We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good adventure”

Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$1,620.00*
and up
3 Days Gorilla Trekking to Bwindi
Ranked #1 of 14 things to do in Kabale
Certificate of Excellence
Paris
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“good adventure”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

From the west part of Uganda bwindi impenetrable forest was the best! It is hard to get and get away from there, so it is better if you plan ahead, but its worth it.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bachelett c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    550
    40
    6
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
95 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Cycling in Bwindi”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Due to work commitments, a friend and I spent two nights in Bwindi: an unforgettable experience. If you are in Uganda, don't miss it. We travelled from Rukungiri district using a hired 4WD+driver. The roads to Bwindi are mostly dirt roads.It took nearly 8 hours to arrive. We got stayed at and ultra-low-cost accommodation where everything -from food to bed- was very basic yet the staff were friendly and helpful. In one day we managed to see the Gorillas, take a 3-hour trek and a 3 hour bike-ride throughout the local community. We hired our bikes from Ride-4-a-woman. An NGO that strives to empower women living in extreme poverty by providing them with career skills like fabric making, craft making, bicycle repair, and learning English. A half-day tour with a local guide costs around US$50. The bikes are not well maintained and we had them repaired half-way throughour trip, however, the experience was beyond words, the views were fantastic and the people we met along the way were admirable. I would recommend it wholeheartedly.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lilach M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Incredible experience”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

This is a once in a once in a life time experience. My self and three girl friends completed a two day trek. The first day we hiked for six hours, mostly up hill, to find the gorilla family. We were within ten feet from the silverback and five other gorillas. Our guides were wonderful making sure we were positioned close to them to get excellent pictures. The second day we asked to see a family of gorillas that had babies. The second day we came upon the gorilla family after four hours of hiking through very dense jungle. This family had several mothers with babies. The silverback always positioned himself between us and his family. I suggest that everyone hire a porter. We were hiking in very dense jungle, through rivers, going up and down steep terrain. My porter, Deuce, pulled me up many hills and many times saved me from sliding down the mountainous terrain. Be prepared with rain gear, gaiters, water, bug spray and one hiking stick( you need your other hand free for your porter to help you up the mountain).

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Moose7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Two hundred kilos of muscles!”
Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

We went to see the gorillas. We knew that the trip would be hard, but there was an option to hire a carrier and we did. It was a good choice because the carrier carried our bag and helped to make the hike easier. Plus by hiring a carrier you can help the local people. We were lucky. Within 2,5 hours we found the silverback, Mishaya. Wow! It was amazing! We were facing 200 kilos of muscles! The silver back was looking at us and then moved to his group. In the group were 2 young ones, 1 of 18 months and a baby. They were playing and the other gorillas were very relaxed. They were very friendly and the rangers helped us to see the gorillas as good as possible. We could spend one hour with the gorillas. It was beautiful! You can't imagine that those big strong gorillas are so calm. It was an experience of a lifetime. After being with the gorillas we stopped for lunch. It was a nice lunch and after that we made the walk back. It was also a hard trip but it was fully worth it!! When you ever have the change: go and see the friendly muscles!

Helpful?
2 Thank NathaliC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butare, Rwanda
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Worth the drive but lives up to its name!”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Perhaps one of the more remote places I've ever been, Bwindi Impenetrable Park definitely lives up to its name! We stayed at a tented lodge just beyond the park (there are several) which was gorgeous and had amazing service. The road is dirt and to get to the edge of the park it's about 2 hours. 4wd is definitely needed, and I would consider not attempting the drive if it were raining or had it just rained: mud makes it impassable. There is a fee for anything you do in the park plus the park permit itself, but truly it is all worth it! Gorilla tracking can be done here (500$ for non-citizens as compared with 750$ in Rwanda's Volcano's NP) and though we did not do it this trip, our tented lodge neighbors did and were beyond ecstatic about their experience. I hear the gorillas are smaller on the Ugandan side and the thicker forest makes it a bit harder to see them, but there is the price differential. From the side of the dirt road we saw some big game, monkeys, and several gazillion species of birds. The folks in Ruhija town where we stayed were delightful. There are 10$ massages, community cultural activities, and simply enjoying the amazing views was well-worth the trip! We're heading back next month :)

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank CyclingChic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bwindi Impenetrable National Park also viewed

 
Kabale, Western Region
 

Been to Bwindi Impenetrable National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing