We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only place to go in Kabale. Fantastic.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Birdnest Resort - Lake Bunyonyi
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kabale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 13, 2012

My wife and I spent 1 week in Uganda with some friends and following a mountain gorilla trail we booked ourselves here for a few nights r&r. It was the perfect choice. The location is perfect, sitting on the edge of beautiful lake bunyoni. The rooms open up onto the lake so no better views. The general atmosphere is relaxed, with nothing seeming too much trouble. The food is good quality and with good variation. The owners are a lovely, professional, relaxed Belgian couple. All in all, a great place to chill and relax with cold beer and good food.
Recommend the walk up to the top of the surrounding hils, to a hotel called Arcadia. The place is terrible as a hotel but the views are unbelievable. We went there for a few beers and watched he sun come down over the lake. Well worth it.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chips10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (263)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 263 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2012

We travelled from Kampala - a rough and hot 6 hour journey - but the destination and hotel are very well worth it. As soon as you step into the hotel lobby, the views across the lake spread out before you and are breathtaking. It was absolutely beautiful, peaceful, friendly smiling staff and great food. Nothing was too much trouble and Gita and Ruf (the owners) are very sociable and made us feel extremely welcome. The bedrooms all have stunning views across the lake, meals are taken either in the restaurant, or on the terrace, and at night a large fire is lit to keep guests warm on cooler evenings. It was one of the loveliest places I've ever been - thank you all so much for the experience - I would recommend it to anyone wanting a tranquil relaxing break in a beautiful part of Uganda, and hope very much to return.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vuskacat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2012

Great location, terrible hotel, acceptable restaurant, horrible rooms!

Wanted to try somewhere new and stayed here because of favorable reviews. Big mistake! Very unpleasant experience! Bring incense or scented candles if you choose to stay here. Management has patronizing, disparaging attitude towards Africans including both staff and guests. White Horse is a better choice.

Room Tip: Find one in a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank UgandaHuey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2012

My partner and I and our sons (17 and 18 years old) spent relaxing five days / six nights at this hotel, after travelling in Western Uganda, doing bird watching and chimp and gorilla trekking. The hotel is located at the entrance to the Lake Bunyonyi area (coming from Kabala). Despite being on the access road to the lake, the passing traffic at the back of the hotel is no bother.
We were initially not sure about staying in a hotel, rather than in other self-catering chalets around the lake or on one of the 28 islands in the lake. But after having visited some of the other establishments, and after experiencing the hotel for a day or two, we knew we had chosen well.
We found the part-owners, Ruf and Gitta, relaxed and sociable. The staff were friendly and hardworking. The cooks are excellent and the food was the best have had in Uganda: Breakfasts include freshly made fruit juice and crumpets; suppers include tilapia fish dishes, fresh water crayfish, beef, pork and chicken dishes, and heavily-laden scrumptious pizza.
The hotel is run in an environmentally friendly manner. For example, it has a large naturally-filtered swimming pool. It was lovely to swim in the equivalent of pure drinking water with no chemicals!
We rowed daily for hours, did bird watching galore. We also rented a local motorboat for a long excursion on the lake, viewing swamp and other birds.
There is no internet connection. The owners have tried trough various cell phone companies, but have not yet been successful in getting a good connection established.
The accommodation on the top floors is still being finished, but the place has a sense of being complete.

Room Tip: Rooms 5 and 6 are above the restaurant and this sometimes a bit noisy. Try family suite 4 - quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dawie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2011

We stayed at the Birdnest resort as part of our package deal in Uganda and could not have been happier with anything. The room was beautiful with a spectacular view of the Lake and the food was above and beyond what we expected. Our trip in Uganda made up a section of our honeymoon and we loved every part of our stay. We would not hesitate to go back and stay again, and highly recommend a stay at the resort to anyone who is considering a trip to Uganda.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samantha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2011

We stayed at Birdnest for 2 nights as a relaxing end to a very hectic safari and gorilla trekking holiday and it was excellent. After being very warmly welcomed by the hotel's resident dog, we were shown to our room to chill and refresh oursleves before even checking in. Pablo was very helpful, social and a great host. We were very grateful for our room upgrade and I can honestly say this hotel had the most compfortable beds of our whole stay in Uganda and Rwanda.
The food in the restaurant is very nice and great value and the breakfast menu was as extensive as the snack and main meal menu. The beer was cold and there was a great selection of wines to compliment the food.
If we ever get back to Uganda this place will definately be on our itinerary for at least two nights and we would highly recommend a stay here.
Thanks for a great stay!

Room Tip: I think all the rooms have a great view of the lake and surrounding mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kev h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2011

We stayed here after traveling through Uganda for almost two weeks. What a fantastic place, from when we first walked through the door until we left. The rooms were modern, clean and very comfortable, with a fantastic view of the lake. The food was by far the best we had in Uganda, all the staff were very friendly and professional and the best turned out in Uganda. This is a great place to relax both before and after gorilla trekking - BLISSFUL !!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank catrina f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kabale
0.2 mi away
Bunyonyi Overland Resort
18.5 mi away
Gorilla Safari Lodge
Gorilla Safari Lodge
#1 of 3 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
97 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lake Bunyonyi Eco Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Lake Bunyonyi Rock Resort
24.6 mi away
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
#1 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
411 reviews
0.8 mi away
Arcadia Cottages
Arcadia Cottages
#7 of 29 in Kabale
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birdnest Resort - Lake Bunyonyi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birdnest Resort - Lake Bunyonyi

Address: Bunyonyi Road, Kitumba, Kabale, Uganda
Phone Number:
Location: Uganda > Western Region > Kabale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kabale
Price Range: $185 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BirdNest Resort offers individually decorated, luxurious rooms, each boasting its own balcony with breathtaking Lake Bunyonyi views. Our restaurant offers international cuisine as well as local dishes. Guests can unwind in a lounge area furnished with comfortable lounge seats and enjoy drinks from the bar, or simply relax by the natural ecological swimming pool. Free internet is available for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Birdnest Resort - Lake Bunyonyi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing