We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good beer!”
Review of White Horse Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
White Horse Inn
Ranked #7 of 21 Kabale B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Kabale is a relatively small town in Western Uganda. So as you can well imagine, it can be difficult to get certain creature comforts in town.

The White Horse is probably the poshest establishment in town. Serving proper Western beer, steak and decent food. But with prices to match.

If you're in Kabale for charity, Non-Governmental Organization (NGO), or other backpacker-type work/travel, and desperately want the reassuring comforts of Western food and beer. Come here. It's the best place in town for that kind of thing!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian0345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (44)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 44 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2013

Although several decades old and with its rooms beginning to fray at the edges, the White Horse remains the best bet for Kabale. The gardens are beautiful and the view over the town below and distant hills quite stunning. The restaurant and bar are a touch gloomy, but the food is fine, and you are unlikely to find better in any of Kabale's restaurants. The friendly staff complete what I have always found to be a very enjoyable stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leonetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAKANGAHALL, Director of Sales at White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2016

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing White Horse Inn for your stay in Kabale.
We would like to thank for sparing time to review us on Tripadvisor. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and our team did the best to make you happy and have a comfortable time with us.

We look forward to host you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2012

Whenever I head down to Kabale I always stay at the White Horse Inn. The room are a bit run down but value for money is superb! Set in beautiful gardens high above Kabale with a great view of the surrounding mountains. Dinner is always fantastic! The steak is superb, I always look forward to it!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frank K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2012

This is a pleasant, slightly old hotel with lovely grounds and an excellent staff that do what they can to make your stay enjoyable. The restaurant is average for breakfast, good for dinner.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UgandaHuey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Stayed here for a week in September 2011. Nice and Clean with very helpful staff. Food was good but for an extended stay the menu was limited. Wonderful views over the town of Kibale.

Price was very reasonable (roughly €40 for a twin room B&B).

Within walking distance of town. The TV in the room was a real puzzle. Whatever they were watching in the Bar was on.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank m0d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2011

After a long journey returning from Kigali having stayed in the worst hotel ever (The Sky Hotel!!), we stayed in The White Horse Inn in Kabale to break up the journey back to Kampala.
Wowzer! The views are beautiful. The place is set in beautiful gardens with a lovely view up over Kabale.
The rooms were so so comfortable...extremely good facilities, fresh white sheets with a snuggly duvet for those cold Kabale nights/mornings.
The restaurant was very nice with delicious very good value food.
Would LOVE to stay again and would recommend every time!
Thank you everyone at The White Horse Inn.

Room Tip: Take a head torch....Uganda is suffering from load shedding and there's always a risk of a power...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JLW67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

You can easily see that White Horse Inn has once been a real upmarket hotel. Now it would need a little bit renovation but for me that just seemed to bring more character. We stayed there 2 nights and it reminded me of the movie "The Shining". Big hotel with only two guests. Anyway, the location is beautiful, the hotel garden is well looked after and the rooms are not bad either. The golf course next door has been growing tall grass for years, so do not bother to bring your clubs with you.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TeemuJa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kabale hotels
3.8 mi away
Bunyonyi Overland Resort
3.8 mi away
Bunyonyi View Resort
Bunyonyi View Resort
#3 of 21 in Kabale
58 reviews
4.5 mi away
Lake Bunyonyi Eco Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Bunyonyi Safaris Resort
Bunyonyi Safaris Resort
#12 of 29 in Kabale
35 reviews
21.3 mi away
Gorilla Mist Camp
Gorilla Mist Camp
#5 of 29 in Kabale
101 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ruhija Community Rest Camp
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Horse Inn

Address: 25 Rwamafa Rd | Makanga Hill, Kabale, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Western Region > Kabale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Kabale
Price Range: $31 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — White Horse Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the White Horse Inn. Kabale District's finest and oldest hotel where we pride ourselves in providing all our guests with first class service. Located in the rolling hills of South Western Uganda; It is approximately 377 km from Kampala the Ugandan Capital and a 50 minutes drive from Kigali city (Rwanda). ​Our services are sure to make your trip both enjoyable and truly memorable. Our services include Accommodation over 50 rooms, Restaurant and Bar on-site, conferencing and banqueting services, wedding venue and reception, kids play area, specious gardens, and access to major road networks and golf course in Kabale. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Jovago.com and Hotels.com so you can book your White Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Horse Hotel Kabale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing