We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bunyonyi Safaris Resort
Ranked #12 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Kabale
Windhoek, Namibia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Location”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

I stayed at this place on my way to Bwindi gorilla park. The hotel is located right on the shores of Lake Bunyonyi, a very beautiful and scenic lake. We arrived in time for cray fish dinner. The food was fresh and very tasty. The chef had prepared a sample of fresh vegetarian dishes as well and we were told it was all organic and from the village. The bar is located by the fireplace and we sat by the fire and had a quite drink until late in the night. The bar man and our waiter for the night were very attentive. The next day we had an early start to the gorilla parks and arrived back in the evening. The gorilla tracking was an experience that I will never forget. That deserves a story on its own. We had dinner and slept early exhausted from the days adventure. It was cold but we were given hot water bottles to warm our beds. The next day, we spent it at leisure. We went canoeing on Lake Bunyonyi. My partner even swam, but I was to scared to jump into the cold water. We took a boat trip and did some island hoping. It was amazing. There are so many islands to discover. In the afternoon we went to the hilltop bar and played pool table and table tennis. We also visited the local group being supported by the hotel to grow vegetables and keep livestock. The women and children sang for us and made us feel special. They promised to show us how to peel and cook "matoke", a plantain when we come back. In conclusion, we had a great time. The hotel staff are friendly. The gardens are great. The location is excellent. The rooms in the main hotel are spacious, well lit and very airy. They certainly offer a better ambience than the cottages. We checked out the cottages and though private and cozy, I found the hotel rooms with their wooden floors more appealing. I will visit again with my family. The hotel has a gym and there's a spa in the making.

Room Tip: Check out the rooms in the main hotel. The cottages are cozy but the main hotel rooms are spacious...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ivan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ckamugi, Owner at Bunyonyi Safaris Resort, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you Ivan for visiting and appreciating the service and the environment. Please come again. We shall offer you a special traet to make your stay even more memeorable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    12
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
4
10
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

I'm giving the Bunyonyi Safaris Resort 5 stars, not because it is perfect, but because we had a wonderful time staying there. Like many people we stayed there as part of our Gorilla trekking experience in the Bwindi Forest. The resort is on the shores of the beautiful Lake Bunyonyi and although the main building looks a little out of place, the setting is gorgeous. The staff are absolutely wonderful, and willing to help with any request. We were given one of the detached cottages, that was fairly basic on the inside with a double and single bed. The cottages are basic, but who needs fancy when you have such beautiful surroundings. If you've come all this way just to sit in your room and watch TV, then you probably will be disappointed. We went for a short little walk up the hill to get a better view of the lake, and the hotel has bikes, canoes and other items for rent if you desire.
The food was excellent, and the staff takes great pride in making sure your needs are met. The main building seems huge, and since we were some of the only guests at the resort, it seemed very cavernous. However, the bar, fireplace, and lounge areas are all comfortable and nice. On our final evening we were sitting by the fire and had an opportunity to talk with the owner, Charlotte. This was most pleasant and she described her efforts to recruit staff from the surrounding villages, incorporate farm-to-table food, and focus on sustainability. Although this resort is not perfect, it feels warm, inviting, and does not have any of the corporate snobbery that is found in so many places. The resort is on the right track, and with a little time and continued effort will be a true gem.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AM173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte K, Owner at Bunyonyi Safaris Resort, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. It was a pleasure hosting you and talking to you by the fireplace. The staff will be happy to hear how much you appreciated them and I am glad that so many people enjoy their hospitality. It's a good indicator that there's so much potential in the countryside. With time, we shall upgrade the cottages. They seem more popular than the hotel rooms though the hotel rooms are better furnished and more spacious. The hotel rooms have wooden floors and huge windows that let in lots of sunlight and fresh air.
We hope you will visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
108 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Let me start by talking about two great things about this place: the staff and the location. Staff is fantastic! Costmas spend the day with me, as a guide, a paddler on the canoe, and personal chef. Looks like I was the only guest of the hotel as I did not see another soul during my (short, 1 night) stay. Location is beautiful, on the shores of the lake. Do not miss the hike up the hill for the view is amazing.
Now, the rest: room was in bad shape. The cottage badly needed a make over. Toilet was leaking, shower was warm and ok. Only two large towels and not even a towel rack near the sink (located in the room and not in the bathroom, but who cares?). No space whatsoever to put your toiletries. Bed was comfy, only one light was working but not a big problem. Definitely needs some paint. Overall though, clean and no insects or crawlers around, so not a problem even for people like me who are not comfortable with that kind of visitors...
Had a nice breakfast on the veranda in front of my room. the garden is well kept and with an amazing variety of flowers, and, of course, birds. The deck should have bamboo furniture instead of old and dusty sofas. Overall I'd say that if you lower your expectations, it's ok.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bostona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte K, Owner at Bunyonyi Safaris Resort, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us on trip advisor. We do care about your opinion and we have noted your concerns. We have started on the renovations of the cottages and we shall take into consideration the issue of the towels and the furniture on the deck. Actually we have our own furniture workshop and are in the process of changing all the furniture to make more comfortable for guests. We do care and will continue to show our guests that their comfort means a lot to us. We hope you can visit us again with a bigger group to fill up all our rooms. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

A friend and I stayed here for 2 nights as part of our gorilla trekking tour. Our cottage was decent and the view lovely! The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly. We had a full day successfully trekking the mountain gorillas, then had an enjoyable boat ride around the lake checking out the local bird life as the sun was setting! To top it off the staff had a campfire going so we could sit under the stars, sip the local Club beer and enjoy the quiet of the place except for the sounds of the insects!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ChristinaFoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte K, Owner at Bunyonyi Safaris Resort, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. We enjoyed hosting you and we hope you will come again. Thank you for taking time to review us on trip advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

On the shores of this lake beautiful small birds surround you and your ears.
The main building is hugh and in contrast with the landscape. You may feel a bit lost in the empty dining room. But the cottages fit well in the environment. On its terrace you can overlook the bays, the islands, the small boats passing by and the yelling of the couples of crested crown-birds.
The cottages need a serious overhaul but the owner already plans that.
The staff is more then kind and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bandoeng1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte K, Owner at Bunyonyi Safaris Resort, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us on trip advisor. Indeed the cottages have been renovated. We shall continue to improve our services to give our visitors value for money. We have noted all your concerns and will take them into consideration. We hope to see you again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I stayed here with a friend and we used it as a base for mountan gorilla trekking in the nearby Bwindi Impenetrable National Park (plan on a 6am departure). I have to say I was pleasantly surprised. We were given one of the detached cottages and while it was a bit far from the main building and the paths weren't well lit, it gave us a nice view of the lake and was very close to one of the docks so we had easy access to the lake. The room was equipped with a TV and mosquito net and had reasonably hot water and plenty of space. Our trekking ended earlier than expected so we had a bit of extra time to hang out around the resort. I was surprised to find that they had a gym equipped with some weights and boxing equipment along with a treadmill and elliptical (the staff happily demonstrated each piece of equipment). They also have a restaurant and bar area or will gladly serve you in your room. Bike rental, boat rides and other tour activities can be arranged at reception.

Overall, the place is a little bit outdated, but delightful nonetheless. We enjoyed and would happily recommend to anyone considering visiting Bwindi or escaping Kampala.

Room Tip: Go for a cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank USATravelerUAE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte K, Owner at Bunyonyi Safaris Resort, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you very much for staying at BSR and for taking the time to review us on trip advisor. It was a great pleasure hosting you. We are encouraged by your positive feed back and will make an effort to light the path to the cottages and make the place more homely and modern. If you ever plan to visit again with friends, please let me know personally and we shall show you our hospitality in more ways. Next time we hope you can take time to make some home visits and climb up the hill to view the beautiful sunset and volcanoes. The neighborhood is a great place to hike. Best regards,
Charlotte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised by Bunyonyi Safaris Resort as I really needed some chill out time from Kampala and this was a great place to do it.

I went with my fiance and we both loved it. She's Ugandan and had also never been there before so It felt so good to relax and not feel rushed to do anything and to both experience something new..

We stayed in our own Bungalow away from the main building and I recommend all couples do the same. Its so peaceful to open your door in the morning to your own courtyard and steps that will take you down to your own docks for a boat ride to any of the numerous islands. You can opt to have breakfast brought to your bungalow so you can enjoy the peace and just stare at the lake and surrounds.

You can hire a bike and go for a ride, hire a canoe, (if you can manage it), or just go for a walk. The food is excellent and the service was first rate. They do all they can to make you feel comfortable and welcomed

It's clear that they still have a bit to go before everything is fully operational. The gym is a bit under-equipped and while we were there they had issues with the TV satellite reception but these were only minor and didn't affect our stay.

One main issue was getting there. Ugandan roads are atrocious and an estimated 6-7 hour journey by bus, turned into a 10 hour nightmare & we missed out on any afternoon activities that first day, so I recommend paying a bit extra and taking the private car. We did that on our way back and it made a lot of difference.

Overall I couldn't have asked for a better weekend escape and we were lucky as it was low season. I heard that this place can get packed during the holidays so book wisely.

Room Tip: The lakeside bungalows are a must for couples who want privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FelixMercury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte K, Owner at Bunyonyi Safaris Resort, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
We would like to thank you for visiting our countryside hotel and taking the time to write about it. It was a pleasure hosting you. We hope you will visit again with a bigger family of many happy children! Since you visited we have changed our garden lights to solar, we are also in the process of changing all the dining room furniture as well as bed room furniture. We also have more crafts and will boost that with more pictures depicting the way if life of the surrounding community. Our aim is to give the visitor a snapshot of what life is like in the neighborhood. We hope next time you visit you will take a bike ride or a hike up the hill to explore the village and view the beautiful sunset against a backdrop of volcanoes. Thank you once again for your time and for the visit?
Charlotte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kabale
0.0 mi away
Bunyonyi Overland Resort
0.0 mi away
Gorilla Safari Lodge
Gorilla Safari Lodge
#2 of 3 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
84 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bushara Island Camp
Bushara Island Camp
#9 of 29 in Kabale
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Crater Bay Cottages
Crater Bay Cottages
#5 of 29 in Kabale
88 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lake Bunyonyi Rock Resort
0.0 mi away
Bunyonyi View Gorilla Packers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bunyonyi Safaris Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bunyonyi Safaris Resort

Property: Bunyonyi Safaris Resort
Address: Bunyonyi | Lake Bunyonyi, Kabale 256, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Western Region > Kabale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Kabale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bunyonyi Safaris Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bunyonyi Safaris Resort (BSR) is a countryside hotel located on the shores of Lake Bunyonyi in South Western Uganda.. Accommodation is in form of 6 cottages and 40 hotel rooms. All rooms are fully furnished and self contained. The hotel gives you an opportunity to hike the hills, enjoy the scenery of the lake, hills, volcanoes and the beautiful sunset. The hotel supports some vulnerable families through a non profit foundation known as BSR Foundation. The aim is to sustainably alleviate poverty and protect the environment without creating dependency. As such, we train and employ local youth and they actually manage and run the hotel with limited supervision. The hotel is ideal for groups, families, honey moon and corporate retreats. if you need a quite, secluded and natural environment, this is it. We have mountain bikes, canoes, boats, fishing rod, pool table, gym. table tennis, pool table, volley ball and football pitch for your entertainment. A steam bath and sauna are underway. Gorilla tracking in any of the nearby parks can be arranged. Our nearest airport is Kigali, less than 100km away in the neighboring country of Rwanda.Food is mostly fresh vegetables and fruits grown locally. We also have speciality cray fish from the lake. For groups interested in self catering, there's a kitchen just for that. A campfire dinner by the lakeside and a breakfast on the roof terrace are experiences you will appreciate if the weather allows. So what are you waiting for? Be our guest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Jovago.com and Priceline so you can book your Bunyonyi Safaris Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing