We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“eager maids”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Globales Tamaimo Tropical
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“eager maids”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

we were self catering, the apartment was clean, the place was spotless possibly due to the cleaners being up at 7.30. On our first morning the cleaner was outside our room at 8.30, not a time to be getting up when on holiday. Some of the people on holiday must have thought everyone should be up at 1.00 in the morning as they did nothing but shout. The Tamaimo its self was very central for everything and dispite the noise we would go back again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gillianmoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    585
    1,115
    830
    354
    353
See reviews for
1,218
1,293
53
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (843)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Myself and my boyfriend stayed here from 2/6/13 - 12/6/13 and had the best holiday we could have had for £400pp all inclusive.

The hotel/ room: The room was a spacious apartment with a kitchen and separate bedroom. this was a nice surprise as it offered more space to relax aside from sitting on the balcony. The towels and bedding were changed daily as far as I could tell which was nice. as other reviews have said, the reception is open 24/7 with English speaking staff. there are also computers in the reception which are pay as you go so for ten minutes it was 1 euro. not bad just to let people know you've arrived instead of racking up a phone bill. The only thing we weren't happy with were the pigeons, however if the hotel put lids on the bins this could be avoided. it's not the end of the world though.

The food: My boyfriend is a particularly fussy eater (Only eating typically plain foods eg burger and chips) this was a worry because of some bad reviews, we were SO surprised at how good the food was. it's not anything fancy but there was always something tasty and the snack bar offers everything from hot dogs to steak. The one thing I would mention is that there didn't seem to be too much choice for children at the evening meal however if they like chips and some form of meat they will be fine. There have also been a lot of complaints about plastic cups by the pool. I think the complaints are ridiculous. I would feel much happier if I had children running around knowing there was no glass.

Staff: The staff were brilliant. I haven't got a bad thing to say. The children's entertainers worked especially hard.

Entertainment: Brilliant. there's the children's disco, followed by bingo with prize money reaching over 100euros. then there is usually some kind of show. whilst we were there there were brazillian dancers (one for the guys), a bird show, Spanish dancers, a magician who got my boyfriend on stage to throw knives at him. There was something different every night which was refreshing.

I LOVED this holiday and the hotel was lovely. I would absolutely stay here again however having done all we can in this area I would go to Ls Americas next I think. Don't listen to the bad reviews, there's just no pleasing some people sometimes.

Room Tip: Ask for a room over by the snack bar to avoid being kept up by evening entertainment!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rebecca t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Last year I went here with my family in july. I really enjoyed my time here as I meet some great people the reception was open 24/7 with computer and comfy seats and it had nice sitting areas all around the hotel! It had a lovely well in the centre of the hotel too -which was a nice touch too! It had two large pool area that were enough sun beds to go on everyday! When we spent time in the hotel the games with the entertainers was great and we meet some great people. There is a lot to do for kids and the food was decent. A 10 minute walk away was a huge festival with live bands and fairground rides, 4-d theatre and drinking bars everywhere and all the locals came out to dance at night! the beach was quite close by and we went to plyas de las americas for shopping twice! Which had a few shopping centres and water parks! Overall the best holiday ever! So lovely!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank J A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swinton manchester
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Our second time to Tamaimo Tropical and still a fantastic time. Food really good, place spotlessly clean and everyone friendly. You actually get more than you paid for. The first room we didnt like so they moved 5 of us into 3 seperate apartments free of charge.Full English in the morning, I wasnt sure about the bacon prefer English bacon but loads to choose from at each sitting. Always loads of sun beds. People were complaining that they could only have 2 drinks at a time. Just get the 2 drinks put them on the table and queue again. Simples. As Tenerife is the cockroach capital when ever they were seen they came and did something about it. When someone saw one in the dining room, they closed it down and the bar and treated it. I never saw one at all.Los Gigantes is beautiful. A really great time. Dont take notice of any bad comments because if anything is not to your liking the staff sort it out

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank malandsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here and place is great staff really helpful and friendly , food amazing also my picky children had food they could eat . Cleaning not perfect so needs to be improved and could do with more shops in the area but buses are handy too . Overall I would go back again

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Thegymfreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Coast UK
Level Contributor
86 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Booked this late deal, and found majority staying here were late bookers. You get more than you pay for here, as its only officially a 2 star!. Food and drink were OK, lots of choice, maybe repetitive, can usually find something you like. Have a pool grill bar for burgers, kebabs etc Not the tastiest of food, but fine. Room came as a surprise, as large, with separate bedroom, fitted kitchen with fridge, kettle, toaster, rings, microwave, so you can have snacks, tea etc. Shower was not great, aircon worked well, and overall OK. Room cleaned daily, though no beach towels are provided, so bring some!. Hotel is clean, if a bit tired, though lots of work going on here, painting, gardens, room uplifts, (we had all the paintings changed in the room whilst we were out one day), new parasols, (they needed it!). Room overlooks pool and at rear the cliffs and can even see Teide, very pretty! There is a no reserve policy on sunbeds, which is a laugh, there are plenty of sunbeds, nicer ones gone by 0800, its the parasols that are in short supply, and the 0800 Brit sunbed race and resulting dance, entertained us over a cup of tea from our balcony. The rooms overlook the pools, and ours over the entertainment bar, which doesn't shut until midnight, so if over the "kids or quiet pool" as they call it, your get no sleep until midnight, and later on a Saturday, from noise of people walking back from the local bars, on a weekend!. The Hotel gets packed at weekends, with locals, and would imagine in high season the restaurant and pools would be manic. The staff are either very friendly and helpful, or totally disinterested, you never get anything in between. There was only one person at the bar on some nights, and this led the queues, especially with the 2 drinks per person policy in place (that is apart from locals..... who it didn't seem to apply to??) The local rep Rachel, was very friendly and extremely helpful - Thomson please note she is a credit to your company.
Entertainment OK, daytime for kids and adults usual stuff, at night a knife thrower - v good, wild birds, Brazilian dancers, (got my glasses out for that one) and the parrot show, which was a get rich scheme, if you had a pic taken, it cost you an arm and leg.
Location is great, Los Gigantes are 20 minute walk, some nice bars, very small beach 5 mins, Playa Arena 20 mins - good beach and bars. Good walks around coast at rear of hotel, very dramatic. Round back of hotel are shops, supermarkets, and British bars (Route 66 Mojitos are recommended, and group good). There are some top class restaurants there too, and you need to get away and out at least once and try these, as the food is much better than hotel and can watch sun go down from your table. By the way if you want a great sunset picture, go up to the solarium on top floor of hotel - you wont get a better sunset picture!
There are no dress codes here and you will get, flip-flops, vests, caps and football shorts in the dining room in the evening, so don't expect anything more, its serve yourself, not a problem to me, but if you don't like this, then don't come here. You also get some people here, who cannot take the drink, and act like idiotic teenagers, even in there 40s and 50s, again if you dont like this, then dont come!
Overall this was great value hotel, nice cheap break in the sun with OK food and drink, great pools and rooms, you do get more than you pay for but remember its only a 2 star, so not your Caribbean 4 star, food and service.
Would I go again - No - I would pay that little bit extra and go to the Barcelo over the road, as the sea views were stunning and restaurants/bars better. But for a cheap break in the sun it was just what we wanted and met some great people!!

Room Tip: Rooms by entertainment are noisy until midnight, if have kids will need rooms by pizza restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Never_om
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed here for a week from 7/6 - 15/6/13 we are 20 and 26.
Food- The food was okay, end of the day you get what you paid for we paid £350 pp including flights everything so what we paid for an all inclusive hotel can't of been that much, there was always something different every day, a good selection of meat but not always something to go with everything, one day I just had chips as that's all I liked the look of, I can be a picky eater but my boyfriend always found something. The cake! Oh my the cake was amazing! And definitely give the Italian a go! Open thurs fri & Saturday tea times.
Apartment- Well! We liked our apartment we had two bedrooms, and a front room sort of area with a balcony, most apartments the front door is looking to the front of the hotel then the balcony overlooks one of the pools. The cleaner is okay although annoyed us on the last day! She cleaned okay not to amazing standards but not dirty (again get what you pay for) on the last day our flight was very late so we paid to have our room extended, the cleaner still came in to do the change over for the next people, we tried to explain but it was hard because of the language barrier, she chucked out our paper, sweets we had saved for the flight home, took our stuff out the fridge, I was not happy! So we went down to reception and the cleaning manager asked her to leave our room, but was still annoying after paying the extra! Oh and there is a good hair drier! The shower is amazing better than ours at home, although our shower kept leaking really bad out of the bathroom to the front door, not sure if this waa just our room though! 323! We told the reception but they just said they'd send up clean towels, that was annoying too!
Entertainment- Hmm. There is entertainment, for about an hour! It's in a little dingy room you have the kids club thing, then bingo then some sort of different entertainment each night which lasts about an hour, so we sat outside by the opposite bar most nights playing cards. The entertainment people do work hard though give them there due! Pool is not free by the way! Have to pay 1€ we used the old cups in the pocket trick ;) but pool finishes at 10pm.
Pools- It's meant to be kids/family pool and another quiet pool, it is like that mostly you do get some kids in the quiet pool but there not all that loud, this hotel is very much like a Spanish butlins, on the weekends you get a lot of Spanish and you feel as though they're more important, in the week it's alot quieter and nicer tbh.
Drinks- There is a good selection of drinks! Very impressed, main bar is open 10am - 12am, drinks are in plastic cups in the day for obvious reasons, not a problem, only problem was that if staff where doing something and saw you at the bar they won't stop what there doing and serve you, you have to wait, not very efficient!
Staff- I saw someone write before depends what mood they're in and I agree, some are nice, some have a face like thunder, won't really do much to help you, apart from reception most of them where lovely. And entertainment crew really worked hard too!
Value- For what we paid I think it was great value! We literally booked the Monday and left on the Friday! If we had to book like that again I wouldn't mind going back but otherwise I wouldn't go back! They where doing some renovating whilst we where staying though.
Weather- Better than expected! Sometimes It is cloudy in the morning but they're sure to have cleared by about 1pm
Location- Not that amazing in all honesty but okay, the natural pool is a definite to go see! Lots of hills everywhere! And no night life a couple of bars but not very busy, and mostly for the older generation.
All in all a great holiday! Got what we came for which was a bit of last minute sun.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paigewitts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto de Santiago
1.0 mi away
Allegro Isora
Allegro Isora
#1 of 1 in Playa de la Arena
1,435 reviews
0.5 mi away
Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes
Be Live Family Costa los Gigante...
#2 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
5,013 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dragos Del Sur
Dragos Del Sur
#5 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Lagos de Cesar by Blue Sea
Lagos de Cesar by Blue Sea
#10 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
696 reviews
19.7 mi away
Alborada Beach Club
Alborada Beach Club
#2 of 2 in Las Galletas
2,026 reviews
0.3 mi away
El Marques Palace by Intercorp Hotel Group
El Marques Palace by Intercorp H...
#7 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Globales Tamaimo Tropical? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Globales Tamaimo Tropical

Property: Globales Tamaimo Tropical
Address: Calle La Hondura S/N | Los Gigantes, 38683 Puerto de Santiago, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de Santiago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto de Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Globales Tamaimo Tropical 3*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel description The Globales Tamaimo Tropical Hotel is made up of 372 comfortable apartments and is located in Puerto Santiago in Tenerife between Los Gigantes and the lovely beach known of Playa de la Arena. At the Globales Tamaimo Tropical Hotel there is a variety of accommodation to choose from such as comfortable studio apartments, large one-bedroom apartments or two-bedroom apartments - ideal for family holidays. Within the holiday complex there are spacious and peaceful solariums with free sun-lounger service for you to relax in or you can take a refreshing dip in one of the 5 swimming pools (2 adult, 2 kids and 1 heated). For an unforgettable holiday in the sun, entertainment is available for both adults and children from 11:00am to 11:00pm when the disco bar comes to life with with professional night shows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Globales Tamaimo Tropical reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Globales Aparthotel Tamaimo Tropical Hotel Puerto De Santiago
Aparthotel Tamaimo Tropical Hotel
Tamaimo Tropical Tenerife
Aparthotel Tenerife Tropical
Tamaimo Tenerife
Globales Tamaimo Tropical Tenerife/Puerto De Santiago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing