We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GORGEOUS view!!!”
Review of Arcadia Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Arcadia Cottages
Ranked #7 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Kabale
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“GORGEOUS view!!!”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

I stayed here after doing a long gorilla trek and it was the perfect retreat! The view was absolutely spectacular and it was so relaxing to just chill on the patio of our cottage and enjoy it. The staff were super friendly and the rooms were clean.

They don't provide shampoo so make sure you bring your own.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smileyfacegrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    30
    11
    3
    5
See reviews for
9
31
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

This place is ok but Lonely Planet has made it "Top Pick" in Bunyoni and for this reason we expected more. It is inexpensive, rooms are clean and when we were there the power was working and the water was hot. However for somewhere in such a place of beauty, with such an OUTSTANDING view, it is quite souless. The decor is cold and the restaurant area feels a bit like a school canteen. The music and television are played loudly, often together and it is disturbing. Food is very average and the coffee at breakfast is terrible! The manager was extremely friendly and helpful at all times, but the staff member who was attending to us did not speak good english and there was a lot of confusion and mix ups at mealtimes with our orders.
Finally it was the only place we stayed that did not provide purified water in the bedroom...that's okay but it is not okay to charge 5000 shillings for a 1l bottle of water when the market rate is more like 1500!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JanHan81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 25, 2012

First impression as one arrives at reception - loud music from CD competing with nearby TV.
Views great, rooms satisfactory/good. Staff appear to try hard but really have little idea due to an apparent lack of leadership. Meal time always plenty of laughs ( what else could one do) as it was a lottery as to what might be served and in what order even though one was required to place orders up to 4 hours earlier!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kay1642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kabale hotels

Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

The views over Lake Bunyonyi have to be some of the best around, but unfortunately that's about all this place has going for it. We didn't sleep here, but we came up twice to eat - once for dinner and once for breakfast (although by the time the food came it was more like lunch). Service was incredibly slow - we're talking 30 minutes for a glass of juice, one and a half hours for a simple starter and well over an hour for a banana and a piece of pineapple. Don't even ask about the mains or the omelettes. From what we've heard the food here used to be good, so clearly that chef has left. For dinner we had a crayfish starter, which ended up being pretty much crayfish tails (overcooked) in ketchup and sweet chili sauce. I went for a safe bet - a pizza - but it was without a doubt one of the worst I have ever had. Bread dough, very thick, canned mushrooms and a profuse amount of dried herbs - completely overpowering. The salad consisted of dry chicken and wilted lettuce. Breakfast, which we thought would be a safer bet... it took them over forty minutes to let us know that their milk had gone bad (we had ordered tea with milk). In which time someone could have easily paid the $1 to go to the nearest shop on a motorbike, even if they did not wish to use their own vehicle. It took them another 20 minutes to realise that they therefore couldn't make us pancakes. No apologies, no effort to go get the one missing ingredient. The omelettes were pretty good, and the fresh juice was nice (although both times they had only pineapple, despite what the menu promises and the abundance of other fruit). Definitely NOT recommended for a meal, but well worth coming up for a glass of fresh juice to enjoy the stupendous views!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LifeThroughALens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexilhoeira Grande, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2012

Rooms (chilly), restaurant (very simple) and location (good) 3 stars only (average) The staff was very good, they brought us coffee in the room in the morning, and we had fun playing snooker and drinking beers with them..

The views over Lake Bunyoni are gorgeous. It looks like Switzerland, but then in the middle of Africa. Very green overlooking the mountains of Rwanda on the other side of the lake.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

Of course there are all kind of experiences for the same thing, but honestly this hotel at Lake Bunyonyi is not worthy at all. The only thing you can enjoy is the great view of the lake, that's all, but understand you look for something else. We arrived after a long day driving from Nkuringo and we expected to find a place where to relax and enjoy, however we found the place without power. They excused saying that Uganda has power cuts all the time, however the manager of the agency explained us that they PAY the hotel to run the generators in order hotel has electricity all the time. It is obvious they keep the money and do nothing. Those days weather was quite chilly, thus room was freezing cold. There was a electric heater, but as no electric power in the hotel despite the generators they have, we could not use it until late in the evening. Our room at least had hot water, but as per the comments from the staff, we were lucky. Our neighbours had not. Food, not good at all. The staff, quite poor. Next day we could see other lodges around as better option to stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francisco M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

Stay here for the breath taking view over Lake Bunyonyi. It's remarkably beautiful - the people who setup this lodge at the top of the ridge really knew what they were doing.

The cottages are nice enough, spaced apart for privacy, with private balconies overlooking the lake. Don't be concerned if you are staying in one of the cottages with a thatched roof and hear noises in the night of a creature on the roof. Apparently these are large birds trying to find and eat insects that burrow into the roofing.

The only downside is the food - their menu is the standard over-ambitious generic western cuisine, little of which the kitchen can execute well, and the quality of the ingredients varies widely. Breakfast was simple and good (especially recommend the pancakes), but dinner was dreadful - both in quality of ingredients, choice and execution.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimBCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kabale
0.6 mi away
Bunyonyi Overland Resort
19.3 mi away
Gorilla Safari Lodge
Gorilla Safari Lodge
#1 of 3 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
90 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lake Bunyonyi Eco Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Bushara Island Camp
Bushara Island Camp
#10 of 29 in Kabale
66 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lake Bunyonyi Rock Resort
20.1 mi away
Chameleon Hill Lodge Bwindi
Chameleon Hill Lodge Bwindi
#4 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arcadia Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arcadia Cottages

Property: Arcadia Cottages
Address: Bunyounyi Rd, Kabale, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Western Region > Kabale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Kabale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High up on a ridge overlooking Lake Bunyonyi, our eleven self-contained cottages are arranged around a central lodge building, where guests can enjoy the tasty dishes in our restaurant or relax and take in the truly breathtaking view. We have a 25-seater motor launch, ideal for taking in the lake and its islands on one of our daytime tours or watching the stars on our nightime Stargazing tour. For the more adventurous, Arcadia Lodge Lake Bunyonyi has two high-end Bombardier JetSkis available for hire, as well as four Honda quadbikes that guests can hire to explore the muddy tracks along the lakeshore or the the ridges overlooking the lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Arcadia Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing