We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“High standards and great service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eurotel Altura

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Eurotel Altura
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Altura
Certificate of Excellence
uttoxeter
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“High standards and great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

A wonderful find in a perfect location. The hotel is in a fantastic location almost on the beach at Altura. Altura is a village with holiday apartments a handful of bars and restaurant but as yet is quiet and unspoiled. All the rooms have magnificent sea views and are very well appointed maintained and modern. Latex type beds which were very comfortable and were made up with crisp white linen. The public areas are all kept very tidy and clean too. The pool was cleaned thoroughly each day and had sun beds parasols and huge bean bags around it on which to relax. We were not told that beach towels were available so had to purchase these. Take some with you. There was also a pool snack bar with waiter service. I was blown away by the view from our balcony of the endless beach sea and pool. There were also plenty of smart staff who were always very polite and extremely efficient helpful and professional.
Breakfast was excellent lots of choice of fresh fruit, breads, juices, coffee and a variety of cooked food too. We didn't opt for dinner but I heard no complaints and it smelled good.
After a terribly sad and very stressful year I needed a short break and this was perfect. A lovely quiet pool and pool area and just a 2 minute stroll along the boardwalk to the beach which stretches for miles.
If you choose to hire a car access to all the Algarve and also Spain is very easy as Altura is just minutes from the main road. The hotel also runs shuttle services to local towns too.
If you want nightlife clubs and English bars then go somewhere else because this is more refined.
All in all I would highly recommend this hotel and I hope to return again soon. A real gem.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank suedUttoxeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    256
    57
    12
    4
See reviews for
200
268
25
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

Our second stay here and will be back again. The whole experience from check in to check out is exceptional. the room was spotless, food both at breakfast and diner was lovely plenty of choice and delicious. staff couldn't be any more pleasant or helpful. Altura is a quiet destination but that is one of the reasons we like it.
Only slight criticism is the bar prices, but because of that we found a great little local bar around the corner where we sent many a happy night...

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fay r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

What a beatiful break we had, beautiful hotel and amazing food. Not a lot to do for kids but still had good time as we rented a car and went to see dolphins... overall a very clean hotel with lovely staff..

Room Tip: I am sure all the rooms above 3rd floor have a good beach view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Romi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

We travelled as a couple in our 40's to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We wanted a nice hotel, somewhere that was peaceful, with good walks and a lovely beach, and were not at all disappointed. The recent refurbishment of the hotel is to a very high standard. We had a corner suite on the 8th floor (808)- views on 3 sides, and more than enough room for the 2 of us. We did use the heating in the evenings and the room heated quickly. The air conditioning from other rooms can be noisy at times.
The breakfasts had a good choice of food. I had informed the hotel I was wheat free before I arrived and they brought me my own wheat free bread every morning. We even had a glass of cava on the morning of our anniversary- it's available every morning at breakfast!! We had one meal in the hotel, and my 'wheat free vegetarian no butter' meal was enjoyable.
Altura itself is very quiet but pleasant to walk around. A couple of bars and 2 supermarkets. We walked along the beach to Monte Gordo (1 hour) - ok but nothing to write home about. Just the other side of the town we found a path through a national forest, and walked for an hour to the Spanish border and Vila Real. Worth a visit.
The hotel lay on free buses to various destinations throughout the week. Tavira was worth seeing. The restaurants along the main strip are very expensive- try those that the locals use- they are much cheaper.
The hotel and pool area was very clean at all times. The staff were very helpful. The reception has a large list of DVD's, and the reading room has a selection of books. We spent one afternoon reading on the loungers by the pool- very relaxing.
All in all would thoroughly recommend.

Room Tip: Worth upgrading to a suit- very spacious. Corner rooms have great views on 3 sides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 7AL150N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

A lovely hotel, very stylish and beautifully maintained. We had 2 superior rooms on the 9th floor. Very spacious will stunning views; you can see the sea when lying in bed, great way to start the day! Pool and garden area very pretty and spotlessly clean with plenty of sunbeds. Restaurant good but with a smaller choice of options than other hotels. All the food I had was lovely but my sons did miss not having a choice of pizza. burger or chips at every meal!!! The breakfasts were very good, with a large choice.There is direct access to the beach which in April was very quiet and peaceful. You can walk along the beach to Monte Gordo. Not a very attractive place but plenty of shops and bars. It took about an hour to walk and a taxi back was 7 euro. The hotel provide a minibus there and also to Tavira. This was well worth a visit; beautiful winding streets and lots of churches and gardens. Altura itself is very small and was very quiet so early in the season but walking left out of the hotel we found a lovely walk following the cycle paths along the coast. Had a great holiday and would gladly return. The only negative was the cost of drinks at the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

The hotel was outstanding and beautifuly clean. The staff were so helpful and friendly and were always happy to assist us with anything. The hotel definately helped to make our holiday relaxed and special.
We found the food to be of a very high standard.
We will definatley come back again

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neiil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

Great value for money. Beautiful beach and sea views,the hotel itself is a bit ugly but when you are in it , the views across the beach and sea and pool are amazing. The rooms are really nice and up to date. The hotel offers some lovely extras like shuttle to the nearby towns, DVDs in your room , slippers and robes, and best of all Kids club from 11am to 4pm that is free! The town is quiet and sleepy but perfect if you want a getaway that is great value for money. Food is probably a 4/5 but there is enough choice to find something you like. Overall great value for money, excellent friendly staff and will be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andrewandcarolyn50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Altura
0.9 mi away
Praia Verde Boutique Hotel
Praia Verde Boutique Hotel
#1 of 3 in Castro Marim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
2.8 mi away
Vasco da Gama Hotel
Vasco da Gama Hotel
#1 of 14 in Monte Gordo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
8.1 mi away
Vila Gale Albacora
Vila Gale Albacora
#2 of 15 in Tavira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Cabanas Resort Park
Cabanas Resort Park
#4 of 15 in Tavira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
7.3 mi away
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
#3 of 15 in Tavira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alagoa Mar Apartamentos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eurotel Altura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eurotel Altura

Property: Eurotel Altura
Address: Av. 24 de Junho | Praia de Altura, Altura 8950-414, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Altura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Altura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Eurotel Altura 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eurotel Altura is located on the lovely Altura beach, in the East Algarve. All rooms have a private balcony and boost spectacular views of the sea. Buffet breakfast is included and there is free parking in the hotel.The hotel has an outdoor pool, garden area, tennis court, mini-golf, restaurant, snack bar and bar. The recently built Wellness Center has a hydrotherapy area with Turkish bath, Caribbean Shower and relaxation area. It also has massage and treatment rooms as well as a fully equipped gymnasium.Eurotel Altura also has available a special area for the younger guests, offering a Kids Club with full entertainment programme all year round.The hotel is located only 10 minutes from 6 golf courses and Faro International Airport is only 40 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Prestigia, Agoda, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Eurotel Altura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eurotel Altura Hotel Altura
Eurotel Altura Hotel Beach
Eurotel Altura Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing