We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel - But !!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes
Certificate of Excellence
Chesham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel - But !!!!”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

First I must state that this is advertised as a Family Hotel and that is exactly what it is!! If you want a good family holiday I would imagine this hotel would be ideal as it seems to have it all. Plenty of pools, good childrens and adult entertainment and a very secure area where outsiders cant get in and more importantly the children cant get out! However my wife and I booked it at short notice and wrongly assumed that in late November there wouldn't be many kids WRONG Oh so very wrong!! The plane there and back was horrendous and the hotel had more than enough for our liking. However its a family hotel so there was no one to blame only ourselves. When we arrived at the hotel we had similar treatment to the Greavesfamily (see their review) we arrived early but couldn't check in until 3.00 So OK no problem we paid for a room safe and then we went off and had a drink. That's after searching for a bar using the map provided!!! When we came back later to get the room we were advised to wait for a porter. This we did, using our brains we stood away from the reception to enable other to use it. After about 15 mins the guy on reception informed us we were standing in the wrong place, the porter would not see us! He pointed to the door area. Where once again using our brains we stood to one side to keep the entrance clear. After another long period of waiting around I noticed another couple with suitcase at reception who then left and went out of the door. Lo and be hold along came a golf buggy and took them to our room. We were left standing there feeling very foolish. We then decided to find the room ourselves using the map LOL We did eventually find the room and although a bit mundane in was more than adequate with a lovely sea view. However it also overlooked a busy road and was near to the local sports centre which played loud music all day and early evenings. We tried to use the safe but no luck. We then strolled up to reception (up being the operative word, as there are 7 floors going down from reception!) The reception then said that we hadn't paid for it, we said we did and they asked for a receipt, we didnt have one anyway after a lot of to'ing and fro'ing it all got sorted, but not a good start to the holiday.The holiday overall was very nice and the drinks and food were OK nothing special but more than adequate. However having plastic plates and glasses at lunch times wasnt really upto 4 star standards in our eyes. Would we go back No but only because its not our sort of hotel. If we had the family then yes we would recommend it. Just a shame that the reception staff are all show and no go!! They really think they are good and yet they're not much above average. One more little thing that really annoyed me, We went away on a wedding anniversary break. I E mailed the hotel prior to our stay to advise them of this half hoping that like almost every other hotel I have been to that there would be a surprise bunch of flowers for my wife with wine or fruit in the room, after all it is fully inclusive so the wine and fruit wouldnt have actually cost anything. However there was no fruit, but there was a kettle and some weird sort of tea bags, but no milk coffee or normal tea bags and nor did they top them up during our stay! but they did top up the fridge which contained water, pepsi and beer. In conclusion I recommend this hotel as a Good Family Hotel but I do suggest that the management train the staff better as even many of the waiters and bar staff are very stand offish.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Luabay Team at Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear guests, thank you very much for staying at our hotel and sharing your experience. We are glad that overall you enjoyed your break and were satisfied with your room and the food and drinks we offer. We are sorry about the issues upon your arrival and we will be sure to pass this information on to the corresponding departments. It would be a pleasure if we could welcome you to our hotel again on another occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,343
    1,857
    639
    195
    145
See reviews for
3,345
1,279
29
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,003)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Just returned from a week at this hotel. As a couple we were hoping for a restful, relaxing week away from the madding crowd. Whilst this hotel caters splendidly for young families, we were disappointed to find that there was nowhere quiet to relax (unless you were willing to fork out for the Balinese beds, which we didnt', but being as they were directly behind the 'quiet' pool with only a glass 'wall' to seperate them, I imagine they were not especially peaceful either). The 'quiet' pool, would be better described as a 'not quite so noisy pool', and don't be surprised that the 'no inflatables or balls' rule is not enforced. The plus point was that the snack bar, which served a really lovely selection (including massive paella's everyday) was right beside this pool, and a much nicer eating experience than going to the lunch restaurant.
The restaurants were huge and impersonal, and a bit of a bunfight. We tended to eat at about 8:30 in the evening to avoid the queues which formed before that time. We thought, overall, the food was very good, but the noise and crowds made it difficult to enjoy. We did go to the themed nights, of which there were three (though you can only go to two per week), and enjoyed the waiter service for a change. We did think a little more effort could have been made, in particular the Mexican evening, which offered absolutely delicious food (except for pud) but the lights were full on, and tables very close together, so still no intimacy, and the service was...shall we say...brisk. We thought perhaps some mexican music might have been fun too!
The rooms though, were splendid - big and clean, and with a view across the sea to La Gomera. Ours was situated at the far end and when we arrived there was a very noisy tournament going on in the public tennis courts which went on til gone 11:00 pm. Fortunately, it wasn't too bad apart from that.
The bars were good, but you had to form orderly queues. The piano bar in the evening was quite good fun. The music hall entertainment was very variable, but the chairs were comfy!
We did thoroughly enjoy the spa. You are offered two hours free, and then we took advantage of the two for one offer as well. Normally its 22 euros each per session. The spa pool has loads of massage points, there are all the steam rooms etc, and a flotation pool, so one way to escape the hordes of children (I love children, but forgot how screamy they are when excited and by a pool!!)
The hotel is vast, the planting, such where there is room, is pretty, and the whole place is kept spotlessly clean. However, there was a very bad sewerage smell around the bar area for most of the time we were there. Situated on a hill, its a ten minute walk down into playa del Arena, but not much there, just a small beach and Irish bars etc. Its worth the longer walk (which isn't as bad as it looks) into Los Gigantes where there is a marina and plenty of tapas bars and small shops.
We did enjoy our stay, but afraid we would not go back. If you are a family, the facilities for children seemed fantastic and its probably worth considering.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greenmum53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Luabay Team at Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear guests, thank you for staying at our hotel and writing this balanced review about your stay. We are very glad to read that you were satisfied with your room, the food we offer in our restaurants, the cleanliness in all areas and the entertainment and that your thoroughly enjoyed the spa area. Your feedback is very important for us and we appreciate your comments about the rools by the quiet pool not being enforced and your suggestions for the a-la-carte restaurant. We will pass these comments on to the corresponding departments and would love to welcome you to our hotel again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

I have just returned from this hotel which I visited for 1 week with my husband and 3yr old daughter.
We arrived at the hotel at around 2pm to be told that our room would not be ready till 3pm so first impressions wasn't the best unfortunatly.
The staff at reception didn't explain anything about the hotel in regard to where our room was, where the restaurants were, swimming pool etc, we had to find our own way round.
Our room was meant to be a family room however we was put in a small double room with a travel cot in the corner which obviously is not appropriate for a 3 year old. The room also had an awful sewage smell most of the week which wasn't very pleasant.
The food at the hotel is ok, breakfast was nice, plenty of choice, lunch time wasn't as good unfortunatly. Bar snacks needed improvement around the poor too. However the evening meals was nice,plenty of variety.
The evening entertainment team at the hotel was fantastic for our daughter, the disco etc. also the acts on that followed was also good entertainment.
I would give this hotel 3 star as the food was ok but needs improvement but overall we enjoyed our holiday but wouldn't go back to that hotel or that part of Tenerife, very quiet. The south is definitely worth a visit.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Greavesfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Luabay Team at Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear guests, thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your holidays and taking the time to write this review. We are glad that overall you had a great time and enjoyed the hotel entertainment and the food we offer in our restaurant. Your feedback is very important for us and we appreciate your comments about the welcome at reception and shortage of information about our hotel as well as the comments about your room. We will be sure to forward these issues to the corresponding departments and look into them in more detail to find ways of improvement for the future. It would be an honor for us to welcome you as our guests again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We stayed at Luabay from the 5th to16th November.This was our third and last
visit.The hotel is very nice and the staff at all levels very helpful. Our accommodation was a
suite which was cleaned to a good standard every day. The weather was perfect.
NOW for the restaurant , it was the first time I have had to queue for dinner since I was at
school some fifty years ago,god knows what it must be like in high season. The food (I use the term loosely) cold inedible slop,reheated ,and rehashed until
it was impossible to know what you were eating
As stated this was our third time there,the standard has dropped alarmingly!!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Luabay Team at Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Mel, thank you very much for returning to our hotel and writing this review about your experience. We are glad you were still satisfied with the facilities and our staff’s friendliness. Your feedback as a returning guest is very important for us and we are sorry that we did not meet your taste of food on this occasion. We will be sure to pass this on to the corresponding department and see what changes need to be carried out. It would be a great pleasure if we could welcome you to our hotel again and present you with food that is more catered to your taste.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

This hotel is best described as a holiday village. It' provides excellent facilities for ALL age groups.. Something for everybody regardless of age. If you want luxury then the Spa provides all you would ever hope for, we booked a facial and back massage (155 euros) and made use of the Balinese four poster beds with curtains, 2 bottles of Cava and fresh fruit kebabs (30 euros per day).
The children's entertainment was the best I have ever seen and the animation team were professional in the way they cared for the children, they provided cookery, tea shirt painting, disco. Etc which kept the children fully occupied day and night.

Food was varied and well presented, although we did use the microwaves available to reheat our food. There were 2 chefs, providing hot meat and stir fries every night. All good quality food.

Overall this hotel provided value for money and ALL THE STAFF WORKED EXTREMELY HARD and are a credit to the running of this hotel.

Room Tip: Block O room 325 overlooks the sea and the children's play area. Easy access to all the facilit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank disappointed730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

We returned on the 22nd November from a weeks holiday and whilst we had a great time, having met a great crowd of people, the overall feeling of our group was that we did not expect this hotel to be a 'holiday village'. Our accommodation was a suite in block E which was fantastic and so close to the quiet pool, the views over to La Gomera were beautiful. The free mini bar in the room was a great idea and re-stocked every day, we have stayed in all inclusive hotels before and this one was the first to provide a kettle as standard in the room. The free 2 hour spa circuit was great and we also booked a couple of treatments which we found so relaxing. We also had a day's use of the 'Bali beds' - great but at €30 per day these can work out a little expensive. There was plenty of choice in the main restaurants but we found most of it to be cold and needed to use the microwave to heat it through. We booked 2 meals at the restaurant, the Mexican and the Grill, and both of these were beautiful. The waiter service was very welcome after the chaos in the main restaurant. There is plenty of choice at lunchtime from sandwiches to jacket potatoes. Overall we found the hotel very good but don't think we would return.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brummie58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Luabay Team at Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear guests, thank you very much for staying at our hotel and taking the time to write this review about your experience. It is great to know that you were satisfied with your accommodation and enjoyed the food we offer in our restaurant as well as our spa area. Your feedback is very much appreciated and will be passed on to the corresponding departments. It would be a really great pleasure if we could welcome you to our hotel again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

Firstly, I want so say how wonderfully baby/child friendly this hotel is. We travelled as a 3 generation party of 12 including 2 babies under 1 and it couldn't really have been easier to go about our holiday. One night we counted 60 buggies parked outside the buffet and so if you don't want to be around young children this might not be the best hotel for you. Thankfully high chairs were reasonably plentiful (although sometimes a Q at peak times) if you dined on the early side. Note that buggies aren't allowed inside restaurant which is fair enough as it would be over run.
Selection and food at evening buffet was good for a 4 star, especially the fab nightly cheese selection. Breakfast was so so and we lunched each day at the BBQ snack bar at the quiet pool which has a daily giant paella and BBQ meat, pizza and other lunch fayre - much quieter and very yummy. There is no baby food available at the buffet but plenty of healthy bits of finger food and pasta etc for older babies. We took Ella's kitchen, baby porridge etc from home. You can buy baby food at the supermarket in the village but our normally hungry little 6 month old wasn't a fan. Likewise you can't drink the tap water so bottled or cooled boiled water is way forward and there are kettles and fridges provided in the rooms.
I think the hotel could perhaps cater to infants in terms of fresh purée to order in buffet etc given sheer volume of babies. Also perhaps a netting with swing door at snack bar to stop pigeons flapping about in there.
Unfortunately, some of our party including my 6 month old baby developed severe gastroenteritis at end of our holiday. As this is a virus I'm not going to start pointing finger at hotel as doctor told us this is an epidemic in Tenerife. Just note that the nearest hospital is not public and is 45 minutes away in playa de las Americas. If you need an ambulance it will take same time to arrive so if you need urgent medical assistance get a taxi. Oh and make sure your insurance is water tight as the reciprocal EHIC cards do not work unless you receive public healthcare, which is not available in the vicinity of the resorts. We were not aware of others falling ill at the hotel however I think the hotels could have handsan placed in toilets, buffets and public areas as standard just as a preventative measure. Responsible parents keep their kids out pool for a few days if they have had a tummy upset and hope this was case. The hotel itself was spotless and the toilets were always smelling freshly cleaned and so despite our experience there is probably not much more that could have be done. We ended up missing our flight home as unfortunately hit our baby on the last night which was very distressing. 5 days later we are finally home.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank SusanK50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Luabay Team at Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Susan, thank you very much for being our guests and taking the time to write this review. We are very glad to hear you generally enjoyed a great time with your family and were especially satisfied with the food we offer and the cleanliness of the hotel. We are sorry that your baby got hit by a virus during your holidays and we can assure you that we always take all the necessary measures and have highest standards in terms of hygiene and cleanliness. It would be a great pleasure if we could welcome your family to our hotel again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto de Santiago
0.6 mi away
Allegro Isora
Allegro Isora
#1 of 1 in Playa de la Arena
1,694 reviews
2.0 mi away
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Royal Sun Resort
Royal Sun Resort
#1 of 3 in Los Gigantes
1,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Globales Tamaimo Tropical
Globales Tamaimo Tropical
#8 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
3,363 reviews
0.6 mi away
Barcelo Santiago
Barcelo Santiago
#1 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
5,645 reviews
0.2 mi away
Be Live Experience Playa La Arena
Be Live Experience Playa La Aren...
#3 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
4,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes

Property: Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes
Address: Juan Manuel Capdevielle 8 | Playa de la Arena, 38683 Puerto de Santiago, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Luabay Costa Los Gigantes)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de Santiago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto de Santiago
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto de Santiago
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes 4*
Number of rooms: 518
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be Live Family Costa Los Gigantes has been designed down to the smallest detail for familes and couples wishing to spend their holidays in an incomparable location, enjoying our excellent facilities to the full. Superbly located in Tenerife South, it enjoys spectacular views over to the island of La Gomera and the Lod Gigantes cliff. 500 Meters away from Plaua La Arena beach. This hotel has the ISO 14001 Certification, as a result of its effective environmental management system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luabay Costa Los Gigantes Hotel Puerto De Santiago
Costa Los Gigantes Hotel
Be Live Family Costa Los Gigantes Tenerife/Puerto De Santiago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing