We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great quality food and wine but not at all expensive!”

Cafe Jardin Flor Del Drago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $28
Cuisines: Mediterranean, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
“Great quality food and wine but not at all expensive!”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Stumbled across this restaurant in Playa del Arena (Puerto de Santiago) and.. Wow! With very decent prices the whole family experienced truly quality food, top wines that you could buy by the glass or bottle (also decent prices) and friendly and highly skilled staff. We went there twice and those two dinners where the highlights of our short stay. The quality was miles from the "fish and chips" places around... We can HIGHLY RECOMMEND this restaurant!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Per L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    35
    7
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Restaurant in Area”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Husband and wife team run this fabulous restaurant the food is not only excellent but is presented in a most beautiful way, it is not unusual to see people taking pictures of their plate as they arrive at their tables.Both Julio and Nuria are two of the most polite and welcoming people you could wish to meet and the wine cellar is second to none

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank WellTravelled433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gem of a restaurant”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

This place definitely deserves to be busier. After eating out for the last 6 nights we wanted something different and we certainly got it here. Delicious home made breads served with a trio of flavoured oils was a wonderful start and should not be missed. The food menu is short and on paper may not be to everyone's taste. However what we had was superb and we could not fault it. We wanted to taste a local wine but did not want to waste our money on something not very special. We took the owner's advice and had a bottle of the "Bronce" and wow what a wine. We were very impressed and will definitely got back the next time we are in Tenerife.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lakedistrictlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
233 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Underwhelmed”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

The setting is good, and without doubt Julio has a passion for food and wine. His knowledge is extensive, and he does have a large selection of wines not available locally. He does deserve to be busier ... Maybe the answer is that some of his menus are too bizarre, but mainly the food provided by his chef does not always live up to the menu's description. Sometimes not cooked very well.
We have eaten there as a couple, and with friends several times since it opened always hoping each time it would be a meal to surpass all others. Sadly not. We are not alone in our views and know that some local residents are not regular customers.
I note (Nov 2012) a 3 course lunch menu offered at 15€. Wine tasting recently, 5 wines and appropriate taster food to accompany, 32€ per person.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ralph R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
120 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Deserved to be busier”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We had a fabulous meal here, with Julio looking after us very well - as always. Starters included a delicious carpaccio of beef and the mains were a fantastic stew of turbot and potatoes, and halibut. The selection of wines on offer is probably unmatched in the whole of Tenerife, and Julio is a walking encycopaedia of Spanish wines. If you get a chance to go to one of his tastings, don't miss it. With the standard of food on offer here, he deserves to be a lot busier.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Jardin Flor Del Drago also viewed

Puerto de Santiago, Tenerife
Puerto de Santiago, Tenerife
 
Puerto de Santiago, Tenerife
Santiago del Teide, Tenerife
 
Puerto de Santiago, Tenerife
Santiago del Teide, Tenerife
 

Been to Cafe Jardin Flor Del Drago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing