We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Be Live Experience Playa La Arena
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Dragos Del Sur(Puerto de Santiago)
$63
$60
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Globales Tamaimo Tropical(Puerto de Santiago)
$43
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Allegro Isora(Playa de la Arena)
$124
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Ona El Marques(Santiago del Teide)
$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Holiday Village Tenerife(Puerto de Santiago)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barcelo Santiago(Puerto de Santiago)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Blue Sea Lagos de Cesar(Puerto de Santiago)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes(Puerto de Santiago)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Club La Mar(Puerto de Santiago)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (4,990)
Filter reviews
4,990 results
Traveler rating
2,073
1,909
679
206
123
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,073
1,909
679
206
123
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspiano barplaya la arenaadult clubseparate shower cubicleanimation teamfrench guestsreception staffmusic hallevery nightlos gigantespool areaspring hotellovely hotelsea viewthe wow factorgreat holidayplenty of sunbeds
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,998 - 2,003 of 4,990 reviews
Reviewed November 20, 2013

First of all we enjoyed our holiday. There are good points in this hotel and also points that need to be addressed.

Good points are the main areas in the hotel are excellent, bars, reception, toilets ,hallways, lifts-all kept clean and spotless, very picturesque reception area too, largest reception area we have seen and very comfortable to wait in when departure day.'
Bedrooms spacious( we had superior room) 1st bathroom we've had to have 2 showers-one walk in, one over bath.
English tv had bbc1, bbc2, itv1 and itv4-news channel too.
Balcony just right size.
All inclusive drinks can be updated to branded at a price, however most of the local spirits were fine and we had no need to do so.
Great having beer juice water as self service round pool, also coffee in both bars.
A highlight for anyone at hotel was the terrace bar, where you could sit and watch sun go down tween 5 and 6 pm- so beautiful.
Position of hotel was good, easily walk to Puerto Santiago and Los Gigantos, tip go up the hill(-bit of a killer to start with)and walk past Los Gigantos Hotel-quicker and easier to get to other areas then come back coast walk-


Not so great points
Bedlinen needs to be replaced, very thin and dingy -although clean
Towels in bedroom slightly better
Pool towels need replaced, some you could see daylight through-for eco reasons only renewed 3 times a week-but think its more cost cutting reasons.
Crockery in dining areas need replaced, mostly marked and sometimes dishwasher didn't clean properly-so had to watch out plates/cups clean.
Food was ok, always managed to eat ,but mostly bland and repetitive, had more cheese salads on a holiday than ever had before. Think Chef could have bit more imagination.
Only highlight food wise was the excellent omelettes at breakfast..
Only hotel we have stayed at where no info in bedroom about hotel facilities alt we were given a sheet when booked in but wasn't that much info on it.
Rooms need refurbished
Hairdryer ok but needed longer to use pit like old Pifco!!!

From what we gathered, this hotel has recently been taken over and perhaps these points will be addressed- then this hotel will be 4* at mo feel is only 3*

* Please note again we did enjoy our holiday would really mark it 3.5 *

Room Tip: try get higher floor- we had street side sea view but this was not a problem
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sneakypetes2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dir_Playa_La_Arena, Gerente at Be Live Experience Playa La Arena, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for your stay in our Be Live Playa La Arena and for taking the time to write your friendly comment regarding your experience here on Tripadvisor.

That you have not fully enjoyed your stay at our hotel and that we couldn´t meet your expectations is very unfortunate. We always try to pamper our guests with the best service to make their stay as comfortable as possible and we are very sorry that we couldn´t make our goal with you.

We will take in consideration all of your comments and we will try our very best to surprise you positively if you decide to honor us with a new visit.

Yours faithfully,

Aurelio Marcos
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Me and my partner stayed between 9 Nov and 16th Nov initially we tried to change the hotel due to reading the bad reviews on this site.
After spending 7 days at Be Live we are totally confused how anybody can complain.
1 Reception is efficient and quick.
2 Food caters for all nationality's and is of very good quality
3 The staff work exceptionally hard
4 The pool area is immaculate
5 The rooms and bathrooms are kept spotless.
Negatives
1 The wine in the piano bar and entertainment lounge is disgusting and tastes like the coffee a distinct taste of fish.
2 The decor in the rooms requires upgrading.
3 Look voyages (entertainment team) is geared towards the French even though a broad spectrum of nationality's are on holiday . They really are pathetic and should be dispensed with A.S.A.P.
4 The entertainment is cheesy
Conclusion
Lovely holiday in a nice location and a decent hotel I would give it a 8 /10



!

Room Tip: Ask for a downstairs disabled room they have sea view and a wetroom shower
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RUSSELL H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dir_Playa_La_Arena, Gerente at Be Live Experience Playa La Arena, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Dear Customer

First of all we would like to express our gratitude for your visit and for dedicating your time and effort to write this review ad feedback of our guests is a very important to us.

We will take in consideration all of your comments, and we hope to see you again at our Be Live Playa la Arena

Kindest Regards,

Aurelio Marcos
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We travelled to this hotel on 9th November with our 2 children 5 & 9. We have to say that overlall we were very happy. All the staff were friendly & helpful. The hotel itself is very clean (we never saw any bugs or cockroaches all week). Our room was very spacious & cleaned each morning. Our patio door did not lock when we arrived but this was sorted immediatly & we also managed to flood the bathroom on night two, which again was sorted straight away. The waiter service in the restaurant was fine, never a problem getting a drink & again the staff were very friendly. Cava for breakfast on Sunday morning was a nice touch & I an recommend the breakfast omelettes. We never had a problem getting a sun bed (possibly because of tthe time of year) & the children really enjoyed the waterslide. The kids club was also great fun, as was the mini disco - a big Thank You to Maria who really made my children welcome. We didn't try the evening entertainment as 10 pm start was a bit late for the children. The range of nationalities in the hotel was no problem for us & we didn't feel like we were left out in any way. Puerto de Santiago is quite quiet (which we were aware of), but a taxi to Los Gigantes is 4 euros each way & the whale/dophin watching trip we went on from there made my childrens holiday. We caught the bus to Los Christianos (catch the 477 not the 473 - unless you want to spend best part of 2 hours touring each village on the way!) & a day there confirmed that we had picked the right resort.

Room Tip: We asked for a lower floo, so we were just off reception, overlooking the pool - no noise & a great view
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WarwickshireCarol01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dir_Playa_La_Arena, Gerente at Be Live Experience Playa La Arena, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Dear Customer

First of all we would like to express our gratitude for your visit and for dedicating your time and effort to write this review.
Feedback of our guests is a very important aspect to us to be able to keep improving our services and to ensure our guests will experience a unique stay in our hotel.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again at our Be Live Playa la Arena

Kindest Regards,

Aurelio Marcos
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

We went here in june with my wife for a week. The weather was great but that was the only highlight. It was my first time in tenerife and I have no issue with the island but this hotel was a huge disappointment. I'm not going to go on about location as we knew it was a little remote before hand and that wasn't a massive problem as we just hired a car when we needed one. My main issue with this hotel is that it's all mouth and no trousers!! It looks great from the outside and the entrance hall is grand but the service and attitude of the staff was pretty rubbish. The only people in the hotel that took pride in their job was the cleaners. Desk staff were miserable and Unhelpful and made your presence feel like a burden on them. This hotel clearly caters for the French market and I think they reserve the good customer service for their French guests. The worst part of the trip was the food. We paid for all inclusive and although the saying goes 'you get what you pay for' the quality, choice and most of all temperature of the food was abysmal. Same old same old every night.......and always freezing cold! We ate at the Neptune restaurant most nights although we'd already paid for our food for the week. When I tried to bring this to their attention the management weren't really bothered. It's very deceiving, it looks great from the outside but it seems they blew the whole budget on the look and little else. I wouldn't go again and wouldn't recommend it. This was supposed to be a treat for my wife before she gave birth to our first baby and to be honest it was spoilt by a real lackluster attitude towards service and quality.



  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cos7071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dir_Playa_La_Arena, Gerente at Be Live Experience Playa La Arena, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your opinion in Tripadvisor, we strongly believe that listening to our guests is the clue to success. Please accept our most sincere apologies for not being able to fulfill your expectations.

We always try to pamper our guests with the best service to make their stay as comfortable as possible and we are very sorry that we couldn´t make our goal with you and that we weren´t informed about this during your stay. It would have been a pleasure to remedy any shortcomings you might have encountered. When being informed regarding your discomfort we would be able to correct any situation which is not according to our demanding quality standards and undertake an extensive follow up of the matter.

We will take in consideration all your comments so we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in a not too distant future and surprise you positively by achieving your complete satisfaction

Kind regards

Aurelio Marcos
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

First time in Tenerife and the Be Live Playa La Arena provided all in all a very good experience. The lobby itself is one of the most visually attractive we have come across in European hotels with vines hanging down from it's very high ceiling and the sound of running water from fountains and water features make it a vey relaxing place to be. Through the lobby is the main bar which a pianist provides music on a nightly basis but far and away the best thing here is the terrace especially at dusk which you can sit and watch the sun go down over the Atlantic Ocean. The hotel is also in a very good location....5 minutes from the beach and entertainment.

We found the hotel to be spotless and kept very clean at all times the only puzzling thing was that one urinal out of three in every one of the gents toilets was covered up causing a queue on occasion and some of the hand dryers do need to be looked at but again toilets were regularly maintained as were all public areas. That being said an addition of an extra member of staff here and there would not have gone amiss. There were times when there were glasses on tables that needed to be collected and there was a slight shortage of large beer glasses. Also I'm personally not a fan of the single file queuing system they adopted at both bars...having said that though service was quick.

Food was I have to say was also very good. Could not fault the choice that was on offer and it was readily replaced at the buffet when it ran out. There were also two chefs on the grill to freshly cook food at all sittings. There was a fresh theme every night and and was very pleased to see fresh vegetables on offer at both lunch and evening sittings. The only thing that was mostly the same was at breakfast but to their credit they had a full choice on offer...there was not much more they could of done. Breakfast is breakfast....there is only so much scope you can provide....and they did it to the best part very well. The service was also very good. The service staff and chefs were very polite. To their credit they turned around the tables very quickly. Also one of the most innovative ideas was to advise at what times the restaurant was busy. I did hear one or two people complain that they had to queue to be seated at peak times.....don't quite know what they were expecting. Having said that a portion of the restaurant was not open. I get the feeling that this was the hotel managing cost through staffing levels as it was low season. Nothing wrong with this...makes good sense. The queues never lasted that long anyway. You are also required to wear long trousers at the evening sitting....I also thought that this was a very good idea a it upholds the respectfulness of the occasion.

The entertainment staff were very good and all the shows that we attended were generally very good and to the most extent very well attended. There was a Michael Jackson show that was particularly good. Only three out of the seven shows were performed by he hotels entertainment staff but they were quite good....it's not going to a professional concert or west end show but what do you expect?

Rooms were generally very spacious and clean and maintained well my only faults were really that the bed was a bit hard, bolsters instead of pillows and our double bed was two singles pushed together which divided very easily. TV did not work to begin with but a bit of auto tuning and there was actually a good selection of English speaking TV channels

Pool area again very clean and maybe this was due to the time of year that we went but plenty of sun beds available. Took our own towels but there were some on offer via a deposit. No inflatables in either of the main pools but welcome in the kids pool....this again appeared to be welcomed by most. It's not as if it is not catered for. Food selection here not as good but if there is nothing that takes your fancy you can walk to the main restaurant. The hotel provides a sun care advisor....thought this to be excellent service.

My only real gripe was the beer and wine on offer. Beer quite watered and the wine was not great. You can buy more recognised alcohol but these are extra on top of the all inclusive. If these things don't bother you then you will be fine, it truly isn't the end of the world but it would of been nice to have a decent alcoholic drink. Additionally not that this bothered us but there are no drinks available post midnight. There are venues open about 5 minutes from the hotel though.

The Be Live Playa La Arena seems to be at a very important crossroads. Make no doubt it is very good and very good value. It does however present the feeling that costs have been cut in some areas. For example we had to ask for towels one night and when they arrived they arrived with a hole in them, things like the watered down drinks and the shortage of one or two members of staff and you feel that they can do so more with the pre and post show entertainment. At the moment though this hotel well holds it own I would hate to see standards drop as more costs are cut. There is great potential with this hotel....a welcome drink, robes and water in the rooms, better bedding and pillows, an update of decor here and there and a full review of alcoholic beverages would push this hotel into the excellent category. These are things in time I think the hotel is going to have to do before long without passing on any cost to their customers. It otherwise is going to be in danger of falling behind it's competitors.

For now though I wholeheartedly recommend it. Good value for money and a very pleasant place to spend a week away. You could do a lot worse with your money and at the moment.....as a 4 star in this type of location goes not much better.

Room Tip: Pool facing rooms are better. You should also get a view of the see. High rooms are better. We stopped in Room 24. Basement floor but still nice
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marko5Chester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dir_Playa_La_Arena, Gerente at Be Live Experience Playa La Arena, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your detailed feedback regarding your stay in our Be Live Playa La Arena. It is a great pleasure to read how much you have enjoyed our services and facilities.

Feedback of our guests is a very important aspect to us to be able to keep improving our services so we will take in consideration all of your comments and we will try our very best to surprise you positively if you decide to honor us with a new visit.

Yours faithfully,

Aurelio Marcos
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews