We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First impression is fantastic but dig deeper and there is a problem!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“First impression is fantastic but dig deeper and there is a problem!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

My family & I stayed from 12/3/13 - 19/3/13 and right up until the 18th I would have given the hotel a very high score of 4.5 out of 5. The staff were all very welcoming, the facilities very good, the rooms comfortable & the food & drink varied and very tasteful. However, on the 18th we dined at the buffet restaurant and I spent my final day and return flight suffering from sickness and diarrhoea. It appears from other reviews that I wasn't alone and the hotel need to urgently rectify this problem before a very good hotel rapidly loses its appeal.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Danny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Team Luabay at Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for your review, Danny, is nice to know you like our hotel and that you enjoyed most of your stay. We are sorry to hear you got sick on the last day, we have been informed of a norovirus that comes from outside the hotel and we have been extra careful because our guests’ health is very important for us. It would be an honor to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,856 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,213
    1,746
    583
    176
    138
See reviews for
3,082
1,229
29
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (944)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stayed at this hotel between the 12th -19th March 2013 traveling with my husband and 16 month old boy, we arrived at 17.00hrs check in was quick and we were quickly taken to our "suite" in 0 block i have to say i was a little disappointed with the room and it required some upgrading however we did get a lovely sea view.
The hotel was very spacious allowing our little boy to burn off his energy safely and without infringing on other peoples holiday, all pools were clean and sun beds were plenty full. The position of the hotel was great for us a 10 minute walk to the beach which was very clean and well managed by the life guards as the sea was very rough. We found a lovely bar/restaurant near the beach called panchos, we enjoyed some lovely mojitos ! and ate there one evening and can recommend this for an evening out, we also went into los gigantes town one evening and ate in Tipsy Terrence again lovely, staff were great with our little boy and food was again lovely.
The main restaurant in the hotel offered plenty of choice however i did worry about the temperatures of the food this being at most luke warm the majority of the time however luckily from reading other peoples reviews we did not suffer from D+V i do agree however that antibac hand gel would be beneficial to both staff and guests, we ate in the specialist restaurant twice, (Mexican and Grill ) we enjoyed both these evenings and it is a welcome break from the main restaurant.
Our little boy enjoyed the soft play area however it does require some maintenance and this would be a real shame if the hotel did not keep on top of this, the entertainment during the evening's was good although we did not see a lot of the main shows as our little boy was asleep so we chose to sit outside listening to the singers in the piano bar which were good, our little boy enjoyed the mini disco but was not too keen on Luby !!! but most of the kids seemed to love him !
All in all we really enjoyed our holiday the staff deserve a medal for the rudeness of some guests but from what i witnessed they remained polite and professional. The hotel is worth a visit for a week of family time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank moeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Team Luabay at Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Your review is very much appreciated and we are glad to know you enjoyed your family holidays at Luabay Costa Los Gigantes, thank you for recommending us. Your suggestions about the soft play area for kids will be forwarded immediately. It would be an honor to welcome you and your family again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannock, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed here from 10th March to 17th March. Lovely setting and surroundings, perfect weather. However I suffered illness nothing like anything I have ever known. I was sick 10 times during night of 11th and felt ill most of the week. My friend came down with the illness on our last day and felt near to death. We had to carry on to airport where she collapsed and was taken to medical centre in wheelchair to be seen by a doctor. It was touch and go whether they were going to let her travel home, but after an injection we made the flight with 5 mins to go before the flight closed. What a nightmare. Think carefully before taking young children or older people. You've been warned.

Room Tip: K Block near to everything
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Helen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Team Luabay at Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, Helen. We are sorry to hear you and your friend got sick during your stay, our guests’ health and safety concern us very much, we have been informed about a norovirus in the area that had been brought in from outside of our hotel and affected people everywhere in Costa Los Gigantes and we provide affected guests with extra towels, toilet paper, water and our chefs prepare a special menus that infected guests can eat in their rooms to prevent the virus from spreading. We hope both of you are feeling better now and it would be an honor to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

We had an excellent stay in January 2012 & couldn't wait to return. We stayed between 5th and 12th March 2013, but sadly, had an awful holiday as a result of picking up sickness & diarrhoea. Following our evening meal in the buffet restaurant on Friday 8th, I started being sick at about 2 am on the Saturday morning & this continued frequently until 1 pm. Also, duiring the morning, I started with diarrhoea, which lasted until taking immodium at about 8 pm. The last 4 days of the holiday were awful as I had no energy, had an aching stomach & head, ate very little & could only drink water. My wife also experienced sickness & diarrhoea a few hours after getting home. We notice that we were not the only guests to suffer this illness. This indicates a hygiene problem in the buffet restaurant, leading to microbiological contamination, which is exasperated by the majority of food being only luke warm. We hope the management can identify & rectify the source.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PHIL L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Team Luabay at Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for your review, Phil. Our hotels have the highest standards in hygiene and cleanliness, a norovirus has been detected in the area and there are affected people everywhere in Costa Los Gigantes, this virus does not come from the hotel, our guests’ health is very important for us and we take special care of our guests. We hope overall you enjoyed your holidays and that you both are feeling better now. We will be glad to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
budapest
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

That was our second time in Los Gigantos and we will return again, in "sky holiday" in February. The hotel is the best choice with children. Beautiful, calm, confortable, CLEAN with perfect service. (The cleaning was finished till noon every day!)
We have choosen the M section because you see the swimming pool and the tobogan from the terrace (and also the ocean behind), so while you are sitting on your own terrace you can easily watch your children. Lots of animators offer different activities (even on the football pitch there is a coach with them) also for adults. Every evening there are shows in the main building.
However the SPA is only for adults (so we couldn't go together with my husband, because one of us had to take care for our children) we tried and loved that. Clean, calm with lots of possibilities: saunas, water massage, jacuzzy, huge swimming pool, etc.)
There are 3 outdoor swimmingpools, one of them is heated.
It is all inclusive sercice and the food is really tasty, fresh, and with huge selection! Drinks are nice too and every time is available.
We went to LORO Park which is a nice exursion with children and to the Teide. (But there you should wait hours for the funiculare.)
Also we had a favourite place in the harbour - nice walking from the hotel - where we had jamon, olives and wine every afternoon.
We spent a brilliant one week holiday, for really good price, next year we will be there again!

Room Tip: M or K section has got the best location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank penny p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

This is our second visit to this hotel. We returned because of the excellent facilities at the hotel. However, as referenced in other comments my family were struck down by the d avd v bug. In fact, the small child throwing up in the dining room referred to in a previous review was my 3 year old. Sorry! My mum and dad were also Ill. I totally accept that people get bugs but I went to see the manager and it is because of their response that I am writing this. I asked what action they were taking to manage the spread of the bug and why they were not raising people's awareness. I was told that it was embarrassing for the hotel and that is why the were not telling people. I aked why they did not have hand sanitizer around the hotel especially at the entrance of the restaurant. I was told that they expected people to wash their hands ( i will not mention the member of staff my husband saw using th toilet and not washing their hands afterwards)They then said It was on order but It did not appear during my holiday. I am surprised that this hotel does not have sanitisers. I was offered a kettle though!!
I agree that food hygiene in the snack bar was not good. The specialist restaurant food was awful, however the food in the main dining room was very good but coud have been warmer. The ball pit in the kids soft play area was disgusting. I took my child out when I saw how dirty it was.
Saying all that this is a lovely hotel with good facilities and rooms and whist it has deteriorated since last year it still as a lot to offer and is good value for money, it just needs to manage the hygiene an sort out the management.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Team Luabay at Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Your review is very much appreciated Sara, your suggestions and feedback about maintenance work will be forwarded to the correspondent department. We are sorry to hear your second experience wasn’t as good as the first one, unfortunately a norovirus has been detected around Los Gigantes area and this does not come from the hotel, our guests’ health is very important for us, that is why we provide our guest with extra towels, water and toilet paper and try to control the virus from spreading. We hope your family is feeling better now and we hope we can welcome you on your third visit and show you improved facilities thanks to your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Great place to chill, plenty space for everyone, activity pool, quiet pool. Restaurant has a very varied assortment of lovely food. Rooms and all communal areas spotless. Staff very friendly and helpful. Cannot think of anything negative to say about this hotel. A fantastic week, would recommend to anyone. Although we didnt have children with us, a great place to take children of all ages, lots to keep them occupied.

Room Tip: Every guest over 18 gets a pass to go to the spa for a thermoludic treatment. However, we didnt par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mgbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto de Santiago
2.0 mi away
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Allegro Isora
Allegro Isora
#1 of 1 in Playa de la Arena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,229 reviews
0.5 mi away
Globales Tamaimo Tropical
Globales Tamaimo Tropical
#8 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Royal Sun Resort
Royal Sun Resort
#1 of 3 in Los Gigantes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,143 reviews
11.5 mi away
Costa Adeje Gran Hotel
Costa Adeje Gran Hotel
#14 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,320 reviews
0.2 mi away
Be Live Experience Playa La Arena
Be Live Experience Playa La Aren...
#3 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes

Property: Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes
Address: Juan Manuel Capdevielle 8 | Playa de la Arena, 38683 Puerto de Santiago, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Luabay Costa Los Gigantes)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de Santiago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto de Santiago
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto de Santiago
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes 4*
Number of rooms: 518
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be Live Family Costa Los Gigantes has been designed down to the smallest detail for familes and couples wishing to spend their holidays in an incomparable location, enjoying our excellent facilities to the full. Superbly located in Tenerife South, it enjoys spectacular views over to the island of La Gomera and the Lod Gigantes cliff. 500 Meters away from Plaua La Arena beach. This hotel has the ISO 14001 Certification, as a result of its effective environmental management system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luabay Costa Los Gigantes Hotel Puerto De Santiago
Costa Los Gigantes Hotel
Be Live Family Costa Los Gigantes Tenerife/Puerto De Santiago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing