We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff were extremely helpful”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kabale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Home of Edirisa Hostel Museum
Ranked #21 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Kabale
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Staff were extremely helpful”
Reviewed August 12, 2014

After an 8 hour journey from Fort Portal to Kabale through the night, me and two friends (all young women) arrived in Kabale at 3:00am. We were particularly wary about arriving in the town in the middle of the night and thus rung the hostel prior arrival. Owen - who works at this hostel, was amazing. He kept ringing us throughout the journey to track our whereabouts, and was waiting at the coach station with a legit taxi when we arrived in Kabale. He was extremely attentive, and we felt extremely welcome. I found the hostel extremely pleasant, it was clean and the beds were very comfy (and well needed after a long journey!). Despite staying only the one night, I would highly recommend staying here. The staff were exceptional (including the taxi driver Jean Claude), and breakfast was equally as good - get the porridge. No faults.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    15
    12
    5
    2
See reviews for
4
11
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2014

Myself and two friends (all young women) arrived at 3am on a bus from Fort Portal. Wary about arriving in the early hours in a town we don't know, we called Edirisa hostel earlier in the evening and explained the situation, and they offered to collect us from the bus station. Throughout the whole journey, a member of staff (Owen) was in constant contact with me to ensure he was there to greet us when we arrived. It all ran really smoothly and he took us straight to the hostel making us feel really welcome. We only stayed for one night, but it had a great chill out area upstairs with wifi and the option of food. The rooms and bathroom were basic but clean and pleasant. Owen then assisted us in organising our transport to our next destination. I would definitely stay here again, it's great value for money!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 26, 2014

One should not have too high expectations, especially when it comes to hygiene and cleanliness, otherwise very recommendable. Above all, the staff are without exception very friendly and helpful! The food is okay, the menu includes international cuisine. If you want to eat locally, there are many restaurants only a few meters away where you can try the traditional for very low prices.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria3012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

I have stayed at the Home on two occasions. The staff work hard under the management of Owen who will always put you first and try his best to meet your needs. The accommodation is bunks or private rooms. I have used both. The double room has its own flush able toilet and sink which maybe worth considering. There is a communal hot shower and toilets. The cooking is done on charcoal like a lot of Ugandan food. I became addicted to hand cut fried chips with a Nile special for lunch. A good place to stay for a few days as a base and gateway to Rwanda, gorilla trekking and the bustling town of Kabale.

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

Amazing deck to chill-out. We had pizza which wasn't great, but as you'd expect from african pizza's maybe. Breakfast though was really good!

This place is runned by such locely people who are willing to help out with whatever you want. Also their project on making the gorilla highlands seems really nice. We didn't have time, but their treks and canoeing tours look amazing!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank RemcoEgmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karatu, Tanzania
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

This is a great value for the price that you are getting. We only spent one night in Kabale (which from what we saw is all you really need). If you are traveling on a budget make sure you stay in a dorm as they dont necessarily offer that significantly cheaper option first. The dorm rooms do not get locked however they do have a safe which I would recommend using because while they ensure you the place is secure (and i believe it is) it is better to be safe than sorry. There are no power outlets in the dorms so you have to charge your phone in one of the public ones. Because this is also a restaurant and museum non-guests do come wandering in so don't charge anything without keeping an eye on it. One of our friends did get his phone taken while charging in one of these outlets, however the staff was vigilant in finding it and after reporting the incident to the police it was recovered within a couple of days. I think this speaks very highly to the commitment the staff has to giving you a safe and secure time while there. They were all very friendly, warm, welcoming, and mostly helpful! The power was out for most of the time we were there though, which we were told is very common.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twendesasa90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Edirisa is a home for travelers, and you will be welcomed there as such. Don't expect to find the most luxurious comfort, but more so warmth, laughter and long discussions with locals. We had 2 power outages while over there and this made it difficult to take any showers, but we were provided with buckets of hot water which were more than enough. Food is served in the restaurant / bar, good quality for Kabale.
The staff is amazing. Owen went the extra mile to help us before and after our stay, and is indeed running everywhere to make Edirisa the best experience.
Clement, our guide for the canoe trekking, was a great guy, always with fun anecdotes to cheer us up. We spent 2 days on the lake, with a memorable night at Mama Bena.
Overall great value, don't hesitate to book here if you are coming back from gorilla trekking and are going to Lake Bunyoni.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveloliv D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kabale hotels
3.5 mi away
Bunyonyi Overland Resort
0.6 mi away
White Horse Inn
White Horse Inn
#9 of 21 in Kabale
41 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bunyonyi View Gorilla Packers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 mi away
Gorilla Mist Camp
Gorilla Mist Camp
#4 of 29 in Kabale
90 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bunyonyi Safaris Resort
Bunyonyi Safaris Resort
#12 of 29 in Kabale
34 reviews
4.3 mi away
Lake Bunyonyi Eco Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Home of Edirisa Hostel Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Home of Edirisa Hostel Museum

Property: The Home of Edirisa Hostel Museum
Address: Kabale, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Western Region > Kabale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Kabale
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the center of the bustling town of Kabale is a little oasis: Kwanzi. The strategic location offers a vantage point from which to experience all the wonderful things that make South Western Uganda famous. Kabale itself is set amidst beautiful rolling hills and valleys that are perfect for hiking adventures, and is on the path to national parks teeming with wildlife, the impenetrable Bwindi rainforest where the rare mountain gorilla and other primates and wildlife live, and Lake Bunyonyi, "the lake of a thousand birds," scattered with islands and birds just as its name promises. Over 150 bird species are found here. On a clear day, one can see Mt Muhavura looming at a distance, believed to be the same volcanic mountain that once upon a time created these stunning surroundings. An unforgettable exotic adventure can be planned right at Kwanzi, which serves as a booking office for the award winning Gorilla Highlands. Ruth and seasoned restaurant owner Billy are the new team at this former Edirisa. With the new ownership comes the new name Kwanzi a new website still under construction and a warm hospitality that only an owner-run hotel can bring. As a sustainable development initiative, profits from Kwanzi go towards Grace Villa, a girls orphanage that Ruth founded and runs in Kabale. All the things that made the former Edirisa a favorite destination are still present. From the pocket friendly room rates to the great tasting food and the warm friendly atmosphere. The menu is being updated to fuse of the previous popular European menu with delicious local Ugandan fare. One of the accommodation rooms has been converted into a little Grace Villa shop to sell carefully chosen African crafts, beautifully tailored African garments and products made by the Grace Villa girls tailoring line, and baked goods from their Graceful Grains bakery. Dine casually or enjoy a cup of chai on Kwanzi s open air rooftop deck - perfect for when the temperatures are elevated - or in the more conventional indoor restaurant. The main section downstairs incorporates a small covered patio, a more formal dining area, 3 rooms with sleeping accommodation for up to14 people (one room is a large 10-sleeper dormitory), and a bar area that is being converted into a coffee bookshop. The location continues to offer the rare cultural gem: Kabale's only cultural museum, carefully put together and documented by historian and cultural expert Omugurusi Karwemera. The museum features a traditional Kikiga compound complete with a fenced hut just like in ancient times, with a range of both common and rare artifacts within. Musical instruments, weapons, utensils, furniture, attire and even a local granary. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing