We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Location, Adequate Budget Accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bunyonyi Overland Resort
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kabale
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
263 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Beautiful Location, Adequate Budget Accommodation”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

As with most people we stayed here as part of an overland truck your through Uganda. I was completely amazed by the beautiful lake views, and spent many hours just relaxing with a nice cup of coffee gazing out....

We stayed in one of the cottages that had a nice veranda with views straight out onto the lake. The rooms are basic, but have everything you need and the beds are comfy. The only (small) issue for me was the lack of any water power in the shower meant no chance of washing my hair for the duration of the stay, and it was so weak it was difficult to even wash. Not really the biggest issue whilst trekking through Uganda, but would be something to consider if staying more than a couple of days.

I would recommend staying here if you are in the area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henster79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    69
    35
    15
    12
See reviews for
16
44
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
125 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

This location was arranged by our excellent Uganda based tour company, Brovad Tours as a stopover spot in Kampala before heading to Chimp Trek. This place is used by big overland tour groups but it does not cause an issue with other guests.
Grounds are great to walk around and lake tour is OK.
Rooms are nice but dated. Food is good but service is slow and not easy to get.

Helpful?
Thank KerryandMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
125 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

This location was arranged by our excellent Uganda based tour company, Brovad Tours as a stopover spot in Kampala before heading to Chimp Trek. This place is used by big overland tour groups but it does not cause an issue with other guests.
Grounds are great to walk around and lake tour is OK.
Rooms are nice but dated. Food is good but service is slow and not easy to get.

Helpful?
Thank KerryandMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

I completely agree with the latest review and also find it quite amusing to read reviews from people that are obviously not adjusted to african accomodation standards. A 3-star hotel in Uganda is NOT the same as a 3-star hotel in the EU or the US. The situation might change in the next 15-20 years but currently the key for being a happy traveller is to have some realistic expectations. (and of course doing some proper research on traveller sites as TA etc).

However; I think the owner/boss of this site need to be careful to not forget that not ALL their customers (and moneymakers...) are overland-truck people that arrive late and leave early. I WOULD for instance be sligthly more happy if the pool table were fixed and the jet-skis were operational next time I drop by....!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dandyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights at the end of my safari finishing in Kisoro. I am also baffled by negative comments about this establishment Firstly the location is amazing overlooking the Lake, the grounds are kept beautiful and I found the setting so restful.I stayed in the lazy camping, tent No 14 which was on a wooden platform on the waters edge, the platform is level with some of the tree tops so birds landing on the trees were lovely and close.The tent was spacious with electricity,all zippers working, the bed was comfy with clean linen, two beside tables,a phone and plastic bowl to wash your smalls in. Outside on the platform was a table and chairs to relax on. Shower and tiolet block was a short distance away which were very clean.Lots of pressure in the shower and a tap below with lovely hot water. All this for $US 25 a night, exceptional value.My tent was facing the inlent away from the dining room so very private and quiet. I was dreading the overland buses arriving which Bradt guide mentions spoil the ambience but only two arrived each night very late in the afternoon and left very early next morning and they were not over rowdy.
I paid for meals as I wanted however you can pay for either B BD or BLD as a tarrif which is possibly discounted.The meals were tasty and reasonably priced perhaps a little above town prices but you expect this and there was a long wait for your food. Staff were very friendly and happy to assist and organize special taxi's to get you there and back for onward travel.
I really loved my time here just relaxing ,walking around Rutinda village and the streets around the inlets, a winddown from the hectic schedules that goes with safari in Africa. Highly recommended for the budget option of camping.

Room Tip: If you like lazy camping tent 14 on the w aterfront facing opposite inlet to the dining room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alarnold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, England
Level Contributor
113 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed at Bunyonyi Overland for one night as part of a two-week safari holiday in Uganda. The rest of the time we stayed in lodges which were all lovely in their own unique ways, and in that context the Overland stuck out like a sore thumb. It was by far the worst place we stayed during our trip.

Location - I know some people like the location as it's free from animals and it's just about the only place where it's safe to swim in the lake. But we were on a wildlife holiday and there are only birds here! It was really boring with no animals to watch (except the random models dotted around the grounds to rub in the fact that there are no real ones). There was no town nearby either. We took a dugout canoe out for a bit, just to kill some time, and were surprised at the lack of life jackets or even staff checking if you could swim. It was raining during our stay, perhaps it would seem nicer if we could have sunbathed.

Central facilities - the best thing about Overland was its extensive bar selection! We were able to try beers we hadn't seen anywhere else on our trip and they were pretty good. The food was OK, nothing special. The biggest problem for me was that there was no comfy place to sit, only plastic garden chairs. Most other places have sofas and other soft seating where it's pleasant to sit awhile.

Room - Overland offers a variety of accommodation, we had a room with ensuite bathroom. It was dark and grimy, and the whole tap moved when you tried to turn it on or off. The bed had an uncomfortable foam mattress with a big dip in the middle. There was no mosquito net and they didn't even provide any drinking water in the room. We spent quite a bit of time sitting on the plastic chairs on the verandah, watching the rain and the people in tented accommodation tramping back and forth for showers, toilets, laundry etc.

Service - This was pretty much the only lodge where we felt the staff were unfriendly. Everywhere else we were greeted with a warm welcome and often a freshen-up towel and a juice drink. Here we were given the key, taken to our room and that was that.

We spent a total of 24 hours at Overland and couldn't wait to get out of this place.

Room Tip: Don't bother - stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeckyNW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kabale hotels

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Stayed here during 15 day safari to trek the gorilla. The rooms were small old fashioned and dusty.on the first night we got electric shocks off the shower taps and reported it to management. Day 3 they offered to change our room, a bit late. others on the tour experienced the same thing. This was also one of the more expensive up grades on the trip. Could have caused serious injury to us and others.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lpobke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kabale
18.7 mi away
Gorilla Safari Lodge
Gorilla Safari Lodge
#2 of 3 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bunyonyi Safaris Resort
Bunyonyi Safaris Resort
#10 of 29 in Kabale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lake Bunyonyi Eco Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lake Bunyonyi Rock Resort
1.7 mi away
Bushara Island Camp
Bushara Island Camp
#9 of 29 in Kabale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
2.1 mi away
Paradise Eco-Hub
Paradise Eco-Hub
#5 of 20 in Kabale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bunyonyi Overland Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bunyonyi Overland Resort

Property: Bunyonyi Overland Resort
Address: Plot 1, Kazooba Road | P.O Box 710, Kabale, Kabale, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Western Region > Kabale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kabale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bunyonyi Overland Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering Spectacular views of the lake, Bunyonyi Overland Resort is set on the shores of Lake Bunyonyi. The resort has a children's playground and sun terrace, and guests can enjoy a meal at the restaurant. Free WiFi is featured and free private parking is available on site. With over 40 rooms Bunyonyi Overland Resort offers accommodation in Lake Bunyonyi for all budgets. A terrace or balcony are featured in certain rooms. There is a 24-hour front desk at the property. You do canoeing,bird watching, hiking at this resort, and the area is popular for diving. The resort also offers bike hire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Jovago.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia and HostelWorld so you can book your Bunyonyi Overland Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Bunyonyi Overland Hotel Kisoro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing