We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Be Live Experience Playa La Arena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 8, 2013

My family (2 adults and 2 children) was very pleased with this hotel. This is probably the best 4 stars hotel in which I was.
(+)
Very good food.
Sun terraces, pools
Slide one but pretty good
staff
(-)
town is boring
The beach is dengerous
In the restaurant I saw cockroaches

I recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andrzej W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dir_Playa_La_Arena, Gerente at Be Live Experience Playa La Arena, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

Feedback of our guests is a very important aspect to us to be able to keep improving our services and to ensure our guests will experience a unique stay in our hotel.

We will take in consideration all of your comments and we will try our very best to surprise you if you decide to visit us again in the next futur

Kind regards

Aurelio Marcos
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,677)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,889 - 1,895 of 4,677 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2013

Our family of 5 (4adults and 1child) has just returned from this hotel and all I can say is its an Amazing hotel. We have stayed in many 4 star hotels in Tenerife and this certainly comes in the top 3. Where do I start......

Hotel rooms huge, spacious, clean, view stunning we had a pool/sea view, tv had good selection of uk channels, air con good, maid service good rooms always done before lunch, plenty of hangers and drawers and shelves for clothes. we had room 674 and it was like a suite. The other room was just as spacious with all the qualities of ours.

Pool,area - 2 Large pool plus kiddies pool, plenty of beds and parasols, we were up with the larks to start with due to some of the reviews on here but there was still beds available after breakfast, if you want a certain spot then 8 o clock is ample. Kids slide kept my lad occupied for ours, life guards on poolside all day, the lower pool is the quiet pool which we found relaxing has there is no inflatables and balls but the top pool is where all the kids go. The pool area was very clean with bins scattered everywhere for your dirty cups and plates.

Food - Well there is that much choice every night we stayed (10) that the fussiest eaters can eat... Breakfast had a great selection fried breakfast and continental plus the omelettes cooked to order and the pancakes the chefs done daily. Themed nights every night and on the first Sunday was British with roast beef and Yorkshire pudding but you can also have the fish and other cuisines you would expect, an abundance of veg and potatoes to go with your dinner as well has a good selection of salads, cheeses. The chefs cooked something on the grill every night and it was excellent. The deserts are to die for and have a good selection of ice creams, fruit and yoghurts. The little ones had the chocolate fountain with banana, pineapple and of course marshmallow to dunk. The kids buffet every evening had some good food which all the kids couldn't get enough of, they could feel all grown up going to there own section and picking there food. The men must wear long trousers.

Drinks - Well these are certainly not watered down far from it..... They generous with their measures as you would expect form being abroad and the variety they have is large, yes you can up grade to the named labels but we really didn't see the point.

Service - A lot have moaned about the staff being rude.... well really don't know where they are coming from all staff were as polite and helpful as you would expect and all bar and restaurant were all happy to help and were not rude in any way.

Entertainment staff - Well they do not really interact with anyone other than the French but that did not bother us, they were still polite and spoke but not like in other hotels we stayed at.

Beach/bars - Beach is good and clean and literally at the bottom of the hotel gates, beds/parasols are 3 euros each but we found that cheap. The bars there are only 2 but they do have a awesome rock band which is well worth a visit.

Overall I would highly recommend this hotel and will be returning it is of a high standard through out and you would not find a hotel of this quality in playa or surrounding area unless you stayed in a 5*. Don't take no notice of the moaners give it a try.

Room Tip: Higher the better for those who choose a pool/sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank kellyp3rry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dir_Playa_La_Arena, Gerente at Be Live Experience Playa La Arena, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

We always find it nice to read that our guests went home with great holiday memories and we are very grateful for the time and effort that you gave yourself to share the experience of your recent holiday with us and Tripadvisor readers.

We are satisfied that you highlighted your satisfaction with our all-inclusive service and that you enjoyed the culinary highlights which our chefs delicately prepared for you. Your comments are a source of motivation to continue our daily efforts.

Your satisfaction is our commitment.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again at our Be Live Playa la Arena

Kind Regards,

Aurelio Marcos
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Stayed for Christmas, loved it! Coming back this year for 3 whole weeks because it is that good!
Entertainment was the best. Food was the best. Pool was the best. Rooms were nicely laid out, lots of space, however I do think the beds could be more comfy. Snack bar was the best, not far from the sun beds, not wet on the floor, totally clean, always fresh hot food. I cant say how amazing this hotel is, beats most 5 stars and totally worth going!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Nicholas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dir_Playa_La_Arena, Gerente at Be Live Experience Playa La Arena, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Thank you very much for sharing your opinion in Tripadvisor, we strongly believe that listening to our guests is the clue to success.

Feedback of our guests is a very important aspect to us to be able to keep improving our services and to ensure our guests will experience a unique stay in our hotel.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again at our Be Live Playa la Arena

Best Regards,
Aurelio Marcos
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

i have literally come home today after a 7 day stay,when i arrived i was greeted warmly by the reception staff,as it was late (after 9 o'clock )the first thing they asked me would i like some food which i thought was very nice,first impressions were breath taking lobby and huge!!!.I had a big room overlooking the two pools and sea view they are immaculate and cleaned every day.
Pools are impressive top pool for the kids and those that like aqua gym,bottom pool a little quieter.plenty of sun beds and parasols you do have to be up relatively early 8:30ish to reserve even though its not supposed to be allowed,pool bar opens at 10 for drinks and snack a bit later,i did find that some of the entertainment staff only spoke french and if they did the announcements well tough you didn't understand but that wasn't very often,all the general staff were very pleasant,at dinner there was plenty of choice and each day was themed e.g. Tenerife night or German night,you could also go to the grill were was always some kind of meat on display fellas have to were long trousers not extra long shorts as i witnessed somebody being removed,overall my stay was very pleasant and relaxing which is what i wanted,i would recommend this hotel to anybody to try.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dir_Playa_La_Arena, Gerente at Be Live Experience Playa La Arena, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

We take great interest in every detail to make your stay as special as possible. We believe that there does not exist any better publicity than the experience of our guests

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again at our Be Live Playa la Arena.

Kindest Regards,

Aurelio Marcos
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We returned from Be Live Playa la Arena Hotel a couple of days ago. We spent there 14 days as a family of four (two adults, two sons - 12 and 14). Perhaps some English speaking readers will appreciate the view of non-British hotel guests.
The hotel is nice, especially the main lobby, and reception area must have amazed everyone. There is a plenty of space to sit and rest – an abundance of sofas, armchairs, with a lot of space around so that one can enjoy a bit of privacy. The premises, such as the hotel lobby and lounge, are both very spacy, well air-conditioned, providing enough privacy. The wifi in these places were for free. If you want to use Internet in your room, you have to pay.
The hotel corridors are a bit worn-out, but rooms are clean, with well-preserved furniture, TV set, fridge, a safe, bathroom with both bathtub and shower stall, bidet; all clean and nice. We found the shampoo containers empty on arrival and considered it intentional, but in one week someone showed mercy and filled them up. Yes, there were some holes in bed sheets, but who cares?
What I appreciated the most was the piano bar with a pianist playing every evening for approx 2 hours. I do not know how many people realize it, but such live music in a hotel is something which should be viewed as above-standard. Many thanks to the hotel management for that!
Some writers below have described the hotel restaurant with contempt as a canteen, but I do not share this view. In my opinion the restaurant and food, inparticular, were very good. The need to order the beverages from a waiter was annoying a bit, but nothing that could not be tackled. The hotel marketers did a very good job - each dinner was focused on a different cuisine. Thus everyone had a chance to try Meditteranean, Italian, British, German, Mexican, South American, North American, Canarian, Tenerife, and Oriental cuisines, etc. This also had some educational aspect - one had the chance to learn what various nations´palates actually consist of. The chocolate fountain was the epitome of self-indulgence. To sum up, the concept deserves praise - another good shot fired by the hotel management.
The whole hotel is designed as a "high volume hotel", that is why one cannot count on individualized services and single client-centered staff attitude. The one guest is one of hundreds of others and thus he/she is treated accordingly. Also, the restaurant must have fed and watered hundreds of people within a relatively very short time every night, which may give the impression of "canteen concept".
Pool bars and restaurant were pretty good: French Fries, hotdogs, and hamburgers were falling down to the youngsters´ throats by the ton and beer was available on "ad libitum" basis, which put a majority of the male population on cloud nine.
In my humble opinion there is one weak point at this hotel that deserves mentioning and this is the reception. Reception has always been considered to be the heart of every hotel, but the heart of this hotel was quite arrhythmic. I have not seen so many demotivated and indifferent guys behind one reception desk like in this hotel, before. Those people desperately need to be trained properly, someone should tell them that a dash of a smile, eye contact and (even pretended) concern does wonders. I know the job is tiring, but if someone has difficulty with dealing with clients and considers it annoying, then he/she could be told to be a gardener instead. I think this is a needless spot on an otherwise good impression.
We enjoyed the minigolf and table tennis - both are service-included for all-inclusive guests. According to the observation of others and listening to others – the majority of guests were Polish, followed by Spanish, French, Russian, British, German, a few Czechs and others. The animation team was French, and they expressed a noticeable and understandable affinity to French speaking people which was the reason they had fallen into disfavour with English speaking guests. As a member of the nation whose language is not spoken by any but Czechs (and even considerable number of them has difficulties with the grammar), I must say such a moaning drives me a bit crazy. Firstly, I have learned all my life that the ignorance of foreign languages I am suffering from is not the fault of others, but surely my own. Secondly, if any adult needs to be entertained and animated by a French teenager in order to enjoy his/her holiday, then something is wrong, folks. Sorry for not adding another complaint on that into the collective moaning, but I perceive the problem in a different way.
The beach (Playa la Arena) is considered the most beautiful in Tenerife. The beach is reachable within walking distance, however, to get there you must cross the busy road which might be annoying for some. There is a dark sand that is ridiculously hot, so aguasocks or any shoes/slippers are necessary. The sunbed costs 2 € per day, together with umbrella 5 € or so, using the toilet costs 20 cents. The beach is very clean, the sea is safe - no sea urchins, no jellyfish, no sharks, just peaceful and tame fish. Beware of sharp stones. Good place for snorkeling - it is not Egypt but still enjoyable. Lifeguard service on duty. The small umbrellas available in a shop near the beach for 10-12 €, so frequent beach visitors might appreciate the fact. Each beach in Tenerife is public.
For forgetful people: many little shops are available, with plenty of holiday stuff: swimming suits, trunks, hats, caps, T-shirts, carry-on bags, sunglasses, cosmetics, glues, pens, tapes, towels, shoes, suitcases … just whatever a traveller may need. Also, a couple of medical services are available, such as an optician. Many restaurants and taverns, pubs, bars. Quite good public transport (by bus).
Trips: We went on the trip to La Gomera – a very good one, unfortunately three different groups of people on the bus (Hungarian, British and French, … Czech) which had made a time for explanation longer and we got less info than we would have gotten with two or even one language group. Beautiful island, enjoyable experience.
Masca trekking - visit of ancient village of Masca (by bus), then trekking to the sea cost through the gorge - beautiful views, stunning rocks, 8 km, ankle sprain/twist/fracture danger, perfect arrangement by Diga Sport Company (they provide with trekking boots, walking sticks, rucksacks, water, sandwich + banana) , very nice and funny guard, swimming in the end of the journey - greenish, crystal clear sea, huge Los Gigantes cliffs around and above, something unforgetable. Then fast trasportation (10 to 15 minutes) by a fast boat to the nearest town, a visit of a nice coffee house (out of traffic) with tasting of Baraquitto (special Canarian coffee - very tasty) + ice cream or desert (optional). Then bus to the hotel.
We also had ordered trekking trip to Teide, but unfortunately this trip was cancelled due to a low number of potential participants. We were told this is not unusual, so please keep in mind some alternative program is always good to have at hand in such cases.
Honestly, in addition to Tenerife I have already seen Fuerteventura, Lanzarote and La Gomera, and Tenerife appears to me as the most touristic, commercial, and crowded island; however, "De gustibus non est disputandum".

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank Martin7103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dir_Playa_La_Arena, Gerente at Be Live Experience Playa La Arena, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

We would like to thank you for your detailed feedback regarding your stay in our Be Live Playa La Arena. It is a great pleasure to read how much you have enjoyed our services and facilities.

We take great interest in every detail to make your stay as special as possible. We believe that there does not exist any better publicity than the experience of our guests

Feedback of our guests is a very important aspect to us to be able to keep improving our services and to ensure our guests will experience a unique stay in our hotel.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again at our Be Live Playa la Arena

Kind Regards,

Aurelio Marcos
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for one week with our 4 kids and loved it. We were a little concerned but some of the negative reviews especially those around the service given to English visitors. I can honestly say this was not our experience, all the staff were helpful and friendly. Even the entertainment was done in 4 languages including English which for being in a Spanish speaking country is excellent! Rooms were nice and big and very clean, TV was great as we were able to change the language on most channels to English. The one criticism I have on the rooms is the lack of bottled water. They tell you not to drink the tap water but there is no bottled water provided in the rooms. With 4 kids this made it quite difficult as if we wanted water we had to go down to the bar, and they would only give us 4 small bottles for both rooms which went really quickly. The activities and evening entertainment were great! Pool was clean and the pool bar was great for the kids as they could help themselves to snacks and drinks leaving us to relax. Food was good for a buffet, plenty of choice, but we found as with most buffets things were over cooked. The fresh squid they grilled at one lunch was amazing wish they had that as a dinner option. Overall a great holiday, we spend most of our time in the resort as there was plenty to do, wished we had stayed longer.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gandemer01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dir_Playa_La_Arena, Gerente at Be Live Experience Playa La Arena, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

We always find it nice to read that our guests went home with great holiday memories and we are very grateful for the time and effort that you gave yourself to share the experience of your recent holiday with us and Tripadvisor readers.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again at our Be Live Playa la Arena

Kindest Regards,
Aurelio Marcos
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stayed for two weeks in an All Inclusive basis. The Hotel was excellent with great facilities, for both adults and children. Pools were clean and of a good standard, one had a slide and allowed inflatables whereas the other did not.

Long trousers are required for Dinner only so be aware and take a pair with you, they are not required in the bars. Food was of a good standard but you do get a bit bored over two weeks, but have always found this when staying a fortnight. The other guests were probably equally British, Polish, German and French, which made a nice change the kids enjoyed making some foreign friends.

We had a bath and a separate shower in the room which was great and the Tv had about six English channels which was handy. Take your own hair dryer as the one in the room was not very effective.

Overall this was an excellent Hotel and we all look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FatDadd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dir_Playa_La_Arena, Gerente at Be Live Experience Playa La Arena, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to express our gratitude for your visit and for dedicating your time and effort to write this review.
Feedback of our guests is a very important aspect to us to be able to keep improving our services and to ensure our guests will experience a unique stay in our hotel.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again at our Be Live Playa la Arena

Kind regards

Aurelio Marcos
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto de Santiago
0.2 mi away
Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes
Be Live Family Costa los Gigante...
#3 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
5,412 reviews
0.5 mi away
Allegro Isora
Allegro Isora
#1 of 1 in Playa de la Arena
2,165 reviews
1.9 mi away
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
El Marques Palace by Intercorp Hotel Group
El Marques Palace by Intercorp H...
#6 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
204 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dragos Del Sur
Dragos Del Sur
#5 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
415 reviews
0.6 mi away
Barcelo Santiago
Barcelo Santiago
#1 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
6,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Be Live Experience Playa La Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Be Live Experience Playa La Arena

Address: Calle Lajial, 4, 38683 Puerto de Santiago, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de Santiago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto de Santiago
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de Santiago
#3 Family Hotel in Puerto de Santiago
Price Range: $146 - $392 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Be Live Experience Playa La Arena 4*
Number of rooms: 432
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Be Live Experience Playa La Arena is a complete family resort in Puerto Santiago, Tenerife. The hotel, located by an exotic beach with black volcanic sand, offers all the facilities you need for a perfect holiday at the Costa de Santiago del Teide. At the Be Live Experience Playa La Arena you will be able to enjoy the quietness and the lovely atmosphere of Puerto Santiago: nature, gastronomy, sports, beach and sun all year round. This hotel has the ISO 14001 Certification, as a result of its effective environmental management system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Be Live Experience Playa La Arena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Be Live Playa La Arena Hotel Puerto De Santiago
Spring Hotel Santiago Del Teide
Be Live Experience Playa La Arena Tenerife/Puerto De Santiago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing