We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tidy Hotel, but definitely for kids”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle
Level Contributor
81 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Tidy Hotel, but definitely for kids”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Just returned early this morning from a weeks break at this hotel.

A wonderfully clean and large hotel. The cleaners must work 24/7 to keep the place so clean as it's such a big site to maintain so hats off to them.

As the title suggests this hotel is fantastic for families with kids and would very highly recommend for this. They have lots of activities on all day and into the evening for kids, tennis courts, 5-a-side court, high-wires, a rifle range, etc.. Our room was right opposite the high wire area but we didn't notice any noise.

Food is very samey every day to the point that you can pretty much guess what will be served for lunch and dinner. Very tasty although as other reviews eluded to, the temperature of the food could have been hotter. That said if you get into the restaurant soon after opening (1:00PM lunchtime and either 6:30 or 8:00PM for dinner) the food was fairly hot at that point.

We went to the Mexican and Italian nights and these were nothing special, other than being served at your table. Got the impression that the food is all pre-prepared and heated up when required as opposed to cooked from fresh. Nice enough but nothing fancy.

One thing to note about previous reviews regarding a sickness bug, we didn't suffer from this although speaking to others, something had definitely been going round. Shame the Thomson rep was in denial when we asked her about it, and said it was at another hotel down the road!!

Drinks are very good quality, a bottle of wine when you ask at either lunch or dinner time. Amstel on tap along with the wine and soft drinks (proper Coke and Fanta), and Nestle hot drinks dispensers for coffee, tea, hot Choc, etc.. Shame that they were charging a few euro for premium brand drinks which for a 4*+ should not be done. Heyho... the main drinks more than made up.

Went walkabouts most days into Los Gigantes, Puerto de Santiago and Playa De la Arena as they are all close to each other (within 5/10 minutes walk of the hotel). All 3 were very nice and as Spanish as your likely to get in Tenerife! After being a bit sceptical before going, about the Canary Islands in general, we are now going to book up to go back same time next year (although not at this hotel as it's too kiddy friendly for us!). This is nothing against the hotel which, as already said, is very good for families.

All in all a great week away relaxing.... Now back to the cold Easterly wind in the UK! Brrrrr..........

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewcastleJojo78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Luabay Team at Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
We would like to thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel and are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Our guests’ feedback is our most important source of information and we appreciate your help to further improve our services. We will look into your comments about the selection and temperature of food and our themed restaurant. We kindly invite you to take our other hotels in Tenerife into consideration when booking your next visit to this beautiful island. Thank you for being our guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,846 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,205
    1,744
    583
    176
    138
See reviews for
3,075
1,226
29
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (940)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

My partner and I visited this hotel in January 2012 and we had an amazing holiday. We travelled with First Choice and the service we received was first class from the moment we stepped onto the plane. The transfers were approx an 50 minutes and check in to the hotel was really quick. We were provided with a duplex suite and first impressions of the hotel were very good. The suite was lovely and we had a breathtaking view of the sea. The hotel has a buffet restaurant which served a wide selection of different fish and meat and also had a good selection of veggie options. There is also an al a carte restaurant that has different theme nights. We enjoyed the grill and the Italian the most. The all inclusive drinks were also of good quality. There is a lovely bar area by the pool where you can help your self to soft drinks, slushes, beer, wine and sangria. If you fancy a cocktail or any spirit then there is a barman available to serve you. The hotel is located in a quite area of Tenerife which we felt was ideal for couples and families. The whole area is imaculate! We noticed there always appeared to be someone cleaninng around the hotel and the local villages. There are very good bus links to Los Cristanos and Las Americas. A wide selection of dolphin and whale boat trips are available close to the hotel. It takes about 15 mins max to walk down hill to the harbour in Los Gigantes. We were offered the trip a lot cheaper in a shop that offers day trips enroute to the harbour. We found that they were more expensive the closer that you got to the harbour, it is well worth being cheeky and trying to get a good deal. we loved this hotel and location so much that we returned in January of this year with my partners daughter aged 11 and 14 and they loved it as much as we did. There was always plenty for them to get involved in. The Luabay team never stopped entertaining whilst we were on holiday. They girls loved the highropes and the water games around the pool. There is spa and on our firstt vists we used the free passes however as the girls were under 16 there was very little that they were allowed use in the spa so we did not bother on the second visit. If you are travelling as a couple then make sure you go to the spa and use the free pass. The hotel charge 22 euro an adult if you wish to have a second visit. The night time entertainment has drastically improved since last year and it was suitable for everyone in the family. We will definitely be returning to this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IrishClaire83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Visited again a week ago, still a great place to visit for families, lots of things to do, entertainment team seem to work non stop and always worth watching in the evening. Food was good if a little similar by the end of the week. We went splendit service again this time and I'd probably not do it again for the extra 500 euros. Service for that part was not as good as last time, no towels in room to start the holiday and an hour wasted whilst everyone else was by the pool repeatedly asking for them, no towel change everyday, for the free wi if ticket you had to go back to the reception desk every morning instead of as last time the supply of a weeks ticket in advance. Pedantic maybe but queuing up for 10 mins in the morning whilst they sorted everyone's questions out was rather annoying,
Therefore, for 500 euros I got free wine and a nice place to sit in the buffet restaurant. We'll go again but not splendit. Luabay should work a little harder for this extra service if they want repeat customers.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gully777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Luabay Team at Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review about your stay at our hotel. We are glad you come back again and still enjoyed our facilities and entertainment programme. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we are very sorry that you were not totally satisfied with our Splendit Service this time. We apologize for the inconvenience at the start of your holidays and the efforts you had to make to get your towels. Your comments will be passed on to the responsible departments and taken care of. We would be very delighted to welcome you at our hotel again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

This is a excellent hotel. The staff were professional, friendly and helpful. The entire hotel is spotless. I was worried before going as some reviews said the food left a lot to be desired. I can honestly say the food was amazing. It catered for every taste and we never had to queue. I found the only disappointing thing to be the location. There's absolutely nothing around you but the plus points outweigh that disappointment. The views are absolutely breathtaking. In terms of rooms ask for a duplex in block F as the views were to die for. We'll definitely be back again in the future!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mandyhBarnsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

Great value hotel, not luxury end of the scale and not bog standard, somewhere in between for a good all round sunshine get away!
Third time here travelling with my mum, it has everything we needed and more! It's no where near anything, bear in mind if you like to get out and about, but suited us fine as all we wanted to do was lay by the pool anyway!
Everywhere really very clean, always someone about sweeping/emptying bins...
Two lovely pools, lots of space around the pools, plenty of sunbeds, you could probably get one at anytime of day.
It was Easter holidays and hotel was full but you never felt on top of each other, grounds very spacious.
Rooms great, some people might find them basic but I'd say more than adequate, clean and spacious. Maids in everyday, very thorough, they work hard!
Food- lots of reviews on here mentioning food poisoning/viruses going around...in fairness to the hotel, we didn't witness anything of this nature during our stay. In fact, we found the food to be excellent, so much choice, very tasty...could have been a little hotter sometimes but overall great... They cater for everyone, which means that what doesn't look nice to some, might be someone else of a different nationalities favourite!! But try, you might like it!! :) the staff are constantly on the go and friendly, again work very hard!
Visit to the spa is a must- it's lovely- we had treatments too, very professional service.
Entertainment during day- no pressure to get involved but so much to do if you wanted to, the entertainers and kids reps work very hard.
Evening entertainment ok-some acts better than others but gives you something to watch at least!
Lastly, a lot of reviews mentioning the amount of children at this hotel... it was of course Easter holidays, so to be expected. The hotel is more geared towards families, which didn't really matter to us, but if it does the clue is in the fact that this hotel advertises and offers a kids club... probably best to seek out an adults only hotel or come outside of the Easter break!
Overall, very relaxing break... And very lucky with the weather, around late 20s early 30s most days! :)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nicolalouise1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Luabay Team at Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Nicola, thank you very much for writing this review about your stay with us. It is great to hear that you enjoyed every bit of your holiday and were satisfied with our service, quality of food and our staff! We will be sure to share your praise with our colleagues and hope we can welcome you at our hotel again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

I have just returned from a week in this hotel with a friend. Now i could go on and on and on but you simply don't want to read screeds of MY opinion so I'll try to make points that may be useful.

PROS....
This hotel is very well maintained and the staff (on the whole) are really, really helpful and do the very best to meet any requirements you have (my thanks to Jane for arranging the bottle of Cava for me)
There is always LOADS of food which is constantly replemished whether it needs it or not.
The room we were in (D310) we fantastic and had a beautiful view. It was well fitted out and what a boon to have a fridge in the room!!! Alway replemished every morning.
It is a beautiful setting (however see the cons). Ok it was a bit tired but that's the worst I can say about it.

CONS......
This is a VERY big hotel and when we were there it felt it was totally full of millions of kids running riot!!!! NOISY. There is no area (despite the size) where adults can be without children being there.......INCLUDING BARS!!! EVEN at midnight!!! There is certainly room to cater for both families and adults only for those of us who want to "get away" Lulaba management take note please!!! I'm not the only person saying this in reviews..
The Hotel is no where near anything so be warned........ If you want to be able to go for a wander u will not really do it from here.
The lifeguards may as well not have bothered being at work....in fact, we wondered why they were there at all???? I observed people (both adults and children) jumping in to the pools almost landing on others and loads of inflatables (despite the clear signs around the pools) right in front of them and what did they do????? NOT A COTTON PICKING THING!!! God help you if you need them to "save you"
About 3/4 of the way through our week the patrons of the hotel changed and so did the food and the way things were run.....for the worst!! I think this hotel needs to remember quality should always stay at the same standard regardless of the number of patrons it has.

Now it may sound like there is more against this than for it and I would stress this is MY opinion, but I have noted that I'm not the only one to raise these points. This is agood FI hotel with lovely staff but it really is designed for families who don't mind spending their valuable time off around screaming children.....different sections for all would have made this perfect!

Room Tip: D310...near to all areas and great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ladyluck59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Luabay Team at Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your opinion about our hotel. We are glad to hear you were satisfied with our staff’s friendliness and the room you were allocated. Your feedback is very important for us and we are sorry you noticed a change in our quality standards during your stay. This information is very valuable for us and will be further investigated. We understand that for some of our guests it sometimes may be a bit stressful to stay with children. However, our hotel Luabay Costa Los Gigantes mainly caters to families. We kindly invite you to have a look at our Adults Only Hotels on our website for a future visit. It would be a great pleasure to welcome you at one of our hotels again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

hotel room good, could do with a slight update, staff very friendly, birds around pool food area and able to eat food, best to stick to main food areas, very clean around hotel, good food and drink and able to have as much as you like, entertainment ok, plenty of seating around pool areas, better hotel for families, would stay here again

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Georlib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto de Santiago
2.0 mi away
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Allegro Isora
Allegro Isora
#1 of 1 in Playa de la Arena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
0.5 mi away
Globales Tamaimo Tropical
Globales Tamaimo Tropical
#8 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Royal Sun Resort
Royal Sun Resort
#1 of 3 in Los Gigantes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,143 reviews
11.5 mi away
Costa Adeje Gran Hotel
Costa Adeje Gran Hotel
#14 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,313 reviews
0.2 mi away
Be Live Experience Playa La Arena
Be Live Experience Playa La Aren...
#4 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes

Property: Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes
Address: Juan Manuel Capdevielle 8 | Playa de la Arena, 38683 Puerto de Santiago, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Luabay Costa Los Gigantes)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de Santiago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto de Santiago
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto de Santiago
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes 4*
Number of rooms: 518
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be Live Family Costa Los Gigantes has been designed down to the smallest detail for familes and couples wishing to spend their holidays in an incomparable location, enjoying our excellent facilities to the full. Superbly located in Tenerife South, it enjoys spectacular views over to the island of La Gomera and the Lod Gigantes cliff. 500 Meters away from Plaua La Arena beach. This hotel has the ISO 14001 Certification, as a result of its effective environmental management system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luabay Costa Los Gigantes Hotel Puerto De Santiago
Costa Los Gigantes Hotel
Be Live Family Costa Los Gigantes Tenerife/Puerto De Santiago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing