We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant food spoiled our holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one week in December with a group of 12 people. On our third evening, about 2-3 hours after having dinner in the hotel buffet restaurant, 5 out of 12 of us got sick, some in a pretty bad condition. We had not eaten anywhere else and it started almost at the same time for everyone affected, some hours after the dinner.

The hotel staff did not take this at all seriously (probably gotten used to it already?). For example, I went to the hotel reception in the morning to ask for an early cleanup (because one of our children had vomited in his bed) and water bottle supply (had run out of water during the night). They promised to take care of it, however nothing happened for the next 1,5 hours. I went to the reception again to ask for help and this time got a very arrogant response. The cleaning and water arrived some time later according to the normal schedule.

At no point did the hotel staff admit any fault or apologize for our spoilt holiday (some members of our group lost 3 days of their holiday).

Typical to the hotel service was when I went to ask for just a slightly later checkout on our departure day - the bus was coming at 1 PM and I was asking I we could keep the rooms until then, mostly because some people were still recovering from the sickness and also as a very minor compensation for all the harm caused by the hotel. The reception ladies said it would be possible, but just for one room and even that would cost several hundred euros! I've travelled a lot and never ever have I heard such a stupid response to a friendly query about delaying checkout by ONE HOUR. They could not even promise a 30 minute extension. I went to check the neighbourhood around our apartments just before we left at 1 PM and naturally there were no cleaning ladies anywhere nearby.

About the cleaning ladies - it happened several times during our one week stay that the rear terrace door (which is very easy to access as it's on the ground level) had been left either open or closed but unlocked, at one or more of our three apartments by the cleaning staff. This surely raises concerns if it is done systematically to help others "clean" the rooms of any valuables.

The hotel may look nice on the brochures, but in practise it accommodates way too many guests. What this means is: You have to book everything in advance, preferably already on your day of arrival for the whole week. For example, I went to make a tennis court (there's only one, by the way, and over 1000 guests) reservation on our first morning at the hotel. The first available time was available only on our third or fourth day. For some reason the tennis court & other activities are only open from about 10 AM to 5 or 6 PM, which also affects the amount of things you can participate.

The same thing with the included two a'la carte dinners - tried to make a reservation for one mid-week and barely (in this case we actually received good service) got one for our last evening at the hotel. The other "inclusive" a'la carte dinner we could not use then.

Overall, it seems the staff the at hotel have very strict instructions how to react to different situations and they have absolutely no room for own thinking or reacting differently in some cases. One more example of this - it is only possible to change the pool towels to new ones during couple of hours during the day. Even then you have to have the original receipt with you, or the personnel will not let you do the change. Even if they could clearly see that they are the same kind of hotel towels.

Some other minor notes:

- There are two almost identical buffet restaurants in the hotel. However, the second one will only be opened once the first one is packed full (meaning 10m+ queue outside the restaurant just for getting a table). Eating at the restaurant is a pretty chaotic experience with the amount of people moving in all directions.
- The pools, especially the warmed one, were OK, also the rope climbing was nice however that also had to be booked at least one day before
- The view from some of the apartments towards La Gomera is excellent.
- The hotel feels like a huge tourism factory - over a thousand guests, lots of queueing and lots of hassle.

The Los Gigantes itself was a positive experience and we could visit the town again, but I would not recommend this hotel to anyone because of the bad hygiene in the restaurant. We travel regularly around the world about 4-5 trips per year, and this was the first time anyone got sick from a 4/5 star hotel restaurant.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
10  Thank fincavok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Team Luabay at Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

We appreciate you took the time to write this review and we would like to take this chance to apologize if the hotel did not fulfill your expectations. We must inform you that you can request a Late Check out at our hotels according to the hotel availability and our reception staff is always willing to help. We have highest hygiene and cleanliness standards and your complaint about our food service will be forwarded to the correspondent department and analyzed. We hope we can welcome you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,409)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,516 - 2,522 of 5,409 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2013

Spent a night here before asking to change Hotels. Were misadvised at the Thomson office in Glasgow! This is not an Hotel where you can walk outside and pop into a row of shops or little bars and restaurants! That's why it must be All Inclusive! It most certainly is not IN Los Gigantes! It's miles away! On the first evening we thought we were at a !"Mothercare Convention!" Kids everywhere......not put to bed, running around, crying, needing to sleep! High chairs at dinner. FINE FOR A YOUNG FAMILY......NOT FOR A COUPLE! However, the display of food at Dinner was truly amazing. The "suite" we booked was a joke! I bet Barlinnie prison has more home comforts! Truly the biggest shock I have had on entering a Hotel Suite in my entire life. Thank Goodness the wonderful Thomson Rep Jade was on hand to stop me flying home the next morning! She was extremely helpful. .

Room Tip: A room with a view to the sea, and preferably not low down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank poshbirdontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Team Luabay at Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Thank you for your feedback, we are sorry to hear the hotel did not meet your expectations, Luabay Costa Los Gigantes is a family orientated hotel, and it might not be what you were looking for. For couples we recommend Luabay Costa Adeje, which is also located in south Tenerife, perfect for a calm stay with your partner. We hope we can welcome you again at any of our hotels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

My family & I stayed from 12/3/13 - 19/3/13 and right up until the 18th I would have given the hotel a very high score of 4.5 out of 5. The staff were all very welcoming, the facilities very good, the rooms comfortable & the food & drink varied and very tasteful. However, on the 18th we dined at the buffet restaurant and I spent my final day and return flight suffering from sickness and diarrhoea. It appears from other reviews that I wasn't alone and the hotel need to urgently rectify this problem before a very good hotel rapidly loses its appeal.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Danny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Team Luabay at Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Thank you for your review, Danny, is nice to know you like our hotel and that you enjoyed most of your stay. We are sorry to hear you got sick on the last day, we have been informed of a norovirus that comes from outside the hotel and we have been extra careful because our guests’ health is very important for us. It would be an honor to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stayed at this hotel between the 12th -19th March 2013 traveling with my husband and 16 month old boy, we arrived at 17.00hrs check in was quick and we were quickly taken to our "suite" in 0 block i have to say i was a little disappointed with the room and it required some upgrading however we did get a lovely sea view.
The hotel was very spacious allowing our little boy to burn off his energy safely and without infringing on other peoples holiday, all pools were clean and sun beds were plenty full. The position of the hotel was great for us a 10 minute walk to the beach which was very clean and well managed by the life guards as the sea was very rough. We found a lovely bar/restaurant near the beach called panchos, we enjoyed some lovely mojitos ! and ate there one evening and can recommend this for an evening out, we also went into los gigantes town one evening and ate in Tipsy Terrence again lovely, staff were great with our little boy and food was again lovely.
The main restaurant in the hotel offered plenty of choice however i did worry about the temperatures of the food this being at most luke warm the majority of the time however luckily from reading other peoples reviews we did not suffer from D+V i do agree however that antibac hand gel would be beneficial to both staff and guests, we ate in the specialist restaurant twice, (Mexican and Grill ) we enjoyed both these evenings and it is a welcome break from the main restaurant.
Our little boy enjoyed the soft play area however it does require some maintenance and this would be a real shame if the hotel did not keep on top of this, the entertainment during the evening's was good although we did not see a lot of the main shows as our little boy was asleep so we chose to sit outside listening to the singers in the piano bar which were good, our little boy enjoyed the mini disco but was not too keen on Luby !!! but most of the kids seemed to love him !
All in all we really enjoyed our holiday the staff deserve a medal for the rudeness of some guests but from what i witnessed they remained polite and professional. The hotel is worth a visit for a week of family time.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank moeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Team Luabay at Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Your review is very much appreciated and we are glad to know you enjoyed your family holidays at Luabay Costa Los Gigantes, thank you for recommending us. Your suggestions about the soft play area for kids will be forwarded immediately. It would be an honor to welcome you and your family again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed here from 10th March to 17th March. Lovely setting and surroundings, perfect weather. However I suffered illness nothing like anything I have ever known. I was sick 10 times during night of 11th and felt ill most of the week. My friend came down with the illness on our last day and felt near to death. We had to carry on to airport where she collapsed and was taken to medical centre in wheelchair to be seen by a doctor. It was touch and go whether they were going to let her travel home, but after an injection we made the flight with 5 mins to go before the flight closed. What a nightmare. Think carefully before taking young children or older people. You've been warned.

Room Tip: K Block near to everything
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Helen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Team Luabay at Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write this review, Helen. We are sorry to hear you and your friend got sick during your stay, our guests’ health and safety concern us very much, we have been informed about a norovirus in the area that had been brought in from outside of our hotel and affected people everywhere in Costa Los Gigantes and we provide affected guests with extra towels, toilet paper, water and our chefs prepare a special menus that infected guests can eat in their rooms to prevent the virus from spreading. We hope both of you are feeling better now and it would be an honor to welcome you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We had an excellent stay in January 2012 & couldn't wait to return. We stayed between 5th and 12th March 2013, but sadly, had an awful holiday as a result of picking up sickness & diarrhoea. Following our evening meal in the buffet restaurant on Friday 8th, I started being sick at about 2 am on the Saturday morning & this continued frequently until 1 pm. Also, duiring the morning, I started with diarrhoea, which lasted until taking immodium at about 8 pm. The last 4 days of the holiday were awful as I had no energy, had an aching stomach & head, ate very little & could only drink water. My wife also experienced sickness & diarrhoea a few hours after getting home. We notice that we were not the only guests to suffer this illness. This indicates a hygiene problem in the buffet restaurant, leading to microbiological contamination, which is exasperated by the majority of food being only luke warm. We hope the management can identify & rectify the source.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PHIL L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Team Luabay at Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Thank you for your review, Phil. Our hotels have the highest standards in hygiene and cleanliness, a norovirus has been detected in the area and there are affected people everywhere in Costa Los Gigantes, this virus does not come from the hotel, our guests’ health is very important for us and we take special care of our guests. We hope overall you enjoyed your holidays and that you both are feeling better now. We will be glad to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

That was our second time in Los Gigantos and we will return again, in "sky holiday" in February. The hotel is the best choice with children. Beautiful, calm, confortable, CLEAN with perfect service. (The cleaning was finished till noon every day!)
We have choosen the M section because you see the swimming pool and the tobogan from the terrace (and also the ocean behind), so while you are sitting on your own terrace you can easily watch your children. Lots of animators offer different activities (even on the football pitch there is a coach with them) also for adults. Every evening there are shows in the main building.
However the SPA is only for adults (so we couldn't go together with my husband, because one of us had to take care for our children) we tried and loved that. Clean, calm with lots of possibilities: saunas, water massage, jacuzzy, huge swimming pool, etc.)
There are 3 outdoor swimmingpools, one of them is heated.
It is all inclusive sercice and the food is really tasty, fresh, and with huge selection! Drinks are nice too and every time is available.
We went to LORO Park which is a nice exursion with children and to the Teide. (But there you should wait hours for the funiculare.)
Also we had a favourite place in the harbour - nice walking from the hotel - where we had jamon, olives and wine every afternoon.
We spent a brilliant one week holiday, for really good price, next year we will be there again!

Room Tip: M or K section has got the best location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank penny p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto de Santiago
0.6 mi away
Allegro Isora
Allegro Isora
#1 of 1 in Playa de la Arena
2,146 reviews
2 mi away
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
El Marques Palace by Intercorp Hotel Group
El Marques Palace by Intercorp H...
#6 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Royal Sun Resort
Royal Sun Resort
#1 of 3 in Los Gigantes
1,328 reviews
0.6 mi away
Barcelo Santiago
Barcelo Santiago
#1 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
6,081 reviews
0.2 mi away
Be Live Experience Playa La Arena
Be Live Experience Playa La Aren...
#2 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
4,671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes

Address: Juan Manuel Capdevielle 8 | Playa de la Arena, 38683 Puerto de Santiago, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Luabay Costa Los Gigantes)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de Santiago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto de Santiago
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto de Santiago
#3 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de Santiago
Price Range: $134 - $365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes 4*
Number of rooms: 518
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be Live Family Costa Los Gigantes has been designed down to the smallest detail for familes and couples wishing to spend their holidays in an incomparable location, enjoying our excellent facilities to the full. Superbly located in Tenerife South, it enjoys spectacular views over to the island of La Gomera and the Lod Gigantes cliff. 500 Meters away from Plaua La Arena beach. This hotel has the ISO 14001 Certification, as a result of its effective environmental management system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luabay Costa Los Gigantes Hotel Puerto De Santiago
Costa Los Gigantes Hotel
Be Live Family Costa Los Gigantes Tenerife/Puerto De Santiago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing