We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Clean Hotel with Helpful Staff”
Review of White Horse Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
White Horse Inn
Ranked #8 of 20 Kabale B&B and Inns
Drogheda, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good Clean Hotel with Helpful Staff”
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Stayed here for a week in September 2011. Nice and Clean with very helpful staff. Food was good but for an extended stay the menu was limited. Wonderful views over the town of Kibale.

Price was very reasonable (roughly €40 for a twin room B&B).

Within walking distance of town. The TV in the room was a real puzzle. Whatever they were watching in the Bar was on.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank m0d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    15
    16
    6
    0
See reviews for
4
8
4
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derbys
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2011

After a long journey returning from Kigali having stayed in the worst hotel ever (The Sky Hotel!!), we stayed in The White Horse Inn in Kabale to break up the journey back to Kampala.
Wowzer! The views are beautiful. The place is set in beautiful gardens with a lovely view up over Kabale.
The rooms were so so comfortable...extremely good facilities, fresh white sheets with a snuggly duvet for those cold Kabale nights/mornings.
The restaurant was very nice with delicious very good value food.
Would LOVE to stay again and would recommend every time!
Thank you everyone at The White Horse Inn.

Room Tip: Take a head torch....Uganda is suffering from load shedding and there's always a risk of a power...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JLW67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

You can easily see that White Horse Inn has once been a real upmarket hotel. Now it would need a little bit renovation but for me that just seemed to bring more character. We stayed there 2 nights and it reminded me of the movie "The Shining". Big hotel with only two guests. Anyway, the location is beautiful, the hotel garden is well looked after and the rooms are not bad either. The golf course next door has been growing tall grass for years, so do not bother to bring your clubs with you.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeemuJa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rwanda
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2010

I have stayed many times, for business and occasionally with family.

It is an old establishment right up the Kabale hill, near the golf course. It has a beautifully manicured garden, helpful and courteous staff, a welcoming bar with fireplace. The restaurant has a good choice and quality of food, albeit more expensive than local average, and good service. They serve delicious crayfish from nearby Lake Bunyioni.

The rooms are old, with an ancient carpet which staff try very hard to keep clean (please management, time to retire it, it has served for decades!); the rooms are humid and at times stuffy, thanks to poor ventilation and Kabale's wet climate. The bathrooms have been recently improved with the installation of electric water heaters, although plumbing is as ancient as the carpet. Yet they are clean, as are the beds, which are fitted with mosquito nets.

The rooms can be very quiet, but only if those next to yours are empty. When your neighbor turns its TV on, the thin walls and the high charming ceiling will make sure that you will share his taste for broadcasts.

Some amenities are also old: the tennis court, probably the only one in a large radius, is abandoned and decrepit. The pool table is falling apart. Thus in the evening you are better off sticking to the fancy flatbed TV screen in the bar, if you don’t like reading. The garden has some old metal toys for kids, poorly maintained: if you keep an eye on them, your kids will still enjoy them, as mine did.

All in all, I keep going back, because it is one of the best choices in town. Yet, if management would decide to invest in some renovation, customers would enjoy the place's old charm, without suffering from some of its antiquity.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelerXY_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2009

We spent four nights in the White Horse Inn in Kabale. We have passed through Kabale many times but last stayed here more than 10 years ago. The White Horse Inn was a pleasant surprise. The modest rooms had a very comfortable bed with a warm duvet for cold Kabale nights. The restaurant was good and responsive to requests. The bar with fireplace was reasonable and a good place to watch football with the locals. The grounds were large and attractive. But mostly all of the staff were caring, friendly, helpful. In addition to the nearby parks and forest, Kabale/Kisoro is one of the loveliest parts of East Africa. All and all a place and a hotel we would come back to.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank echandobuena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kabale hotels
3.8 mi away
Bunyonyi Overland Resort
4.6 mi away
Paradise Eco-Hub
Paradise Eco-Hub
#5 of 20 in Kabale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lake Bunyonyi Rock Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Arcadia Cottages
Arcadia Cottages
#7 of 29 in Kabale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
4.5 mi away
Lake Bunyonyi Eco Resort
0.0 mi away
Green Hills Hotel
Green Hills Hotel
#13 of 20 in Kabale
3.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Horse Inn

Property: White Horse Inn
Address: 25 Rwamafa Rd | Makanga Hill, Kabale, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Western Region > Kabale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Kabale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the White Horse Inn. Kabale District's finest and oldest hotel where we pride ourselves in providing all our guests with first class service. Located in the rolling hills of South Western Uganda; It is approximately 377 km from Kampala the Ugandan Capital and a 50 minutes drive from Kigali city (Rwanda). ​Our services are sure to make your trip both enjoyable and truly memorable. Our services include Accommodation over 50 rooms, Restaurant and Bar on-site, conferencing and banqueting services, wedding venue and reception, kids play area, specious gardens, and access to major road networks and golf course in Kabale. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Jovago.com so you can book your White Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Horse Hotel Kabale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing