet apartment. The apartment was large clean and very well equipped with microwave, kettle, 2 hobs, kettle and lots of pan and cooking utensils. We had a flat screen tv with a few news type English channels. The balcony had a table 2 chairs and a type of clothes line. The apartment was cleaned daily,beds made daily and the towels were changed daily. On the 4th day our sheets were changed. The beds were comfy and we slept well

We were self catering and found lovely restaurants to eat in. The China town2 restaurant is lovely and the set meal for 9.95 euros is delicious. Also Los Corales do an excellent 3 course meal for similar price. The last 3 days of our holiday we up graded to all inclusive which was a bargain at 50 euros per person (25 euros x 2, third day was free!).

The all inclusive food was varied and hot. I noticed a microwave for people who wanted to heat their food but nobody seemed to use it. Drinks were served in wine glasses in the restaurant but in plastic cups by the pool (health and safety). The Italian restaurant Morocollos was nice, but you had to book a place.

Negatives:
Very hilly area so not for people with walking difficulties. There were some restaurants near the hotel without going up hills but getting to the Chinese restaurant and Los Corales meant going up and down steep inclines.
Pool extremely cold, although was supposed to be solar heated.
We would return, but prefer to change holiday locations are there are lots of new places to explore.

Room Tip: Higher floor quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gail_mattison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Globales Tamaimo Tropical, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are glad to know that you spent a pleasant stay at our hotel Globales Tamaimo Tropical enjoying our products, services and facilities.

Thank you very much for bringing us your insights and comments which are always well received and treated with the greatest interest in improving sleep quality, and expectations of our customers.

We hope to see you again in any of the hotels of the Globales Group sometime in the near future. We would be delighted to welcome you back.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

If you want to sleep past 5am hope that you don't get one of the rooms by the kitchen, 160 to 167 in particular. Trolleys bouncing along the tiles and rumbling , staff banging huge fridge doors shut and shouting to each other from 20 paces. Then the cleaners join in around 8am and they like to drag furniture along the hard floors instead of picking them up off the tiled floors in the apartment right above! We got moved and were put on the list of people waiting to be moved, even our Thomas Cook rep' told us they were good at it, well they would be with so much practise. It all seemed very careworn and the staff all appeared totally dis-interested. The weather was superb, the food was excellent and most of the bars were reasonable, Route 66 however charged 9 euro's for a Glenfidich whisky and dry! We won't be returning!

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lladro20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Puerto de Santiago hotels

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

I didn't have very high expectations for the quality of this hotel, however for a 3 star hotel I couldn't have asked for more. We had an issue with our room and we were moved straight away. The all inclusive is typical of Spanish food but is plentiful and fresh. We stayed for Christmas and New Year and were served a gala dinner for both evenings. The food on these evenings was amazing, we were given goody bags and tables decorated. Wine on the tables and the staff always ready to help. The Entertainment was brilliant, games for both adults and children with a presentation of certificates at the evening entertainment. A mini disco is on for the children with lots of silly dances which we all danced to. The couple who organised and ran the entertainment were brilliant they worked long hours every day and were always happy and my children loved them. My competitive husband enjoyed all the adult games, with all of them entertained I managed to be left in peace by the pool to read my book. The children had activities 3/4 times a day so got to see them as well and enjoyed family time. Did two excursions Sian Park on Christmas day and the boat trip to see the whales and dolphins,(make sure you haggle the price of the boat trip, did the 3 hour trip for £25 each adult and £12.50 for one child got the other two for free) We met so many lovely people, enjoyed winning the bingo and the different evening entertainment that took place which included magic shows, bands and good old karaoke! All the staff were so attentive and always seemed happy to help. I would never have thought I would have enjoyed being away at Christmas so much.
My only negative points would be
* The size of the cups from the poolside bar, by the time you got back to your sunbed it was time to go back for another one.
* The poolside could do with re painting as the paint is flacking
* The pool was cold but once kids were in they were fine.
* If self catering the facilities aren't great but you get a fridge in every room.
* No air con, which was fine for when we visited but wouldn't be good in the summer.
* No pool towels available but towels in the room.
* floors not cleaned in bathroom, but beds made everyday except Sundays and clean sheets for the second week. Towels changed if you put dirty ones in the bath.
* Having to get up early to get a sunbed and got annoyed by reserved bed not being used.
All in all a brilliant time with fabulous weather in two weeks we only had one cloudy day temperatures ranging from 23 to 26 degrees.
Thank you Tamaimo Tropical for a lovely Christmas family holiday.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tomkinsgang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Globales Tamaimo Tropical, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay with us.

Our principal aim is to give you our best service, make your stay unforgettable and reach your expectations. Your positive comments will help us with our continuing effort to improve the service quality.

We sincerely hope we can exceed your expectations even more on your next visit to the Hotel Globales Tamaimo Tropical
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto de Santiago
1.0 mi away
Allegro Isora
Allegro Isora
#1 of 1 in Playa de la Arena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,326 reviews
0.5 mi away
Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes
Be Live Family Costa los Gigante...
#2 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,953 reviews
2.4 mi away
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Lagos de Cesar by Blue Sea
Lagos de Cesar by Blue Sea
#10 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
3.0 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dragos Del Sur
Dragos Del Sur
#5 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
0.9 mi away
IBH Hotel Bahia Flamingo
IBH Hotel Bahia Flamingo
#6 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
3.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Globales Tamaimo Tropical? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Globales Tamaimo Tropical

Property: Globales Tamaimo Tropical
Address: Calle La Hondura S/N | Los Gigantes, 38683 Puerto de Santiago, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de Santiago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto de Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Globales Tamaimo Tropical 3*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel description The Globales Tamaimo Tropical Hotel is made up of 372 comfortable apartments and is located in Puerto Santiago in Tenerife between Los Gigantes and the lovely beach known of Playa de la Arena. At the Globales Tamaimo Tropical Hotel there is a variety of accommodation to choose from such as comfortable studio apartments, large one-bedroom apartments or two-bedroom apartments - ideal for family holidays. Within the holiday complex there are spacious and peaceful solariums with free sun-lounger service for you to relax in or you can take a refreshing dip in one of the 5 swimming pools (2 adult, 2 kids and 1 heated). For an unforgettable holiday in the sun, entertainment is available for both adults and children from 11:00am to 11:00pm when the disco bar comes to life with with professional night shows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Globales Tamaimo Tropical reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Globales Aparthotel Tamaimo Tropical Hotel Puerto De Santiago
Aparthotel Tamaimo Tropical Hotel
Tamaimo Tropical Tenerife
Aparthotel Tenerife Tropical
Tamaimo Tenerife
Globales Tamaimo Tropical Tenerife/Puerto De Santiago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing