We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A sunny week”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A sunny week”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

First time to Tenerife, seeking the sun after a very miserable english spring.Good flight from Leeds and a transfer got us to the hotel about 18.00 Pleasantly surprised at the standard of the hotel. Efficient registration and a golf buggy ride got us to our studio flat on L block, a place with a view overlooking the pool.Rooms very clean and equiped with fridge and plasma screen televisions with english channels!

Dinner was the usual buffet but the choice was extensive though after a few days it did become repetitious so book early for the two featured nights, mexican and italian, and enjoy waiter service.Advice when ordering the wine ask for a bottle and it will stay on the table.

Facilites are excellent for young families and the shows in the evening were enjoyable. All inclusive meant free drinks but if you wanted something special the more regognisable drinks were inexpensive.

The sun dictated we spent a lot of time at the pool but go for the one nearest the snack bar it is the quietist, the other pool has continuous music and can grate after a while.

Overall an excellent place to stay and a very pleasant find on this side of the island.

Room Tip: Avoid a room overlooking the main pool unless you like canned music until 18.00
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,320
    1,834
    619
    189
    142
See reviews for
3,280
1,272
29
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (986)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paulton Bristol
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We have just returned from a very nice holiday at the Luabay Costa Los Gigantes, we had read some of the reveiws before we left, but kept an open mind.
We had assisted boarding at Bristol & in Tenerife as I am on crutches due to a injured knee.Which was very helpful for us.
When we arrived at the hotel,(Friday 19th of April) the staff were very welcoming, & were very helpful, we were taken to our room by the Porter in a golf buggy, we had Room J311 which was up a small flight of steps, the Porter brought all of our luggage up to the room for us.
The room was very nice with "NOT" 1 BUT 2 flat screen T.Vs 1 in the lounge & 1 in the bedroom, we had BBC1 & 2, ITV, BBC WORLD NEWS, SKY NEWS, CNN, & a couple of other English speaking channels.
There was a free safe in the wardrobe, & a fridge in the lounge with water 2 cans of Beer & 2 cans of full fat Coke A Cola, requested Cola Light but was told that they did not have Cola Light in cans!!!!!!!!!
We went for a walk to find our bearings, this is when we found that we were quite a way away from the main building with quite a slope to walk down, or up when going back to our room & as I am on crutches it was a bit of a treck, we went to Reception & asked if we could have a room on the level nearer the main building, was told that they could not change the room that night but to come back at lunch time the next day & they would try & sort it out.
We returned as requested at lunch time & was offered room K223 we asked if we could look at it, said it was not a problem & was give the key.
We could not fault this room, it was right by the lift to go down to the pool, & on the level to walk to the main building,we went back to reception & said we would like to change to that room, we went back to J311 & with in 5 mins the Porter arrived & helped us move to K223.
We had a lovely veiw out to sea & of the pool.
The food was good & if it was a little on the cool side there was a micrwave.
The main restaurant was closed on the Monday for a referb, we had to go to the smaller restaurant on the other side, at least the plates were hot in this one, again we could not fault the staff, they were very helpful.
The First choice staff were very heplful, especially Josh, as when you check in you are given a free spa voucher, "but" you have to use it with in the first 2 days of your holiday, then if you want to use the "spa" pool again it will cost you 22 Euros.
As I had an injured knee the Doctor had said that 30 mins in the warm spa pool would be good for my knee.
We did not need the 2 hours that cost the 22 Euros, Josh went & asked if they would reduce the rate as I only wanted 30 mins or let me use it for 30 mins for 4 days. "A BIG FAT NO" they would reduce the price to16 Euros, but my partner could not use the pool unless she paid the full 22 Euros.we did not use the spa at all.
We did use the outside heated pool every day, ok it was not as warm as the spa would have been but it was ok.
There were loads of sun beds but some people still had to get up at the crack of dawn to put there towels out!!!!!!!
The snack bar has hot food as well as sandwiches, yes there are BIRDS around but if people were to put there finished plate in the BINS & not DROP food or FEED the birds itn would help a lot..........
The evening entertainment was good the Queen act was very good so was Micheal Jackson & The Beatles.
The Red wine was nice you could have the whole bottle if you wanted.
The weather was great 30-34C most day 35C as we left on Friday 26th.
Over all we had a great holiday & would go back again.
We RECOMMEND this Hotel if you want a nice relaxed Holiday
Angela & Linda of Paulton

Room Tip: Block K is good if you have trouble with your mobility & it over looks the Sea & the Pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HolidayHens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, UK, England
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We have just returned from another great holiday at this hotel (16/4/13 to 23/4/13). We return to this hotel twice a year and it just keeps getting better. We are in our mid sixties and although the hotel is fantastic for families, we and many others in our age group enjoy the facilities. Great food, friendly staff, spacious and clean rooms, very clean, tidy and well stocked gardens. There is room to join in with activities or find a quite secluded spot. There are more than enough quality sunbeds and umbrella's for everyone. The food this trip seemed especially good with themed nights in the restaurant as well as al a carte nights. Fantastic. Well done

Room Tip: We have styed in many different rooms (suites) and all great. We regularly travel with my 26 year ol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetenerife_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winsford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Booked this hotel as our first-time all inclusive holiday through First Choice. Check in was quick and efficient. We stayed in L block which had a full sea view and overlooked one of the large pools. The room/suite was one of the most comfortable we have ever stayed in with a separate lounge and bedroom, although it could do with updating a bit. Everything throughout this hotel is absolutely spotless, from the room cleaning to the public areas. There are three large entertainment venues with bars and I can honestly say the entertainment was really good, be it the visiting acts or the leisure team.The food at every meal was delicious and varied, no meal was the same during our seven days there. The only downside was the walk down to the town which was extremely steep, not suitable for anyone with walking difficulties. Otherwise we can thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vera C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestLothian
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

It is with regret that for our third holiday in one year we are submitting a very dissatisfied review. We had 2 suites on the Splendit Service for which we paid extra 1 with 2 adults and 2 children and 1 with 3 adults and 1 child. Facilities only catered for 2 occupants 2 cups and saucers and 2 glasses requested more but only happened once in 9 days, reported leaking kettle in 1 suite which was still leaking at end of holiday. Ants in both suites which were sprayed but one of the suites still had them in the bathroom, on lounge walls, on sofa bed and even in a glass with some coke in it repeated treatment didn't work. We emailed before our stay to request a table for 8 in Splendit Service Area and was assured this and any other request we had would be taken care of..it took 5 days and lots of complaining before this was carried out and only then after consulting Kristina. We wanted to book Specility Restaurant for the nights of our stay when we had the problems with the table, when we met Elizabeth to do our booking we were told only 2 bookings per stay until we pointed out we were Splendit Service and then she said every night but it was 5 nights again before this could happen because it was fully booked. As it was my birthday on the 8th we said that was why we wanted to go and her reply was not to worry she would arrange a table in Splendit Service Area with surprises. Enough to say our surprise was no table and returning to bar for half an hour to let them organise things. Apart from the ants there were birds everywhere in the pool bar even eating from serving dishes as they were not properly covered. Many children had upset tummies and our youngest Grandaughter was very sick at night and when my son called reception for clean bedding and cleaning materials he was told they couldn't help we were prepared to do changing and cleaning ourselves result was my son and oldest Grandaughter had to sleep on mattress with pool towels and they had to use the other towels with shower gel to clean. Suffice to say we will not be back which is sad because the staff are lovely especially Maria and Kistina who try so hard to make you stay perfect but I'm afraid the Splendit service was just not there this time to many ignorant people sitting in the area and refusing to move when asked by staff because they had not paid for this facility.

The Barker Family

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ramsayeastcalder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Luabay Team at Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Barker Family, we are very sorry to hear you were not satisfied with your stay and would like to take this chance to apologize again that some things went wrong and you were not receiving the service you deserved. Your detailed feedback is very much appreciated as it shows us where we need improvement and will be looked into in detail within the respective departments. We truly hope that despite these negative points you still had a lovely time with the family and enjoyed your holidays. It would be a great pleasure if we could welcome you at our hotel again and get the chance to present you with an improved service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

Have just returned from this fantastic hotel after a weeks stay with my partner and our 2 boys aged 8 and 11. Could not fault anything at all. We stopped in H block our room was immaculate and was cleaned everyday to high standards. The whole hotel is very very clean and there always someone cleaning somewhere. The staff in all areas of the hotel were very friendly. The food is lovely and always plenty of choice and always getting refreshed. Every night had different foods. It was nice to try some of the local cuisine rather than what you eat back home!
We spent a lot of the time by the pool which was very clean and always plenty of sun beds. The snack bar food was very nice.
My two boys loved the high ropes and the staff there were very friendly and helpful.Also think its a great idea that you can hire towels rather than take own which bulk out your case.
One day I went to use the hair dryer and it smelt of burning so went to reception to tell them and within 20 minutes someone came to our room and replaced it.
My boys have said this was there best holiday ever and we are going to book for next year!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Ladywhatlunches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We visited this hotel in January for 10 days, a family of 4 with 2 children aged 6 and 9 and it was fabulous from start to finish! Once we eventually arrived (snow delay in UK!) our first impressions of the hotel were brilliant. Check in was fast with friendly staff and then we got driven to our room on a golf buggy, the kids loved it!
The hotel room was fantastic, perfect accommodation for a family, spacious and very clean and it even had 2 large lcd tv’s, one in each room with the added bonus of ITV so we could even watch corrie!! The mini bar was a nice touch and it got restocked everyday which was impressive. The cleaners do a great job aswell , not just in the rooms but the whole complex is clean. We had a lovely view out to La Gomera and were close to the waterslide which the girlies enjoyed.
The food was brill, always something to eat for everyone – I’m not sure how anyone could not be happy with the food. We did try both the Grill & the Mexican restaurants while we were there and it was a nice treat to be waited on but overall we preferred the food in the main restaurant. Breakfast was great aswell, they even had real bacon! Most days at lunchtime we grabbed a bite to eat at the snack bar and that was really nice, especially the pizzas.
The swimming pools were spotless and the children enjoyed the highropes, we watched the entertainment a couple of nights which was good, the only downside was the snake show – one of my daughters wanted to hold a snake but you had to pay 20 euros and have a photo which I thought was extortionate.
Overall a fantastic holiday – great food, friendly staff, lovely rooms, amazing views.... I could go on! We haven’t stopped talking about it since we got back and are busy planning when we can go back. This place is highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto de Santiago
2.0 mi away
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Allegro Isora
Allegro Isora
#1 of 1 in Playa de la Arena
1,554 reviews
0.8 mi away
Royal Sun Resort
Royal Sun Resort
#1 of 3 in Los Gigantes
1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Barcelo Santiago
Barcelo Santiago
#1 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
5,514 reviews
0.2 mi away
Be Live Experience Playa La Arena
Be Live Experience Playa La Aren...
#4 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
4,399 reviews
11.3 mi away
Melia Jardines del Teide
Melia Jardines del Teide
#20 of 58 in Costa Adeje
4,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes

Property: Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes
Address: Juan Manuel Capdevielle 8 | Playa de la Arena, 38683 Puerto de Santiago, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Luabay Costa Los Gigantes)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de Santiago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto de Santiago
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto de Santiago
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes 4*
Number of rooms: 518
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be Live Family Costa Los Gigantes has been designed down to the smallest detail for familes and couples wishing to spend their holidays in an incomparable location, enjoying our excellent facilities to the full. Superbly located in Tenerife South, it enjoys spectacular views over to the island of La Gomera and the Lod Gigantes cliff. 500 Meters away from Plaua La Arena beach. This hotel has the ISO 14001 Certification, as a result of its effective environmental management system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luabay Costa Los Gigantes Hotel Puerto De Santiago
Costa Los Gigantes Hotel
Be Live Family Costa Los Gigantes Tenerife/Puerto De Santiago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing