We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorilla Tracking was amazing”

Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$1,620.00*
and up
3 Days Gorilla Trekking to Bwindi
More Info
$2,188.00*
and up
3 Day 2 Night Bwindi Gorillas Trek
More Info
$2,700.00*
and up
4 Days Flying Gorilla Safari From Uganda
Ranked #1 of 15 things to do in Kabale
Certificate of Excellence
Tenbury Wells, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Gorilla Tracking was amazing”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Loved the fact we didn't have to go to far, Gorillas got on with their day, good preparation briefing and Glorious our porter was excellent and great value for money.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Belinda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    570
    41
    6
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kampala
Level 6 Contributor
26 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Gorilla permit fees and accessibility of bwindi forest”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Gorillas can be trekked year round, but prices to trek these endangered mountain gorillas differ basing on low and high months.

The current price of Gorilla permits for Uganda Bwindi forest and Mgahinga gorilla national park is 600USD for high season (January, February, March, June, July, August, September, October and December) and
350USD for low season (April, May and November)
All gorilla permits have to be booked in advance since they are on high demand.

Tips
-Bwindi forest has 4 gorilla groups that are divided into families namely;
Ruhija group, Buhoma group(northern bwindi), Rushaga group and Nkuringo group(southern bwindi)
-Accommodation should be booked after gorilla permits. You need to know the gorilla group to trek first then book accommodation.
-Public transport to the trekking points of these gorilla groups is impossible,one needs to organize private transport to these areas.

For help inbox me or send e-mail at jaquka@yahoo.com

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank ugandasafaris p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karatu, Tanzania
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“GO GORILLA TREKKING”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

This park is absolutely beautiful- the massive hills and winding roads give you never-ending beautiful landscapes. We went gorilla trekking which- while expensive- was absolutely worth it. We trekked the Rushaga region and saw the silverback, two females, and two juveniles- and got to stay with them for an hour- it was an absolutely amazing experience. The experience of trekking through the thick jungle to get there was also tons of fun, but i would recommend wearing sturdy hiking boots because it can be muddy and really slippery. Also wearing long sleeves probably would have been a good idea (our guides told us to keep our jackets on but it was so hot! The thorns are nasty though). I would also recommend bringing gloves, again because of the thorns. If you dont have your own the guides will give you a chance to rent them. Long pants and long socks to tuck your pants into are a must because safari ants are a serious thing.

I would also recommend organizing this through a company so that they can secure the permits for you. We organized this on our own and the process of securing, paying for, and acquiring our permits from the Uganda Wildlife Authority was a 3 month ordeal so using a company easily would have been worth it.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank twendesasa90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Kampala, Uganda
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Incredible Gorilla Experience”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Trekking Gorillas in a natural UNESCO Heritage site is what makes Bwindi Impenetrable National park a special experience. You can now trekk Gorillas from any of the 12 gorilla families. You can trek Bwindi Gorillas from any of the 4 locations Buhoma (norther side), Ruhija (eastern side), Nhsongi & Nkuringo (southern side) and each starting point giving you different scenic experiences. You can get the best Gorilla photo moments during the wet season of April, May & Nov 2013 when Gorilla Permits are discounted to $350. You save on $250 from the current price of $600. Consider your next Africa Safari adventure with Gorillas at Bwindi Impenetrable National Park Uganda

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Samuel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayfield, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“What an experience”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

It is almost impenetrable, but worth the effort. Seeing the gorillas after trekking through some very steep and difficult terrain was amazing and truly awe inspiring. I happily sat on a thistle to be close to these magnificent creatures. To look in to their faces and recognize so many of my own features was humbling. There is no sugar coating that the hike in and out was tough. It was! But it was so very worth it.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank QuitosCGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bwindi Impenetrable National Park also viewed

 
Murchison Falls National Park, Western Region
 

Been to Bwindi Impenetrable National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing