We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“breathtaking location and accomodation on the lake shore”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Birdnest at Bunyonyi Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kabale
Certificate of Excellence
Essen, Belgium
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“breathtaking location and accomodation on the lake shore”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2011

We have recently stayed for two nights in the resort (2+3/10/2011) . We have enjoyed our stay a lot and experienced a very relaxed time after visiting the gorilla's family Nshongi in Bwindi NP.Rooms are very clean and well maintained,very friendly and customer service minded staff , cheap food and exceptional + very tastfull crayfish dishes , cooking - kitchen quality of an high level . Drinks such as beers and wines are at very moderate prices compared to our Belgian restaurants .The resort has a very big terrace with stunny vieuws of the lake and hills . Visiting the local market only 5 min. walking is a real African live style experience !!! The resort is very profesionally managed by a dutch speaking person ,called Pedro . Congratulation to the whole team .We strongly recommand this resort to stay towards future travellers in the south -west of Uganda on their way to Kampala city or airport Entebbe .

Room Tip: Select double room with private balcony and seats looking all over the lake side and the beautifull...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brusselsairlines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    60
    13
    4
    3
See reviews for
39
100
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2011

A lovely resort a few hours of driving from Bwindi and its gorillas. Nice rooms with wonderful view on the lake Bunyonyi and fantastic boat riding in the marsh bordering the lake; the staff and the owner are very friendly and the cooking (specially all the crayfish dishes) is definitely a plus; we had very good opportunities of photography in the vicinty of the resort: crowned crane and spotted necked otter;
A very nice place to take a rest and for photography!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philippe75_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kabale, Uganda
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2011

Initially we planned to stay 2 nights - since we loved the place so much, we ended up staying 4 nights. The hotel is beautifully located and from the very nice rooms one has a superb view over the lake. Food is excellent and the staff very friendly. A perfect place to relax!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swissar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2011

We stayed here en route to Bwindi Impenetrable National Park for one night. We arrived in the early afternoon and were able to take out one of the canoes onto the lake for a swim - we chose not to, but one of the hotel's staff would row the boat for you. From the lake you could see the local market as well as the swamps where the crested cranes nest.
The hotel served great food in both the evening and for breakfast, although the service wasn't great (we were told the best waitress had been taken to hospital and the other two waitresses were in training). The owner was very charismatic and knowledgeable, and we did not have any problems with him, there was a dog but they were more than happy to keep him away from you if you wished.
Good hot showers, and a room with a fantastic view. Rooms were well furnished and spacious.

Room Tip: Room 3 is apparently Idi Amin's old bedroom as the hotel used to be his lodge!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2011

We stayed here for a night on route to Kisoro. Nice service, rooms ok and reasonably priced

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernhard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2011

Looking for the National Ugandese Flag Bird the Crested Crane? You Google for: "Crested Crane Kabale" and find two videoclips showing you these beauty birds in front of this Hotel, what more do you want as nature lover!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Attenborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2011

My daughter and I stayed here for only one night on our way back from trekking gorillas in Rwanda. We were sorry not to be able to stay longer! It was the low season (late June) and mid-week, so we were lucky to have the place totally to ourselves. We found it to be a wonderful place. Of course, the staff was able to give us their undivided attention and they were quite eager to please! The room was quite delightful - it was easy to tell that the co-owner, Pablo, was an interior decorator in his native Belgium! The views from the room and its balcony were stunning. The beds were the most comfortable we slept in the whole trip. We had the most incredible appetizers out on the stone patio overlooking Lake Bunyonyi - I had the garlic crayfish and my daughter had the bruschetta. Both were absolutely delicious! We moved inside for a candlelight dinner which we also thought was marvelous. My daughter is in the Peace Corps in Uganda and she said it is by far the best food she has had and the best bed she has slept in in Uganda, and although she probably won't have the opportunity to stay there again, she would definitely bring friends back for dinner. I would definitely go back if I am ever in Uganda again!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dr1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kabale
0.2 mi away
Bunyonyi Overland Resort
18.5 mi away
Gorilla Safari Lodge
Gorilla Safari Lodge
#2 of 3 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bunyonyi Safaris Resort
Bunyonyi Safaris Resort
#11 of 29 in Kabale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Lake Bunyonyi Eco Resort
0.0 mi away
Lake Bunyonyi Rock Resort
0.8 mi away
Arcadia Cottages
Arcadia Cottages
#6 of 29 in Kabale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birdnest at Bunyonyi Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birdnest at Bunyonyi Resort

Property: Birdnest at Bunyonyi Resort
Address: Bunyonyi Road, Kitumba, Kabale, Uganda
Phone Number:
Location: Uganda > Western Region > Kabale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kabale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BirdNest Resort offers individually decorated, luxurious rooms, each boasting its own balcony with breathtaking Lake Bunyonyi views. Our restaurant offers international cuisine as well as local dishes. Guests can unwind in a lounge area furnished with comfortable lounge seats and enjoy drinks from the bar, or simply relax by the natural ecological swimming pool. Free internet is available for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Birdnest at Bunyonyi Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing