We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A budget Hotel that does what it says on the tin!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Globales Tamaimo Tropical
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A budget Hotel that does what it says on the tin!”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

They say you get what you pay for this is a budget hotel so don't expect 5 star service or facilities

The Rooms
These are basic but clean, our bathroom window was open when we arrived late at night and we didn't notice till later that the floor was covered in black dust we reported this to the reception and it was cleaned up when we got back to the room the next day, The rooms can be very noisy especially at night with people seeming to drag furniture around and slam doors in the early hours so if you are a light sleeper be warned. Our sleep was disturbed on several nights by some yobs in the room above it was very embarrassing that they were English yobs especially when the hotel has such a range of people from other countries.

Facilities
I subscribed to the hotel premium WIFI for the week expensive but it was quick and seemed to work well in the room, the only free WIFI was in the reception area.
There are 2 pools one is very noisy and lively ideal for those with children, the second is very peaceful and relaxing and was a lovely place to spend a few hours.

Entertainment
We didn't see any of this, one look at the sign that said Bingo told me this was not for us. Route 66 has some great bands on and is just round the corner from the hotel well worth a visit.

Catering
The food is canteen style serve yourself there was normally something for everyone and it was as you would expect from this type of Hotel basic but plenty of it.

Staff
The staff were friendly but not over helpful all the reception staff were very good

Would I go again? yes but only on bed and breakfast there are so many lovely places to eat locally Casa Pedro was has a lovely balcony and the food is genuine Canarian. Given a larger budget next time I would stay at the Barcelo Santiago which was in a better position and looked amazing.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kevin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    592
    1,130
    851
    367
    364
See reviews for
1,243
1,318
53
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (849)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fishguard, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Just come back from this hotel and I feel I really have to write this review. Like any hotels there are pros and cons so here goes.
PROS:
For an average A/I hotel the food here is excellent. Large choice and very tasty food. The Italian restaurant was a real bonus, as was the BBQ and pool bar area .
The staff are so friendly and hard working but they must feel so let down by the management.
Rooms are very clean. Girls came in every day to clean and make up room and while we were there all our section had brand new mattresses !!
Free Wi-Fi in reception (only) but there is no bar there !!
CONS:
Unless you get up at silly o clock in the morning you will not get a lounger by the (freezing cold ) pools and as there are no beaches in the area the pool is essential.
No beach towels provided.
We were in room 165 which had a lovely balcony facing onto the pool but OMG the noise at night is unbearable. As our front door faced the path leading to the kitchen and beer barrel storage area from 23.00 hours all we had ALL NIGHT was the sound of beer barrels being shifted, kitchen staff preparing for the breakfasts, bin men picking up the refuse .. could go on. Then from the balcony we had the Disco blaring out along with noisy holidaymakers although we accepted this, as you should be able to enjoy yourself on holiday, but I would have hated to have been one of the many couples who had VERY young babies and children with them, BUT ......... the noise from other bars adjacent to the hotel in the resort was horrendous !!!!!!!!!!! Music blaring until gone 5 every morning is not acceptable.
There are only 2 bars in the hotel. One alongside one of the pools with a BBQ station serving great food until 18.00 and the other bar which is open until 23.00 is tucked in alongside in the other pool area. Local spirits are very poor especially the white rum. Nowhere you could call a meeting area where you could have a drink and a chat indoors.
I feel I am rambling now. All in all very disappointing hotel. Very hilly area and a lot of steps in the resort. Very poor evening entertainment. I have never had to say this before but I do not recommend.

Room Tip: Keep away from kitchen area and pool that has the disco and evening bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Goodwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Having read one or two poor reviews of this hotel, my wife and I were a little apprehensive about our holiday, but we shouldn't have worried at all as we were very well pleased with what we found.
We've just returned from two weeks at the Tamaimo Tropical and we had a thoroughly enjoyable holiday in the sun. The general appearance and cleanliness of the whole building is excellent. Our room was cleaned every day, and towels and linen changed every three/four days. The outside walkways were mopped every day. The staff at every level were friendly and courteous.
We were fortunate in having an apartment away from the music bar, as others we spoke to said it could be rather noisy, though it did finish around midnight.
The restaurant was well organised, with a manager to keep track of empty tables to guide you to, and efficient, friendly staff clearing away crockery and cutlery without being intrusive. The white tablecloths were changed after every diner, so only one meal was eaten before a fresh cloth was laid. The food, whilst not of cordon bleu standard, was of good quality, freshly cooked and constantly monitored by the kitchen staff. There was a wide variety of choices - buffet style - with different soups, main courses etc each night, and an excellent range of breakfasts from full English through to continental. As we were half-board I cannot comment on the daytime menu, but there was a poolside cafe in addition to the restaurant during the day.
There were plenty of loungers around the pools, so no need to put towels out at dawn (although some did) and ample space to sunbathe. For a quiet spot to catch the rays, there was a solarium on the roof.
Taken all round, this 3* establishment offers excellent value for money. We spoke to several people who were returning for the second or third time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Old-Pete-1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We booked very last minute and did so before we checked the ratings!! I would suggest going to this hotel on either a bed and breakfast or self catering basis only, we went all inclusive. The hotel itself is attractive enough, pool areas pleasant and our room was certainly clean and well positioned on the D block, over looking one of the pools. Hotel is also well situated in a lovely area, walking distance to plenty natural attractions, a couple of nice restaurants and "okay" bars. Our biggest issue was with the food in both restaurants - dried up, tasteless, foul looking and tasting - hot food not hot and pretty much same stuff served up at lunch and dinner. We are fairly seasoned travellers, around Europe, Asia and America and it is safe to safe that the food here was the worst we have had. We resorted to using our spending money, originally for trips etc, on eating out away from the hotel. The noise is a bit of an issue, even from our otherwise decent room - cleaners carts constantly trundling around - walls are pretty thin, so you here everyone around you moving furniture etc in their apartments. Staff at reception, restaurant and bars are "dour faced" and loathed to help over and beyond what they have to do. Evening entertainment was pretty tacky and dated, although they occationally had professionals in for flamenco dancing, salsa dancing etc which was pretty good. We otherwise had a decent holiday for 6 nights as were happy to saunter around the neighbouring areas, drinking wine on the seafront and a wee bit sun in march. I wouldn't say don't go - just not all inclusive!

Room Tip: D block but maybe higher than ground level
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mrandmrsC_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

OMG!! this place was overrun with ants in the rooms especially the kitchen area could not put anything down on worktops or in the sink .. yukk . i ended up moving round the corner to another hotel at my own expense may i add... pool was ok during the day with pool food being better than the restaurant too .. evening entertainment was terrible too and staff were not too good in hotel either suppose to be 3star i would barely give it 1

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Zoe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality M, Quality Manager at Globales Tamaimo Tropical, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all, thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us.

We are very disconcerted that we did not meet your expectations at the hotel and hope that you will accept our sincere apologies.

Please let me assure you that we do take all customer feedback seriously. We have already discussed your comments with the relevant members of our team and we will work together towards improving all the areas you have mentioned, as a team we work very hard to look after all our guest to ensure thy enjoy their stay.

It was a pleasure to serve you and we do hope that you give us a second chance.

Kind regards,
Quality Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Puerto de Santiago hotels

RUSHDEN
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Just returned from Hotel TamaimoTropical in Puerto de Santiago Tenerife as first-timers to the Canaries. Well impressed with Hotel, even though we had booked all-inclusive in what turned out to be a most spacious room, we had full catering facilities for 4 people, but not necessary as we had full- breakfast, some lunches & all but one evening dinner with which we were more than happy with quality & variety of food together with constant replenishing of foodtrays. Excellent staff worked very hard so thanks to them. We would most certainly agree with MarieC as we also met some great people but would also agree with another that the late-night revellers returning to adjacent rooms were an inconsiderate nuisance, Spanish students we were told; banging doors, scraping furniture across a tiled floor and general excessively loud conversations / arguments when noise echoes along corridors, so maybe the management could consider increasing the security staffing levels. We found heavily-commercialised Santiago disappointing, the unexpectedly poor weather did not help, the locals even apologised as apparently not typical for March, but the promised walking in the hills did not materialise as we had been led to believe, although trip to Mt. Teide is a must but wrap-up well cos it's really cold. We had booked through Thos. Cook and thanks to rep Lauren Harrison for steering us through the tricky bits.

Room Tip: Not much choice really, you check-in and are given a room but with the exception of the room noise a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JamesW17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel twice before All inclusive and I have not had any bad experiences to date. I think some people just like to moan for the sake of it, If you pay for a 2/3 star hotel I’m afraid that is what you get, You shouldn’t expect 5 star luxury if you’re not paying for it

I am just glad that I did not take on board bad comments prior to booking my holidays in the past

I am returning 12.04.2013 for 1 week self catering and I cannot wait

To the Management: Keep up the good work :)

Room Tip: 3rd floor over looking the pool, Fantastic walking onto the balcony with the cliffs in the backgroun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Speirsy28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto de Santiago
1.0 mi away
Allegro Isora
Allegro Isora
#1 of 1 in Playa de la Arena
1,554 reviews
0.5 mi away
Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes
Be Live Family Costa los Gigante...
#2 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
5,102 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dragos Del Sur
Dragos Del Sur
#5 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
IBH Hotel Bahia Flamingo
IBH Hotel Bahia Flamingo
#6 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
714 reviews
19.7 mi away
Alborada Beach Club
Alborada Beach Club
#2 of 2 in Las Galletas
2,050 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blue Sea Lagos de Cesar
Blue Sea Lagos de Cesar
#10 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Globales Tamaimo Tropical? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Globales Tamaimo Tropical

Property: Globales Tamaimo Tropical
Address: Calle La Hondura S/N | Los Gigantes, 38683 Puerto de Santiago, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de Santiago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto de Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Globales Tamaimo Tropical 3*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel description The Globales Tamaimo Tropical Hotel is made up of 372 comfortable apartments and is located in Puerto Santiago in Tenerife between Los Gigantes and the lovely beach known of Playa de la Arena. At the Globales Tamaimo Tropical Hotel there is a variety of accommodation to choose from such as comfortable studio apartments, large one-bedroom apartments or two-bedroom apartments - ideal for family holidays. Within the holiday complex there are spacious and peaceful solariums with free sun-lounger service for you to relax in or you can take a refreshing dip in one of the 5 swimming pools (2 adult, 2 kids and 1 heated). For an unforgettable holiday in the sun, entertainment is available for both adults and children from 11:00am to 11:00pm when the disco bar comes to life with with professional night shows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Globales Tamaimo Tropical reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Globales Aparthotel Tamaimo Tropical Hotel Puerto De Santiago
Aparthotel Tamaimo Tropical Hotel
Tamaimo Tropical Tenerife
Aparthotel Tenerife Tropical
Tamaimo Tenerife
Globales Tamaimo Tropical Tenerife/Puerto De Santiago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing