We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday but there's a lot wrong.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 29, 2014

We stayed at this hotel from 16th-27th March 2014. My husband and I took my sister with us, our age range is early to late 50's. We arrived about 8.30 pm and were told to leave our luggage and go to the restaurant. We had a nice meal then we were taken to our room, 216. This room had a double sofa bed downstairs which my sister used then up a curved marble staircase was our double bedroom. No doors between them, so no privacy. Also, if you sleep on the balcony side of the bed, be warned. If you walk around the bottom of the bed in the night to use the toilet you have a good chance of falling down 16 marble stairs. Not a good idea. I showered the following evening only to find I stepped out into an inch of water all over the bathroom floor, merrily making it's way towards the bed. The phone didn't work so my husband walked up to reception ( no mean feat when you have COPD). A man came to ha a look at it and we were told we had to move rooms. Great. We'd just unpacked and now we had to pack again to move to room F110 which was 3 rooms along. We'd sat in the sun all day, I had the trots, my sister had a banging headache and my husband was wheezing like an old engine. Next day, 18th March, I turned 55. We were pleasantly surprised on going back to our room to find a card, 2 glasses and a bottle of champagne. Well done Los Gigantes!! Down to the hotel itself....there were 2 pools, side by side, one heated and the other that would freeze the b***s off a brass monkey. Guess which one we used first?? The other one was packed and was like a turkish bath compared to the first one, which was empty (I wonder why??) There was a kiddies pool with a slide at one end of the hotel and a quiet pool at the other end which had a snack bar. Food there was ok, chicken nuggets, chips, burgers etc. and a barbecue. The breakfasts were great, there was absolutely nothing you couldn't get. Lunch at the pool restaurant was varied and lovely. But, oh dear, the evening meal!! It seemed. Like they'd tried to cater for every nationality on the planet. It ended up as a luke warm mish-mash of everything, and you couldn't make a decent meal out of any of it. Like salad?? You'll love it, but if you don't, and you try to make a dinner out of what's left, beware of the gravy! It tastes like wallpaper paste mixed with sugar and a few strange lumps of veg swimming around in it. Let's go to room service. We had a shower in our bath and believe me, I could have given Torville and Dean a run for their money!! It was slippy as hell. One day we had 2 towels, next day we had none at all, then yippee! we got 4 at once. My sister, who had a little walk in shower was even more unlucky. They seemed to think that 2 tea cloth size towels were enough for her. But then again, she got 3 toilet rolls and we got one every 3 days. The day before we left, it was so hot that we pushed a sunbed up against a wall in the shade, only to be asked to move because that's where they hang the dart board. We took a Thomson trip to Loro park and booked it with a rep who. was practically walking away as she took the money. Very disinterested. Not good Thomson. Did we enjoy it? Yes. Would we go back again? Probably not. All in all, staff friendly, food average, entertainment (groups taking off Michael Jackson, The Beatles, and a parrot show) good. Definitely not a 4 Star Plus, but fun all the same.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
administrador_luabay, Director General at Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Dear Julie,

Thank you for taking time to share your holiday experience in Luabay Costa Los Gigantes We are extremely sorry to hear that the hotel did not entirely meet up your expectations and would like to let you know that each and every guest´s opinion is crucial for us to improve our facilities and service.

Please accept our apologies for the inconveniences caused by room changing. However, we hope that you could enjoy your holidays after moving to a new room. We also took a note of your comments regarding the food temperature and housekeeping and have reported them to the correspondent departments.

Your constructive feedback will certainly help us to improve our weaknesses and provide an excellent holiday experience to our guests. We are hoping you will accept our invitation to welcome you back in our hotel and offer you a service that would make your holidays pleasant and enjoyable!

Kind regards,
The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,373)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,174 - 2,180 of 5,373 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2014

There is a recent review that indicates this as a terrible hotel - with nothing to do but sit on a terrace overlooking a skip. Ignore that review - it is utter rubbish. This hotel is really lovely.

Positives:
Great location - Los Gigantes is a lovely resort - ok with the usual tourist tat but also beautiful and impressive cliffs. You must go on a whale watching boat trip - you will definitely see dolphins and whales and the Masca Express (15 euros) also takes you to Masca bay and you get to see the cliffs up close and personal. Adventurous walkers can do a Masca valley trek which would be marvellous. You can also hire a car or go on an organised trip to see Teide at night but a car gives you plenty freedom and the sunset is truly wonderful. It's a lot cheaper to hire a car and take advantage of the island rather than go on the organised trips. Beautiful gardens and public areas - the hotel is very well kept - must be a huge industry to keep this clean and tidy for a season. The staff we encountered were all very polite and helpful and eager to please. The suites are very spacious and clean. The beds are certainly not 'too hard' - but perhaps for someone used to sleeping on a saggy old soft mattress they might be - I like a good firm bed! Secluded and ample balconies - doesn't matter what room you have you will have a view of sorts. We did have a crane in the distance from our balcony but it didn't bother me enough to be moved. We didn't overlook anyone and no-one overlooked us so we could sunbathe in private (!) if required. Food - perfectly adequate all inclusive fare with a fantastic choice and plenty lovely salads to suit me! Again - I do wonder what some people eat at home when they complain about this range of choice. Book up the gourmet themed restaurants when you get there to make sure you get something. The Mexican in particular was very impressive.

Negatives which means 4 stars not 5:
A wait for a table at peak times let the restaurant service down a bit. But it was handled efficiently and we never waited longer than 5 minutes even when the queue looked long. Replacement of toiletries - basically what you get at the beginning is meant to last you, so if (like us) you are used to hotels that replace these daily automatically - don't be surprised that this does not happen. I am sure they would have been replaced had we asked but we had plenty with us anyway. The mini bar is replaced on a use basis - so what you use is replaced daily - which is as expected. Although there is a kettle in the room, they only supply tea and no coffee. Sachets of decaf are available from every machine in the hotel though, so you can take these to your room, but it would have been nice to have had a kick of caffeine in the morning too without having to go to the machines. The other negatives involve the other guests - personally we avoid school holidays but there are obviously a lot of small children at this resort and that is to be expected. But I would certainly not want to come here during school holidays. Unsupervised children helping themselves to food and drink in the restaurant is a recipe for disaster - witnessed one such who could barely reach the drink machine pouring himself a pineapple juice and creating a minor flood in the process, watched on by mother too who did not intervene...another who licked the tongs used to pick up the bread for the toaster - and not reprimanded by mother in so doing. And a woman who literally rummaged with her fingers through all the yorkshire puddings till she decided which ones were best. The birds landing momentarily on the poolside buffet are less of a hazard than the manners of other guests!

So in summary - a huge lovely hotel in a beautiful location, weather almost guaranteed, plenty to see and do if you want to, don't be tied by the all inclusive mentality, use this as a great base, avoid school holidays if you are not with family as it is very child friendly, and you will be well pleased with this hotel.

Room Tip: I think any room would be fine - we had H block - convenient and quiet overlooking the sea and at th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katheross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
administrador_luabay, Director General at Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Dear Katheross,

Thank you so much for your lovely comments about Luabay Costa Los Gigantes. We are pleased you enjoyed the location of the hotel and appreciated the beauty that the island of Tenerife is. Your comments about our staff, facilities and food quality are very much appreciated, as they encourage us to continue growing and providing an excellent service to our customers.

We also took note of several shortcomings you pointed out. Such feedback helps us to look into these problems in detail and find a reasonable solution. We encourage you to choose Luabay Costa Los Gigantes for your next holidays, as it will be a great pleasure to welcome you once again!

Yours sincerely,
The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

Overall. Nice hotel area bit away but doable. Pools were lovely with welcome pool bar . Enjoyed the spa a few rimesz
Restaurant food was ok altho tepid didn't Eat here a lot. Themed nights were good. Would be great for kids.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LindaGrayScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
administrador_luabay, Director General at Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Dear LindaGrayScotland,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay in Luabay Costa Los Gigantes. We are very glad you had enjoyable holidays with us and experienced our lovely spa. We will pass on your observations regarding the food to the relevant department and take necessary measures.
We are also glad to hear that you would recommend us to families with kids. We work very hard to offer activities starting from our youngest guests and believe there are plenty of things to do to satisfy all likings.

We are hoping to have yet another opportunity to welcome you in Luabay Costa Los Gigantes.

Kind regards,
The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

just returned today had a lovely time pools ace lovely temp , staff polite and helpful , rooms lovely if u find beds hard tell reception and they put a toppper on for you , food lovely ,could do with more eve entertainment after 10,30 not just piano bar , we took pt plastic glasses for around the pool during day as plastic galsses provided were very small , make sure u put flip flops on waking around ull burn yr feet !!!!!!!!!!!! swop box by first choice desk , birds flying in and out of snack bar area so didn't risk eating anything that wasn't covered as they were helping them selves

Room Tip: room 300 e has private balcony overlooking sea near quiet pool , room L215 has double balcony overlo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
administrador_luabay, Director General at Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Dear Loz H,

First of all let us thank you for your wonderful review of our staff members, our facilities and food quality. Be sure we will pass on your comments to all our departments, as it helps us to improve further. We are also grateful for pointing out the drawbacks you noticed during your stay. Such comments always help us to look into problems in detail and find a solution quickly.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in Luabay Costa Los Gigantes and doing our best to make your holidays enjoyable and relaxing.

Yours sincerely,
The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

I travelled with my 17 year old daughter and am writing this review as I am still in the hotel. I was sceptical about traveling to Tenerife as I am an ardent Turkey fan and have been thoroughly spoilt by my holidays there. However that said I have a lot of positives about this hotel. The room we have (A117) is like an apartment with a separate living area. There is a TV in both the lounge and the bedroom, though reception for any English channels is terrible. This doesn't really bother me as I tend to have a bit of a bar on TV whilst away! We have a private balcony that nobody can see into so you can even sunbathe there if you need time away from the pool area. Food, not the best I've had but certainly not the worst. I do agree with one review about some of the food being luke warm, not very appealing but it will hardly ruin our holiday. If you are inclined to book trips you must do the Loro Park, with or without children! Would recommend paying an extra 20€ for the behind the scenes guided tour! well worth it and includes lunch. You can also get a packed lunch from the hotel if you wish, be warned the coach trip is 2 hours long.
Staff are friendly and the room service is great, beds made every day and towels fresh. Pool towels are provided with a deposit of 30€ and you have to pay for the room safe at 2.50€ per day! not had to pay that one before. The evening entertainment is not the best, again not the worst, and all tends to come to an end at 10-10.30, if you are a party animal you may be disappointed though this may change in high season. Not many shops locally, you can walk to the town, beware of heart attack hill, alright going but you may need to taxi it back, taxis are very reasonable starting at 3.50€, this covers a fair distance.
WiFi - you can get this bit only for 1 appliance at a time which is disappointing and restricting if more that one want to use it, you have to log each device out and log the next on!
Would I come here again, maybe. I would struggle with the food for 2 weeks certainly. We have more trips to do yet so will post again with pictures when home. One point to note the beds are VERY hard!!

Room Tip: All rooms appear to be sea facing, very clever. Room A116 is great and. Can sleep up to 4 though the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
administrador_luabay, Director General at Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Dear Mandyboxer,

Thank you for the time you took to write a review regarding your stay in Luabay Costa Los Gigantes. We are glad to hear you made a decision to change your usual holiday destination and chose our hotel. Thank you for your lovely comments regarding our staff and room service. As for the food being luke warm and the wifi connection, your comments are already taken in consideration. It is very important for us to receive both positive and negative feedback, as it helps us to be constantly improving our service and offer enjoyable holidays to our guests.

We are glad you had a chance to explore the island of Tenerife and we would like to encourage you to come to discover more of its wonderful corners. And, of course, we will be extremely pleased if you chose Luabay Costa Los Gigantes for your next visit.

Kind regards,
The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Would not recommend this hotel to anyone. We checked out after three days. The food was terrible, Luke warm all the time. Rooms postage stamp size, mattresses disgusting state, entertainment non existence . Night check in was fast, but unhelpful . There's nothing to do around the hotel apart from look at a skip when having a drink on the terrace! Snacks in the afternoon are dried up leftovers from breakfast. Not enough staff anywhere, just plain horrible. Glad we changed hotels.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank NB1018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
administrador_luabay, Director General at Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Dear NB1018,

First of all let us thank you for taking time to write an opinion regarding your stay in Luabay Costa Los Gigantes. We are extremely sorry to hear that your holidays with us did not meet up your expectations. We have taken note of your comments and will use them to improve our service.

We also regret you did not find any activities to your liking either in the hotel, or in the surroundings. We believe our animation team works really hard and offers everyday activities to guests of all ages. For instance, we offer activities such as tennis, football, zumba, ping pong, as well as water activities in the pool, among many others. Our younger guests are always welcome in our miniclub, children´s playground and the game room. For the most active guests we offer our panoramic sea view gym with last generation equipment. Guests who prefer a more relaxing type of holiday have an option of using our spa and wellness center and treat themselves to one of our special treatments. There are also quite a lot of options in the area, such as water ski, dolphin and whale watching and shopping tours.

We would like to strongly encourage you to give Luabay Costa Los Gigantes and Tenerife another chance and show you that excellent service and guests´ satisfaction are our crucial objectives. We sincerely hope we could have another opportunity to welcome you in our hotel and make your holidays enjoyable and pleasant.

Yours sincerely,
The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

this is our 5th time at this hotel in 3 years, there have been a few changes but it still has very high standards, if you have any problems they are soon rectified by the reception staff, the food quality is always good with fresh fish and meat cooked while you wait, we have been here twice at Christmas and the food is fab second to none, every where you look cleaners and gardeners are always busy, just returned from 2 weeks and we did the bali beds well worth the price you get a bottle bubbly and fruit kebabs twice a day, I am disabled and our room was a bit far from resturants so thy gave us another with out any fuss, take no notice of the moaners they don't no what there talking about

Room Tip: all rooms are good but m block is good for pool and sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kath w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
administrador_luabay, Director General at Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Dear Kath and Jimmy,

Thank you so much for your fantastic comments regarding Luabay Costa Los Gigantes and thank you for being such loyal guests and choosing our hotel once and again for your holidays. Be sure we will share your comments with all our staff, as it is always encouraging to receive positive feedback and keep on doing a good job.

It is great to know you had the opportunity to try one of our latest novelties – bali beds. It is very satisfying to know that our improvements are appreciated.

We are looking forward to welcoming you in Luabay Costa Los Gigantes next time you visit. We would also like to recommend you to contact us in advance and send us your room request. We will do our best to assign you a nice and comfy room of your liking. However, we never give guarantees, as it depends on our room availability. Hope to see you soon!

Kind regards,
The Managament.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto de Santiago
0.6 mi away
Allegro Isora
Allegro Isora
#1 of 1 in Playa de la Arena
2,108 reviews
2.0 mi away
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
El Marques Palace by Intercorp Hotel Group
El Marques Palace by Intercorp H...
#6 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Royal Sun Resort
Royal Sun Resort
#1 of 3 in Los Gigantes
1,305 reviews
0.6 mi away
Barcelo Santiago
Barcelo Santiago
#1 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
6,021 reviews
0.2 mi away
Be Live Experience Playa La Arena
Be Live Experience Playa La Aren...
#2 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
4,635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes

Address: Juan Manuel Capdevielle 8 | Playa de la Arena, 38683 Puerto de Santiago, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Luabay Costa Los Gigantes)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de Santiago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto de Santiago
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto de Santiago
#3 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de Santiago
Price Range: $136 - $379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes 4*
Number of rooms: 518
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be Live Family Costa Los Gigantes has been designed down to the smallest detail for familes and couples wishing to spend their holidays in an incomparable location, enjoying our excellent facilities to the full. Superbly located in Tenerife South, it enjoys spectacular views over to the island of La Gomera and the Lod Gigantes cliff. 500 Meters away from Plaua La Arena beach. This hotel has the ISO 14001 Certification, as a result of its effective environmental management system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luabay Costa Los Gigantes Hotel Puerto De Santiago
Costa Los Gigantes Hotel
Be Live Family Costa Los Gigantes Tenerife/Puerto De Santiago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing