We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Got exactly what we wanted and paid for.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Got exactly what we wanted and paid for.”
Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

We came to the hotel for 11 days late Sept/Oct 2012 and over all we were very happy and would recommend this hotel to anyone. It's too expensive too attract the chavs but also not so expensive that its full of stuck up people. The staff were diverse and friendly like the guests and they catered well for the English, Spanish, Eastern European and Scandinavian patrons. The hotel is about 50mins coach ride from the airport and the hotel is about 10mins walk from the black sand beach and small parade of shops, banks and restaurant/bars. The rooms are clean and nice even though the house keeping comes every other day and the minibar only has beer, coke and water in it. The pools are great - one large one kids and adults but no inflatables, another large one for everyone where inflatables are allowed, two small pools for small children and a pool with a scary looking slide but its actually fine for 2+ (just wait for them at the bottom). The food and drink is 'all inclusive' all day which is good but as you can imagine it gets boring after 7-11 days. Even though the selection is massive after a 7 days you will have had everything. The entertainment is great if your into that kind of thing. Everything from football, water polo, spinning and water aerobics for the adults to arts and crafts and sports and dance for the kids (3-13) if your kids are younger there is a crèche and if they are older they will probably want to go off and do their own thing. Finally the tours they try to push to you. Loro parque (like a zoo) and Siam park (a water park) are great if you have maybe slightly older kids. My wife and I took our 2 year old and 7 week old so we went to jungle park and aqua land and we felt these two place we much better for us.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Theledge80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,954 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,270
    1,774
    594
    176
    140
See reviews for
3,148
1,257
29
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (961)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We had a great time, the staff were phenomenal and did everything they could do to ensure that we had a great holiday. Fortunately we hired a car from the airport so we could get about as the hotel is a walking distance from the front - and up a hill.
The weather was great - make sure children have at least factor 50 on even when it's cloudy!
There was LOADS of choice at mealtimes and everything was very clean.
The room was very spacious and the flat screen TV's were great even though we didn't use them much.
We had everything we needed and more, we are already talking about going back!!!

Room Tip: Block L & M are next to the children's pool. Out of all three - there is only one pool (spli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sharon-Veritas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

on the front at playa de la arena it's absolutely gorgeous we all had pizza there one night and it was best pizza ever tasted plus we also got a couple the next day for lunch and sat on a wall overlooking the sea eating them, it was fab,we also went for tea there on our last night and I had the chicken with pepper sauce, my partner had fillet steak,my son had spaghetti bolognese and my daughter had soup and we all thoroughly enjoyed it, plus it is excellent for money.

We would def recommend this hotel to
anybody.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hayleyannd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel twice now and enjoyed both visits. The hotel is lovely, the staff were helpful and the kids club proved a hit with our four year old. The food is excellent and there is a good choice at every meal. We have absolutely no complaints about this hotel and the only downside is that there is nothing to walk to. That said, there is really no reason to leave the hotel. The spa area is gorgeous, very relaxing and the therapist who attended to me was very good. We preferred the quieter of the two pools, but both area were spotlessly cleans and the pools were lovely. There is entertainment at night if you so desire. A great value hotel for the money. We would certainly go back again.

Room Tip: Pay that little bit extra to upgrade to the Splendit service, it gives you rooms closer to the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank R0xstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived late at night. And our room was perfectly located near the main pool so we were really lucky. The only thing I can fault this place on is the room set up. Mainly families come here so I really don't understand why not better bed situation. The main room was two singles pushed together not a problem in itself, have over the years slept on joined twin beds, but these are on wheels on tiled floor :-/ not great then the other room was a sofa bed but the metal around it was so dangerous the five year old hurt himself just walking past. I was there with my mum and two children so we asked for it to be changed which the staff did immediately and a more suitable single bed for my mum was brought in and I shared the twin beds with the kids. The rooms were cleaned every morning which was really good as my boy had accident in bed they cleaned and changed promptly. The staff were always lovely and friendly. The children aged five and seven really enjoyed the kids club went three times. The buffet restaraunt was lovely always good selection and choice
I would probably come again but we want to explore other holiday villages.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank MrsNT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed for a week at Luabay with our three young children, in Oct-Nov 2012, and had the most wonderful vacation. I should have written this review earlier, but better late than never.

Location: The hotel is in a small village on the west coast of Tenerife, far away from the busy beaches of Adeje. The scenery is magnificent, black sand beaches, cliffs and rough waves. If you don't want to spend all your time at the hotel or enjoy the landscape around Los Gigantes you should rent a car (easy and cheap at the hotel), it takes ca. 30 minutes to drive to Adeje and Playa de las Americas.

Food: The buffet was excellent, with lot of fresh salads and vegetables and Canarian delicacies, and drinks served at the table. Á la carte restaurant was OK, but you can only choose between two or three courses, so it's much better to stick with the buffet throughout, and there's no risk of getting bored as there's something new every night. Snack bar by the pool was quite good, and the hotel bar was excellent with expedient service (hardly ever more than 4-5 people waiting in a very civilized queue) and drinks served in proper glasses.

Room: The rooms were fully satisfactory and well cleaned, and the fridge would be refilled daily with two bottles of beer and two water bottles (not exactly the "well-assorted mini-bar" spoken of in the brochure, but as part of the all-inclusive package you wouldn't expect a fully equipped mini-bar anyway). The only mildly bothering thing was that when we once brought a drink from the bar to our room, the glasses were not removed by the cleaning staff the next day.

Entertainment: I went with my daughter (7) to the mini-disco most nights; it was pretty standard and she enjoyed it. One night we stayed to watch an acrobatics show, that too was quite entertaining. The evening program was in a big room/hall with enough tables and chairs for everyone, and a bar in the corner.The game room was also quite OK, although the bowling alley had seen better days. The kids' playground was fine, and you could pay to play tennis and table tennis (and probably I'm forgetting some more activities).

Pool: The pools were quite good and not overcrowded.

Service: Overall the service was excellent; I can't remember that we had any problems, everyone was polite and helpful, and most staff spoke at least some english.

The excellent service together with the hotel's cleanliness and the outstanding quality/variety of the buffet, definitely makes Luabay a preferred choice in the future.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Andres I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I have just come back from two weeks at this holiday village and it is a very nice place. I took my two teenage daughters on my own and was hoping they would find stuff to do. I would say it is more suitable for families with children upto the age of 12 as my kids are 15 and 18 and without other teens they would have been very bored. All the staff are very friendly and the Luabay entertainment staff are amazing and work very hard. We loved that they always had time for u. Natalie and Denisa where fab at water aerobics everyday and Rahul was such a laugh.
All the First Choice staff are so lovely, happy and caring they do a great job. U will always get a wave and a good morning out of all of them even if they haven't had your kids in the kids clubs. Our favourites where Lucy on the entertainment team, Ben and the football coaches who really where great guys .
The food is of very good quality but gets very samey after two weeks. We loved the fact that you can have slushies all daylong and when it's really hot u need them a lot!
All in all avert nice place to have a family holiday.
We also loved sun care Karen who will help you with sunburn , or any of your tanning concerns she is such a lovely lady and does an amazing job. We bought the Rosehip and Aloe after sun and we never peeled once. It really is worth it. We bought 3 in the end and bought them home. Love ya loads karenand keep up the good work!!!!! Thanks to everyone fora lovely holiday!!!

Angela, Jamiee and Cassie from Essex.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dancingangie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto de Santiago
2.0 mi away
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Allegro Isora
Allegro Isora
#1 of 1 in Playa de la Arena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,326 reviews
0.5 mi away
Globales Tamaimo Tropical
Globales Tamaimo Tropical
#8 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Royal Sun Resort
Royal Sun Resort
#1 of 3 in Los Gigantes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
11.5 mi away
GF Gran Costa Adeje
GF Gran Costa Adeje
#14 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,391 reviews
0.2 mi away
Be Live Experience Playa La Arena
Be Live Experience Playa La Aren...
#3 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes

Property: Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes
Address: Juan Manuel Capdevielle 8 | Playa de la Arena, 38683 Puerto de Santiago, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Luabay Costa Los Gigantes)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de Santiago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto de Santiago
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto de Santiago
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes 4*
Number of rooms: 518
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be Live Family Costa Los Gigantes has been designed down to the smallest detail for familes and couples wishing to spend their holidays in an incomparable location, enjoying our excellent facilities to the full. Superbly located in Tenerife South, it enjoys spectacular views over to the island of La Gomera and the Lod Gigantes cliff. 500 Meters away from Plaua La Arena beach. This hotel has the ISO 14001 Certification, as a result of its effective environmental management system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luabay Costa Los Gigantes Hotel Puerto De Santiago
Costa Los Gigantes Hotel
Be Live Family Costa Los Gigantes Tenerife/Puerto De Santiago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing