We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Clean Hotel - Good for Gluten Free Food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Be Live Experience Playa La Arena
Certificate of Excellence
Stoke on Trent
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice Clean Hotel - Good for Gluten Free Food”
Reviewed August 17, 2014

We visited the hotel for 2 Weeks in July. I was a little concerned having read some of the previous poor reviews, however I was pleasantly surprised with the hotel. Rooms are spacious & very clean, large pool area & slide for children, always sunbeds available. The hotel is perhaps looking a little tired/dated in places, however nothing too bad. The kids club was good, the entertainment team are French, and the hotel is probably 70% French, however if you make the effort then they are happy to engage with you & make the kids welcome. The hotel is in a quiet area, just a few bars in the town showing live sport, but this is exactly what we were after. Los Christianos was about an hour on the bus, which was 4 Euros.
One of the main reasons I picked the hotel was because they provide Gluten Free food which I require. I could not have been happier with the helpful service provided by Juan the Chef & the restaurant Manager Miguel (Yellow Shirt), Juan would show me which options on the buffet were suitable, and on a few occasions would make me something that I requested, Pasta & Pizza in particular which were always good. There was always a Gluten Free roll offered as well. Miguel always ensured that I was looked after, many thanks to these 2 friendly & helpful members of staff. There was always something for everybody to eat, plenty of options & always a freshly cooked to order option each night (Meat & Fish). Breakfast options also good, freshly cooked omelettes, fruit, meats, cheeses, along with the usual bacon, sausage & eggs etc. We did not use the pool restaurant so unable to comment on this. All inclusive beer & drinks were of a good standard. Would recommend the hotel for families, engage with the French entertainment team & they will engage with you, they work very hard with the Children & also into the evening entertainment. The evening entertainment was good overall, although some nights were better than others, the Parrot show & magic/illusion acts were the best.

Room Tip: High Floor, Even number for pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, Gerente at Be Live Experience Playa La Arena, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your detailed feedback regarding your stay in our Be Live Playa La Arena. It is a great pleasure to read how much you have enjoyed our services and facilities.

Our excellent team of staff is very committed and dedicated to their work to ensure our guests will experience a carefree and wonderful stay in our hotel. Their tremendous effort is one of the key aspects in order to succeed our goals. I will pass your compliments to our Chef Juan and Miguel Angel.


We believe that there does not exist any better publicity than the experience of our guests.


We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again at our Be Live Playa la Arena

Kindest Regards,

Jennifer Sabatier
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,824
    1,708
    610
    189
    112
See reviews for
1,956
1,711
88
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (868)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

We visited this hotel from 29/7-5/8. Had a lovely time the children enjoyed the pools and we used the kids club which they loved! The rooms were spacious and we had clean sheets and towels everyday :) the restaurant is in need of redecoration and does feel a bit cafeteria like!! I struggled being a vegetarian the only night I could say there was a good choice was the Mexican themed night.
That said the children enjoyed the food and the staff were very helpful :)
We enjoyed the freshly made omelettes every morning it would be nice to see this in the evening also.
The children also enjoyed the mini golf and playing on the pirate ship.
It is very geared up for the French and they have there own amination team. The kids mini disco started at 8pm but the actual hotel entertainment didn't start till 10 which left a hour in between (9-10) with the kids just running riot entertainment surely could have started at 9? Much better time for the children also.
We were in room 488 which had a lovely view over the pools and it wasn't too noisy. The hotel was maintained well and kept very clean it has a rather elegant feel about it as you walk into reception.
Overall we had a lovely holiday and I would return to this hotel.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, Gerente at Be Live Experience Playa La Arena, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Customer

First of all we would like to express our gratitude for your visit and for dedicating your time and effort to write this review.
Feedback of our guests is a very important aspect to us to be able to keep improving our services and to ensure our guests will experience a unique stay in our hotel.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again at our Be Live Playa la Arena

Kindest Regards,

Jennifer Sabatier
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2014

Hotel itself is nice with the in house staff being friendly and helpful including the waiting staff who I loved, however the entertainment staff are French and do not talk much to anyone else, everyone including the English, German, Russian and more had a black band on and the French had a red band on and because of that the entertainment staff look for this.... I found some of the entertainment staff friendly however there were 2 or 3 who would not even look at me the worst being a dyed red headed large girl called Paulien who I said hello too and the look I got back was dreadful and she walked off blanking me, putting this aside the hotel was clean and the rooms were very good and large, the area the hotel is set in isnt the best if you want somewhere to eat out, you would need to get a bus (titsa) to get to other places for this.
I wouldnt recommend this hotel but I wouldnt say it was that bad just depends what you are looking for. The snack bar was rubbish so dont bother unless you want chips and more chips and the drinks machines kept not working, the pool areas are large but you would need to get out at about 7am to put your towels down to have a good spot, after 8am forget it. the night entertainment was mixed but again I must say I did enjoy about 40% of that but get there soon to get a table of forget it as it gets packed very fast.
The look of the inside of the hotel is very lovely and food I thought was very nice and there wasnt much of a waiting time
4 out of 10 for me!

Room Tip: ask for a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clairebear075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, Gerente at Be Live Experience Playa La Arena, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for let us know your vision about our hotel, the opinion of our guest is always the best way to improve our services and facilities.

That you have not fully enjoyed your stay at our hotel and that we couldn´t meet your expectations is very unfortunate. We always try to pamper our guests with the best service to make their stay as comfortable as possible and we are very sorry that we couldn´t make our goal with you.

The Hotel Be Live Playa la Arena accommodates many hundreds of guests, all of them coming from different countries and nationalities. We would like to clarify that all the customers are equally important to us but apologize if at any time you felt neglected.

We would have welcomed being informed on how you felt during your stay to have allowed us to find a timely solution in correcting any of these issues and in helping you in having a more enjoyable vacation experience.

We will take in consideration all of your comments and we will try our very best to surprise you positively if you consider to honor us with a new visit.

Yours faithfully,

Jennifer Sabatier
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2014

We stayed at the hotel for 2 weeks at the end of July. The hotel is spotlessly clean. The rooms are large, again cleaned daily with fresh towels. The food was great and the theme nights were good especially the Mexican night. Men need to wear long trousers for the evening meal. The two pools were fantastic, one for swimming and the other one for balls and inflatables, which was a fantastic idea. We never had a problem getting a sun bed but all beds round the pool area were gone when we came down. A lot of people reserved beds and didn't use them to after lunch. Entertainment was limited during the day, evening entertainment was good but we only saw a couple of shows. The hotel is mainly French orientated, they had their own entertainment. We found a lot of the French to be extremely rude and obnoxious. We found reception very helpful as we had a couple of problems with the room, these were resolved immediately. It was my sons birthday while we were there and came back from a day out to find sweets and a bottle of cava in the room. This was such a lovely touch. There is a small beach in playa la Arena and some shops, the area is a fair way out from the main attractions and is fairly quiet. We went to Los Gigantes on a whale a dolphin trip. This was fantastic, saw loads of dolphins. We had a great two weeks in a lovely hotel. We wouldn't return again as the area is too quiet and there are too many rude French people at the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynda h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, Gerente at Be Live Experience Playa La Arena, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Customer

First of all we would like to express our gratitude for your visit and for dedicating your time and effort to write this review.
Feedback of our guests is a very important aspect to us to be able to keep improving our services and to ensure our guests will experience a unique stay in our hotel.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again at our Be Live Playa la Arena

Kindest Regards,

Jennifer Sabatier
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2014

Arrived back yesterday after spending 10 nights with my husband and 4 children aged between 9 and 14.
First impressions - Wow!!! - the reception area is stunning - reception very efficient although as we arrived at 12.30pm we were advised that our rooms wouldnt be ready until 2.30pm. However we were shown to a room to leave our luggage, given our wristbands and off we went.Friday is the day when there is a Paella and Sangria demonstration around the pool we soon joined in and were very impressed.At 2.30 our rooms were ready, we had asked for two x 3 bed rooms next to each other with a pool/sea view, which is exactly what we got. plus the added bonus of a bottle of Cava on ice in our rooms - lovely touch.- sea view was fabulous!!
Sunbeds were available at all times although if you want the better positioned ones you need to be down there at 8am ( that was hubby's job!!). Breakfast was great, loads of choice, recommend the omelettes made to order and the pancakes for the children - nice to sit outside and eat on the terrace too. We ate out 3 times while we were there, not disappointed, food is reasonably priced and lots of choice. Evening meals in the hotel had some themed evenings - Mexican (complete with a tequila shot) , Asian with a rice wine and a Spanish theme with banana liqueur - again lots of choice, no queues and always at least two dishes cooked to order. Didnt see much of the shows so cant really comment on them although the girls enjoyed them. Yes the main animation team was french but at no time did we feel left out or snubbed. Our girls made lots of french friends and had a ball.
All in all great hotel - very clean and friendly staff - would we go back?? - yes definitely!!!
Dont believe all you read!!!

Room Tip: ask for an even number for a pool and sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clairelouise21x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, Gerente at Be Live Experience Playa La Arena, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your opinion and detailed feedback regarding your stay in our Be Live Playa La Arena in Tripadvisor, we strongly believe that listening to our guests is the clue to success.

It is a great pleasure to read how much you have enjoyed our services and facilities.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again at our Be Live Playa la Arena

Kindest Regards,

Jennifer Sabatier
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2014

We visited Tenerife and Playa La Arena for the first time from 1st - 8th August 2014. We loved the hotel and had a wonderful experience there.

The room. We had two interconnecting room as we travelled as a family of 5 (children 15, 14 & 4). The rooms had a few bumps and bruises in some places, but nothing major and both rooms and bathrooms were absolutely spotless, with maid service everyday (thank you to the maids who serviced the 4th floor). AC was included and worked very well. Each balcony had a table and chair set and a very useful drier. We were the road side, but still had a very good seaview and we did not find this side of the hotel noisy at all. We did hear bin trucks twice during the holiday, but the noise lasted about a minute each time.

The food. we mainly used the main restaurant for breakfast, lunch and dinner and always found something lovely to eat. We also tried somethings that we didn't like, but that is the beauty of a buffet, that you can try new things. There is, as another review had mentioned, a grill where the chef cooks a different fresh meat and/or fish every day and where he cooks bespoke omelettes in the mornings. There is always fresh salad and fruit and always soup. The pool bar offers burgers, hotdogs, chips, pasta and fruit from 10am until 6pm, just incase you can fit anything else in and they also cook something additional at lunch time (1 - 3pm) this is usually something lighter like paella or chicken.

The drinks, the alcholic drinks are cheaper brands, but they make up for it by making them strong. The glasses are on the small side, but there is no problem to ask for 2 so that you are not constantly queuing. You can get pint glasses of beer during the day but they come in half pints at night which is a little odd? Soft drink are self serve during the day, with dispensers dotted around the place. There is also a slushy machine near the pool. There is also a self serve beer dispenser by the pool. Different Tea and Coffee is available all day, as are biscuits near the round bar.

The entertainment - the entertainment is ok and fairly vaired. We enjoyed watching this at night and never had trouble getting seat.

The staff - the staff were absolutely lovely and so hard working. A special shout out has to go to the restaurant staff who were constantly clearing and re-filling and you rarely wait long for anything (fresh cups, fried eggs in the morning etc).

The French - yes this is a predominantly French hotel and yes they have their own entertainment team (they pay for this priviledge with their tour opperator) but we were included on several occasions, especially by one of the young french men in the kids club who on seeing my 4 year old in the pool, invited him to join in their flipper session. We were also included in a guess the song game. We found the French to be very friendly and you will get ignorant people in every nationality.

The pool - there are two lovely spacious pools, the "quiet one" which is unheated and does not allow inflatable, footballs etc and the "no so quiet one" which is heated and allows the games. We spent most of our time in the heated pool. The hotel has a policy of not reserving sun beds however, this is not enforced and by 8am the best beds have usually been covered in towels (yes we were guilty of this on 2 days when we specifically wanted to stay by the pool). However, if you are not fussy where you sit, or if you come to the pool after 2pm (it is easily hot enough so swim until 7pm) then you will likely still get a bed. The annoying thing is that some families reserve the beds and then don't come down to the pool until 12.30pm so the beds sit idle all morning. The worst offenders for this i'm afraid, were British families (I am British by the way). If you are going to reserve a bed in the early hours, at least have the decency to go to the pool straight after breakfast!! There are photographers that go around the pool and we got some great jumping in shots of the kids. We brought the smallest size and these were 6 euro each. The desk in near the restaurant entrance and you go and select the ones you want.

The location - the hotel is in South Tenerife and is on the quiet side of the island. There is a small parade of shops and bars/restaurants nearby but you really do have to travel to get to the lively area. This suited us, but if you are looking to party, it probably won't.

The hotel has various stalls in the evening with jewllery, toys etc located near the restaurant.

We went to Music Hall Tavern (drag act) booked through our rep, Jet Ski safari and Nashiro Uno Whale/Dolphin trip.

I would highly recommend this hotel and would return again.

Room Tip: I wouldn't pay extra for a sea or pool view as we found the road side fine and still had a good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peschie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, Gerente at Be Live Experience Playa La Arena, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your detailed feedback regarding your stay in our Be Live Playa La Arena. It is a great pleasure to read how much you have enjoyed our services and facilities.

We believe that there does not exist any better publicity than the experience of our guests.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again at our Be Live Playa la Arena

Kindest Regards,

Jennifer Sabatier
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2014

We've just come back from spending 10 nights here, and what a fantastic time we had. When we first arrived you get the wow factor from walking into the reception, It's breath taking.

Our room was 309, we didn't have a pool view, but did have a sea view, so couldn't complain. Rooms are very spacious and bathroom has 2 showers in, the cleaner cleaned the room every day, could not fault at all. If they did not replace dirty towels straight away, you got them later in the day.

Restaurant were clean and staff worked really hard, Food was lovely, breakfast was my favourite having fresh omelettes made to order, plenty of bacon, different sausages, beans, fresh tomatoes, hash browns, fried/scrambled and boiled eggs, as well as different cereals, yoghurts, different breads, cheeses and meats.
Meal times they tried to do different meals every night pork chops, veal (which was lovely) lamb chops, off the grill well worth trying, plenty of different fish choices, as well as potatoes, chips, some vegetables, hot dogs, pizza, burgers. There is always salad and healthier options too. Make sure men wear LONG TROUSERS for evening meal.
Pool bar serves hot dogs, burgers, chips, pasta, salad, chicken, make sure you go throughout the day as the change things. Slush puppies are lovely 4 different types which you help yourself too, or mix, frozen cocktails are nice too, from bar.
Piano Bar are very generous with the alcohol lol, and friendly staff.
Entertainment, yes the French have a really good animation team, and you can join in if you want, our international team we didn't see much of other than Rayco, who tried very hard getting people involved. Its up to you, if you get involved or not, entertainment on the evening was average.
There are 2 main pools and one small pool where slide goes into. One pool at the bottom is the quiet pool, where no inflatables are allowed, the pool with bridge over allows inflatables and balls, and is more livelier, they play volley ball and aqua aerobics and other games too. The slide is open several times a day, when the lifeguard mans it, lifeguards are friendly.
Hotel is over the road from the beach, couple of minutes walk away, few shops near by, 30/40 minute walk to los gigantes, quiet steep hills, you have been warned lol.
We caught the bus to costa adjere where there is a market, took about an hour and cost about 4.30 euros each.

Overall fantastic place to go, very relaxing, weather was brilliant and staff are friendly, food you can't fault as there is something for everyone, just enjoy.

Room Tip: Rooms with even numbers have pool and sea view, but my room was 309 and we had a sea view, with afte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amanda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, Gerente at Be Live Experience Playa La Arena, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
First of all we would like to thank you for your stay in our Be Live Playa La Arena and for taking the time to write your friendly comment regarding your experience here on Tripadvisor.

It is a great pleasure to read how much you have enjoyed your stay among us and we are delighted that our service, facilities and attentive team of staff have contributed to your wonderful experience and that we have been able to satisfy your expectations.


We are very much looking forward to your next stay.

Kind regards,

Jennifer Sabatier
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto de Santiago
0.2 mi away
Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes
Be Live Family Costa los Gigante...
#2 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
5,167 reviews
0.5 mi away
Allegro Isora
Allegro Isora
#1 of 1 in Playa de la Arena
1,685 reviews
1.9 mi away
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 mi away
Be Live Adults Only Tenerife
Be Live Adults Only Tenerife
#40 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
2,007 reviews
10.8 mi away
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
#30 of 58 in Costa Adeje
3,125 reviews
0.6 mi away
Barcelo Santiago
Barcelo Santiago
#1 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
5,642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Be Live Experience Playa La Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Be Live Experience Playa La Arena

Property: Be Live Experience Playa La Arena
Address: Calle Lajial, 4, 38683 Puerto de Santiago, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de Santiago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto de Santiago
#3 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de Santiago
#3 Family Hotel in Puerto de Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Be Live Experience Playa La Arena 4*
Number of rooms: 432
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Be Live Experience Playa La Arena is a complete family resort in Puerto Santiago, Tenerife. The hotel, located by an exotic beach with black volcanic sand, offers all the facilities you need for a perfect holiday at the Costa de Santiago del Teide. At the Be Live Experience Playa La Arena you will be able to enjoy the quietness and the lovely atmosphere of Puerto Santiago: nature, gastronomy, sports, beach and sun all year round. This hotel has the ISO 14001 Certification, as a result of its effective environmental management system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Be Live Experience Playa La Arena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Be Live Playa La Arena Hotel Puerto De Santiago
Spring Hotel Santiago Del Teide
Be Live Experience Playa La Arena Tenerife/Puerto De Santiago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing