We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Booking to go back!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes
Certificate of Excellence
Verwood, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Booking to go back!”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

My fiancé and I along with our good friends booked this hotel in November 2012. We absolutely loved the place from the beginning.
The staff were friendly and the rooms were lovely. We had a ground floor room with a huge balcony!

The pools were lovely and we always found a seat! We could also change our towels a few times which was nice.

We booked all inclusive and we loved it. This was our first time all inclusive and would definitely do it again. The variety of food was amazing, it could do with more vegetarian options as our friend sometimes was limited on what she could have but otherwise it was great.

The entertainment was good, starting off with children's entertainment then the adults following. Drinks were included and it was good quality!

I loved the place and am looking to go back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,338
    1,854
    636
    194
    145
See reviews for
3,336
1,277
29
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (999)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Just got back from first choice holiday village in Tenerife , would not choose to travel with first choice again , having paid over £ 3000 for only a ten night stay I was really disappointed with the service , room was not ready on arrival , ants all over , one of the kids spilt coke on floor , before we noticed we where swarmed , drains stunk , cockroaches on staircases on way to rooms , which freaked kids and adults out , had to be up for six if you wanted a sun bed by pool , don't book excursions with first choice reps , it's lots cheaper to make your own arrangements , we saved over 100 euros on boat trip by just going down to harbour and getting the same boat fc where trying to sell us , could go on and on , my advices is simple , don't go

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Crathorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Luabay Team at Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Your review is very much appreciated and we would like to apologize once again for the inconvenience of not having the room ready on your arrival. Our hotel has very high standard in cleanliness, due to the hot weather in the area it might be common to find ants and our cleaning staff is always willing to help you find a solution to make your stay more enjoyable. We hope we can welcome you again in the future and allow us change your mind.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Visited the Holiday Village (HV) Tenerife for the second time in July 2013. Previously visited HV Turkey and Cyprus. Did read some negative reviews that were posted prior to our visit but can honestly say they can be completely ignored. Last time visited Costa Los Gigantes Tenerife was in 2009 prior to it changing over to a HV. This hotel remains excellent, especially for children with vast amounts of space for them to play without getting lost! Requested a room in the same block as was allocated on first visit (K Block) and this request was very kindly honoured by Luabay staff so thank you very much for that. K Block is in an excellent location close to pools and the main building with good sea views and a good sized balcony that attracts the sun from the afternoon into the evening. Rooms are modern and a good size for a family with a tv in each room and air conditioning. Fridge re-stocked every day with beer, coke and water which was again a bonus for when you get back to your room after being out all day. Safe is available at 2.5 euros per day and pool towels are also available subject to refundable deposit. Both pools are good although we predominantly used the quiet pool. Both the range of foods on offer at the snack bar and the buffet restaurant were also excellent with plenty choice and variation for all. Staff on the whole were friendly and courteous and by having the choice of either First Choice or Luabay entertainment is a just a bonus with the Luabay entertainment in my opinion having the slight edge over First Choice. Staff in the restaurant were also very friendly and will easily entertain the kids whilst working very hard. No issues with cleanliness and hygiene room/sheets/towels changed every day by the time we had returned from breakfast which was again excellent. High Ropes/tennis/table tennis/football/zip wire all available for use. Courtesy room available for use on day of departure for no charge and that was really helpful too. Used the hotel bus service to Los Christianos which represented good value for money, pick up at 10am and return 5.30pm for 4 euros return per head. Time to Los Christianos/Las Americas is about 40 mins. I have no qualms whatsoever in recommending this hotel for a family holiday.

Room Tip: K Block for me! Sea views and close to main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank KennyMuir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I too saw some negative views but chose to ignore them as some people are never satisfied. I'm so glad I did as the Hotel was great. The food was great, yes some things were repeated but there were the basics that everyone including the fussy should like. For those of us more adventurous and willing to try something new there was a great choice. There was a towel service which was great as you didn't have to stick with smelly towels all week and each sun bed had a mattress.

Loads to do for the kids, older ones too. The staff were always friendly and courteous and we found the hotel clean and in good condition.

Travelling with my partner and daughter we expected to be changing in the bathroom but the bedroom set up was great. There was a separate bedroom for us and the sofa bed was in a living space with its own door so essentially we had two bedrooms which was perfect. Both areas were spacious not cramped and the bathroom was a good size too. Plenty of hot water the whole time and pressure behind the shower was really good.

The Hotel operates a bus service into Los Cristianos and to Siam Park for just 4 euros return for an adult which is an excellent price. Just one pick up time going and coming back so be careful if you miss it back as a taxi I believe is about 35 euros.

Los Gigantes is a nice walk mainly down hill but hot if done at mid-day. Its quite a climb back up in the heat so be prepared and take taxi fare with you for the return. Only about 3 - 3.30 euros whilst we were there. Make sure you take some bread with you to feed the fish as they are great to watch.

Only real fault was some of the locks and hand dryers in the gents and ladies loos around the complex were not working.

We had a great holiday, hope you do to.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vivian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Luabay Team at Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Vivian, thank you very much for taking the time to write this review about your stay at our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed a great time here and were satisfied with the food, our staff, your room and overall the facilities of our hotel. Your feedback is very important for us and we will be sure to pass your comment about the locks and hand dryers in the public bathrooms to the corresponding department so they can be fixed as soon as possible. It would be a great pleasure if we could welcome you as our guests again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wrexham
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Just returned home from a fantastic 2 week stay,and this hotel is fantastic.i even considered changing my booking to another hotel after reading poor reviews on here before we went.the food cannot be faulted,and if you expect to pay these prices and not see some dishes more than once in 14 days,you need to wake up.if you fill your plate with 5 different choices each meal time,ask yourself why the food is repetitive.the staff work so hard and always have a smile and "ola".it has everything needed to make a great holiday for families.the only negative i can say is the fact that the pool's are 1.40 + 1.50 deep.it would be great to have a shallow end in the main pool's for the kids.but this didnt stop them enjoying the swimming.i found the hotel run club/entertainment to be far better than the first choice,so would advise people to book direct with hotel,and save a lot of money.the rooms are great size and cleaned daily and towels changed.amazing scenery all around area,if you dont fancy the hill coming back,take a taxi for 3 euro

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wxm09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Luabay Team at Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
We would like to thank you for being our guests and sharing these kind words for our staff. It is great to know that you and your family all had a lovely stay and were satisfied with our entertainment, the food we offer and especially our staff’s friendliness. We thank you very much for recommending the Luabay Costa Los Gigantes and are looking forward to welcoming you at our hotel again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Two active late 60's couple found a spring holiday very well catered for and a massive apartment with free drinks thrown in. The food was excellent in how it was cooked, quality and in quantity but like most mass production restaurants was not always as hot as it could be. The staff were excellent and helpful and for young children plenty to do on site. The hotel was very clean and tidy throughout. A delightful range of nationalities were met. We did go out of the school term and thus it was not crowded. The main drawback was you had to climb in hot sun a very long, very steep hillside to get there from the nearest beach or shops. This was certainly a problem for elderly, infirm or if there are young children; though there was enough activity on site for the very young. A car would be very useful for adults. Having said that for a young family it would be a self-contained ideal holiday. Area and the local buses(also down the hill) quite pretty for Tenerife.

Room Tip: All room blocks seem to be in tiers/ledges down the hillside facing the sea and La Gomera and of ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Luabay Team at Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you very much for writing this review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and were satisfied with all our services and facilities. We can inform you that the hotel offers shuttle bus to Los Christianos and back to the hotel available for our guests, but it doesn’t go to Playa de la Arena, we will forward your suggestion to the correspondent department. We hope we can welcome you at our hotel again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We went to this hotel in Easter holidays. It was superb! From reception, to sun terraces, to accomodation, bars, restaurant, pools and night time entertainment. Food selection was extensive and a really well organised restaurant team ensured no waiting around. The free alcohol included local spirits, draught - wine, sangria, Amstel lager and all the draught pumps faced 'out' so just pour yourself! Plenty of slush and free ice cream for the kids. The cleanliness inside and outside was faultless. Very much a family hotel and our 8 year old son soon made friends and did not want to leave. A nice but hilly walk down to the harbour at Los Gigantes was a pleasant change from the hotel and a trip to Siam Park was also a great day out (if you like water slides!). Cannot recommend this hotel enough but maybe not for those without children or those looking for tranquility.

Room Tip: The blocks are terraced so I would recommend a room at the lowest level which seems like it is the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto de Santiago
0.6 mi away
Allegro Isora
Allegro Isora
#1 of 1 in Playa de la Arena
1,685 reviews
2.0 mi away
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Royal Sun Resort
Royal Sun Resort
#1 of 3 in Los Gigantes
1,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Globales Tamaimo Tropical
Globales Tamaimo Tropical
#8 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
3,355 reviews
0.6 mi away
Barcelo Santiago
Barcelo Santiago
#1 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
5,642 reviews
0.2 mi away
Be Live Experience Playa La Arena
Be Live Experience Playa La Aren...
#3 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
4,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes

Property: Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes
Address: Juan Manuel Capdevielle 8 | Playa de la Arena, 38683 Puerto de Santiago, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Luabay Costa Los Gigantes)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de Santiago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto de Santiago
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto de Santiago
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes 4*
Number of rooms: 518
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be Live Family Costa Los Gigantes has been designed down to the smallest detail for familes and couples wishing to spend their holidays in an incomparable location, enjoying our excellent facilities to the full. Superbly located in Tenerife South, it enjoys spectacular views over to the island of La Gomera and the Lod Gigantes cliff. 500 Meters away from Plaua La Arena beach. This hotel has the ISO 14001 Certification, as a result of its effective environmental management system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luabay Costa Los Gigantes Hotel Puerto De Santiago
Costa Los Gigantes Hotel
Be Live Family Costa Los Gigantes Tenerife/Puerto De Santiago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing