We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK but not keen on the Poop in the pool!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Puerto de Santiago
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Holiday Village Tenerife
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We had previously been to this hotel in October 2009 before it became a holiday village and thought it was fabulous so were looking forward to returning. As a family we have holidayed with First Choice many times and knew what sort of thing to expect. Partly as our kids are now growing up we feel that this was our final Holiday Village and perhaps First Choice experience. Partly though we felt that things had gone downhill mainly due to a few unsavoury characters that spoilt it for the rest.

I won't go into the area of "this is not a real holiday village" as I think this has been more than covered elsewhere. I didn't bother us as we really just wanted a choice of things to do for our 12 year old and there was certainly plenty to do both First Choice or hotel entertainment based.

We went in the school holidays and the place was packed to bursting. Getting a sun bed round the "activity pool" was nigh on impossible unless you wanted to get up at the crack of dawn, but then it was so noisy and full we didn't use it instead opting for the "quiet" pool - that too was pretty packed but was at least bearable and beds were still available as late as 10am!

A few things spoilt the holiday for us - the poo in the pool being the main thing - both pools were closed at least three times during our two week stay due to this. One of the First Choice reps let slip that it had become a new craze amongst the teenagers as something funny to do on their final day - and certainly the size of the offending article that I saw was not that of a small child! Disgusting and WHY? Not the fault of the hotel clearly but made us really question whether this was the sort of holiday we wanted! Additionally we were horrified by the amount of rubbish that was left around both pool areas (and often not cleared up overnight) - why people couldn't put their rubbish in one of the many bins is beyond me but unfortunately they didn't.

The food we found to be relatively good and the drinks were plentiful on the all inclusive package. The snack bar was good, but don't leave your food unattended (why would you) as it would get pecked at by the birds - this wasn't a problem for us as our food never got left! Unfortunately when we were there the snack bar did seem to get a number of British teenagers in it who filled their plates up full of food and then failed to eat any of it but just got up and left all the mess. The staff were brilliant and never complained just quietly cleared it away - I was embarrassed to be British. The main dining room was very busy at peak times but we tended to go for dinner after 8.30 pm when it was much calmer. This tact generally worked well for us as we were not too bothered about having front row seats to see any of the shows (as the later you left it the more tricky it got to find a seat for the hotel run show). There was plenty of space in the quieter bar though where we were more than happy drinking our fill of sangria.

The room, whilst at first appearing very comfortable (with a fab sea view) was let down by the fact that the children had to share a sofa bed - as tall 12 and 10 year olds it was really not adequate. Our bed was very nice though! We also experienced a nasty smell around our room which seemed to get worse when the air conditioning was on although it wasn't bad enough to want to bother moving.

The kids both enjoyed the First Choice clubs although our 10 year old daughter found some of them slightly cheesy, but then over a fortnight you could pick and choose what to go to. They both tried the high ropes a couple of times which were well maintained and run. We didn't bother with the First Choice entertainment in the evening, although it looked good for younger kids. The hotel entertainment was the usual standard stuff you get - a couple of good evenings and some mediocre - no different to anywhere else really!

All in all we had a good time but were pleased to be going home. I doubt that we will return again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Hotelneedtoknow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,070)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

699 - 705 of 1,070 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2014

Visited this hotel in Jan 2014 and at this point it was supposed to be Hotel Los Gigantes. Not the holiday village! Big mistake, despite it being middle of term time at school, the hotel was geared for children and was occupied by families, not what you would expect quite frankly, most of the clients would snub their noses at Butlins holidays---- but that is exactly what you get at this establishment, the company running this property and its sister hotel, Hotel Playa LA Arena have completely ruined the ambience and reputation that these hotels had when operated by Spring Hotels. The food is usually bland and cold, Definitely not 4 star quality.The hotel is beautiful with fantastic views(depending on room allocation) Quite honestly the hotel is punching below its weight.The service from staff is good most of them are used to working at far greater levels of service than the operators are offering patrons. It is a total shame Spring Hotels are not operating these establishments any more! Parents should be aware that despite every thing being themed for children this building was never designed for such use, put a tracker on your children, there are many walkways and underground passageways for small children to explore and find themselves lost! Adult entertainment is poor but there are many good spots in the area providing top quality entertainment. Upgrade to splendid service for a better experience but make sure you get the upgraded room.

Room Tip: some rooms actually have a brick wall as the view from the patio ---- beware!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We went to this resort in 2012 and if you expect a holiday village you will sadly be sold short......
This is our 4th holiday village and it has to said it is the worst by a long way, if you read some of my other reviews I like to be honest!!!!
I struggled here finding any food for any meals if you like steak ( well thinly sliced beef ) then you will be okay but after 2 weeks of this then you start to struggle.... The only positive on the food was every other day they had English bacon ....
The complex was good though and overall it was a nice holiday the one touch we did like was the fair night that they put on once per week which was good for the the kids....

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Monkeyman2010uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We were a party of 7 adults on a CHRISTMAS family holiday, The rooms were totally unsatisfactory. Three of the adults spent the holiday on a very, very uncomfortable sofa bed. i find this unbelievable charging adults to sleep on a sofa bed. perhaps for children it would be ok but not for a senior citizen or any other adult. I have serious concerns about the food. My daughter has a seafood allergy and often prawns were added to rice dishes which clearly stated they only contained peas and ham.In the a la carte restaurant we were given a crab terrine as a starter which was brought to our table without us ordering it. we left the restaurant early as my daughter became very unwell which i suspect was due to some form of cross contamination with the crab meat. she spent the whole holiday eating only pasta with tomato sauce and was terrified of what might be lurking in the salad leafs.We have been to this hotel twice before and I think standards have fallen.Overall the hotel is great. Entertainment staff could do with some training on how to use a microphone as they screamed at the guests by the pool every day. I like atmosphere, but to be deafened is a bit much! We did have a great holiday but i feel the hotel management have become a little blase' and need to fine tune lots of small thing to get this hotel back to its fomer status of excellent,

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chiara0910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Stayed here 26/9/13 for 10 days - absolutely fantastic hotel for families loads going on, the food was great, lots of the drinks were available for you to help yourself to rather than queue and a little mini fridge in the room was topped up regularly with water. There was loads going on for the children, the first choice kids club was available more or less all day, the swim academy was available and my youngest really enjoyed his lessons. The entertainment was good - first choice had an outdoor stage with kids entertainment and games then a bit of a show for the grown ups (and these guys can really sing and dance!) the hotel also had its own entertainment indoors which was good some nights - I am not one for sitting indoors whilst on holiday though. There was also a cocktail/piano lounge that had live music most nights. Small grumbles? Well I did notice that the quality of the wine tended to slide throughout the evening (but used to get a bottle at the table at dinner which was more than enough to last me through the evening) - also the family room we had was two beds and a double sofa bed which was falling to pieces - it would have been much nicer to have a proper bed, also at the time we went there were not many teenage children which was a bit disappointing for my daughter who is 17 but she still enjoyed it. Only other small niggle was that the hotel staff (NOT first choice) were a bit aloof, not particularly friendly but polite enough. These are tiny, tiny grumbles would definitely recommend this hotel - my 7 year old son was in buckets of tears when we left he loved it so much!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank SharonClisham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay here. Our rooms were next to each other. Each room was two storeys. Double sofabed downstairs with TV and shower/toilet....upstairs were 2 single beds, TV, bath/bathroom and a balcony. Cannot fault the hotel.

The pool area isn't big and it was difficult EVERY DAY to get even one sunbed. The bar by the pool smells really badly of sewage, hopefully they've sorted this out now!

The hotel is so big that you won't bump into people - so it's great for quality family time.

Entertainment was OK for kids - however, the room where the entertainment is was so hot it was almost unbearable.

The food was amazing - can't fault the food - lots of selection of cheeses and cold meats for starters etc. Something for everyone. All fresh, no-one got ill.

Location wise it's not ideal - we are a family travelling with a pushchair and so the beach was annoying to get to and from as the hill was so steep. There weren't many bars for the 18 year olds in our party to go to......

Overall a really pleasant stay. Just a shame the prices have got so high.

Stayed July 2012 - couldn't back date this correctly on the tab!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

This is listed as a Holiday Village, don't be fooled this is not the case. First Choice have a very small, almost non-existent presence at this hotel. All of their attempts at entertainment fail due to close proximity of the hotels own entertainment, hotels superior sound system and the lack of unmotivated First Choice staff.

Food & dining:
Priority is given by staff to Spanish tourists who were always seated in the main restaurant first leaving us stood waiting to be seated. In one instance 8 Spanish families of equal or larger numbers to ours were seated first.
Our daughter suffered a stomach upset for 4 days after eating at the pool dining area one afternoon, this was only remidied by a visit to the local chemist.

Rooms:
Rooms are not reflective of a 4*+ hotel, holes in bedding, seal coming away from patio door compromising safety (we had to repair this ourselves every evening even though reported to maintenance), patio door lock faulty on arrival. A very large cockroach was reported in our bathroom, supposedly removed yet my hubsand stepped out of shower straight on to it the following day. The remains were left untouched by the cleaner, we left them to see if she was actually doing her job as we had doubts for the duration of our holiday, this confirmed our beliefs.

Our eldest daughter got her head trapped in the sofa bed mechanism when reaching for her teddy, my husband had to force the bed apart to free her, what would the consequences have been if we had all been asleep and unaware?.

First Choice staff and company:
First Choice staff had very little interest in the holidaymakers there with their company, the only time they were animated were when throwing each other in to the pool. Kids club sessions often finished early, children being returned to families up to half an hour before due to end, that's when the clubs actally got going after staff sat the children round the meeting area for a good 30 minutes before commencing any type of activity. One kids club rep did the most vile belch in front of the children-this made me feel physically sick and is not the level of professionalism expected by staff dealing with children.
The standard of atfersales service received by First Choice is abysmal, we originally booked to stay at Red Sea Holiday Village which I may add is fantastic but changed our destination due to civil unrest. We visited our local Thomson branch for advice on an alternative destination but as we booked online they refused. This is unacceptable, the source of booking should not prevent a company giving after sales advice. The money we paid for our holiday is distributed to pay a wage to all staff regardless where they are located be it here in a branch or India at the end of a phone. I did call the support line but the customer service officer was of no use when advising on destination or alternative accomodation, all they were able to do were deal with booking amendments so what are online customers supposed to do?
There are numerous other issues we experienced at this hotel all of which have been been passed on to First Choice and a formal complaint raised, 28 days later still no reply...........

We were advised during our stay that First Choice are considering removal of this hotel from their listing due to customer complaints and concerns-if this is so why haven't they done so already thus preventing other holiday makers wasting money. This hotel should not be listed as a Holiday Village.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank gagkerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto de Santiago
0 mi away
Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes
Be Live Family Costa los Gigante...
#3 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
5,421 reviews
0.5 mi away
El Marques Palace by Intercorp Hotel Group
El Marques Palace by Intercorp H...
#6 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
204 reviews
0.5 mi away
Globales Tamaimo Tropical
Globales Tamaimo Tropical
#8 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
3,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Allegro Isora
Allegro Isora
#1 of 1 in Playa de la Arena
2,173 reviews
10.6 mi away
Gara Hotel
Gara Hotel
#4 of 5 in Garachico
131 reviews
10.2 mi away
Hotel Suite Villa Maria
Hotel Suite Villa Maria
#3 of 61 in Costa Adeje
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Village Tenerife? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Village Tenerife

Address: Juan Manuel Capdevielle 8 | Playa de la Arena, 38683 Puerto de Santiago, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de Santiago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto de Santiago
Number of rooms: 518
Also Known As:
Holiday Village Tenerife Hotel Puerto De Santiago
Holiday Village Tenerife Puerto De Santiago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing