We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to stay”
Review of Byoona Amagara

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kabale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Byoona Amagara
Ranked #2 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Kabale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 8, 2011

I can't compare this to other accomodations on Lake Bunyoni, but I'd definitely recommend it. We stayed in a Deluxe Geodome, which was a beautiful room with an amazing view out over the lake. I'd strongly advise booking this type of room in advance. The food and dining area was one of the nicest in any place we stayed in Uganda and the meals were superb. The staff (special thanks to Junior and Gad) made us feel very welcome.

Overall, my only regret was that we only had 2 nights here (and arrived quite late the first evening as well) as it's a wonderful place to relax.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simonalkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (200)
There are newer reviews for Byoona Amagara
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 200 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2011

I stayed 4 nights with 2 other friends in one of the deluxe geodomes. It was the most relaxing 4 days with minimal access to the outside world (ie minimal Internet, etc). Byoona Amagara is run as a perfectly sustainable establishment, with solar power energy and no unnecessary waste.

The restaurant served the best food we had in uganda (try the prawns stuffed in avocado, the chapatti 'burrito' an generous fruit bowl).

I highly recommend staying here. Make it the end of your trip to uganda for the perfect relaxing finale to your trip.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LPJexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2011

Had a great few days chilling at byoona amagara. We stayed in a geodome which we highly recommend and also a cabin which was good but nothing special, so we went back to the three-walled geodome! There's nothing like waking up to the view of sunrise over a calm lake and nothing between you and it but fresh air. Food and drink was pretty good overall. You need to plan ahead as it's all done at africa pace, but that's fine. Beers weren't always that cold, but there's a very good reason for that as they use solar power to cover all of the electricity needs on the island. Highly recommend taking a dugout around the lake, they're more challenging to paddle than you think. Great price too.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jon o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2011

We spent 6 wonderful nights here. The lodge and lake are beautiful, the accommodations comfortable, the staff friendly and helpful, and the food is delicious. It's rustic, but that's why you go there. It's incredibly relaxing, as good as Ghana's magnificent Green Turtle Lodge. The Deluxe Geo-Dome is quite possibly the finest and most relaxing accommodation on the planet, and the basic geo-dome (where we spent our first night) is comfortable. Both have great views. The perfect place to go if you just want to get away for a few days. We can't recommend it enough! It's the type of place that you make a trip to Uganda specifically to stay at Byoona Amagara. And talk to Jason with Amagara tours about the rest of your stay. We hired an affordable car/driver for an 6 day trip around Rwanda.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drakeflock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2010

OK, let me begin by stating that I will be very biased in my review. On top of staying here for 4 nights, Jason (the founder of this Island Retreat) arranged for me and my girlfriend at 14 day trip around Uganda. He single-handily made our trip to Uganda one we will never forget.

Byoona Amagara it get's top marks for service. The entire staff is extremely friendly, and always willing to take the extra step to make your visit an enjoyable one. On top of that, they are supporting the development of their community. Did I mention the food? Amazing. I'm not really sure how they do it but this has to be one of the best kitchens in all of Uganda. You can get a wonderful breakfast for around $2 and dinners for less then $7. If you can book early, try to stay in the VIP Geodome. While Amagara is not the Katara or Paraa Lodges, you don't pay the same price as these places. This is a very unique place that may typically cater to backpackers but take the opportunity to spend a few days here to simply relax, enjoy the view and have some delicious food.

My girlfriend and I are both in our 40s, work in a bank and have seen lots of the world but when we arrived at Byoona Amagara, we knew 3 days wasn't long enough. This is definitely a great place to visit following a gorilla trek in Bwindi.

Safe travels....

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stinkyrules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2010

Loved our stay on the island - so relaxing and terrific views everywhere you look. Absolutely book the Deluxe Geodome, for $5 extra it is twice as nice as the other geodomes. You'll wake up with amazing views from your bed in any of them, though. Food was good and as cheap as anywhere we saw in Uganda.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dean J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2010

You need a place to kick back, a place out of traffic and to relax..bathing, reading....
You make a good choice here. Clean with a helping staff, open on the lake.
The room just need a little help like sheet big enough for the bed, a mirror, a bin, a place to hang your clothes
We recommend that place for everyone

M & D

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Road20years
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kabale hotels
2.3 mi away
Bunyonyi Overland Resort
1.4 mi away
Bushara Island Camp
Bushara Island Camp
#9 of 29 in Kabale
67 reviews
0.2 mi away
Paradise Eco-Hub
Paradise Eco-Hub
#6 of 21 in Kabale
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Itambira Island, Seeds of Hope
4.8 mi away
Crater Bay Cottages
Crater Bay Cottages
#6 of 29 in Kabale
90 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lake Bunyonyi Eco Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Byoona Amagara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Byoona Amagara

Address: Itambira Island | Lake Bunyonyi, Kabale, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Western Region > Kabale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Kabale
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Byoona Amagara Island Retreat is a one-of-a-kind traveler's paradise located on an island peninsula at the heart of the lake. We cater to independent travelers and backpackers looking to get well off the beaten track. We have a gorgeous location overlooking a protected island cove, perfect for swimming, canoeing, hiking or just about anything else you can think of. We also have creative and comfortable lodgings, famously fresh and delicious food, sweeping views of the lake's islands and hills, and a variety of fun and interesting tours and activities... Not to mention some of the most affordable prices in all of East Africa! We also have Internet service available, as well as an amazing library and cinema with hundreds of great books and films. What Byoona Amagara does NOT have is noise, dust, overland trucks, mosquitoes (very few anyway!), or prices that insult your intelligence (or empty your wallet). Come stay in one of our beautiful geodomes and experience Lake Bunyonyi at its very best! Byoona Amagara is a staff-owned, not-for-profit establishment dedicating 100% of proceeds to support education and sustainable community development at Lake Bunyonyi. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing