We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing hotel location with great food!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Birdnest at Bunyonyi Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kabale
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“An amazing hotel location with great food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

We decided to stay at Birdnest by paying extra on top of our gorilla trekking safari and we were glad we made that decision. We were welcomed by Pacino the resident dog after a long drive from Ruhija.

The staff was friendly and we were shown to our deluxe room with a lake view soon after.

The room was clean and spacious with a fake balcony where we were able to admire sunset.

Bathroom was modern and water pressure was adequate.

The guests are welcome to take the wooden canoe out on the lake, or play a round or two of billiard games. The terrace has an amazing view of the lake and a fire was started in the large fire pit after sunset to keep the chill at bay if one decides to dine on the terrace.

Dinner was included in our room price and it was the best dinner we had in Uganda. However, the service was a bit slow, but the staff was apologetic and informed us periodically that the meal was coming.

As it got a bit chilly at night, we closed all the windows/doors to keep the chill as well as the mosquitoes out. The room got stuffy and warm in the middle of the night, so we had to open up the windows and balcony door to get some air in.

Breakfast was also amazing! We ate like we hadn't eaten in ages! The menu was extensive and very generous portion!

All in all, it was an excellent experience and would love to go back again if given a chance!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank earthworm88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    60
    13
    4
    3
See reviews for
39
100
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

This is the best hotel in Uganda! Friendly staff, excellent food and amazing view on Lake Bunyonyi. We stayed in Birdnest for one week and enjoyed each minute.
We recommend this hotel and hope to back there in a couple of years.

Mila and Victor - Honeymooners

Room Tip: we were in room#3 (family suite), it was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MilaPolonski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Have just returned from an extended stay at Birdnest. Our daughter, who is working with a charity organisation in that area booked us into this gem of a hotel. We stayed a total of 10 nights and it was wonderful. The views from our room and the terraced area are just breathtaking. The food is goooooood, you just have to go for any of the crayfish meals. Rooms are well maintained and clean. The staff are very friendly and helpfull and good fun when you get to know them better. I noted in one of the previous comments that the service was slow... having now been to African locations a few times now this is just how it is. Try Ghana if you want slow!!
Great location.
A big thank you to Pablo and all the staff, but have to give Lillian a special mention, for making our stay a joy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimnAnna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansted, St. Croix
Level Contributor
43 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

We planned one night only at the Birdsnest@Bunyonyi Resort. I think it deserves a little lengthier stay. Best tomatoes (we don't get those in St. Croix), comfortable room, very nice staff. Enjoyed the food as well. Had wifi, which we did not use, as we were in a hurry to get to Bwindi. It really is a nice property, right on the edge of the lake, with pool and on a quiet spot. If you wish to relax, I think will do for you. Pablo is the manager and a very nice Belgian, who visited one day and just stayed.

Room Tip: Ours had two queen beds....overlooking the lake on the top floor. Funky bathroom but it worked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank crucian-high
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

We didn't stay here but I can testify that we did eat a delicious meal... probably the best we had in Uganda... but the service was extremely slow... we waited almost 1 hour for the food! But food so good is rare in that part of Uganda so I would say it was worth it. The outside area is also very nice to sit and enjoy the view and the bonfire if it gets cool. We were in Bunyoni at a very quiet time and this place was busy which also helps the atmosphere!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanHan81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoevelaken, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

I am writing this in English and not in Dutch because I want the whole world to be able to read this!
Before coming to the Birdnest my husband got ill with Malaria. Our Uganda tour was halfway when we arrived at the Birdnest where we were supposed to stay for two nights.

When we got out of the car we were welcomed in such a warm and loving way I had never experienced in my whole life. The peacefulness that breaths through this place is so wonderful that we decided to change our travel plans and stay here for the rest of our holiday, in total 6 nights. We both knew for sure that the birdnest with its staff would help my husband get back on his feet again. And so it did!!
The personal attention you recieve at this place is one of a kind and you immediately feel at home.
The food which is prepared by "the chef" and his kitchenstaff is of such excellence as of a top class restaurant. The way the waitresses serve you is an example for many european restaurants to follow. All of them Ugandan people trained by Pablo, a belgium who knows how to manage a hotel and an ever so kind host!
The rooms are great and big with a fantastic view over the lake. A nice big bed, clean sheets, a very nice bathroom, always hot water, clean towels and in the room enough plugs to reload your camera or telephone.
And than at last the place itself with its beautiful building, the restaurant, the terras looking out over the lake, the gardens, the swimmingpool, the birds............
The only word I can think of is: TRANQUILITY.

My advice to all travellers: book your stay for more than two nights; you will really feel completely rested when leaving.

Thank you Pablo and staff for making our holiday an unforgettable one!
Miss you all
Meino and Hilde

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HildeJongma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bwindi Impenetrable National Park, Uganda
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

Always fantastic food and very friendly. Wonderful views of the lake and hills. Easily the best place to relax in Kabale - the children love the swimming pool too! Looking forward to coming back again soon ……...:)

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank BakigaLodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kabale
0.2 mi away
Bunyonyi Overland Resort
18.5 mi away
Gorilla Safari Lodge
Gorilla Safari Lodge
#2 of 3 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bunyonyi Safaris Resort
Bunyonyi Safaris Resort
#11 of 29 in Kabale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Lake Bunyonyi Eco Resort
0.0 mi away
Lake Bunyonyi Rock Resort
0.8 mi away
Arcadia Cottages
Arcadia Cottages
#6 of 29 in Kabale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birdnest at Bunyonyi Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birdnest at Bunyonyi Resort

Property: Birdnest at Bunyonyi Resort
Address: Bunyonyi Road, Kitumba, Kabale, Uganda
Phone Number:
Location: Uganda > Western Region > Kabale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kabale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BirdNest Resort offers individually decorated, luxurious rooms, each boasting its own balcony with breathtaking Lake Bunyonyi views. Our restaurant offers international cuisine as well as local dishes. Guests can unwind in a lounge area furnished with comfortable lounge seats and enjoy drinks from the bar, or simply relax by the natural ecological swimming pool. Free internet is available for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Birdnest at Bunyonyi Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing