We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes
Certificate of Excellence
dublin
Level 5 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Brilliant Hotel”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Myself, my wife and 2kids (3 and 7) stayed here for 10 days recently and had such a good time we’ve already booked to return in December for 10 days.

Our children were entertained from early in the morning till late at night with the kids club doing a variety of activities from t-shirt painting, cookie making, water balloon fights, pirate days etc. than into the evening where they done a mini disco followed by a show which went on till about 10.30pm, if this didn’t keep them entertained they then had the soft play area, playground, mini golf, high ropes, water slide/inflatable and pony rides.

The spotlessly clean buffet restaurants had a wide range of food and even a fussy eater would find something to eat, tables always available and if it got busy they would immediately open the overflow, which was fantastic. The dessert section was the best I’ve ever experienced! The speciality restaurants were all gorgeous and in our 10days we got to experience all 3 (Italian, Mexican and grill) The only complaint was that there was only one kind of white or red wine which was served in the all restaurants and it was bitter.

The bedrooms are a great size with 32” plasma TV’s in both the living area and the bedroom room and a mini bar that gets stocked up every day with beer, coke and water.
The pool area was clean and spread out meaning people weren’t on top of each other. The pools were sometimes a bit on the cold side, especially down at the waterslide. It was easy to get sunbeds.

The all-inclusive package is very good and includes most drinks, cocktails (NOT from a machine!), soft drinks, slush puppies and ice cream, my kids especially loved that they could go help themselves to drinks and slush puppies at the pool bar.

All in all this was a great hotel and we have no major complaints or gripes. Our kids loved the hotel mascot, Luby, so much that they literally haven’t stopped talking about him since we got home… in December. It’s now April!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank eamonm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Team Luabay at Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. We are very glad to hear you and your family all enjoyed your stay to the max and had a special time together. Your positive feedback will be shared with our staff. Please tell your kids Luby says hi and can’t wait for them to be back! We are looking forward to seeing you at our hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,343
    1,857
    639
    195
    145
See reviews for
3,345
1,279
29
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,003)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Porthcawl, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Having seen all the latest reviews, regarding illness and food hygiene i decided to make contact with First Choice and directly with the Hotel, the only reply was from the Hotel and is a followed.

Regarding your air conditioning, we would like to inform you that it is working all day. However, we would like to clarify that all the windows and doors must be closed in the room. Otherwise, it will not work properly.
In reference to the sickness , I would like to inform you that it is NOT caused by the food and/or hygiene standards of the hotel. The bug is spread all around the island and effects not only the people in the hotels but also the residents of Tenerife itself.
I am pleased to tell you that the amount of reports regarding this sickness has become less. We immediately disinfect the room and its surroundings since we have been reported. Furthermore I can assure you that we remain to handle the hygiene procedures that are being taken in the hotel, which are certified.
For further information, do not hesitate to contact with us.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 5StarTravel2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Have just returned from a weeks holiday at this resort with my husband & two girls (aged 13 & 10). Overall hotel clean but facilities for older kids poor - the pool slide could only be used by kids under a certain height, the bowling alley could not be used by kids under 18!!! & the spa - including the indoor swimming pool was only open to children on a Sunday & Tuesday afternoon between 1-4 - hardly the all inclusive family hotel that it is supposed to be. The biggest problem was the snack bar by the smaller pool - BEWARE - the buffet self service was a complete joke - none of the food was covered over so all the birds kept flying in and eating from the dishes. Disgusting. When I complained it took 2 days for Elizabeth Ramos the public relations manager to get back to me. She admitted they had had a problem with this for two seasons & were trying to find a solution! If this was in the UK this would be shut down. They do not seem to put guests safety before making money - won't be going back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Team Luabay at Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Claire, thank you for your feedback. We truly hope you enjoyed your stay and had a relaxing holiday even though you were dissatisfied with our snack bar. We do understand your concern and as you have been informed are looking for a solution to this issue. Your comments about the opening hours and activities for older kids will be passed to the responsible departments within the hotel and dealt with in order to find improvements for the future. Thank you very much for being our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dornoch, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 17, 2013

3 generations of our family travelled out to this hotel for my daughters 18th birthday. The size of the complex is big and it meant we could all find our space if we wanted it. The hotel was clean, the rooms are big and the food was excellent offering a wide choice. I don't like the beaches in tenerife so was happy to stay within the complex as not much happens about this part of the island. The entertainment is not for teenagers who are wanting a wild time. it's a bit sedate but as we were getting together as a family that suited us fine. Ideal for a total chillout

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sc00sh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We travelled with 3 children (1, 4, 7) for 1 week during easter holidays - the hotel is huge with accommodation over 6 floors and it is 1km in length. The hotel and the ammenities are great - the rooms are good - the food was ok - what you would expect from all inclusive. The food does get a bit boring after a few days. the staff were all friendly and helpful - except from some restaurant staff !!!!!!
Los gigantes is quite remote - not much to do here with young children .
The food at the snack bar is left uncovered and constantly has birds at it - this may be one of the causes of the sickness bugs that seem to hit lots of people who stay here. While we were here, 1 man was taken to hospital while we were here - the cleaner was very frequently cleaning the toilets outside the restaurant as people were being sick - and an ambulance was called for another resident on our last day . It seems to be quite a frequent problem here yet the staff seem to pretend each time that its the residents who arrive with noro virus and spread it . I think it happens to often for it to be noro virus each time.
twice we had to leave the meat we had chosen as it was not cooked.
Three of our party contracted D and V .
The pools were cold and most pools had barely anybody in them - the heated pool (which was still to cold for me and my 1 year old) was the main pool as it was bareable in there.

These 2 issues - food / cold pools - were my only gripes - but they are pretty big issues on a holiday.

I will not return to this hotel due to the food and sickness issues - there are much better holiday villages elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenM_2206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Team Luabay at Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Karen, we would like to thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are glad to hear you overall enjoyed your holiday and were satisfied with our facilities. Your feedback about the food and the temperature of our swimming pools will be looked into. We are sorry that you did not get the chance to swim while on holiday. We would like to assure you that the issue with people getting sick has just recently started and a noro virus was reported to us by authorities. Fortunately, the cases are getting a lot less now and we are sure the problem will very soon be completely resolved. We have very high standards of hygiene in all areas of our hotel that are being tested very regularly and undergo independent inspections. Our highest priority is to assure our guests’ health and safety at all times. We deeply regret the inconveniences but the situation described cannot be blamed on the hotel. It would be a great pleasure if we could welcome you at our hotel again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Just returned from Los Gigantes with my parents, 12 year old brother, and boyfriend and are already wishing we were back there. I can't really fault it at all. We all had a lovely holiday in a lovely location, Los Gigantes was a pretty little town with dramatic views of the cliffs, it was a 15 minute walk away and we got a cheap taxi back for 3 euros (the walk back was mainly uphill). We suffered from no illness whatsoever and we found all the food lovely; often there was too much to choose from so we ended up having about 6 courses!! The restaurant was clean and modern and very nice overall. Especially enjoyed the soups, and the little cakes on offer for dessert, as well as freshly cooked pancakes at breakfast. All staff and reps were friendly and helpful, especially Mara and Simone on the high ropes! We were very lucky with weather and I think you can expect somewhere around high 20s, maybe even 30 if you are as lucky as we were.
The pools were both lovely, being in E-block we were nice and close to the smaller pool so spent most of our time there. The pool bar is nice with 4 slush machines which my brother especially enjoyed, however the food was sometimes uncovered and there are a LOT of birds around, sometimes actually trying to get chips! Again food was tasty.
The two main pools were a pleasant temperature for swimming, the third was freezing though, and there weren't too many screaming kids. There were also plenty of sunbeds available so no need to get up at 7am to reserve them! Both pools also had sea views. We also went on the high ropes twice which is a great thing to do!
As for our suite it was wonderful; I shared with my boyfriend and brother and it was plenty big enough for all three of us. Special credit to the mini bar man who came dashing in every morning with cokes and beers!! It was lovely and clean, and very modern with a pretty terrace. Our bathroom was also lovely and the views were stunning. I would definately recommend E-Block.
Transfers to/from the airport were quick and efficient and we had a couple of lovely day trips; one was scuba diving in Los Gigantes which was BRILLIANT and well worth enquiring about, the other was Siam Park! Went on everything and it was fantastic though expensive and they check your bags for food!
The only bad point about this hotel I can really make is the extortionate wifi prices which were 4 euros for an hour etc, and the hotel shop is a rip off; my boyfriend paid 3 euros for a toothbrush having forgotten his! Apart from that it was a perfect holiday and I can't wait to return. I cried when we had to leave!! Anyone who's written negative things, I don't know what they're on about! Thank you to everyone who made our stay at Los Gigantes so enjoyable

Room Tip: E block was lovely; opposite our suite was a staircase leading straight up to the pool with the good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We have just returned from our 3rd Easter at this hotel and had a fantastic time. The hotel is perfect for children, our daughter is 10 and she loves the high ropes, mini golf, pools and water slide, table tennis, zip wire, playground etc - lots to keep her amused as well as just relaxing by the pools. The entertainment team are very good and are always very friendly with the children.
There is always plenty of choice in the restaurants - both for the adults and for a fussy 10 year old. We never had any problems with undercooked food and nobody was ill, neither were any of the other families we spoke to.
All the staff in the restaurants, bars and on reception are very friendly and helpful.
The rooms are spacious and are kept spotlessly clean as is the rest of the hotel.
This is our favourite hotel in Tenerife and have already booked again for next year!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathleen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto de Santiago
0.6 mi away
Allegro Isora
Allegro Isora
#1 of 1 in Playa de la Arena
1,694 reviews
2.0 mi away
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Royal Sun Resort
Royal Sun Resort
#1 of 3 in Los Gigantes
1,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Globales Tamaimo Tropical
Globales Tamaimo Tropical
#8 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
3,361 reviews
0.6 mi away
Barcelo Santiago
Barcelo Santiago
#1 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
5,645 reviews
0.2 mi away
Be Live Experience Playa La Arena
Be Live Experience Playa La Aren...
#3 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
4,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes

Property: Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes
Address: Juan Manuel Capdevielle 8 | Playa de la Arena, 38683 Puerto de Santiago, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Luabay Costa Los Gigantes)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de Santiago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto de Santiago
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto de Santiago
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes 4*
Number of rooms: 518
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be Live Family Costa Los Gigantes has been designed down to the smallest detail for familes and couples wishing to spend their holidays in an incomparable location, enjoying our excellent facilities to the full. Superbly located in Tenerife South, it enjoys spectacular views over to the island of La Gomera and the Lod Gigantes cliff. 500 Meters away from Plaua La Arena beach. This hotel has the ISO 14001 Certification, as a result of its effective environmental management system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luabay Costa Los Gigantes Hotel Puerto De Santiago
Costa Los Gigantes Hotel
Be Live Family Costa Los Gigantes Tenerife/Puerto De Santiago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing