We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“enjoyable stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Globales Tamaimo Tropical
Reviewed July 17, 2013

After reading all the reviews before going, was a bit weary, got there welcomed by nice staff, staff were friendly, place was clean, there was only one creepy crawly on last but one day, just after bins were put out!! all the fuss about them was crap!!. nothing was too much trouble, room was clean, bathroom clean, nice balcony, we were at the front, quiet and relaxing, apart from last nite when some others moved in both sides, food had a good variety, clean pools ,entertainment wasn't too good, but found a lovely couple of English bars, the courtyard, warm welcome from staff, good laugh and entertaining, another bar the outside bar was good, and also one near that, all within a few mins from each other. as I said staff were good, it was other people who seemed miserable and rude, first trip a broad first of many, area of Tenerife quiet not much to do, if you want peace its ok.

Room Tip: rooms at front were quieter, than pool ones 368 we had was good at front, quiet inside.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jill d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,423)
There are newer reviews for Globales Tamaimo Tropical
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,863 - 1,869 of 3,423 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2013

If you are looking for somewhere cheap and tacky where you have to get up at 3 a.m. to bag a sun bed if you are lucky then this is for you. Unfortunately we chose to try and enjoy our holiday by lying in until 9 a.m. but that meant there was no room for us by either of the hotels pools. Whilst the hotel brags "5" pools, these are two pools divided up and sunbeds are available for only 50% of the guests. We woke one morning at 6 a.m. to go on an excursion and were horrified to see that every bed had been bagged. The hotel manager was very rude and unpleasant and cannot be bothered with the hotels issues. The Rep assured us they were going to start a 20 minute rule with sunbeds that were bagged and not being used, but that never happened! As for the food, we understand all inclusive is buffet food but this was appalling. The only decent food at breakfast seemed to be brought out just before they closed the restaurant when they would switch off the juice and coffee machines and the staff would then help themselves to the breakfast. The only thing worth eating is the pastries, but check that they are fresh first! The dinner was awful in fact it made us ill so we ended up eating out every night at our own expense, although the rep did reimburse us for one of our meals out! There is an Italian Restaurant on the complex which is apparently "a la carte". You can book to go there. We were told it was open until 9.30 p.m. and so said we would go at 8.30 p.m....huge mistake! There was an empty dish of lasagne, some dried out spag bol and some old stale pizza. We asked the chef if he was making any thing more and were told in no uncertain terms that the kitchen was closed! Yet again we ended up going out! The rooms are spacious but don't expect clean towels everyday. At the weekend all the Spanish teenagers come and stay in big gangs. Expect gangs of kids around the pool until the early hours with glasses being smashed in and out of the pool. It was a relief to come home!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ACHarrison75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Me & my partner (19 & 24) stayed here from 5th of july for a week, Staff friendly when checking in, other than that they need to learn to smile!! Rooms are big & clean, towels only changed twice in the week we were here, when your showering every day not good!! when booking they holiday i asked for a double bed but never got one. also where our room was the cleaners were without fail outside our window at 7:30-8.00am every morning talking rather loudly.
The food... i dont even know where to start with the food! it was ridiculous!! we were all inclusive and only ate in the hotel 3 times for breakfast, twice for lunch and once for dinner and the rest of the week we ate out! the juice for breakfast is just a no go! lunch and dinner are ok if you like soggy food or your cool with chips every night! if you find the food is rubbish like me then there are a few nice places to eat round about, there is san fransicos around the corner, brill!! also a few other places just next door also Beeches Brook is fab! english bar very friendly! would recommend. The pool is very busy! need to be up at the crack of dawn to get a bed. It also tells you in your room to be silent after 11.00pm for other guest but the music at the bar goes on until 12.30 and is very loud! & the rep was very poor!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Stayed here middle of June for 10 days, all inclusive. We are a couple and are 28 and 32. I don't consider myself fussy, and knew it wouldn't be '5 Star' but was very disappointed.

The room was ok, it was large and clean. While we were there they put new curtains up, new cushion covers and pictures, so it seems they are trying to improve. Beds were a bit hard. Balcony was a decent size.

Pool was large. It wasn't very clean. Old sunbeds that don't adjust, people putting towels down on the new ones the night before! Music at pool area repeated the whole 10 days, it will drive you mad.

Location wasn't great. I didn't want or expect to be in clubs throughout the night, but there are not many bars/restaurants nearby. Los Gigantes is a 15 minute walk, which has more, but not a lot - Paddy's bar was good. We also went to a lovely restaurant called The Fisherman's Inn which is up the steps opposite the entrance to hotel, turn right and further along you'll see it's outdoor area looking out towards the sea.

Food wasn't great at hotel, but did manage to find something at each meal. Salad selection and soups were good. The drink machines smell horrible. The small plastic cups are so annoying!! We went out of the hotel every evening to get a normal sized drink! The queues for drinks are appalling, and you are only allowed to get 2 drinks at a time.

Hotel is very noisy - maids in the morning chatting outside the room windows.

The hotel was generally clean.

Staff on reception seemed friendly, and in the restaurant, but they are clearly very stressed, and staff elsewhere in hotel couldn't be bothered to speak to you and were miserable.

We paid £900 for a 10 day all-inc holiday for 2 adults, which is reasonably cheap, but I certainly expected more than this! Ive had much better holidays abroad for considerably less money.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank noonoo2206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed here as a 7 strong family group occupying 3 rooms for 7 days from Friday 28th June, on arrival we where told there was a problem with a room ,mine! a man called Byron in reception said there was a "broken pipe" and no spare rooms would be available till the next morning and so for the first night we had to bunk up with my mother in law and her partner, the next morning we where shown a room that we did not accept and on returning to tell reception this the answer was "we are fully booked " more like overbooked! it wasn't until after 2pm that we actually had a room to call our own.
The "air conditioned restaurant" that isn't, this place is really warm the staff keep it tidy which is a plus but struggled to give us a table for 7 every mealtime, the food choice was not great and even less so after the weekend when the Spanish guests had left, not a good experience at all.
The disco bar that the nightly entertainment is in is woefully inadequate not enough space for the number of guests, and the queue for the tiny bar is shocking you can be there for 20-30 minutes the whole place is not fit for purpose.
Room service is not great you are asked to place the towels in the bath when they need changing and when you do this they just hang them back up wet, the sheets on the bed where never changed the fresh sheets were just put into the room for us to do ourselves!
The sunbed situation is unbelievable I saw people putting towels on beds before sunrise!
they are so tightly packed around the large pool you can barely walk around it, the little pool is a bit better but not by much.
In summary I think that this is such a large hotel that the management are losing sight on the small details it seems more interested in profit than give you a happy family holiday, I also agree with a previous review entitled Spanish Butlins the weekend was unbearable with the rudeness and the noise, the staff need proper customer service training and how to smile, we will not be returning to this hotel it could be a whole better with a few changes,
I see that the managers reply to these reviews I hope they take on board the criticisms and change for the better.

Room Tip: If you get the choice the air conditioned rooms are only in what they call the new block
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank McKenna71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

The check in went as expected, the roons were a pleasant surprise, large clean and with a kitchen in them (We was fully comp so this was a surprise to us!). The bar staff don't understand small measures either they must have been 50%+ vodka (Hey I'm not complaining!!!).

Well now I have got to the food I am. There was eight of us, six of us had upset stomachs, we found moldy bread, turkey meet with feathers in it and orange flavoured jelly with what I think was a bobe from a another meal. All of the fopd was bland and tasteless and the drinks machines routinely just gave you water instead of coke or sprite etc.

1  Thank Conflake88
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Spanish boys / teens , running the place. Chanting , singing, clashing into shoulders of people. This place is the spanish £7 sun newspaper holiday. no order at all. Feels very yobish.The hotel stinks of rotten sewer, the pools are thick with oil and grim, never see cleaned the whole week.Towels, when dirty are to be placed in the bath, you do this and they hang them back on your door, unclean,Entertainment room too small , you cannot ever get a seat or view,Sunbeds are toweld,stolen from dawn.The noise of music and yobbish chants goes on through the night.Dont go here with kids, dont go here at all.And got stomach bug from food.Aviod this place like the plague, not a holiday, more ; Hell a day.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank roman75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto de Santiago
1.0 mi away
Allegro Isora
Allegro Isora
#1 of 1 in Playa de la Arena
1,844 reviews
0.5 mi away
Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes
Be Live Family Costa los Gigante...
#3 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
5,256 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dragos Del Sur
Dragos Del Sur
#5 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
El Marques Palace by Intercorp Hotel Group
El Marques Palace by Intercorp H...
#6 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
197 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ona El Marques
Ona El Marques
#1 of 3 in Santiago del Teide
318 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barcelo Santiago
Barcelo Santiago
#1 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
5,768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Globales Tamaimo Tropical? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Globales Tamaimo Tropical

Address: Calle La Hondura S/N | Los Gigantes, 38683 Puerto de Santiago, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de Santiago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto de Santiago
Price Range: $80 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Globales Tamaimo Tropical 3*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel description The Globales Tamaimo Tropical Hotel is made up of 372 comfortable apartments and is located in Puerto Santiago in Tenerife between Los Gigantes and the lovely beach known of Playa de la Arena. At the Globales Tamaimo Tropical Hotel there is a variety of accommodation to choose from such as comfortable studio apartments, large one-bedroom apartments or two-bedroom apartments - ideal for family holidays. Within the holiday complex there are spacious and peaceful solariums with free sun-lounger service for you to relax in or you can take a refreshing dip in one of the 5 swimming pools (2 adult, 2 kids and 1 heated). For an unforgettable holiday in the sun, entertainment is available for both adults and children from 11:00am to 11:00pm when the disco bar comes to life with with professional night shows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Globales Tamaimo Tropical reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Globales Aparthotel Tamaimo Tropical Hotel Puerto De Santiago
Aparthotel Tamaimo Tropical Hotel
Tamaimo Tropical Tenerife
Aparthotel Tenerife Tropical
Tamaimo Tenerife
Globales Tamaimo Tropical Tenerife/Puerto De Santiago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing