We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb Sardinian cuisine”
Review of Domu Mia

Domu Mia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $13
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb Sardinian cuisine”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

This place was so highly rated on Tripadvisor that we were determined to track it down on our first night, and this is where we stayed for the rest of the week, bar the Monday night it was closed. By our final night, we were being treated to complimentary dolces, digestifs as well as being given a culinary run down on Sardinia, from Alghero to Oristano. One of those unique Italian restaurant experiences which you always hope to get in Italy, but never seem to manage. Interestingly, locals and Italians were very much in attendance towards the end of the night.
The pictured Paulo is proud of his Oristano roots and plied his trade in Sardinia for seven years before emigrating to Santiago. Matteo, front of house, is a Milanese architect by profession and an absolute gentleman. Pizzas are clearly a speciality from the on-show oven, but the pasta - particularly the fresh seafood options - and steaks, were such good value at around the 10 euro mark that we didn't actually try pizza in the end. The attention to detail is remarkable; even beer was served in frosted glasses. Now back home, we are rather missing the place.....

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sid F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    63
    16
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
56 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Amazing food & value in the most unexpected venue”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We now know why this spot is rated so highly! We've visited the area for 4 years and never even noticed this amazing gem. We've walked right passed and not seen it. It is nothing to look at on first glance but get in and try it! From the fabulous prawns, amazing baked mussels, truly outstanding pizzas everything we tried was spot on. The Sicilian owner/chef and his staff were so friendly, drinks so reasonable we will be back for more in Janaury, can't wait!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Yorkshirelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“delicious italian food”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

you will taste delicious pastas, pizzas, homemade bread at a reasonable price. Salads are awsome too and huge portions. Staff are very welcoming and helpful. I really enjoyed this place
Go there, you won´t regret it!!!!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary60805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballyclare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Domu Mia, Mamma Mia !!!”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Especially good food and value for money. Enormous portions all cooked by the owner.Selection of top qualityScilian wines on offer.Much more than just a pizza parlour

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tony m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“COOKED TO ORDER”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We recently visited Dumu Mia for the first time and went back 2 nights later.We were extremely satisfied with both the friendly and efficient service particularly by Mohammed the waiter.He really new his business regarding how things should be done.The food was excellent and cooked fresh so be prepared to wait a little but well worth it.We had the home made Italian dishes and the sauces were really excellent and very tasty. The portions are are a good size and the prices were very reasonable and i would recommend this as one of the best restaurants we visited.
Thanks to Mohammed for making us welcome.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SUE688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Domu Mia also viewed

Puerto de Santiago, Tenerife
Puerto de Santiago, Tenerife
 
Puerto de Santiago, Tenerife
Puerto de Santiago, Tenerife
 

Been to Domu Mia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing