We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bunyonyi Overland Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Gorilla Safari Lodge(Bwindi Impenetrable National Park)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Silverback Lodge(Bwindi Impenetrable National Park)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Savannah Resort Hotel(Bwindi Impenetrable National Park)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (191)
Filter reviews
191 results
Traveler rating
36
82
40
18
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
36
82
40
18
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot waterfixed tentslake bunyonyibeautiful locationmain campcamping tripintrepid tourthe cottagescamping areashared facilitiesafrican standardsgreat view over the lakegorilla trekkinga lovely stayother guestspermanent tentsstayed here for two nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
119 - 124 of 191 reviews
Reviewed December 28, 2013

The Resort is at the shores of Lake Bunyonyi (app 400 km from Kampala).

The location is stunning.. you can stay there forever just looking the lake, the dugout canoes, the people swimming, the sunrise and the sunset as well.

There is one platform for swimming and chilling and a tree (!!!) that you can climb on its branches and jump to the lake!!! Brilliant idea!

The camp setup, the tents and the cottages just great! Green is everywhere!!

Bar/restaurant has moderate food but not expect something exceptional (you are in South Uganda). Prices are fairly reasonable.

Staff are all kind and welcome!!

Great job guys!!! Well done!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikos D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

As with most people we stayed here as part of an overland truck your through Uganda. I was completely amazed by the beautiful lake views, and spent many hours just relaxing with a nice cup of coffee gazing out....

We stayed in one of the cottages that had a nice veranda with views straight out onto the lake. The rooms are basic, but have everything you need and the beds are comfy. The only (small) issue for me was the lack of any water power in the shower meant no chance of washing my hair for the duration of the stay, and it was so weak it was difficult to even wash. Not really the biggest issue whilst trekking through Uganda, but would be something to consider if staying more than a couple of days.

I would recommend staying here if you are in the area.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henster79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

This location was arranged by our excellent Uganda based tour company, Brovad Tours as a stopover spot in Kampala before heading to Chimp Trek. This place is used by big overland tour groups but it does not cause an issue with other guests.
Grounds are great to walk around and lake tour is OK.
Rooms are nice but dated. Food is good but service is slow and not easy to get.

Thank KerryandMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

This location was arranged by our excellent Uganda based tour company, Brovad Tours as a stopover spot in Kampala before heading to Chimp Trek. This place is used by big overland tour groups but it does not cause an issue with other guests.
Grounds are great to walk around and lake tour is OK.
Rooms are nice but dated. Food is good but service is slow and not easy to get.

Thank KerryandMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

I completely agree with the latest review and also find it quite amusing to read reviews from people that are obviously not adjusted to african accomodation standards. A 3-star hotel in Uganda is NOT the same as a 3-star hotel in the EU or the US. The situation might change in the next 15-20 years but currently the key for being a happy traveller is to have some realistic expectations. (and of course doing some proper research on traveller sites as TA etc).

However; I think the owner/boss of this site need to be careful to not forget that not ALL their customers (and moneymakers...) are overland-truck people that arrive late and leave early. I WOULD for instance be sligthly more happy if the pool table were fixed and the jet-skis were operational next time I drop by....!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dandyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews