We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Globales Tamaimo Tropical
Hyde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good value hotel”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We returned here in August for a two week all inclusive holiday with our children, 11 and 14. Although the hotel was much busier than when we had previously been in February, the service was still excellent. The staff were extremely helpful. When we reported the lock on the balcony doors as being stiff, it was replaced within an hour with a new one. The apartment was spacious and very clean.It was cleaned every day except Sunday. Bedding was changed regularly, and towels when requested.
There was always plenty of food to choose from in the restaurant, and we rarely had to wait to be seated.
The larger of the two pools was extremely busy, so we stuck to the quieter one which was a lovely pool with a handy bar area. Sun beds were usually taken the night before or very early on with towels. We couldn't be bothered getting into a sunbed war, yet always managed to find enough beds for the four of us later on in the day. There were also plenty of seats around tables in the outdoor bar area.
This is only a three star hotel, so if you are use to choice and luxury it may not be the hotel for you. However if you are looking for a comfortable, friendly good value for money hotel, I would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the larger pool are noisier in the day, but quieter at night. The rooms overlooki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Helen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    588
    1,118
    834
    356
    354
See reviews for
1,223
1,297
53
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (845)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Firstly it's a 2 star and you have to expect rough edges , from talking to people who had visited previously it has come on leaps and bounds . On first impressions I could have jumped into a taxi and gone straight home , it was our first all inclusive and I thought I was in a Jeremy Kyle summer special . The room stank of sewage , was dusty had sockets hanging of the wall and because we arrived at 2145hrs they were not interested in feeding us . I went straight to reception and told them to sort it all and they did within 5 mins. The place does grow on you and the over worked staff are polite IF YOU TREAT THEM WITH THE SAME COURTESY .. Jenny and Stefano are fantastic and work bloody hard , don't know if I could be so buoyant with some of the knobs they had to deal with . There was always a choice of fresh food in the restaurant but it does get bloody warm
It is isolated and not a beach holiday but if you want to eat , drink and relax and not worry about the kids this is the place , make sure you explore all options regarding prices but they fluctuate wildly , I paid £ 2800 for 4 adults ( my kids are 14 and 15 ) mid to late August and booked it a week before we went .
One last point , make sure you have an early riser in your party to commandeer sun beds as at certains times it gets really really stupid .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed there for two weeks with our 3 daughters. The food was terrible. Hot tap water in plastic cups thrown everywhere. The place around the pool was far too crowded and cleaned only in the morning. The tables at the bar always dirty and had to wipe ourselves or feel very uncomfortable with pigeons eating leftovers of dried burgers.
The rooms are cleaned every day but towels and bed linen changed every other day. There is no air conditioning and the the bath/ toilet/ shower very smelly and old. When cleaned no products are used to show that is cleaned.


They don't provide towels for the pool and charge you for the locker £60 euros! The staff very unfriendly and they all pretended they don't speak English and didn't care about your problem. Eg asked a glass for the wine and the waitress said PLASTIC PLASTIC with a grin on her face.

I couldn't wait for the holiday to end. All inclusive with that amount of money I expected much more, better food and wider choice, expected the rooms to be more clean and more facilities, expected to feel more welcome.

I wouldn't go back again even with the half of money I've paid. Disappointed to tell the truth!
I loved the morning jogging along the seaside though.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EDERSO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Puerto de Santiago hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Pool and pool grill were great. The resteraunt was too warm but reasonable food. No crazy golf, no multi sports pitch and an over booked tennis court led to my teenage lads getting bored. Not a lot to do if the weather lets you down. Had problems with first family room but was given 2 twin rooms quibble free so can't complain. Some spectacular views, glad we went but will try else where next year.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PDJ750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winsford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Just got back from our stay at tamaimo tropical. Me and my boyfriend, 17 and 20 really enjoyed this holiday!! On arrival we were greeted by friendly staff who gave us some information about the hotel and where about everything was. The rooms were clean and tidy when we arrived and were cleaned every fatty except Sundays and dispite no air con in the room it never got unbearably hot as we kept our balcony door open. As I'm a fussy eater food was never going to easily please. 2 nights of the 7 we ate out as there was nothing I would eat but most days there was something. We didn't really eat in the restaurant at lunch time as there was an outside BBQ all day round the pool which was very handy as that's where we spent most of our time. The atmosphere on our side of the hotel was nice and chilled, the other side was full of kids which we didn't really like as we preferred it more chilled out. The drinks were good even though it didn't include international brands. It was nice to try something different. Having two cups at a time each wasn't too bad either because even though there were queues around the bar we got served pretty quick. Overall, a very enjoyable holiday and we would return!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Georgia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Arrived back from Tamaimo Tropical in the early hours of Friday morning and on reflection this was one of the nicest holiday's my family and i have been on. I would of given it a better rating if it was not for the staff. First the room, we had a nice room overlooking the quieter swimming pool on the third floor. It was clean and comfortable but the cleaner seemed to miss our room on a regular occasion, and had to ask for clean towels a couple of time even though we did put our dirty ones in the bath. The food was good, a couple of evening meals were a bit rough but then you cant please everyone. The bars were well stocked but the bar staff were dreadful, rude, and on many occasions ignore the queue of people waiting so they can polish glasses. The entertainment was good, Stefanio and Jennifer were brilliant with the kids and adults and the evening shows were also entertaining. Reception were helpful. Just watch the weekends, its get rammed with Spanish and if your not an early riser you'll have no chance of a sun bed, I had to get up at 3.30am one Saturday because i could hear the sun beds moving around the pool. Overall if they sort out the bar staff and cleaners i would be happy to go back

Room Tip: Ask for room 393 or around that area because in that block its air conditioned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Garry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

This hotel has dated decor but it is generally well maintained. Could do with some more staff to keep on top of cleaning the public areas.The room was basic but had air con which was a bonus. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful.The food was ok but perhaps a bit repetitive and boring. The all inclusive drinks were very good, big measures, the queues for them were small and we were served quickly. The quieter pool was great, cool water and no loud music during the day. People reserved sunbeds by 8.30am. The evening entertainment was loud, repetitive dull and aimed mainly at children. There were some animal shows which I disagree with.
The resort is a long way from anywhere, an hours bus ride to Los Cristianos. Locally there is the harbour with a few restaurants, but they close quite early and it's a 20 minute walk, uphill. The nearest beach is tiny and 10 minutes walk away up and down hills. The next beach is 25 minutes walk away or a bus ride and has no sunbeds and very hot black sand. This is not a beach holiday!
The local supermarket is tiny but the staff are very friendly. There are one or 2 restaurants within walking distance.
The flipper UNO trip from the harbour was great fun and is a must.

Room Tip: Ask for one with air con and not above the bar!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto de Santiago
1.0 mi away
Allegro Isora
Allegro Isora
#1 of 1 in Playa de la Arena
1,452 reviews
0.5 mi away
Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes
Be Live Family Costa los Gigante...
#2 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
5,022 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dragos Del Sur
Dragos Del Sur
#5 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 mi away
Alborada Beach Club
Alborada Beach Club
#2 of 2 in Las Galletas
2,031 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lagos de Cesar by Blue Sea
Lagos de Cesar by Blue Sea
#10 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
700 reviews
0.3 mi away
El Marques Palace by Intercorp Hotel Group
El Marques Palace by Intercorp H...
#7 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Globales Tamaimo Tropical? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Globales Tamaimo Tropical

Property: Globales Tamaimo Tropical
Address: Calle La Hondura S/N | Los Gigantes, 38683 Puerto de Santiago, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de Santiago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto de Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Globales Tamaimo Tropical 3*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel description The Globales Tamaimo Tropical Hotel is made up of 372 comfortable apartments and is located in Puerto Santiago in Tenerife between Los Gigantes and the lovely beach known of Playa de la Arena. At the Globales Tamaimo Tropical Hotel there is a variety of accommodation to choose from such as comfortable studio apartments, large one-bedroom apartments or two-bedroom apartments - ideal for family holidays. Within the holiday complex there are spacious and peaceful solariums with free sun-lounger service for you to relax in or you can take a refreshing dip in one of the 5 swimming pools (2 adult, 2 kids and 1 heated). For an unforgettable holiday in the sun, entertainment is available for both adults and children from 11:00am to 11:00pm when the disco bar comes to life with with professional night shows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Globales Tamaimo Tropical reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Globales Aparthotel Tamaimo Tropical Hotel Puerto De Santiago
Aparthotel Tamaimo Tropical Hotel
Tamaimo Tropical Tenerife
Aparthotel Tenerife Tropical
Tamaimo Tenerife
Globales Tamaimo Tropical Tenerife/Puerto De Santiago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing