We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great Easter weekend in Bushara Island Camp” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bushara Island Camp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bushara Island Camp
Ranked #6 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Kabale
Certificate of Excellence
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great Easter weekend in Bushara Island Camp”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

We spent an amazing Easter holiday on this island. The staff put all their efforts to make us happy. We had our breakfast on the veranda of our cottage and sometimes we had our lunch on a dock that we picked. Very beautiful island with very helping and friendly staff who made everything possible for us.
The price is worth what you get and more!
Will defo go there again -in a drier season tho :-s-

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MeltemYasar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    21
    4
    3
    3
See reviews for
14
16
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

I spent a long weekend (2 nights) at the Bushara Island Camp. I was a bit worried when I was told that there was no electricity or running water, but this was an amazing experience. The camp is situated in an island in Lake Bunyioni. The nature is amazing, you can't stop wondering around. We stayed in a Safari Tent (Sunbird tent) that was comfortable, and it was a fantastic feeling to have an outside shower in hot water in the beautiful sunshine. All tents are hidden in the nature and have fantastic views to the lake. We enjoyed the calm, peaceful weekend after our busy workdays. The staff was helpful, polite and very friendly. Without previous discussion, Johnson, the Deputy General Manager guided me around the island while telling me the history of the region. This was a nice memory, thank you. The food was delicious and it was even taken to our tent if we requested. We enjoyed the quiet candle light in the evenings.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ildiko K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kabale, Uganda
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

We have just returned to Kisiizi from an amazing weekend at Bushara Island Camp. If you want peace & quiet in stunning surroundings then this is the place to go if you are in Uganda. This is an eco resort on an island in the middle of Lake Bunyonyi and so do not expect running water or electricity, but this is what gives the island its charm, as it takes you away from the worries & strains of everyday life. This is not to say that the facilities are basic, as we stayed in a safari tent overlooking the lake & our every need was catered for. The staff are superb, the food was superb and the environment is superb. Jonson, the Deputy General Manager has a great team working with him, who went beyond our expectations to ensure we had a memorable visit.

Room Tip: All accommodation has amazing views of the lake & surrounding country.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

I really tried to find something positive to say about this place when I read about the fact that it is apparently run by a church and it supports the local communities...but I couldn't find anything. It is obviously in a good location, Lake Bunyonyi is a beautiful place, but our experience at Bushara was nothing but negative.

I went there with my partner and some friends. My partner and I stayed at the Tree House for one night but our friends decided to leave after they heard about our experience at the tree house. The tree house was filthy, as if it had not been cleaned for weeks. The toilet and shower were directly connected to the room but they were outside. There was no roof in the shower area and it was raining quite heavily for most of the time we spent there, so not very pleasant to have a shower. There was no water, not even cold water in the little tank they had for the shower. The door connected to the outside shower could not be locked which made us feel quite unsafe. When registering at the hotel, by chance the receptionist heard me saying to my friends that I'd like a hot shower. She asked me if I wanted hot shower and I said yes, she said when and I said now. She did not reply but the hot water did not come to the room until two hours later, when we were having lunch -a sandwich they offer to full board clients, which takes one hour to be made.

It took them half an hour to come to clean the room after we complained and we asked for a second towel -despite having booked a double room and seeing a number of members of staff around, diligently waiting around clients for tips, and will look surprised and unhappy if no tip is given.

My friend's driver and guide came to the island and sat with us at the restaurant and he was bombarded with rude questions about whether he would have some food and what was he doing in the island when it was obvious he was with us. After lunch, my friends decided to find alternative accommodation as they were not impressed with the place, the fact that there was no electricity and the service. My friends were treated in a rude way too when they informed reception that they were leaving, they were accused of having had drinks they hadn't had and asked for payment.

When our friends left, we told the receptionist that we were not happy with the room nor the service and would only stay for one of the two nights we had reserved. From then, some of the members of staff tried to be friendly and helpful whilst others were rude, for example the waitress who brought the dinner menu and threw the menu at us on the table.

The menu is varied, but the quality of the food we had was really poor, particularly considering the price we were paying for the accommodation and full board. We also heard the people sitting at the next table were complaining about their food. The oven was broken, but they only told us after inviting us to have a look at their long menu and once both my partner and I had chosen dishes that required baking. This category included around 50% or more of the menu and in my opinion it would have made sense to warn us before we started looking through it.

After asking for our final bill before leaving and settling it, the receptionist came to the table to say that we ought to pay a bottle of water we had last night. Again, this should have been part of the bill, in my view.

I imagine this place will be a better experience for someone who would enjoy having a hot shower from a hot bucket and no electricity, but this was not what we were looking for during our stay at Lake Bunyonyi. It would have been helpful to have this information on the website, in advance.

Room Tip: Keep in mind that there is no current water and hot water service is not immediate and that there is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LepAar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed in Bushara for 2 nights in the treehouse. It felt like you were in the middle of nowhere and on your own island. We were unfortunate with the weather (it was pretty cold and raining) but we still managed to take out a dug out canoe and go swimming in the lake (belharzia free). The food was good although you have to give them some warning. The room was clean and comfortable and it was actually made more special by the lack of electricity and one of the members of staff bringing down your hot water for a shower! Overall a lovely place to get away.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BeciE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamden, Connecticut
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Amazing tree house accommodations, wonderful views and attentive staff. A wonderful retreat after an exhausting safari. We absolutely loved our stay at Bushara Island! The privacy of the island and each of the rooms is amazing - it feels like you have the entire island to yourself. We also thoroughly enjoyed the evening fire in the restaurant area. There were only a few other guests and it was truly an amazing experience. It is also a wonderful place to star gaze and enjoy bird watching. Food is excellent!

Room Tip: Highly recommend staying in the "tree house!" It was truly the treat of our entire trip!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LaLuna333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

Spent a couple of very enjoyable days relaxing here after climbing the Rwenzori mountains. Arrived by boat on the tranquil lake and did nothing for 2 days except walked the island (approx 15 mins round), sat on our balcony watching birds and spotting otters and wondering up to the Swallows restaurant for crayfish!!! Basic but very comfortable huts with a fabulous hot outdoor shower. The staff were wonderful waking us with morning coffee and pre-ordered pancakes (huge portions!) Seems to be a one night stop after the gorillas but definitely worth longer.... If you like birds - an absolute paradise (240 species confirmed sightings).

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Joanna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kabale
1.7 mi away
Bunyonyi Overland Resort
24.5 mi away
Five Volcanoes Boutique Hotel
0.8 mi away
Lake Bunyonyi Eco Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bunyonyi Safaris Resort
Bunyonyi Safaris Resort
#11 of 29 in Kabale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
1.8 mi away
Arcadia Cottages
Arcadia Cottages
#9 of 29 in Kabale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
16.3 mi away
Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp
Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp
#6 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bushara Island Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bushara Island Camp

Property: Bushara Island Camp
Address: PO Box 794, Kabale, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Western Region > Kabale
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Kabale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Jovago.com so you can book your Bushara Island Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing