We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still a good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Still a good hotel”
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here Christmas 2012 also stayed 2 years earlier the hotel still has quality rooms and the staff are helpful and polite but the food standards have slightly deteareated in the buffet restaurant but the alcarte meals where good. The animation is now split into two teams which seams daft.The Beatles tribute band was good and plenty of shows for the kids. Only downside no sky sports anymore .

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank webbo63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,319
    1,832
    619
    189
    141
See reviews for
3,276
1,272
29
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (985)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Spent a week here in early August,myself,my wife,and 12 year old son.It was our fourth time here,and had an enjoyable holiday.The rooms are excellent.Yes,like everywhere else,the sunbed situation is a little crazy.Families taking up 6 beds,and using 2.Annoying.Whats the answer?We think standards have dropped slightly since we first visited however,especially in the main buffet restaurants,where a dirty plate/glass was not atall unusual. They need more staff during peak season,as it could take a while to clear away dirty plates etc.Entertainment staff work extremely hard-Steffi,part of the hotel animation team was,as in previous years,superb.You must,if brave enough,try the high ropes.It may look scary at first,but once youve done it,you will be back every day,like we were.The first choice babes running the high ropes are fantastic.One even has a white tattoo-COOL.Mara,Fiona,Simone and Nia could not have been any nicer,all hardworking and totally professional.Without any shadow of a doubt,they made our holiday.Thanks girls.Siam Park is a great day out,if a little expensive.33 euros for an adult,22 euros for a child.Book your bus there and back through hotel reception-It costs 4 euros only.On arrival at Siam Park.it may be advisable to purchase fastpass bands,allowing you to jump some queues for the popular slides.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ian w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Luabay Team at Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Ian, thank you very much for returning to our hotel and writing this review. We are glad to hear that once more you had a fantastic holiday and all enjoyed your rooms and our staff’s friendliness. We appreciate your comment about the quality and speediness of service in the buffet restaurant having slightly dropped compared to your previous stays and will forward this to the corresponding department. It would be a great pleasure if we could welcome you as our guests again soon and present you with the same restaurant service standard you have come to enjoy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

I thought I shall put in some of our experience in TA concerning our stay in Costas Los Gigantes. I booked this as a last minute holiday and First Choice had sold out. I booked via Luabay website for hotel stay and easy jet. I had to look at various forums to get a feel for the place and so I post this to help others like me. There is no proper website for the hotel if I am not mistaken
My comments
1. To start with - OK for 4 star and note is about 40 minutes from South tenerife airport.
2. Reasonably clean
3. It's huge - almost like an travel industry. Generally courteous staff, but don't expect very personal service
4. Restaurant was clean , some flies occasionally, but so was the case in Tenerife airport !
5. I liked the quality of food and the variety. My children started moaning after few days, although there was some repetition, the food was varied and seem to have some theme on a daily basis. There were reports of uncooked food TA, but did not seem to be tha case now. In one corner, there is a hot food freshly prepared and served.
6. On top of your usual buffet, we were given 3 choices - Mexican, Italian and grill bar. Make use of these, the Mexican and Italian food was very good. This is all part of all inclusive,you can leave a tip if you feel like.. Make sure you book ASAP - we checked in on Friday and the earliest booking available was Thursday. I think you need to stay for at least 5 or may be 7 days to qualify.
7. The resort is aimed for family/ children and there will be loads of children. Seem to attract a decent crowd, many Brits and other European countries. Unfortunately the most unruly ones are the Brits acting as though they own the place. Made me cringe many a times..
8. Evening entertainment was kind of basic , but okay
9. Went scuba diving. Good service @ Riaanans dive centre down at the hill from the resort. 65 euros will pick and drop at hotel
10. We also went to aqua land , but SIAM PARk would have been better - looked more posh and there is a bus service from the hotel.
11. I feel the best rooms are in C block, they are 16 euros more , but close to quite pool and snack bar which serves barbecued meat everyday between 12.30 and 3 or so.. It's open however from 10 to 5 and always had some hot snacks, beer, hot/ cold drinks. Saying that - K, L and M blocks are also good if you want to be opposite the other louder pools and has the advantage of better drink bar which serves more than beer unlike the one in quiet bar - but no snacks!
12. Truly all inclusive - except for high end alcoholic beverages which were again not very costly
13.On the whole a good place for an all inclusive holiday with Kids - about 5-6 days seem to be the right amount of time.
14. Walk down the hill to the 'main street' , there are many shops. About 10 minutes from the resort, but its a good climb uphill takes about 20 minutes. Shops in the street are cheaper than the one within the resort
15. Make sure you use the complimentary SPA ticket - worth a visit

Room Tip: See my comment 11
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hariharan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Luabay Team at Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Hariharan, thank you very much for choosing our hotel and taking the time to write this review about your stay. We are glad you and your family all enjoyed your holiday to the fullest and were especially satisfied with the food we offer in our buffet restaurant and the a la card restaurant. It is great to know that our service and facilities were to your convenience and we would be very delighted to welcome you as our guests again for your next family holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my partner in 2012 although it was a holiday village aimed at families we stayed in June so there were few children about. We stayed in the F block and the room was lovely and clean. The two twin beds had been pushed together however the covers were still separate and if you moved close to each other the beds rolled away as the wheels weren't very secure. Fresh water and coke in the mini bar every day. The pools are fantastic and clean great activities every day including the inflatable assault course which was great fun! We got one voucher to go and use the spa whilst there was no treatment there were so many pools! A jacuzzi a flotation pool a plunge pool and the main pool had loads of jets all around to massage different parts of your body. The food was outstanding freshly cooked food every day all you can eat chicken breast and steak!! The a la carte restaurants dont open until quite late so we were a bit agitated from hunger when we got in. Overall a lovely hotel good for couples as well as families!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Flottydoggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Enjoyable family holiday on an all-inclusive basis for 10 nights.
Food is varied and plentiful with desserts stealing the show. If you have fussy eating children like mine then you'll find something for them no problem.
It was our first time to the canaries and I'd heard Staff/Locals can be unfriendly due to year round tourism. Thankfully this is not the case here. The Staff are lovely, the entertainment team work hard and for 10 days I did not see any child unhappy whether that be in a kids club (which we dont bother with) or with family just having fun.
My only gripe and this is not really the hotel's fault, is the pathetic clamour for sunbeds.
I woke early one morning and couldn't get back to sleep so decided to go for a run before the sun came up. I kid you not the kids pool already had 50% sunbeds spoken for with towels on them and this was at 06.45.
I have stayed in similar family hotels before and staff would remove the towels unless you were physically there....they should adopt this here and people could stop being silly.
Taxi from aport is 50 euros and takes 30-40 mins depending on traffic.
Overall its a lovely setting, nice grounds and fun for kids. Set your alarm clocks though.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JOELIV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Luabay Team at Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your family holiday and for taking the time to write this review about your stay with us. We are glad you all enjoyed yourselves and were satisfied with the food we offer, our staff and the hotel in general. Your feedback about the sunbed situation will be passed on to the corresponding department and is very much appreciated. It would be a great pleasure if we could welcome you and your family as our guest again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Well, we have just arrived back from two weeks at this hotel and what a great time we had! There were 14 of us ranging in age from 80 to 2 years. We didn't use all aspects of the hotel so I cannot comment on absolutely everything but I am a very fussy person especially about cleanliness and reading some reviews I was beginning to worry but those fears were soon put to one side once we arrived!

Check in - we arrived quite late so the polite lady on Reception told us to put or luggage in the luggage hold and go immediately to the restaurant to get something to eat. We went back to reception after some much welcomed food and the receptionist explained everything to us. She then suggested we can either walk to our room or she would call the porter for us to take us on the golf buggy which we did.

Rooms - we were in block D and what a great place to be in. Central to every thing. Through the front door and into a little hallway. To the left was the master bedroom with a cot in it for our 2 year old. Our bed was huge!

The bathroom was a good size and very clean. It does have a hairdryer if you don't want to take your own!

The sitting room contained a sofa bed which my two daughters aged 13 and 11 slept on. There was also a fridge which was stocked daily with a large bottle of water, 2 cokes and 2 beers. I feel they could be more flexible and swap the coke for lemonade or fanta if you wished but this was not an option.

From the sitting room there was a large patio door onto the balcony, this had a safety lock at the top so young children couldn't just open he door which I felt was a good safety feature!

Our balcony had a wonderful sea view. We did overlook the outside entertainment but this stopped at 10pm and even if you went to bed before that, with the door shut you couldn't hear it.

The rooms were cleaned every day and the cleaners were very friendly. Both rooms had a large flat screen tv which received some English channels i.e. BBC and itv.

Pools - the were two pool areas, one very busy pool where you cold take inflatables and games were played. There was also a waterslide here. Or there was the quiet pool which was exactly that. Just for for swimming, no inflatables allowed. Here there was also a little pool for babies.

We always went to the quite pool. The other pool was very busy and loud. If you like that sort of thing then great but you have to get up early to reserve a bed around that pool.

At the quite pool you didn't have to get up quite so early but nonetheless fairly early considering you are on holiday.

Food - even for fussy eaters you would have found something you liked. Each night had a theme i.e. Mexican, Chinese but there were also other options as well. Yes lunch time was a similar version to the night before reconstructed into something slightly different but then they do say a good chef never wastes anything! Breakfast was lovely and you could get English sausage and bacon!

Entertainment - this was good. Every effort was put in by both entertainment teams and all credit to them. The kids used to do the mini disco and then stay and watch the evening show which was on a two week rota. The adults in our party would go down to the piano bar and have a quiet drink there. Yes the local stuff was weak but get to be friendly and nice to the staff and they would make it stronger for you! Treat the staff as your friends and they would look after you. Treat the staff like your personal servant and they would quite rightly not like it!

We didn't use the kids clubs but we did speak to the staff and they were all lovely.

The beach isn't close and its downhill going but, obviously, uphill coming back and the uphill bit is a killer. There are some shops down by the beach which are far cheaper than the shop in the hotel.

There is a play area, again we did not use as it was too exposed but a handy point to note is, there is a gate there which you have to use your key card to get in and out of and this reduced your journey to the beach (rather than go out the main door).

We didn't do any trips but there are plenty on offer. We just like to lounge around the pool and to be fair we found them fairly expensive.

Air conditioning in our room was fantastic in fact it worked too well and we turned it off at night as we became too cold. However, air con in the main building was rubbish and made the restaurants on some nights unbearable.

You don't have to take your own towels, you can hire them. It is €15 per towel but you get this back at the end of your stay. You can change the towels every other day.

Well, I think I have covered everything. We had a fabulous time and I would not hesitate in going back.

Point to note, and this is no reflection on the hotel, in fact the hotel staff we left with horrible jobs but humans are the dirtiest creatures out there. Twice someone disgraced themselves in the pool which then had to be vacated for two hours! The poor staff had to clean this up. Also, my children had better manners than some adults and teenagers. You would not chuck food on the floor or leave rubbish on the floor in your own house (though actually you might) so why do you think it is acceptable to do it in a hotel. There were more than enough bins around the place. If you are reading this and were one of the people that did this then you are truly disgusting!!!!!!

However, I will not let this deter front the lovely time we had. Thank you.

Room Tip: Ask for Block D if you want to be central to everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rebecca G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Luabay Team at Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Rebecca, thank you very much for taking the time to write this detailed review about your stay with us. It is so great so know you and your family all had a lovely time and enjoyed your holidays together. We are glad you were especially satisfied with your accommodation, the pools, the food we offer and our entertainment. Your feedback about the air conditioning in public areas will be forwarded to the corresponding department and further investigation will take place so we can fix this as soon as possible. It would be a really great pleasure for us if we could welcome you and your family as our guests again on another occasion. Thank you very much for recommending the Luabay Costa Los Gigantes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Lets get straight to the point if you are the kind of person who isn't bothered about a few drinks on a night then this hotel is for you . On the other hand if your the kind of person that likes a bevy or three like me then look else where , unless like me, the misses and the friends we made decided to pop to the local supermarket and bought some spirits .
I kid you not people the drinks at Los Gigantes hotel are very much watered down which for some reason we couldn't decide ? ( rowdy holiday makers and grief maybe) , one night we bought the bought the branded spirits from behind the bar and to be fair they chucked plenty in as opposed to the triple vodka ( Spanish brand ) didn't taste any stronger .
Listen all said and done apart from that everything else was spot on , rooms were great and cleaned everyday , plenty to do for the kids , clubs and activitys ect and the food was really good plus plenty of entertainment for the oldies .
If you like to escape now and again from the inc institution like me the harbour area is a taxi ride( 3 euros ) too far to walk and playa de Arena beach front is about 10 mins to walk , to summarise the place is great for kids and it would be great if the drinks were right but wouldn't think of going back .

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Luabay Team at Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Tim, thank you for being our guest and taking the time to write this review. We are glad you were satisfied with our facilities, the food we offer and our entertainment and hope you enjoyed your stay to the fullest. Concerning your feedback about the drinks served in our bars, we can assure you that none of the drinks are watered down or prepared in any kind of way. We are sorry that the drinks were not to your liking and we will forward your comment to the corresponding department. It would be a great pleasure if we could welcome you as our guest again in the future and maybe find a drink you like.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto de Santiago
2.0 mi away
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Allegro Isora
Allegro Isora
#1 of 1 in Playa de la Arena
1,553 reviews
0.8 mi away
Royal Sun Resort
Royal Sun Resort
#1 of 3 in Los Gigantes
1,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Barcelo Santiago
Barcelo Santiago
#1 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
5,506 reviews
0.2 mi away
Be Live Experience Playa La Arena
Be Live Experience Playa La Aren...
#4 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
4,395 reviews
11.3 mi away
Melia Jardines del Teide
Melia Jardines del Teide
#20 of 58 in Costa Adeje
4,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes

Property: Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes
Address: Juan Manuel Capdevielle 8 | Playa de la Arena, 38683 Puerto de Santiago, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Luabay Costa Los Gigantes)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de Santiago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto de Santiago
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto de Santiago
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes 4*
Number of rooms: 518
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be Live Family Costa Los Gigantes has been designed down to the smallest detail for familes and couples wishing to spend their holidays in an incomparable location, enjoying our excellent facilities to the full. Superbly located in Tenerife South, it enjoys spectacular views over to the island of La Gomera and the Lod Gigantes cliff. 500 Meters away from Plaua La Arena beach. This hotel has the ISO 14001 Certification, as a result of its effective environmental management system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luabay Costa Los Gigantes Hotel Puerto De Santiago
Costa Los Gigantes Hotel
Be Live Family Costa Los Gigantes Tenerife/Puerto De Santiago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing