We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Wonderful”
Review of Byoona Amagara

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kabale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Byoona Amagara
Ranked #2 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Kabale
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just Wonderful”
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Dreamy views across the islands of the Lake, great staff, excellent food, accomodation is earthy but romantic, profits go to the community. Wish I could have stayed longer as do most others I spoke to there. What else is there that needs to be said !

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank JSP-Lon-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    58
    16
    5
    3
See reviews for
25
61
37
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
East Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Byoona Amagara is a wonderfully nice and relaxing place to take a breather on beautiful Lake Bunyonyi. The accommodations are simple but nice, the staff is very friendly, the grounds are clean and refreshing, the food is good and the overall environment is inviting and peaceful. I would absolutely stay here again and again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014

Byoona Amagara is one of the most unique places I have ever stayed at. Breathtaking views, affordable cottages that fully blend in with the natural environment, and delicious food. Profits go to sustainable community development of the region.

To get to the island, you hire a local fisherman who will paddle you there in a canoe. If you are in more of a hurry, there is also a motorized boat that can take you there.

We stayed at the family cottage, which was spacious and cozy. The shower is outside with a spectacular view on the lake. It is equipped with a dry toilet, to have a minimum impact on the environment. The geodomes also looked amazing, one side of them is open so you feel like you're sleeping outdoors.

The menu is very elaborate, with a lot of great fish dishes and many options for vegetarians.

I will definitely return to this peaceful place!

Room Tip: The family cottage is great if you are in a group of 3 or more people. For couples, the geodomes are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkston, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 12, 2014

I went here with three of my sisters and stayed at a Geodome basic and absolutely loved it! The island was beautiful and so peaceful. It was a great getaway from the craziness of life. The food at the resort was good and decent prices.

I would recommend staying here if you are in the area!

Room Tip: Definitely do a Geodome. They are huts that are open to the water so have a beautiful view! And they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hoxsiemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VAncouver
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Set in exquisite surroundings , lovely quirky accommodation, spotless, excellent staff and great food . I Highly recommend this place. The road getting there is tough at the end. The lake is lovely and the bird life is fascinating

Room Tip: geodes are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank segalb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sallycinnamon999
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014

The geodomes are lovely and something a bit different, with great views. Food is nice and very good value for money. Lots of activities like biking, canoeing, swimming, movies. Polite, helpful staff. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sallycinnamon999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arua, Uganda
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014

We were a group of 6 people we really enjoyed Byoona Amagara this is really a fantastic place with an amazing view out of the Geodomes and Cottages. But in the end we left the island without our backpacks!!

The food is in our opinion well-price and good and you can get a beer for 4,000 UGX, what you barely find in other touristic places. We made a trip with a boat what is also a good fun even if need some time to learn how to do it.

So I would really recommend this place, but unfortunately someone stole our backpacks in our last night. We left our Geodome Cottage to have dinner and some drinks with our friends in the restaurant, after we came back the backpacks where gone. Luckily we had the most worthy things like laptops, cameras with us. The other backs where too big for the locker, so we ask if we can leave things at the reception. The manager said this locker should be enough and a night guard is also around, so we didn´t mind to leave this bags behind.

After a troublesome night was the manager helpful and went with us to the police and also took care that we get the report, because we had to return to Kampala. The police officer told us that the guards on the island are too few for the size and that it´s the fault of Byoona Amagara so they have to refund us for the lost things, if the thief cannot be caught.

From our side we didn´t want to make the burden on them to big and we tried to get the money for the insured things from the insurance. The other not insured things we told the manager that we want Byoona Amagara to refund this. In the beginning he said he understands and the police as well said that they have to pay all, so we thought they can at least pay the uninsured part. After we send the list with the things we were demanding, the owner of the company just replied per mail and said he is sorry and it is our fault. So now we have to go the long way with the police.

So it is a beautiful place but we really felt unsecure in the last night, if you sleep in open cottages and you cannot be sure that anytime someone can stand in front of your bed.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom_Travels99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kabale hotels
2.3 mi away
Bunyonyi Overland Resort
1.4 mi away
Bushara Island Camp
Bushara Island Camp
#9 of 29 in Kabale
66 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lake Bunyonyi Eco Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Itambira Island, Seeds of Hope
0.2 mi away
Paradise Eco-Hub
Paradise Eco-Hub
#5 of 21 in Kabale
3 reviews
4.8 mi away
Crater Bay Cottages
Crater Bay Cottages
#5 of 29 in Kabale
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Byoona Amagara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Byoona Amagara

Property: Byoona Amagara
Address: Itambira Island | Lake Bunyonyi, Kabale, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Western Region > Kabale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Kabale
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Byoona Amagara Island Retreat is a one-of-a-kind traveler's paradise located on an island peninsula at the heart of the lake. We cater to independent travelers and backpackers looking to get well off the beaten track. We have a gorgeous location overlooking a protected island cove, perfect for swimming, canoeing, hiking or just about anything else you can think of. We also have creative and comfortable lodgings, famously fresh and delicious food, sweeping views of the lake's islands and hills, and a variety of fun and interesting tours and activities... Not to mention some of the most affordable prices in all of East Africa! We also have Internet service available, as well as an amazing library and cinema with hundreds of great books and films. What Byoona Amagara does NOT have is noise, dust, overland trucks, mosquitoes (very few anyway!), or prices that insult your intelligence (or empty your wallet). Come stay in one of our beautiful geodomes and experience Lake Bunyonyi at its very best! Byoona Amagara is a staff-owned, not-for-profit establishment dedicating 100% of proceeds to support education and sustainable community development at Lake Bunyonyi. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing