We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“another excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 3, 2012

this is my tenth visit to the hotel .
the standards have got better each time as the hotel finds its feet.
from the excellent management service down to the cleaners the hotel is worth every penny.
i have noticied a few reviews of people expecting 5 star and making comments that it is not.
i have stayed at the Abama and the gran melia sensatori and these are three times more expensive than the Luabay so you pays your money and takes your choice!!
the rooms are very clean and the hotel is in an exceptional position.
the staff seem to be improving with every visit so do not look at the negative responses.
it is a very big well populated hotel so cut some slack.
if you want that go and pay 4/5/6 grand at the Abama!
keep up the good work!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Crx1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,256)
There are newer reviews for Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,799 - 2,805 of 5,256 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2012

This was our second trip to the Costa Los Gigantes, having previously visited in March 2010. This time my wife and I travelled with our three small children and my parents, who are 68 and 69 years old.

In general the hotel appears to have gone downhill from our previous visit. The food in particular was substantially poorer than last year, and on a couple of occasions there was literally nothing we wanted to eat from the evening meal selection. Lots of food appears to be re-heated and re-packaged in a new guise from food left over from previous meals. One of our party was sick for a couple of days, and the hotel was the only place we ate at.

The water slide in the pool was only open for two hours a day and even then they didn't always manage to open for that long.

On the plus side the hotel is clean and generally child friendly and our daughter loved the mini disco each night. The cleaning and restaurant staff are friendly.

The main problem came when my Mother fell over when entering the building from the car park one day. There is a high step coming in from the car park that is unmarked and is the same dark green marble colour as the floor it goes down onto. My Mother did not see the step and fell over, dislocating her shoulder and breaking her arm. At this point the hotel did absolutely nothing to help. No offer to call an ambulance; no enquiries as to my Mum's well being after I drove her to the hospital in Playa Las Americas myself; they refused a late check out to enable my Mum to rest in her room on our day of departure. When we complained, they told us that "the hotel complies with Spanish health and safety regulations" and "that these things happen". (I might add that the First Choice tour reps were equally inept and unhelpful). This kind of attitude is not what you would expect from a genuine four star establishment, which this place isn't.

Basically - this hotel is a giant tourist processing factory. A massive Canarian Butlins feeding bovine European tourists last night's reheated dinner in epic quantities. The staff could not give two hoots about their guests, who are there to be fed, watered and packed off home again. Our experience was hugely disappointing and at five grand a pop, you can be treated much, much better than this on your holidays.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank RJMLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Luabay Team. at Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2012

After reading your review, we’ve sent your complain to an specific department form our hotel management to assure that this kind of inconveniences won’t repeat in the future. We hope you visit us again and see an improvement in our service. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2012

Just returned from this superb hotel (17th Dec - 31st Dec) and had to share the experience. Hotel was clean, well run and staff very attentive and polite. Rooms are large suites that have plenty of wardrobes and lovely private balconies. Food is wonderful although the hotel need to master the art of keeping it warm (but that is my only complaint) - wonderful choice, varied daily and few themed nights such as Mexican, Chinese etc. The animation staff made our holiday complete - Fathi, Rafaelle, Ibra are absolute stars who make you feel welcome and allow you to take part in the activities without pressure. Entertainment was okay - Michael Jackson, The Eagles, Chinese Acrobats and Joe Guillan the magician were entertaining but Snake show, Beatles and Parrot Show a bit boring but passes an hour or two. Spoke to many people who had been coming to this hotel for many years and most stayed pre Xmas or over Xmas. (Few people said it was manic in summer as First Choice take the hotel over as a holiday village) but can definately recommend a break in winter. In fact we are thinking of going again in March as we enjoyed our break so much.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms a little dark, block m was overlooking main pool which was busy but not noisy
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tracey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2012

Overall a good holiday. Staff were friendly and helpful. The weather was glorious, average of 25 every day. Good points were the size of the rooms, pools were great, no need to reserve sun beds, food was average with a good selection, great spa, fridge was re-stocked daily with free water, pop and beer. Not so good points, the rooms could be cleaned a lot better, a la carte restaurant was awful, everything in the hotel is very spaced out and the area surrounding the hotel is very hilly so wouldn't recommend for people with push chairs, wheelchairs or walking difficulties.

Useful points - 15 euros a towel if hiring, which can only be changed every other day. Don't be afraid to ask the waitors for a bottle of wine with dinner. Bottles of water are kept in the main restuarant.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bunny79_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2012

People leaving negative reviews about this hotel are basically been picky for picky sake..The Buffet food was exceptional and the fiest on Christmas day was extraordinary...Speaking as a profesional chef the food was brilliaint and spoilt for choice..We only did the Ala Carte once as the buffet was less fussy and more choice.
We stayed as a family from 17th December till 27th...Probably the best Christmas we have had.accomodation was adequate and clean maintained regulualy.
If I had a problem ,I guess its with the outside resort itself,Nothing really to see no promanades or markets to look round. The Beaches were very small and of black sand which was not to appealing. You cant really trace the coast or beaches without going up and down hills to cul de sacks.

Overall hotel food,Staff fascilities of this hotel absolultely brilliant..If I could I would up root the hotel and the bob lot and re seat it in Bodrum for our next Holiday in June...The Temperature was always over 25 Degrees its always hotter than the Uk Weather forecasts give.
I would also reckomend the Arstist that does portraits in the hotel on some nights the picture he did of our son was the most precious thing we brought back.

Enjoy this hotel and forget the negatives,,,Sometimes I feel that trip advisor needs better regulation as quite a lot get some kind of power kick from writing negative reviewsr I guess it gives them a sense of importance.

Once again Great hotel...Not such a great resort. Best wishes and thanks to all the hard working staff from the Sowdens

Room Tip: For a little less noise get the rooms to the far right or left away from the main complex where all...
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank kenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2011

Have visited Tenerife on 2 occasions previously but never Los Gigantes-it is a beautiful scenic and atmospheric holiday destination. The Luabay lived up to all its positive reviews. I cannot speak too highly of the amenities (especially the spa), the food (unbelievable selection of seafoods, meats, cheeses, salads, patisserie to die for, coupled with excelent service)-even though it is a very large complex. The accommodation was spacious, elegant and comfortable with fantastic views from the large balcony (we had a suite) The staff were helpful and discreet. We had a fantastic christmas at the Luabay and would recommend it to anyone...only slight criticism was that the pillows were not plump enough for me!

Room Tip: E block is beautifully located and very quiet
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robsinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2011

We have just spent xmas in the best way possible in the lovely hotel Luabay in Los Gigantes or to be exact Playa D Arena
The hotel is well located near three small villages , the two above plus Puerto Santiago, all three are very small but have a few bars and restaurants should you feel the need for a change of scenery or simply a walk The hotel is really lovely and very well managed the whole place is spotless and the food is what one would expect in a four star A.I. establishment apart that is from the so called" a la carte restaurant" which it is not it is more of a quite poor table D hote set up that I would not recommend to anyone,the drinks were better than expected they serve a decent Amstel beer and not the usual Dorada rubbish ,
The real star in this hotel was our little chamber maid Marysol who had our accomodation sparkling clean and our beds maid up perfectly everyday, and always had a smile for everyone

Room Tip: ground floor rooms tend to be shady
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ojosazules11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto de Santiago
0.6 mi away
Allegro Isora
Allegro Isora
#1 of 1 in Playa de la Arena
1,849 reviews
2.0 mi away
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
El Marques Palace by Intercorp Hotel Group
El Marques Palace by Intercorp H...
#6 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Globales Tamaimo Tropical
Globales Tamaimo Tropical
#8 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
3,425 reviews
12.8 mi away
IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa
IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa
#16 of 59 in Costa Adeje
3,702 reviews
0.6 mi away
Barcelo Santiago
Barcelo Santiago
#1 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
5,772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes

Address: Juan Manuel Capdevielle 8 | Playa de la Arena, 38683 Puerto de Santiago, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Luabay Costa Los Gigantes)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de Santiago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto de Santiago
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto de Santiago
#3 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de Santiago
Price Range: $137 - $320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes 4*
Number of rooms: 518
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be Live Family Costa Los Gigantes has been designed down to the smallest detail for familes and couples wishing to spend their holidays in an incomparable location, enjoying our excellent facilities to the full. Superbly located in Tenerife South, it enjoys spectacular views over to the island of La Gomera and the Lod Gigantes cliff. 500 Meters away from Plaua La Arena beach. This hotel has the ISO 14001 Certification, as a result of its effective environmental management system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luabay Costa Los Gigantes Hotel Puerto De Santiago
Costa Los Gigantes Hotel
Be Live Family Costa Los Gigantes Tenerife/Puerto De Santiago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing