We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“march 28th”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 28, 2014

just returned today had a lovely time pools ace lovely temp , staff polite and helpful , rooms lovely if u find beds hard tell reception and they put a toppper on for you , food lovely ,could do with more eve entertainment after 10,30 not just piano bar , we took pt plastic glasses for around the pool during day as plastic galsses provided were very small , make sure u put flip flops on waking around ull burn yr feet !!!!!!!!!!!! swop box by first choice desk , birds flying in and out of snack bar area so didn't risk eating anything that wasn't covered as they were helping them selves

Room Tip: room 300 e has private balcony overlooking sea near quiet pool , room L215 has double balcony overlo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
administrador_luabay, Director General at Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Dear Loz H,

First of all let us thank you for your wonderful review of our staff members, our facilities and food quality. Be sure we will pass on your comments to all our departments, as it helps us to improve further. We are also grateful for pointing out the drawbacks you noticed during your stay. Such comments always help us to look into problems in detail and find a solution quickly.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in Luabay Costa Los Gigantes and doing our best to make your holidays enjoyable and relaxing.

Yours sincerely,
The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,316)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,144 - 2,150 of 5,316 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2014

I travelled with my 17 year old daughter and am writing this review as I am still in the hotel. I was sceptical about traveling to Tenerife as I am an ardent Turkey fan and have been thoroughly spoilt by my holidays there. However that said I have a lot of positives about this hotel. The room we have (A117) is like an apartment with a separate living area. There is a TV in both the lounge and the bedroom, though reception for any English channels is terrible. This doesn't really bother me as I tend to have a bit of a bar on TV whilst away! We have a private balcony that nobody can see into so you can even sunbathe there if you need time away from the pool area. Food, not the best I've had but certainly not the worst. I do agree with one review about some of the food being luke warm, not very appealing but it will hardly ruin our holiday. If you are inclined to book trips you must do the Loro Park, with or without children! Would recommend paying an extra 20€ for the behind the scenes guided tour! well worth it and includes lunch. You can also get a packed lunch from the hotel if you wish, be warned the coach trip is 2 hours long.
Staff are friendly and the room service is great, beds made every day and towels fresh. Pool towels are provided with a deposit of 30€ and you have to pay for the room safe at 2.50€ per day! not had to pay that one before. The evening entertainment is not the best, again not the worst, and all tends to come to an end at 10-10.30, if you are a party animal you may be disappointed though this may change in high season. Not many shops locally, you can walk to the town, beware of heart attack hill, alright going but you may need to taxi it back, taxis are very reasonable starting at 3.50€, this covers a fair distance.
WiFi - you can get this bit only for 1 appliance at a time which is disappointing and restricting if more that one want to use it, you have to log each device out and log the next on!
Would I come here again, maybe. I would struggle with the food for 2 weeks certainly. We have more trips to do yet so will post again with pictures when home. One point to note the beds are VERY hard!!

Room Tip: All rooms appear to be sea facing, very clever. Room A116 is great and. Can sleep up to 4 though the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
administrador_luabay, Director General at Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Dear Mandyboxer,

Thank you for the time you took to write a review regarding your stay in Luabay Costa Los Gigantes. We are glad to hear you made a decision to change your usual holiday destination and chose our hotel. Thank you for your lovely comments regarding our staff and room service. As for the food being luke warm and the wifi connection, your comments are already taken in consideration. It is very important for us to receive both positive and negative feedback, as it helps us to be constantly improving our service and offer enjoyable holidays to our guests.

We are glad you had a chance to explore the island of Tenerife and we would like to encourage you to come to discover more of its wonderful corners. And, of course, we will be extremely pleased if you chose Luabay Costa Los Gigantes for your next visit.

Kind regards,
The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Would not recommend this hotel to anyone. We checked out after three days. The food was terrible, Luke warm all the time. Rooms postage stamp size, mattresses disgusting state, entertainment non existence . Night check in was fast, but unhelpful . There's nothing to do around the hotel apart from look at a skip when having a drink on the terrace! Snacks in the afternoon are dried up leftovers from breakfast. Not enough staff anywhere, just plain horrible. Glad we changed hotels.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank NB1018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
administrador_luabay, Director General at Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Dear NB1018,

First of all let us thank you for taking time to write an opinion regarding your stay in Luabay Costa Los Gigantes. We are extremely sorry to hear that your holidays with us did not meet up your expectations. We have taken note of your comments and will use them to improve our service.

We also regret you did not find any activities to your liking either in the hotel, or in the surroundings. We believe our animation team works really hard and offers everyday activities to guests of all ages. For instance, we offer activities such as tennis, football, zumba, ping pong, as well as water activities in the pool, among many others. Our younger guests are always welcome in our miniclub, children´s playground and the game room. For the most active guests we offer our panoramic sea view gym with last generation equipment. Guests who prefer a more relaxing type of holiday have an option of using our spa and wellness center and treat themselves to one of our special treatments. There are also quite a lot of options in the area, such as water ski, dolphin and whale watching and shopping tours.

We would like to strongly encourage you to give Luabay Costa Los Gigantes and Tenerife another chance and show you that excellent service and guests´ satisfaction are our crucial objectives. We sincerely hope we could have another opportunity to welcome you in our hotel and make your holidays enjoyable and pleasant.

Yours sincerely,
The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

this is our 5th time at this hotel in 3 years, there have been a few changes but it still has very high standards, if you have any problems they are soon rectified by the reception staff, the food quality is always good with fresh fish and meat cooked while you wait, we have been here twice at Christmas and the food is fab second to none, every where you look cleaners and gardeners are always busy, just returned from 2 weeks and we did the bali beds well worth the price you get a bottle bubbly and fruit kebabs twice a day, I am disabled and our room was a bit far from resturants so thy gave us another with out any fuss, take no notice of the moaners they don't no what there talking about

Room Tip: all rooms are good but m block is good for pool and sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kath w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
administrador_luabay, Director General at Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Dear Kath and Jimmy,

Thank you so much for your fantastic comments regarding Luabay Costa Los Gigantes and thank you for being such loyal guests and choosing our hotel once and again for your holidays. Be sure we will share your comments with all our staff, as it is always encouraging to receive positive feedback and keep on doing a good job.

It is great to know you had the opportunity to try one of our latest novelties – bali beds. It is very satisfying to know that our improvements are appreciated.

We are looking forward to welcoming you in Luabay Costa Los Gigantes next time you visit. We would also like to recommend you to contact us in advance and send us your room request. We will do our best to assign you a nice and comfy room of your liking. However, we never give guarantees, as it depends on our room availability. Hope to see you soon!

Kind regards,
The Managament.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We have just returned from a weeks holiday at this very large nice hotel.As we travelled without children we decided to upgrade and paid an extra 300 odd extra euros.This seemed a good idea and I think certainly enhanced our experience.You get a better beverage selection,papers delivered daily to our room dressing gowns and slippers (whoopee !).The best things obviosly are the booze options and the fact that you can book the Ala Carte restaurant every night if you wish..! Along with your meal you can have whatever bottle of wine (or two ) you like.My wife does not really like semi - secco and was able to have a bottle of Cordiniu ( brut ) when she wanted.I like Havana Club and so had that whenever I felt the need or bottles of Heiniken export.
The last couple of days we booked the "special beds",two days for 50 euro or 30 per day.The only thing was they only served the semi-secco and if you wanted the better stuff you had to go to the main bar and get it yorself..! A bit silly really as we would have given a generous tip to a member of staff if they could have got it for us.I think they are missing a trick there.
We had a nice room in C block which is near the area where the Paella is cooked and snack bar / restaurant.The food was generally very good and if you went for lunch in the restaurant you could have Pork chops,steak,chicken cooked fresh and so Hot.
We asked for a recommendation for a good restaurant and where given two names.Had a drink in the main bar and made our way past the tennis courts and walked down the hill to the local beach area to look at the first recommendation Pancho ( I think ) and decided to have a look at the other recommendation..!The other restaurant was called Juan Carlos and a long walk along the coastal road into Los Gigantes itself.We did not realise how far it was.Stopped off at a local bar/restaurant and had a couple of nice local beers called Dorado Especial and the wife a couple of very good vodka and tonics with a bit of Tappas and came to 7 euro 30 excellent.Finally got to Juan Carlos to find it fully booked..!Jumped in a cab and back to the first and had a lovely 8 or 9 tappas dishes and two half literes of the house red which was very good and it was 41 euros very good.
We found the staff and the service very good except for one evening in the Ala carte with a particularly rude waiter who was replaced within minutes by a colleague who realised and replaced him.
As you can see a great place even for those without youngsters with them.For those with kids it seemed to be equally great with a lot of entertainment.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet spot try for C block
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeorgeMadiga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
administrador_luabay, Director General at Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Dear George Madiga,

Thank you for taking time to write your opinions regarding your stay with us. We are glad to hear you decided to try our special Splendit service and had such a lovely time in Luabay Costa Los Gigantes. We always do our best trying to make guests feel comfortable and have enjoyable holidays in our hotel. We are very grateful for your nice comments about our staff, food quality and service in general. We also took a note of the minor details that could be improved to make your stay in Luabay Costa Los Gigantes even more enjoyable.

We are sincerely hoping to have you back in our hotel and offer you yet another wonderful holiday!

Yours faithfully,
The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Nice enough. Good food variety and the 'hot plate' issue mentioned by reviewers below was manageable by timing the use of cold and hot food pick up. Spa was little tired with quite a few fixtures needing fixing in a few places. Good poolside access despite being full on our visit. A bit soulless, but probably what to be expected from an all inclusive.
Biggest complaint was the staff attitude that their guests were an irritation interrupting their holiday, as they gossiped in front of the food so that we couldn't help ourselves; or the hospitality lady who was never at her post at the advertised hours leaving a huge queue of waiting customers. 20% of the staff were really lovey. But really only 20%.
In summary 3 stars feels a bit mean, but 4 stars are unwarranted when the flaws could be so easily fixed.

Room Tip: Suspicion is that all the rooms are good. The non-sea views might be a bit dark. But all seem clean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
administrador_luabay, Director General at Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Dear AJ,

Thank you for choosing Luabay Costa Los Gigantes.for your holidays and sending us your feedback. We are glad you appreciated the food variety we offer in our restaurants, as we always try to satisfy all tastes. We also took note of the flaws and we assure they will be taken in consideration. We regret that the service received by some members of our staff was not entirely satisfactory and will look into it in detail.

We would like to encourage you to give us another opportunity and show you that Luabay Costa Los Gigantes is a hotel with a soul that can offer you lovely and relaxing holidays. We are looking forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,
The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

just returned from a lovely holiday at the Luabay Los Gigantes with friends, After reading some of the bad reviews we didnt know what to expect but i can honestly say the hotel exceeded our expectations. The rooms were spacious n cleaned everyday with towels and bedding changed everytime. The food was always hot with a great selection at every mealtime. the snack bar at the quiet pool did an amazing seafood paella also a veggie option (equally as nice). We visited the a la carte restaurant twice, one night was italian night which was amazing the other night was steak night which was absolutely gorgeous, i had a veal entrecote which was cooked to perfection. the pool areas were spotlessly clean and there was no shortage of sun loungers, the help yourself bar was great with cold beer, wine, spirits n sangria on tap also ice creams n soft drinks for the children. i have already recommended this hotel to family and friends and would not hesitate to return.

Room Tip: rooms in E block have sea views and are close enough to everything but far enough away from noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
administrador_luabay, Director General at Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Dear Helen T,

Thank you so much for your kind words regarding your holidays in our hotel. We will share your reviews on the food quality, room facilities and hotel facilities in general with all our staff, as it so gratifying to know our hard work is getting its results and appreciated by our guests. We are also very pleased you tried some of our a la carte options and found them to be so amazing.

Thank you for recommending our hotel and we are looking forward to welcoming you and your family again.

Sincerely yours,
The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto de Santiago
0.6 mi away
Allegro Isora
Allegro Isora
#1 of 1 in Playa de la Arena
1,961 reviews
2.0 mi away
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Globales Tamaimo Tropical
Globales Tamaimo Tropical
#8 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
3,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Royal Sun Resort
Royal Sun Resort
#1 of 3 in Los Gigantes
1,284 reviews
0.6 mi away
Barcelo Santiago
Barcelo Santiago
#1 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
5,901 reviews
0.2 mi away
Be Live Experience Playa La Arena
Be Live Experience Playa La Aren...
#2 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
4,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes

Address: Juan Manuel Capdevielle 8 | Playa de la Arena, 38683 Puerto de Santiago, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Luabay Costa Los Gigantes)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de Santiago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto de Santiago
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto de Santiago
#3 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de Santiago
Price Range: $138 - $368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes 4*
Number of rooms: 518
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be Live Family Costa Los Gigantes has been designed down to the smallest detail for familes and couples wishing to spend their holidays in an incomparable location, enjoying our excellent facilities to the full. Superbly located in Tenerife South, it enjoys spectacular views over to the island of La Gomera and the Lod Gigantes cliff. 500 Meters away from Plaua La Arena beach. This hotel has the ISO 14001 Certification, as a result of its effective environmental management system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luabay Costa Los Gigantes Hotel Puerto De Santiago
Costa Los Gigantes Hotel
Be Live Family Costa Los Gigantes Tenerife/Puerto De Santiago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing