We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorillas tracking”

Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$1,620.00*
and up
3 Days Gorilla Trekking to Bwindi
Ranked #1 of 14 things to do in Kabale
Certificate of Excellence
Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Gorillas tracking”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We had a totally wonderful and unbelievable experience! We visited two gorillas groups in two days. The first day was easy with a relatively quick 30min trek before we reach the gorillas. We could go really near them, about 3-5metres away. Generally, they weren't bothered about our existence. it was amazing to catch them in action, the adults feeding and the young ones playing, climbing trees and running around. The second was much tougher but unforgettable! We had to trek through the rainforests and manoeuvre up and down 3 hills(2hrs) before we could reach the gorilla group. Unfortunately, it was raining so it didn't make the trek any easier. But we saw the other side of what the gorillas would do when it rains. It was a truly amazing experience all in all! Highly recommended!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Veldawanrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    540
    39
    6
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
TA
Level Contributor
111 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great experience, but tough”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

The adventure of seeing the gorillas is great and unforgettable, but beware that the tracking may be physically difficult...

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Michal D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“AMAZING MUST DO EXPERIENCE!!”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Wow, wow wow!!! We were here for 3 days in July and visited 2 of the 3 familys of gorillas and what an experience both days were. The guides are amazing and you do not travel for very long as there are trackers out before you go to find the family. The rule is to stay 7 metres away from the gorillas but they come up to you. The images you can get of these creatures are amazing and the money you spend on seeing these creatures goes towards helping them stay alive in their natural area for as long as possible. You only spend an hour with the gorillas but It really is a must do expereince and one i would do again!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great privilege safari in Uganda”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Uganda is home to half of the world’s population of Mountain Gorillas. Extensive efforts at conservation have led to a number of the families being habituated to human contact. Taking a gorilla tracking safari in Uganda is indeed a great privilege to visit these enormously powerful and gentle creatures in their spectacular natural habitat-the tropical forest bordering the Virungas Volcanoes.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank JustTravelUganda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
113 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“A place of wonders!”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Of course, one will mostly come here for one or several gorilla trackings. This is a fabulous experience and we have been very lucky to do 3 with 3 different groups: Rushegura, Mubare and Nshongi.
Tracking the mountain gorillas (which worldwide population is around 820 with about 340 in Bwindi) can be easy to very strenuous. Our first one for Rushegura was 50 minutes back and forth whereas the last one for Nshongi was 8h back and forth with a steep trek. So be prepared for anything between half an hour and 10 hours. At the end, if you are reasonably fit you will reach the gorillas, you will try to keep the recommended distance of 7meters and will be mesmerized by their stunning presence and proximity to mankind. The silverbacks with their 200kgs and more are very impressive but at the end you'll fall in love with a turbulent youngster or a very young baby (we saw a 4 days old baby in Rushegura). From the photographic point of view I would recommend to do at least 2 treks as one might not be enough all the time if you expect good results (sometimes the forest is rather dark and the gorillas can stay in the thickets).
All in all I have found that UWA (Ugandan Wildlife Authority) is doing a great job to preserve the gorillas and involving the local community in this process.

Besides the gorillas, you can do a lot activities in Bwindi like village walks, nature walks, cultural walks (with the Batwa pygmy people)..

The park has a set of beautiful lodges around that you reach on bumpy roads. On the way you can enjoy beautiful landscapes especially when the sun rises and the mist is also rising from the wet forest. I have found the southern part of the park to be a little different: higher with better views on the mountains and sceneries.

All in all a place not to be missed by true wildlife and nature lovers!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank jboule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bwindi Impenetrable National Park also viewed

 
Kabale, Western Region
 

Been to Bwindi Impenetrable National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing