We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, better then the lake itself”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Birdnest Resort - Lake Bunyonyi
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kabale
Certificate of Excellence
Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, better then the lake itself”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Birdnest is a surprisingly large hotel, with a beautiful setting overlooking the lake. Very large rooms, lovely pool, lovely terrace/bar, excellent cooking...what else do you want? Having said so, we were not so excited about the lake Bunyoni as such. Sure it's nice, but there are much more spectacular spots to see in Uganda !

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Dirk3061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    69
    15
    4
    4
See reviews for
47
104
16
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
DC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

The scenery here is absolutely breathtaking,but something needs to be done to improve the level of service.The staff seem rushed,to the point of sometimes sprinting across the room,but nothing comes out of the kitchen any faster! The owner is a bit on the grumpy side.The pool is beautiful,but whole eco cleaning thing is NOT working,there were tadpoles and all kinds of dirt in the water.Might as well take a dip in the lake,at least the water there isn't stagnant! My biggest complaint- staff hygiene:I just watched a waitress exit the toilet in the lobby(no latch),and yes-SHE DID NOT WASH HER HANDS!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

This gem of a hotel at the northern shore of Lake Bunyonyi FAR surpasses any other lodging at Bunyonyi and the surrounding area of Kabale. Our large ultra modern rooms had a large balcony overlooking the picturesque lake. The atmosphere was always peaceful and serene. Dining is always a pleasure with an extensive menu and bar offerings at reasonable prices. The chicken parcel is outstanding! (We did not find a restaurant of this caliber in or near Kabale.) All areas of the hotel were impressively decorated and the terraced gardens give way to the environmentally friendly swimming pool below. Inside and outside dining if offered. On cool evenings, the large stone fire pit is lit and gives even more ambiance to this idyllic location. Our host, Pablo, and his staff were invaluable to our family during our on-again, off-again 2 1/2 week stay. Our luggage was delayed in Brussels for eight days and Pablo was vigilant in tracking our luggage with daily updates. The staff was more than helpful with washing the small amount of clothing that we had in our possession. They made us feel completely at home and turned a possible disaster of a trip into an experience that , for us, will be forever a pleasurable memory.

Room Tip: Every room is a winner!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank zach m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scheldewindeke, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I travelled in Kenia, Tanzania, Rwanda and several times in Uganda, and this was one of the best experiences I ever had in Africa.The view over the lake is really amazing. The staff is young but very enthousiastic. Food is delicious and the rooms are very spacious and beautifull decorated. I certainly go back to this little paradise...


Lieven De Corte
Belgium

Room Tip: All rooms have almost the same view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mzungulieven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for two nights when travelling through Uganda and it has been one of the best experiences ever. Beautiful location, very spacious and nicely decorated rooms, excellent cuisine and very welcoming service. For example, all our clothes were dirty and we arrived late at night, but still a staff member was so kind to wash some items by hand and let it dry in the early morning sun so we had clean clothes to wear that day. When sitting on the terrace overlooking the beautiful lake, you feel overwhelmed by unimaginary calmness and serenity. True heaven after a few less luxurious days in one of the gorilla trekking camps.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlotte C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horgen
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

The hotel is located at the lake Bunyonyi. From my room I had a wonderful view to the lake. I had a nice room in the first floor - do not remember the number.

The room and bath room were clean and nicely equipped. I had a big balcony from where I was able to spot different birds. In the evening at approx. 5:30pm the owner feeded a kite. It was quite amazing to watch this bird picking up the pieces of meat in the air.

Dinner was served in the dining room. You can choose from the menu. I had first a soup and then some chicken with coconut. It was delicious .

Early morning the view to the lake is spectacular - beautiful sunrise. the only bad thing was that I only had one night at this beautiful place. It is definitely worth to spend some more days. Especially if you like birding.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

Stated for two nights in January. Took a wonderful tour with Johnson and Captain Dan all round the lake. The lake is 900 metres deep but you can swim as it is warm enough. Delicious crayfish and excellent steaks. Smiling, unhurried service. Will be back.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EvefromLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kabale
0.2 mi away
Bunyonyi Overland Resort
18.5 mi away
Gorilla Safari Lodge
Gorilla Safari Lodge
#1 of 3 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
88 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lake Bunyonyi Eco Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lake Bunyonyi Rock Resort
24.6 mi away
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
#2 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
399 reviews
6.2 mi away
Crater Bay Cottages
Crater Bay Cottages
#6 of 29 in Kabale
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birdnest Resort - Lake Bunyonyi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birdnest Resort - Lake Bunyonyi

Property: Birdnest Resort - Lake Bunyonyi
Address: Bunyonyi Road, Kitumba, Kabale, Uganda
Phone Number:
Location: Uganda > Western Region > Kabale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kabale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BirdNest Resort offers individually decorated, luxurious rooms, each boasting its own balcony with breathtaking Lake Bunyonyi views. Our restaurant offers international cuisine as well as local dishes. Guests can unwind in a lounge area furnished with comfortable lounge seats and enjoy drinks from the bar, or simply relax by the natural ecological swimming pool. Free internet is available for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Birdnest Resort - Lake Bunyonyi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing