We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great family holiday”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Puerto de Santiago
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Holiday Village Tenerife
Certificate of Excellence
aylesbury
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great family holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Really enjoyed our family holiday to holiday village
Transfer not to bad about 45mins
Check in bit slow but lots if people to check in
Room we stayed in block b right at the top room has everything you need is clean and had two rooms the view on the balcony was to die for even with the one crane to the left
Food the food was fine but a little monotonous I would advise eating out occasionally to break it up but could not complain drinks ok Amstel beer drinkable wine ok and spirits fine
First choice kids club brilliant football acadamy great ollie and Adam did a great job swim acadamy also good phoebe was brilliant she got our boy to swim without armbands for the first time although he denies it but we saw him
I5 live was great when it was on unfortunately it was cancelled quite a lot which was disappointing the whole entertainment team were great especially the archery which we all enjoyed
The swimming pools were both cold and both salt water which I am not keen on we only saw them shut once for an accident though poo issue .the smell everyone talks about is a litte off putting but once you know where the drain is you can avoid it
Luabay entertainment team also good but we preferred first choice but they also work hard
Trips we went to lorra park which was great although transfer a bit long if you don't like coach journeys recommend the premium tour you get a three course lunch and a behind the scenes tour for an extra 16 euro's a person
Medivial night again long transfer but great night and on way back we were given direct transfer
We went to the market at Los Christianos but it was full of cheap tat well I thought so the wife liked it then we walked to playas Americas if you like Blackpool you will love it
Beach at playa arena below the hotel has black sand but was really clean unfortunately never got to swim because the sea was so rough but jumping the waves was great fun sun loungers were 3euro's each and s further 3 for a umbrella ,nice bars and restaurants behind the beach and some shops selling holiday stuff and cheap cigarette 's
Feel free to ask any questions I will do my best to answer then
All in all a great holiday with a few little gripes

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank whufckev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

968 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    445
    328
    137
    36
    22
See reviews for
760
42
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Retford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

Spent two weeks there from 14th - 28h Oct 2012 as a family of four and we all had a great time. Please see the list below for ease of reading: -

Location - Above the town, not easy to get back by walking if you are not fit

Checking In - A bit slow though there was a coach full arriving at once

Room availability - Not available until 3pm - we got our key nearer 4pm which did annoy considering we paid extra for better flight times

Room - very clean, spacious, ideal for a family with 12 & 10 year olds

Food - absolutely fine, some did complain that it was repetitive but with such a wide choice on offer, please stop moaning and vary your diet !!

Speciality restaurants - Went to the Grill and the Mexican. We found the Grill a little too fussy (more sauces than advised on the menu but others we spoke to did enjoy their meal. The Mexican was excellent - be warned that you do get a lot of food - save romm for the chocolate tart

Pools - Good, a lot warmer than other hotels, quiet pool near snack bar if you want things less noisy but it still gets lively

Entertainment - Staff (First Choice & Luabay) excellent, hardworking and give you the choice without pressure to join in or do nothing

Activities - A good choice to keep kids and adults happy. Do watch out for the football pitch, though very good it is 3G with rubber pellets - expect to get quite dirty if you play on there. Tennis court very good, mini-golf better than expected, high-ropes fun

Bars - Good, a bit of queuing at busier times but not for long. Can get your own beer, kids get their own drinks too

Overall we had a great time and will go back again. Holidays are rarely perfect and sometimes you just need to get over minor issues. I would not deter anyone with children going to this hotel, our experience was all we expected and more. Our two boys made many friends and were happy to hang around all day and some of the night in a safe environment.

Go to the Holiday Village and enjoy yourself !!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, Staffs
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

Holiday Village Tenerife
Stayed 7th October for 2 weeks
3 Adults. Age 55, 49 & 20
Our first visit to a Holiday Village and I must admit these are set for Family’s and not adults.
Arrived after a cramped flight (Thomson Airlines) only to find room not ready, however bags were taken to our room and we went to restaurant.
Our room was in “F” block with a view of the sea & a crane. It was a 2 tier apartment with living room on ground floor with bathroom. Large T.V., Wardrobe and sofa bed. Upstairs was 2 ¾ size beds (on wheels) large T.V, large bathroom, 2 massive wardrobes and a safe. Maids where seen around the place but doubt they clean the room ours was not cleaned very well at all.
Hotel was very clean, 2 pools one quite, the other noisy with activities taking place by either first Choice reps or Luabay reps. drains around the noisy pool do smell so I would suggest getting sunbeds away from the drains. On the subject of sunbeds our first week was not an issues to get them, however the second week we found you had to drag some around to get 3 together.
Food, was ok but not very warm sometimes, plates cold and sometimes not very clean. Roast Beef and Yorkshire pudding on Sundays. Varied choice of salads etc even Sushi.
Drinks, Amstel beer ok (2 cans with 2 cans of coke in room mini bar as well) sprits very weak but plentiful.
Take advantage of the towel service, pay 15 Euro’s deposit and change your towels every 2 days, well worth it saves taking your own.
Hotel offers coach trip (4 Euro’s) to Siam Park and Los Cristianos, on our trip there was no air con on bus and people where complaining and babes crying due to excessive heat. My tip is take plenty of water. Siam Park check your bags for food and drink when you enter, prices in the park for food and drink are expensive.
Loro park, very good 2 hour trip by car (we hired one for a few days) plenty to see and do, car parking is a nightmare but park on the side roads. Inside the shows are not very long so if you have been to Seaworld Florida you will be disappointed here.
All in all, this hotel is set for families, would we go again? Not to this one but would look at other holiday Villages to see what they offer. The First Choice reps and Luabay entertainments teams always seem to be competing with each other. Some entertainment was Good, the Chinese acrobat’s very good, other acts painful to watch (Queen tribute act).
All day time activities was cater for young children & not teenage or above

Room Tip: Leave the Hotel of a weekend as the Spanish come on mass. Take advantage of the towels service
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noblo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Travel to first choice holiday village with husband and my 2 boys aged 9 and 6 years on the 9th oct for 2 weeks and what an amazing time we had.
Transfers were about 40mins and were direct both times.
We stayed in block D which had great views which is close to games room and quiet pool with snack bar, its also close to main resturants.
Rooms were very nice and spacious, plenty storage and the main bed comfortable and big. The cleaner came in everyday and gave us clean towels and made up beds. Large flat screen TV's in bedroom and sitting area and do have some english channels, we did mange to find cartoons in english a few times for the kids.
Plenty of sunbeds to go around so no need to get up at crazy o'clock to reserve your sunbed however if you do like to be in the front row to the pool for keeping an eye on your kids which I do you best be down by the pool for about 9 am as after that they do go quick! The only bad thing I could write about this hotel are the drains around the main pool, they are in serious need of a very good clean and do smell. However the pools are clean and we seen many times them being cleaned in the mornings.
We took part in a quite a few of the family entertainment thoughout the day which the first choice reps put on and I have to say they really do work so hard and very long hours. They really helped us have a fantastic holiday and great laugh.
20 euro deposit which u get back for a go on he crazy golf which is harder than it looks and quite good fun, also you have to have a go on the high ropes, im not that great with heights but managed around the course, you do have to book 2 days in advance at the hut next to the high ropes and best to book it at 10am when hut opens to make sure you get booked in though as very popular.
Food was great, so much choice and variety could not fault it. However we did visit the steak house restaurant and was very disappointed, then after checking out the menu for the other two restaurants decided against booking!
Kids went to the kids club almost every day for one of their session and loved it. There are about 5 sessions everyday for all the age groups spread throughout the day from 10am to 9.30pm. Kids specially love the chocolate party and vip partys which your best to book your kids spot in that day in the morning down at the kids club as they can only take so many children at one time.
The hotel is abit out of it but there really is no need to go out as there is so much going on in the hotel all day for everyone young and old. We did do a few trips - Siam park and Loro Parc these 2 are a must. Loro parc is about 2 hour bus journey and siam park almost an hour depending on how many pick ups on the way. We also went to the medevil nite and music tavern nite and both were great. These two are held in the same venue and are about an hour bus trip.
Also have to say that everyone of the staff at this hotel were so friendly and made us feel so welcome.

A special thanx to Martin, Ben, Connor, Charlotte, Lucy, Sophie and Donna.....You all are doing a fantastic job and my boys just loved every minute with you all. Definitely will be booking another holiday village for next year so hopefully see some of you next year at another holiday village!

Room Tip: Block D close to main building, restaurants, games room and quiet pool but not great if you like to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank leecole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

This was our second trip to the holiday village Tenerife, having had a fab time the year before. We still had a really good holiday this time, place pretty clean (especially the rooms), food nice and a good variety - although by the end of 2 weeks it does all start to taste a bit samey!, I Five Live and First Choice children's club staff worked really hard and made the holiday extra special for our two girls (aged 9 and 10), who became especially attached to Ben, Connor, Martin, Adam, Kerry, Phoebe, Sophie (1+2) and Lucy. A highlight for them was also the Luabay kids' production of Grease where they got to play two of the main parts - thanks to the Luabay team for that!

A few things were not so good as the previous year, however:

- some of the staff in the buffet restaraunt were not at all friendly and one waitress ignored us for so long at an outside table that I ended up clearing the previous people's dishes myself and then my husband had to complain in order for us to get served our drinks - not at all impressed by that!

- the entertainment in the main music hall now starts way too late at 10pm, meaning that for most of the shows the hall was only half full, the atmosphere flat and many people left before the end (or nodded off!). I think that First Choice and Luabay really need to sort out how the two sets of entertainment work alongside each other, as the current set up really didn't work for us.

- the juice in the fruit juice machines is horrid - last year there were cartons of fresh apple and orange juice that you could help yourself to at breakfast, but these have now gone. Also, the cocktails are all made now with ready-made syrups - this might be quick, but the taste doesn't really measure up to that of freshly made ones.

- the pool was a bit dirty at times with algy floating about in it - really needs to be kept up to scratch.

- the freshly grilled fish and meats at lunch and dinner were really nice, but a couple of times they were a little underdone (chicken or pork pink in the middle - not good).

Oh, and just a little tip, my husband had 'man flu' during the holiday and thought he needed antibiotics. He was told by the hotel staff that all doctors on the island were private and that it would cost 50 euros for a consultation. So he went to a pharmacy to see if he could get some medicine over the counter, and was told that he could actually see a doctor for free if he used his E1-11 card. In short, if you go to the doctor recommended by the hotel you will have to pay 50 euros, but go to the NHS one up the road (with your blue card) and you will get seen for free!

All in all, despite a few niggles, the holiday was great and we would go again. The kids were so sad to leave they were crying on the bus as we left - so it must have been good!

Room Tip: Blocks K,L and M are best if you want to be close to the main pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fifi274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

dont be fooled by the glossy tv adverts. This place is one step up from Butlins, nothing against butlins if thats what you like but if you are looking for a higher end family resort do not expect the tenerife holiday village to meet that criteria. All drinks are served in the smallest of glasses and usually the cheapest plastic cups you can provide. If you do get a glass and fancy a beer i suggest you will be very fit filling your wine glass full of beer by the minutes up and down to the bar. The rooms are ok but the beds are on castors that skate across the room when sat on. The tv provides ITV and BBC1 as english channels. There are NO childrens channels in english apart from the odd spanish disney tv episode that hasnt been translated.sky news is available but all english channels are distorted and interferance is terrible. The shower is good and hot water was available at all times when needed. The mini bar in the room was stocked daily and the cleaners did a good job in fairness.The poolside area needed some real maintenance as the drainage grills which wrapped round the whole pool had rusted away in all areas and harboured dirt and most sunbeds were situated in and around these areas. The food was ok if you loved pork the restaurant manager must have his own pig farm as there must have been more pork dishes than i have ever seen anywhere (every day!)..The kids burgers were of poor quality and i can only describe them as goblin burgers that seemed like they came out of a tin. If you would like a second drink with your meal be prepared to hunt down someone to help you without face pulling and total disinterest! If you enjoy everything average, just about acceptable, perched on a cliffside,on a 500 room resort then this is the place for you. If you were hoping to get a good feeling as the advert goes do not book this resort leave it for chavs who think they are getting a good deal and living the dream that doesnt exist here!oh and dont forget to take your own pool towels theres a 15 euro deposit for each towel.......

Room Tip: with 500 rms try to stay nearer the main bldg or its a 10 minute walk to dinner, reception etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

If you can choose to go to a holiday village it would be Rhodes, it is well better than this gaff , The beds in this place are a joke, These are the worst beds I have ever slept on, The snack bar for your lunch food is at the top of the complex, it's a long walk in the hot sun to get your cold hamburgers the snack bar has same food daily which is a bit boring. All you see is people hiking back to the pool with there lunch this is so poor.There are no tea or coffee facilities in your room , they give you a free mini bar which is good if the fridge was cold , the free drinks on the complex is all watered down ,you would be hard pushed to get drunk or have a good drink. The evening food and breakfast is cold, no selection well not if you like a change of menu.Overall we would not return, the only thing it has going for it at the holiday village is the friendly staff and how clean the complex is.The entertainment is on a bit late and a lot of it is in Spanish,which is not good because you carnt understand them.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abbeyjess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto de Santiago
0.0 mi away
Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes
Be Live Family Costa los Gigante...
#2 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,843 reviews
2.1 mi away
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Allegro Isora
Allegro Isora
#1 of 1 in Playa de la Arena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Royal Sun Resort
Royal Sun Resort
#1 of 3 in Los Gigantes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,143 reviews
0.6 mi away
Barcelo Santiago
Barcelo Santiago
#1 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,107 reviews
0.2 mi away
Be Live Experience Playa La Arena
Be Live Experience Playa La Aren...
#4 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Village Tenerife? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Village Tenerife

Property: Holiday Village Tenerife
Address: Juan Manuel Capdevielle 8 | Playa de la Arena, 38683 Puerto de Santiago, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de Santiago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto de Santiago
Number of rooms: 518
Also Known As:
Holiday Village Tenerife Hotel Puerto De Santiago
Holiday Village Tenerife Puerto De Santiago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing