We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“outstanding service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Home of Edirisa Hostel Museum

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kabale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Home of Edirisa Hostel Museum
Ranked #18 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Kabale
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“outstanding service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

We came here on the separate occasions and I can honestly say it was the friendliest service I've ever had. Owen and the team were friendly and helpful and on more than one occasion the staff walked down the street with me to show me where to get things done. The food was exceptional and well priced while the dorms were cheap and standard quality. The only downside was that the power and water were not working on some occasions but This Is Africa after all.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    14
    12
    4
    2
See reviews for
4
11
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed at Edirisa the night before and night after our tour. The staff were so welcoming and made us feel right at home. The food was tasty and reasonably priced (we had sandwiches and wraps). Unfortunately there was a power cut and the water cut out for a while but this wasn't unusual in Uganda in our experience! And the staff provided candles and bottles of water. The hotel is very involved in sustaining local community and so if this is something you're also interested in it is worth a stay. We loved it. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denunciar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provo, Utah
Level Contributor
100 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

I stayed here after a couple of days in Bwindi and it felt so good to be back in civilization. I ended up here because it was the top pick in my out-of-date Lonely Planet. When I arrived the place was busy - I tried to get a seat at the rooftop restaurant but it was full of other foreigners. Surprisingly at sunset they all disappeared, which leads me to believe that this must be one of the best places in town to "hang out." My private room came with a mosquito net and a private bath room, and electricity! The mosquito net and the bed sheet were torn but that was fine. The shared shower was hot and had water pressure. I can see how having to share the shower on a busier night would be very annoying though. I also had dinner at the restaurant and it was good. I was here for just one night and caught the Post Bus to Kampala the next day. Another great thing about this hostel (and maybe others) is that it's in the heart of town so it's just a quick walk to the supermarket, internet cafe, and the post bus.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Panu P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Stopped at the cafe twice while in Kabale.

The cafe is at roof level up some rather ingeniously designed stairs (a simple yet obvious way to make steep stairs easy to navigate - I had my backpack and daypack on while climbing the stairs). It's a quaint and cosy space (read: slightly cramped - but in a nice way!) with comfortable lounge chairs and small wooden tables. You could easily pass a couple of hours here doing very little.

The menu offers the standard backpacker style options at reasonable prices - but not always great value for money. The portion sizes on the whole seem reasonable.

The bacon and eggs on toast came with one slice of toast which left me wanting a little more. The bacon is cooked toward the American style (crunchy) but overall a nice breakfast after an overnight bus from Kampala.

The American Cheeseburger however is another story. This could quite possibly go down as the worst hamburger in the history of man. The bun was thick and looked great, but it was dry and thus difficult to eat (in fact I left much of it). The meat patty looked more like a schnitzel, both in size and also in cooking style. The menu says it comes with lettuce, tomato and covered in cheese. There was no tomato and what may only be described as 2 dollops of cheese. I'm not a massive fan of tomato sauce, but I covered the burger in it to make it edible. The accompanying chips were both nice and plentiful.

The staff are keen to give you the bill as soon as you finish eating.

A hit and miss affair in what really is a cute little cafe. My experiences would not stop me from visiting again but it will stop me from ordering the cheeseburger!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WalkaboutKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

I'm slightly biased in this review, but Edirisa has been one of the best hostels we've stayed at. We arrived there after getting quite badly mugged, and so ended up having to stay a week. The staff there were absolutely brilliant - and so helpful whenever we needed anything. The food is great (by the time we left we'd gone through the entire menu!), and the prices are really reasonable (9.000 UGX for a dorm, and doubles starting at 25,000). Everyone there helped us quite quickly get over what could have been a pretty bad few days!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ed R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brattleboro, Vermont
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

The rooms are a bit dark and noisy but the environment and nice staff make up for it. This is a must-visit place in Kabale. There is a great cafe and wide selection of books. Also the staff can answer any questions you have. The two of us also did a 3-day canoe trek through Edirisa. It was an incredible experience and something you should seriously consider doing. Owen is one of the staff there, and he is genuinely nice and wants to make you understand Kabale and make you feel at home.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brodie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

Edirisa is a lovely place to stay a night or two, and for the price you really can't complain about a thing. The staff were extremely welcoming and warm, and the food was great (although it did take much longer than we would have hoped). The little museum attached is rather small but a nice amusement and if you're staying for the night you should absolutely take a look. Would highly recommend for backpackers!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kabale hotels
3.5 mi away
Bunyonyi Overland Resort
0.6 mi away
White Horse Inn
White Horse Inn
#7 of 20 in Kabale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bunyonyi Safaris Resort
Bunyonyi Safaris Resort
#11 of 29 in Kabale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bugombe Gateway Camp
Bugombe Gateway Camp
#4 of 20 in Kabale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bunyonyi View Gorilla Packers
4.3 mi away
Lake Bunyonyi Eco Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Home of Edirisa Hostel Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Home of Edirisa Hostel Museum

Property: The Home of Edirisa Hostel Museum
Address: Kabale, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Western Region > Kabale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Kabale
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the center of the bustling town of Kabale is a little oasis: Kwanzi. The strategic location offers a vantage point from which to experience all the wonderful things that make South Western Uganda famous. Kabale itself is set amidst beautiful rolling hills and valleys that are perfect for hiking adventures, and is on the path to national parks teeming with wild life, the impenetrable Bwindi rainforest where the rare mountain gorilla and other primates and wildlife live, and Lake Bunyonyi, "The lake of a thousand birds", scattered with islands and birds just as its name promises. Over 150 bird species are found here. On a clear day, one can see Mt Muhavura looming at a distance, believed to be the same volcanic mountain that once upon a time created these stunning surroundings. An unforgettable exotic adventure can be planned right at Kwanzi, which serves as a booking office for the award winning Gorilla Highlands. Ruth and seasoned restaurant owner Billy are the new team at this former Edirisa. With the new ownership comes the new name Kwanzi a new website still under construction and a warm hospitality that only an owner-run hotel can bring. As a sustainable development initiative, profits from Kwanzi go towards Grace Villa, a girls orphanage that Ruth founded and runs in Kabale. All the things that made the former Edirisa a favorite destination are still present. From the pocket friendly room rates to the great tasting food and the warm friendly atmosphere. The menu is being updated to fuse of the previous popular European menu with delicious local Ugandan fare. One of the accommodation rooms has been converted into a little Grace Villa shop to sell carefully chosen African crafts, beautifully tailored African garments and products made by the Grace Villa girls tailoring line, and baked goods from their Graceful Grains bakery. Dine casually or enjoy a cup of chai on Kwanzi s open air rooftop deck - perfect for when the temperatures are elevated - or in the more conventional indoor restaurant. The main section downstairs incorporates a small covered patio, a more formal dining area, 3 rooms with sleeping accommodation for up to14 people (one room is a large 10-sleeper dormitory), and a bar area that is being converted into a coffee bookshop. The location continues to offer the rare cultural gem: Kabale's only cultural museum, carefully put together and documented by historian and cultural expert Omugurusi Karwemera. The museum features a traditional Kikiga compound complete with a fenced hut just like in ancient times, with a range of both common and rare artifacts within. Musical instruments, weapons, utensils, furniture, attire and even a local granary. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing