We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Checking out left a bad taste in my mouth”
Review of Cepha's Inn Kabale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cepha's Inn Kabale
Ranked #8 of 21 Kabale B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 4, 2011

On a three-day trip to Kabale for a weekend visit with an international group from Uganda, USA, and UK, I had the misfortune of staying at Cepha’s Inn. At the time of checking in, I requested a single room. I was told there were no more single rooms, but I could stay in a double room. The room did have a double bed in it, but, otherwise, the room was very small and I’m not sure how two people would have managed to not trip over one another. Apart from the nightstand, there was no table or chair in the room; the bed occupied most of the floor space. There was hot water in the bath, and the hotel does seem to operate a generator for back-up electricity.

There was a very loud birthday party taking place nearby with loudspeakers, music, and an EmCee. After a very long journey, I wanted to sleep early, but to no avail. The party sounded like it was taking place right inside my small room.

At the time of checkout, I was expecting to pay the rate for a single room, since that’s what I requested and nothing different was mentioned at the time of check-in. Imagine my shock and dismay when I was billed twice the rate of a single room because “it was a double room.” When I asked them to reconsider, since I hadn’t requested a double room and it wasn’t my fault that I ended up in a double room, they refused. I suggested that it would be good customer service to charge me only for a single room since it was their problem that they couldn’t accommodate me in a single room. But, that didn’t work either. So, in the end, I paid twice as much as I should have for a mediocre room where it was hard to sleep because of outside noise.

Needless to say, if it is within my power, I will not choose to stay at Cepha’s Inn again.

I have stayed at Jopfan Country Hotel, just a short distance away, and would recommend Jopfan over Cepha’s Inn. The prices are comparable; the rooms are nicer; it is quieter; and the customer care is superior.

Room Tip: Make sure you find out the price of your room before you register!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AlisonBar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (27)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 27 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2010

we were going to kabale as we do every holiday and usually stay at this hotel because it's relaxing,the staff are caring and professional the sauna and steam bath are impeccable let alone the meals which are to die for. The rooms all have television (DSTV) with the most comfortable beds. if you went to Kabale and went to a different hotel you would not be served as well as you would be at cepha's inn.

  • Stayed: December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank staceynamara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2009

I remember reading about this Inn and when we had a change of plans decided to try it out. We were glad we did. We were greeted with smiles and when they saw how tired we were they suggested the sauna to relax. After mediocre hot showers this was a treat. The location, up on a hill outside the town, was quiet and we were able to make Lake Bunyonyi a full day trip without spending hours in a car.

The only drawback was the restaurant. The food was OK but you can't have everything.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank loisnewyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2009

We stayed here for 2 nights on the way to Bwindi Impenetrable Forest gorilla trekking and after the trek. It wasn't exactly planned- we were supposed to stay in one of the places close to the park but the van broke down 35 kms short of Kabale and, as it was evening and we still had over 3 hours travelling to go, our driver proposed we stayed the night in Kabale.
We thoroughly enjoyed staying at Cepha’s Inn and would highly recommend it. It was clean, comfortable, quiet, has wonderful gardens, a swimming pool and great breakfast and dinner (they also packed us PLENTY of food for lunch for the trek the following day).
The only complaint is that the mosquito net over the bed was a bit pathetic- it didn't cover you all around but we'd taken plug in mosquito killer tablets and covered up with DEET early in the morning and from dusk if we were out and didn't get bitten once.
The garden is a great place to sit with a beer in the evening!
It was a lucky thing that the van broke down and we ended up here- I'd never heard of it and had seen no review of the place. The road from Kabale to Bwindi is extremely dusty and hard work. Staying in Kabale meant that we got the dirt all in one day- there and back- and made it not so bad to get back to Entebbe the day after we'd been trekking.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KP58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, traveled solo
1  Thank LdVinci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mauro T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2014
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank faresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kabale hotels
0.0 mi away
Bunyonyi Overland Resort
0.0 mi away
White Horse Inn
White Horse Inn
#7 of 21 in Kabale
44 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bunyonyi View Resort
Bunyonyi View Resort
#3 of 21 in Kabale
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lake Bunyonyi Eco Resort
0.0 mi away
Gorilla Mist Camp
Gorilla Mist Camp
#5 of 29 in Kabale
97 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bunyonyi Safaris Resort
Bunyonyi Safaris Resort
#12 of 29 in Kabale
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cepha's Inn Kabale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cepha's Inn Kabale

Address: Plot 7 Archers Road | PO Box 121, Kabale, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Western Region > Kabale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Kabale
Price Range: $30 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Cepha's Inn Kabale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing